Skip to content

Drifting away from God

October 21, 2010

John 15:4 Remain in me, and I will remain in you. For a branch cannot produce fruit if it is severed from the vine, and you cannot be fruitful unless you remain in me.

Over the years until quite recently my own faith walk has involved long periods of not reading the Bible and not praying much.  And this has happened because I  allowed myself to drift away from God, encouraged by the enemy.

I remember my first attempt at canoeing where I spent way too much time trying to keep the canoe going straight down the river. Whatever I did ended up in me drifting into the river bank.  What was meant to be a fun afternoon turned into a frustrating and annoying battle of me vs canoe.  And let me tell you, the canoe won.

But the more I canoed the better I got at it and before too long I had the canoe heading straight down the river.  In the same way the more I practice at my faith, the more determined I am, the better at it I become.  My aim is not to read the Bible but to come into the presence of God.

To come into the presence of God is to be influenced by the Holy Spirit on a consistent basis. This happens through spending time reading the Bible – being open to change, confessing my sin – being prepared to change, and through much prayer and active service – getting involved in change.

I yearn to be in God’s presence!!

God bless,

Mark Brown

http://www.facebook.com/MarkBrown.page
http://twitter.com/RevMarkB

If you would like to subscribe to this blog and receive my reflections as an email for free:click here.

Yahweh’s Yarn in a Year : 1 year Bible reading plan

The Portion for today is: 2 Timothy 1-2

To access the complete plan for the year click here.

Photo credit: http://www.flickr.com/photos/lyza/

From → Uncategorized

47 Comments
  1. Jake Holland permalink

    Mark,

    I like how you admit your faults and use that to teach others. I like the fact that I am not the only one that struggles with staying in the presence of God. This one really helped me to remember to stay the course, and is a reminder that the spirit needs strengthening just as muscles do.

    Thank you for your message.

  2. You know, the interesting thing about it all, Mark, is that no one can escape the presence of God. After all, if we truly believe that He is omnipresent, then how could we not be in His presence? So, the problem isn’t that we aren’t in His presence, but rather that we are not allowing Him to be present in us.

    The words, “abide in me, and I in you,” are suggestive of the idea of oneness, or unity in purpose, if you will. If we truly are one with Christ we will seek to do the father’s will in all matters of life; we will keep His commandments. Our lives will be in agreement with what He wants for us.

    Blessings to you…

    • Jon permalink

      Thank You Mark. God used this to speak LOUDLY to me this evening. It jumped out on to the top of the page on Facebook and it is right where I am. I am having a hard time getting motivated more than just once at a time (daily) to get back into His presence. And as far as the person who decided to argue above about the omnipresence of God, I knew what you meant and I hope they don’t decide to play on my choice of words too, lol. Anyways, God is omnipresent, but at the same time His word says seek Him diligently and He’ll reveal Himself. So even though His presence is always present, sometimes He cannot be found unless He is sought after with diligence. And I am having a hard time with this lately. Thank you for this. It helped me and I will now take this opportunity to seek Him. Thank you!

      • Jon,

        I wasn’t trying to argue with Mark. I was simply trying to show things from another perspective. You shouldn’t be so quick to judge people like that.

        Anyway, I forgive you.

        Blessings to you…

  3. Note: please excuse my mistake of not capitalizing Father. I just noticed that.

    • Laura Lee permalink

      Thanks!!

    • tina jones permalink

      I LOVE GOD BUT I MUST ADMIT SOMETIMES I BELIEVE DEEPLY DEEP THAT I HAVE GONE TOO FAR. I KNOW IT IS SATAN TAKIN ADVANTAGE OF ALL HE CAN. THEREFORE I TRRY TO PRAISE GOD PRAY FOR OTHERS GIVE TO OTHERS I NEED TO READ MORE IS EEM TO HAVE A PROBLEM GETTING STILL ENUF TO READ LIKIE I WOULD LIKE AND NEED. PLEASE PRAY FOR ME ON THISL. GOD HAS SAVED ME OVER AND OVER AND I KNOW HE HAS A GREAT PLAN IN STORE FOR ME TO STRENGTHEN THE KINGDOM WHICH HE RESIDES AND IS WAITIN TO BRING US HIS CHILDREN HOME TO. PEOPLE LIKE YOU INSPIRE ME TO WANT TO GIVE ALL I HAVE EVEN WHEN IDONT HAVE ENUF IT DOESNT MATTER AS LONG AS IT IS REAL. I AM TRYIN TO DO THINGS DIFFERENT MY LIFE IS A LIFELONG TESTIMONY AS FAR BACK AS 6 YRS OLD. I PROBABALLY NEED TO WRITE A BOOK. I REALLY WOULD LIKE TO SET UP A WEBSITE FOR AUTOBIOGRAPHIES OF OTHERS LIKE MYSELF TO PRODUCE EDUCATION THRU PURE EXPERIENCE FOR OTHERS TO SEE BEFORE THEY GO DOWN THOSE ROADS PEOPLE LIKE ME HAVE BEEN DOWN. I JUST GIVE GOD THE GLORY AND PRAISE. THANK YOU FOR ALL YOUR SUPPORT LOVE AND OBEDIENCE OF THE GOD ALMIGHTY IN JESUS NAME AMEN

  4. Beverette permalink

    I can definately identify with drifting as a Christian. But thanks be to God, just when I think I’ve just about wrecked my boat, Jesus takes the wheel. My desire is to ever keep sailing for him no matter how poor or inconsistent a sailor I am.

  5. Adam permalink

    I can relate to what you are speaking about. I just recently started back or finding a church. It is not an easy journey. Unless you keep focusing on Christ all is lost. Thanks for your input, at least now I know I am not the only one in a sinking boat.

    Adam

  6. Sandee permalink

    I have just recently gone thru a spiritual battle that had me calling mayday mayday (Help) to everyone but God. But He had his way and thru a great friend let me know it was a spiritual battle not me loosing my mind. I so want to commit to God not only has my Father but my husband, since I have been widowed for 27 years you would have thougth that I would have tried that along time ago. But I wanted a human man for my children and I hate being alone. God has finally gotten to me thru you Mark and your postings and Livechurch. God Bless and thank you.

  7. Glenda permalink

    Thank you for your comments, Mark. I too yearn to be in the presence of God. I liken ones spiritual activity to that of riding a bike. If we keep a good momentum: reading God’s word, praying and yearning to be in His presence, discipleship is a natural and beautiful thing. When we allow the bike wheels to slow down, everything becomes so much harder. And if we don’t pick up the pace, eventually the speed becomes so slow that we fall off and give God away. I have done this. I think this is what is happening to other current backsliders. Satan tries to convince us that God will not welcome us back. However the trick is to confess our sins, ask God’s forgiveness and get back on our bikes. As in our natural life – so in our spiritual life. Bless you.

  8. I also want to be in God`s presence, so always I remind myself to study Bible more, not only to read Bible not thinking on it, on power of Holy Spirit who wants to make me better.
    God bless

  9. Chuks permalink

    Thanks for the words. I can also relate. For months I had being drifting away. I was so distracted that I could hardly concentrate on God. But thank God that recently He’s drawing me back to Himself.

    • grace permalink

      never will the Lord leave you nor forsake you He’s watching out for you

  10. Lawrence permalink

    I like the phrase, “My aim is not just to read the bible, but to come to the presence of God”… Remembered you once said when we open the bible, we aren’t just reading, but we have to open our heart to the Holy Spirit and allow Him to change us…
    That has actually change my bible reading manner ever since.. =)
    Thank you and praise Father for your honesty about your faith walk… My prayers are with you… =))

  11. William Teixeira permalink

    Hi Mark great analogy with the canoe! Some times it feels as if Im just going through the motions! Im often worried that Im doing something wrong so it is great to communicate with fellow christians and read of their experiences. Thank you for sharing.

  12. Demetrice Temple permalink

    Yes Jesus I will follow U and never separate myself for U my Savior, mighty and awesome Lord King of Kings……ur my everything

  13. Edizon permalink

    Dear GOD,

    I REALLY DONT KNOW WHO AM I RIGHT NOW!! GOD.PLEASE!I”M BEGGING GIVE AGAIN THE LOVE BETWEEN ME AND IRENE!!I DONT KNOW WHAT TO DO!!I THINK I AM WASTED RIGHT NOW!!I KNOW I’M ONLY A HUMAN.. BUT PLEASE UNDERSTAND US,OUR RELATIONSHIP DON’T TAKE IT BACK PLEASE.I DON’T WANNA LIVE LIKE THIS!. ALL WE NEED IS LOVE! LOVING EACH OT HER! DONT TAKE AWAY THAT FROM US PLEASE!! IM BEGGING MY LORD!!PLEASE!! 😦

    Edizon and Irene

  14. Melissa permalink

    Thank you Mark and the rest of you for your honesty and your different views. I have been struggling for months with this problem. I go for long walks about 3 times a week and these are spent talking and praising God. On one of these walks He showed me about perspective. It makes it easier to understand when people share thier ways of viewing things pertaining to God. Thanks again.

  15. Donna permalink

    Thanks for sharing as I have been feeling abit the same lately!!…I have like many people work and demands of helping with the childcare for my grandkids and then just live as a wife…Help me Lord, to live not under the law but be led by your spirit, now and always!!…Thanks for sharing..

    • Dawn permalink

      Amen! Led of the Spirit and not the Law! I too struggle with being consistent in my time with the Lord. I do try to die to self and allow Christ to live through me daily but being just a human, i fail often. Sometimes i am not even sure whether i am in the flesh or in the Spirit and i question myself and my walk and my salvation. I love the Lord and i do my best to trust in Him completely, and seek only His will but sometimes life is so hard and things seem so unsure that i get fearful and anxious. This devotion was a very welcome wake up call as i do believe i have been drifting and not spending the time with Him that I NEED to. Its funny when i think about it, I know that if i just do it, He will bless it and this world and its cares won’t seem so big or important! Humans! Were are an odd sort aren’t we!

  16. wow that sounds great. but i had better be alot more open to change. thank u 🙂

  17. Laura permalink

    love this post!! I can definitely relate to drifting away from God – I had come to a place where I didnt understand why God was putting me through what I was going through. It took losing everything and having nothing for me to finally find God again. I’m still struggling but each day I put my faith in God that He will get me through whatever comes my way! I know He is always with me and He has taught me how to forgive, that I am forgiven for my sins, and that He has a great plan for me all I have to do is rely on Him!

  18. im putting this on my facebook notes (if i can) =)

  19. Jill permalink

    Please please please pray for me!!!

  20. lucy ng permalink

    To be in his holy presence , to hear his voice whispering in my heart, to let go & let him take over, be in control…….less of me & more of him…renew my dry bones….living remaining & hiding in his wings ..till i soar up as an eagle!!!

  21. Lydia reyes permalink

    Wow , do I love all the feed back from my brothers and sister in the Lord. It seems that we all fall short. Praise to our God that he knows our weaknesses and still loves us so much. God will not allow your foot to slip. He is always there for us.All we have to do is surrender our life to him .That’s is why is important to know that the times you don’t feel like praying or reading the living word, that’s the time you have to abide in his Care. He is always there. We just have to come to him. Confess, Forgive , Love. Nothing can compare to being in the Presence of God. God bless all of you. Thanks Mark for a great Post.

  22. nice to be back to “God” .

  23. Bob Bishop permalink

    I’ve been in some really rough times lately, and it seems to be an avalanch. During this time, in fact, a while back, I said to God in a prayer: Lord, I know every blow in this life has a purpose, It’s been pretty rough lately, so I’m going to close my eyes while you finish forming me into what you want me to be & learn, so let me know when you are done so I can open my eyes. Honestly, I believe the holy spirit put this immediately into my head, “Bob, let me know when you are ready to do it my way, my arms getting tired swinging this hammer”, I kind of laughed to myself and thought, that’s probably the way God does feel with me. I really believe this to be true. We all need to listen to the spirit and accept that is the voice within us. (I’m not that sharp to come up with that on my own!)

  24. Kayla Huddleston permalink

    Thanks so much for posting! This subject has been on my mind the last couple days, and I have been seeking a closer relationship with God. Praise the Lord for His perfect timing! Thanks for all you do! May the Lord continue to bless you!

  25. irene permalink

    please pray for my brother he had a loss on his ligerments and hes leg is as equal as broke… And he is alone and far away from home. Please help him.

  26. taiwo permalink

    who has answered Romans8:35. only grace can help us

  27. taiwo permalink

    who has answered paul in Romans8:35. i think we need the Grace of God

  28. raj permalink

    i waas sailing in the same boat but while reading this it touched my heart,now i got the answer for my failures…thank you brother

  29. brenda permalink

    i need prayers alot of prayers
    one for me im having a hard time receiving the holy ghost and i want it !!
    and satan is really trying to attack me alot lately and also trying to get my grand daughter out of foster care who was taken from my daughter i need prayers god will bring lil breana home to her Me-Me
    I need lots of prayers to follow gods journey he has for me and that i find the holy ghost 🙂
    thanks for the prayers

  30. Tuta permalink

    I am very glad to hear from you again! God bless you, your family and your work!
    In the journey together in entering a deeper relationship with our Go.
    God bless,
    ciao!

  31. Tuta permalink

    with our God!

  32. Steven King permalink

    I saw this through a friend’s fan link on FB. Thank you, you are not alone in your suspicions or solace.

    -Steven King

  33. yeah, GOD is really good. He is present always in us.

  34. Exactly the same w/ me, until recently I haven’t had the same connection w/ God I have now. I’ve been praying to drawn closer to him, have this commitment. I read my bible even when it seemed nothing happened. I started letting go of worldly music and turning onto christian stuff. Now, I have this passion riveting inside me waiting to explode. I’ve taken to writing a blog, I need to get it all out.

  35. Victor Kedemi permalink

    Reading that post made me feel like am talking to myself

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Drifting away from God « Journey Deeper Into God's Word -- Topsy.com
  2. Top Posts — WordPress.com

Leave a Reply

