Skip to content

I am a runner, well eventually..

September 27, 2010

Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a huge crowd of witnesses to the life of faith, let us strip off every weight that slows us down, especially the sin that so easily trips us up. And let us run with endurance the race God has set before us. We do this by keeping our eyes on Jesus, the champion who initiates and perfects our faith. Because of the joy awaiting him, he endured the cross, disregarding its shame. Now he is seated in the place of honor beside God’s throne.  Hebrews 12:1-2

God bless,

Mark Brown

http://www.facebook.com/MarkBrown.page
http://twitter.com/RevMarkB

If you would like to subscribe to this blog and receive my reflections as an email for free: click here.

Yahweh’s Yarn in a Year : 1 year Bible reading plan

The Portion for today is: Proverbs 17-18

To access the complete plan for the year click here.

From → Uncategorized

9 Comments
  1. Kay permalink

    Yes i try and i push and push….but sometimes i feel i cannot go on any longer. I will want a sign that i am getting somewhere, that God is hearing me……not that i am doing all this for nothing. I seem to be stuck in this place i dont like and have been so for a long time now. When will things change for me?

    • Janana25 permalink

      Hi Kay, I may not sure that I have the answer to your questions, but I wanted to let you know that I feel exactly the same way, so you are not alone. I feel like am stuck in the same place and nothing really good is happening to me. I ask God to show me a sign and tell me what am doing rwong. Maybe am not looking at the right place but at the same time am asking my self how to look and how can I recognize his voice.

      I will keep you in my prayers and you can do the same for me, and maybe who knows, we might receive a sign from God very soon!!.

      Have a good week.

      • Kay permalink

        Yes Janana…good to know that someone feels the way i do. Its awful just wondering what one might be doing that is wrong……when at the same time one is doing ones best. Yes i hope to know whether my prayers are said in the right way ….at the same time i say i might be doing or saying or asking for what might not be right in God’s eyes.

      • LYNN permalink

        JANANA, PLEASE FORGIVE ME FOR MISPELLING YOUR NAME.

  2. I am persevering daily. I know that I will till I die,,, but if it is all for Christ I will keep tring. Everyday may be my last , know one can no. I thank God for the opportunity to be able to do this.I do remember when I didn’t think that I could every go back to God. I felt he was untouchable ,,, I was that far away til he brought me back … Thank you Lord Jesus.

  3. LYNN permalink

    DEAR KAY AND JANNA, I KNOW THE FEELING OF FEELING LIKE YOU’RE STUCK IN 1 PLACE WITH GOD, BUT PLEASE BELIEVE ME WHEN I SAY THAT GOD WILL ANSWER YOUR PRAYERS WHEN THE TIME IS RIGHT. IT WILL BE IN HIS TIME AND NOT OURS. FOR OVER 2 YEARS I PRAYED ALONG WITH MANY OTHERS FOR GOD TO TAKE THE PAIN FROM MY LEGS, AND ON FEBUARY 15TH OF THIS YEAR,I AWOKE WITHOUT PAIN IN MY LEGS. THE 2 LESSONS I GOT FROM ALL THE WAITING I HAD TO DO WAS,1) BE STILL AND KNOW THAT HE IS GOD, AND 2) TO BE STILL AND KNOW THAT HE IS GOD. GOD IS NEVER TOO LATE, HE IS ALWAYS RIGHT ON TIME. WAITING SHOWS GOD HOW STRONGLY WE BELIEVE, AND ALSO HOW DEVOTED TO HIM WE TRULY ARE. MY GRAM ALWAYS TOLD ME GOD WILL NEVER GIVE US MORE THAN WE CAN HANDLE, AND NEVER TAKE US TO A PLACE WHERE HIS GRACE CANNOT REACH US. AND I MYSELF HAVE JUST FOUND OUT THAT WHEN THERE’S A BATTLE WE MUST FIGHT, GOD GIVES US THE REST AND STRENGTH WE WILL NEED TO FIGHT THAT BATTLE AND BE VICTORIOUS. AND I CAME OUT OF THIS BATTLE STRONGER THAN I WAS BEFORE, PRAISE GOD. SO DO NOT LOSE HOPE, AND NEVER QUIT, NEVER QUIT, FIGHT, FIGHT, FIGHT. MAY GOD BLESS YOU BOTH MIGHTILY, IN JESUS NAME, AMEN.

  4. Lydia reyes permalink

    God Bless all who commented to this Post. While we wait on God we have to Pray for perserverance and endurance for all that we are going thru. God ‘s Word tell us to be still and wait on him. There are many times we do not understand what is taking so long, but God’s plans are not our plan and no one knows better than God. As Pastor Mark read we must put our focus on Jesus. In his time God makes all things beautiful, In his time.

  5. Vivian permalink

    Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance. Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything. (James 1:2-4)

    I joke around with my 2 prayer partners that if I knew James, I’d want to slap him! …in love, of course!

    I am not accustomed to commenting in a public venue, but we all know, I guess, that the Spirit is not one to argue with, and so, I am growing in obedience.

    Perseverence is so difficult for me.
    I am (unexpectedly at mid-life) a single person. And thus, I am wounded, and I struggle with this a great deal. I sometimes fall into the temptation of wanting so desperately for someone to come and take my Cross from me – or at least to help carry it, maybe so I can have an audience for my lamenting…
    I become tired and cranky, and I just don’t WANT to persevere, and have my faith tested so I can, basically, GROW UP as a Christian (that maturity thing…).

    I thank and praise God for my faithful prayer partners – my two sisters in Christ… We come from vastly different worlds – they are Haitian and Liberian, and I am white bread American – but the Lord DID find it fitting to bring us together 3+ years ago, and we meet every week, and there are Mondays I simply do NOT want to leave my house, but I go. Shawn McDonald sings a song, “when He says, ‘come’, I come; when He says, ‘go’ I go.”

    And so I go. I still the noise in my head, and in quiet and confidence, I walk out the door to meet Him in the fellowship He has given to me as an immense gift.

    It is always and only through this time, in His presence, that I return to the Rock where I know that this perseverence, that leads me to HOPE, is what sustains me.

    Lynn, your post touched me because I, too, often look upward and wonder, “Lord, when WILL it be your time for me?” Some days, I simply don’t want to keep walking. And yet, I do. His grace is sufficient. His grace is sufficient. I repeat as a mantra so I do not fall into the great and vast abyss of temptation to indulge myself in the luxury of my own self-pity.

    And then, my most accomplished “trick” is to recall a little vignette I read once about a small child, praying with her father at bedtime. He, giving her the seeds of faith, encouraging her belief in our heavenly Father to always walk with us in this life, became mute when she replied, “Daddy, I know God loves me and is always here with me, but sometimes, I just want someone with flesh on….”

    So, therein lies the essence of my own faith walk, that I humbly share with you tonight….

    Not only so, but we[a] also rejoice in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope. And hope does not disappoint us, because God has poured out his love into our hearts by the Holy Spirit, whom he has given us. (Romans 5:3-6)

  6. Twi permalink

    I believe the answer is to to what Mark Brown shares with us to do: JOURNEY DEEPER INTO GOD’S WORD…the wisdom, answers and signs you are looking for are all there…you need to be patient and work on your endurance as he suggests. Do not try to build your faith based on what you see or through your own mind, but by the renewing of it with God’s word. All through history, man always asked for signs from God, and Jesus said, Ye of little faith….there is only one thing to focus on and that is your faith…it only comes from learning God’s word. I pray this will help you as you walk the journey of faith..

Leave a Reply

