Skip to content

Who am I to judge?

September 29, 2010

You, then, why do you judge your brother? Or why do you look down on your brother? For we will all stand before God’s judgment seat. It is written: ” ‘As surely as I live,’ says the Lord, ‘every knee will bow before me; every tongue will confess to God.’ ” So then, each of us will give an account of himself to God. Therefore let us stop passing judgment on one another. Instead, make up your mind not to put any stumbling block or obstacle in your brother’s way. Romans 14:10-13

What is his problem?  No seriously, why is he acting that way?  He clearly has no idea what he is doing.. etc.. etc..  blah blah blah… !

Being critical of others is way too easy.  But the Bible is challenging me hard right now, I am not to judge others, leave that job up to God.

So right now I make a decision.. as best I can I will not judge others, not be critical of others.  But how do I do this?  I choose to.  This awesome passage says: Instead, make up your mind.. I choose to, I come to the decision not to judge.  I wake up and I say to myself.. I won’t judge today, I will love instead.  When a judgemental thought comes into my head I decide there and then to tell it to get lost and fill my thoughts with love and kindness.  And slowly but surely my mind will become more open to being loving and closed to judgement.

And why is being judgemental a shocker to be involved in?  Well the first thing is that this is God’s job not mine.  And He is way better qualified and suited to the task, what can I really know about the true heart of someone?  Can I know all the facts?  No.  Why with a court case a judge and jury will be presented with tons of details and evidence, arguments and data. It can takes months involving many skilled and qualified staff to make a careful judgement.  And even then…  So what can I expect to be able to do by myself, with limited data and hardly any time?   Not much!

And this amazing Roman’s passage is clear: Instead, make up your mind not to put any stumbling block or obstacle in your brother’s way. When I am judgemental I am in effect trying to block them from a full life in Christ.  I am attempting to deny them love and instead dishing out hate.

So this day I choose not to judge but to love.  Will you join me?

God bless,

Mark Brown

http://www.facebook.com/MarkBrown.page
http://twitter.com/RevMarkB

If you would like to subscribe to this blog and receive my reflections as an email for free: click here.

Yahweh’s Yarn in a Year : 1 year Bible reading plan

The Portion for today is: Daniel 7-12

To access the complete plan for the year click here.

Photo attribution: http://www.flickr.com/photos/bsabarnowl/



From → Uncategorized

26 Comments
  1. lyndsie permalink

    I am so glad to have read this. I have been trying to get better at that for the last 6 months. I’m amazed how difficult it can be at times. I wish you the best of luck, it definitely will change your outlook on life 🙂 take care mark!

  2. Amy Hammond permalink

    WOW!!! This came right on time to myself and a good many I know right now…Thank you so much for sharing this right now for me!! God Bless You my friend! 🙂

  3. Donna Anthony permalink

    Thanks Mark! I try to always remember ‘everyone is fighting their own battles, be kinder than necessary.’, and also to speak the truth in love, and sometimes just to be quiet. 🙂

  4. Sandee permalink

    Praise God. He has you right on the mark again Mark. No pun intended

  5. Mark, I appreciate your desire to love others as yourself; that is a noble undertaking.

    However, it is important to note that not judging others is to be understood within the context of not condemning them. It does not mean that we should not use discernment. Of course, we don’t judge of ourselves, but according to what is written in the Scriptures, and as the Spirit leads. See 2Timothy 3:16-17 and 1John 4:1. Jesus made it very clear that we would know others by their fruits. See Matthew 7:20. So, we can see where a person really stands in relation to Christ by their works.

    In fact, the Bible reveals what the works of the flesh are and what constitutes the fruits of the Spirit. See Galatians 5:19-26. Thus, this means that one could discern whether a person is a true follower of Christ or not (Matthew 7:21-23).

    Unfortunately, many have taken the ‘do not judge’ command in the wrong way, and have thereby become passive to the presence of sin and error, so much that they have compromised the integrity of the faith for fear of offending others. Such people are not really being faithful to Christ in their witness, but are merely seeking to please others (2Timothy 4:3-4). Be careful not to follow their example.

    I’ve actually written an article that ties in nicely with this. You can read it if you would like, here: http://www.thebiblepost.com/rebuke

    Blessings to you…

  6. Jenna permalink

    I have a real issue with this. I try so hard to understand it. But im not having much luck. Everyone judges. Sometimes we have to judge. For example: I’m a manager who has to judge the work of my employees. I feel bad when i see so many mistakes by one person that i feel like i have to let them go. of course i try to work with them first, but if they dont get it, i feel like i’m judging them, “they just arent that smart, they cant understand, and i need employees who are smart enough to handle the job” <— doesnt that sound rude!!! i hate thinking that way, but what else am i supposed to do!??! please, any advice would be greatly appreciated. God bless

  7. Jenna, as a manager, it is important for you to determine who is best qualified to do the work that needs to be done. Just because you may have to fire someone that doesn’t make you bad or mean that you did something wrong. You are just simply doing your job, that is, you are doing what is best to ensure success for the business.

    Of course, it is good to place people where they will perform best in order to grow a business and keep it alive and thriving. But one doesn’t have to assume that a person is incompetent or stupid because they aren’t carrying out a particular task according to standards. It just simply means that they aren’t suited for that job. Then again, you have to be careful not to be quick to assume that they can’t do what the job requires of them. Sometimes, more often than not, a person just simply needs a little more space to breathe, patience, and encouragement to motivate them to perform better.

    Remember, happy employees are an asset to a company, but stringent employers destroy the business.

    Blessings to you…

    • Stephanie permalink

      Thank you for posting this…I myself am also a manager and have the same thoughts and concerns as Jenna.

      God bless you!

  8. Stephanie permalink

    Mark, ironically enough, the last few times you’ve commented and it hit my facebook page, and I read through what you’re saying, I feel that the Lord is telling me things through you. This morning, as a matter of fact, my assistant and I (who happen to be the only two people in my office) were talking about two women we know that we aren’t overly fond of…they’re just rude to us, well, you know how us women get. Anyway, this morning I get on facebook and see your post, I open it and read it, and it was like I felt the Lord tapping my shoulder saying “no no no”….it’s amazing to me how I feel right now…I have so many emotions as I’m typing this at work, that I’m actually in tears…I feel bad for saying anything at all, sad because I know that this isn’t what Jesus wants or expects of me, but thankful that I read this post as a reminder to me of what it is I’m supposed to be doing…and this isn’t one of them. You’re absolutely right in that we have no place to judge…”just not lest ye be judged yourself”…I’ve heard it a thousand times, and you’d think by now it would’ve sunk into this thick head of mine…this is why I have people like you on my facebook, to remind me when I do something unpleasing to the Lord and to help bring me back to where I need to be. Mark, you are a true blessing to someone like me and I enjoy reading your posts and watching your videos more than you know. Thank you so much for this post!!! Have a blessed day!!!

  9. Julie cowley permalink

    Thankyou Mark. I really value your open and personal interpretation of scripture. It’s very real, and very needed. Bless you brother.

  10. Elena permalink

    Thank-you, Bro. Mark. I so needed this today. Much food for thought. Blessings to you and your family. Love In Christ, Elena

  11. Tim permalink

    I am going through a break-up of a business partnership with family and this was a well needed passage…. Thanks GOD bless

  12. This same topic has been on my mind. When we draw close to people, we don’t expect to feel used, neglected, or punished. But, it happens. I’ve tried to figure out for months why someone has been doing and saying x, y and z. Today, while reading the word, a word picture came to mind.

    Imagine a pie. Cut out 1/3. That represents a person’s vision. What they see, perceive, think, and hope, which is shaped by their heart, mind and soul.

    The other 2/3 of the pie is what we see when we see people. A person will never see the other 2/3 of their pie, unless they’re surrounded by movie cameras and mirrors 24/7.

    When I look at the 2/3 of the pie, it’s often running here and there, busy meeting its needs. But, that’s all I see. “Activity”.

    I will never see the 1/3, which represents the person’s vision. I don’t know what the person is thinking, feeling, wanting, needing. I don’t know how they relate to the Lord. I don’t know their heart or thoughts. Only God knows that. And because I am and probably forever will be ignorant of the 1/3, any judgments are flawed, inaccurate, and incomplete. I will never know the person’s heart. But God does. And that’s all that matters to Him.

    To judge another is to assume I know that “1/3 of the pie”.

    Does that make sense?

  13. Pat permalink

    Thank you Mark for your comments and transparency on this. I too struggle with this issue and ask God to change me daily. I have found for me, it to be a constant battlefield of the mind…catching the thought and reminding myself to take the log out of my eye before I try to take the splinter out of someone else’s eye.

    Thanks for sharing your journey.

    Blessings,

  14. Juli McKenzie permalink

    Yes, thank you! I am so grateful that it is the Holy Spirit who convicts people of their sin, and all I need to do is tell people the good news of Jesus coming, dying, and living again to reconcile each of us to God, and loving them the rest of the time! As far as some of the other comments, assessing someone’s skills or performance, and using discernment to decide the boundaries of your personal relationships are both wise and necessary, but those are really not what the Bible is warning us against. The world does not need Christians to point out its sin – the world needs us to show them their savior, Jesus Christ!

  15. LYNN permalink

    WHEN GOD FIRST CALLED ME INTO MINISTRY, I HAD A HUGE PROBLEM CAUSE I WAS VERY JUDGEMENTAL, AND I KNEW I COULD NOT BE A GOOD SERVANT AND BE SO JUDGEMENTAL AT THE SAME TIME. IF ANYTHING I WOULD END UP TURNING PEOPLE AWAY FROM GOD INSTEAD OF TURNING THEM ON TO GOD. SO I LOOKED UP EVERYTHING I COULD FIND ON JUDGING IN THE BIBLE AND PRAYED THAT GOD WOULD GIVE ME THE WISDOM TO SEE THE DIFFERENCES. I FOUND WE ARE TO JUDGE WHAT IS RIGHT, AND WHAT IS WRONG, OR THE FRUITS BEING SHOWN. JUDGE THE ACTIONS, NOT THE PERSON.I LEARNED TO SAY, WHAT WAS DONE WAS WRONG, INSTEAD OF YOU WERE WRONG. THERE’S A BIG BIG DIFFERENCE BETWEEN THOSE STATEMENTS. IF THEIR ACTIONS DON’T SHOW THE FRUITS OF THE SPIRIT, PRAY FOR THEM,AND MINISTER TO THEM IF POSSIBLE. IF THEY ARE A BROTHEROR SISTER, LET THEM KNOW WHAT THEY DID WAS WRONG,AND PRAY WITH,AND FOR THEM AND MINISTER TO THEM. I ASKED GOD TO TAKE THE JUDGEMENTAL MIND AWAY FROM ME AND TO ALLOW ME TO SEE OTHERS THROUGH HIS EYES, AND HE HAS DONE THAT. PRAISE GOD. NOW I STILL SLIP UP ONCE IN A WHILE, AFTER ALL, I’M STILL ONLY HUMAN. BUT I’VE FOUND THAT GOD IS QUICK TO CHECK ME AND PUT ME BACK ON THE RIGHT PATH,FOR WHICH I THANK HIM VERY MUCH. GOD IS JUST SO UTTERLY AWESOME.

  16. Cathy permalink

    awesome reply! 🙂 God Bless!

  17. Jane Lee permalink

    Thanks. God has been telling me to be nicer to people and the root of the problem when I’m not nice is that I’m JUDGING them and thinking them worthy of what I say and do. NO, WRONG, my job is to love and when I need to say something to say it in Love.

    Thanks,

  18. Fatima de Jesus permalink

    I agree, judging is not our task, but we need to remember an important task we as Christians have. And that is to try and correct others that make mistakes. Galations 6:1 mentions that if we see others doing something they should not be doing then we as spiritual people must correct them gently. This too is a hard task indeed.

    • But how can you correct them without first making a judgment to determine that they are in the wrong?

      Unfortunately, Mark has not identified the difference between condemning and judging.

  19. THIS ARTICLE HAS JUST ANSWER MY QUESTION. GLORY BE TO GOD IN THE HIGHEST. AMEN

  20. Joyce permalink

    I know that we are not to judge Christians. How do we
    handle people that are not born again?

    • “But sanctify the Lord God in your hearts: and be ready always to give an answer to every man that asketh you a reason of the hope that is in you with meekness and fear: Having a good conscience; that, whereas they speak evil of you, as of evildoers, they may be ashamed that falsely accuse your good conversation in Christ.” (1 Peter 3:15-16 KJV)

      “Ye have heard that it hath been said, An eye for an eye, and a tooth for a tooth: But I say unto you, That ye resist not evil: but whosoever shall smite thee on thy right cheek, turn to him the other also. And if any man will sue thee at the law, and take away thy coat, let him have thy cloke also. And whosoever shall compel thee to go a mile, go with him twain. Give to him that asketh thee, and from him that would borrow of thee turn not thou away. Ye have heard that it hath been said, Thou shalt love thy neighbour, and hate thine enemy. But I say unto you, Love your enemies, bless them that curse you, do good to them that hate you, and pray for them which despitefully use you, and persecute you; That ye may be the children of your Father which is in heaven: for he maketh his sun to rise on the evil and on the good, and sendeth rain on the just and on the unjust. For if ye love them which love you, what reward have ye? do not even the publicans the same? And if ye salute your brethren only, what do ye more than others? do not even the publicans so? Be ye therefore perfect, even as your Father which is in heaven is perfect.” (Matthew 5:38-48 KJV)

  21. lucy ng permalink

    Living in a multi religious country with multi racial people around I’m careful not to be a stumbling block to others especially in laws who are Taoist.Its true the way we live our lives reflect to others not to defame Christ…My father in law passed away recently & our family gave him due respect to perform Taoist rites.I don’t judge them the way these ceremonies are done ..all have their symbolic meanings!
    But I know for sure they will know us being Christians but did not judge them too.

  22. Glynda Vickery permalink

    Who am I to judge others? Is that my job? NO! I certainly have enough faults myself!

    /

Leave a Reply

