Skip to content

How can I?

September 16, 2010

‘Feed the hungry, and help those in trouble. Then your light will shine out from the darkness, and the darkness around you will be as bright as noon.’ Isaiah 58:10



How can I want a big house when so many in the world are without any shelter?

How can I complain about the lack of variety in my diet when one child every five seconds dies from hunger-related causes?

How can I allow myself to feel down when so many struggle with the extreme pain of a mental illness?

How can I consider getting an iPad or some other gadget when so many battle simply to survive.

How can I be annoyed by a noisy neighbour when there are those at risk in war zones.

How can I be content in my faith when so many don’t have a personal relationship with Jesus Christ?

So what am I going to do about it?

Dear God, I completely commit myself to doing all I can to alleviate poverty, to support those struggling with mental illness, to love generously without the expectation of being loved in return, and to share the Good News of Jesus Christ. Lord give me the right perspective so I might serve you selflessly, give my a focus and understanding of the struggle and pain of others so that I might respond appropriately. Lord I give you all I have. I am ready. Amen.

God bless,

Mark Brown

http://www.facebook.com/MarkBrown.page
http://twitter.com/RevMarkB

If you would like to subscribe to this blog and receive my reflections as an email for free: click here.

Yahweh’s Yarn in a Year : 1 year Bible reading plan

The Portion for today is: 1 Chronicles 5-9

To access the complete plan for the year click here.

From → Uncategorized

47 Comments
  1. rhoda permalink

    thank you for the questions we need to ask ourselves….

  2. Noel G.DeGuzman permalink

    As servants of our Lord Jesus Christ , it’s our privellege, responsibility, and obligation to do what is necessary for our fellow men in need. As we have done it for them … we also have done it for Christ!!! May God empower us to be committed to this task!

  3. Louise permalink

    You are so right Mark. How can I? Lord, break through the self-centred bubble I live in and give me a heart for those on the outside of my comfortable world. Show me where you long to use me to make a difference.

  4. Brother Mark..Love those questions…and your prayer!

  5. Paul Mora permalink

    Just keep spreading the TRUTH, GOD’S WORD. GLORY BE TO GOD, THE MOST HIGH GOD JEHOVAH, HOSANNA IN THE HIGHEST! WOOOOOOO! 😀

  6. Didi N. Samuel permalink

    I’ll never let trivial things I can’t get immediately bother me when there are people on this same planet suffering and dying from hunger and other basic human needs. God please empower me to help people in need

  7. jennifer zingalie permalink

    A song I remember singing says “for if once I could see the world the way you see I just know I’d serve you more faithfully…” I pray I live my life with gratitude and understand abundance comes from my hope in Him, that he give me boldness as lions but be harmless as doves in spreading the knowledge of Jesus Christ, master and Lord over all!

  8. This is a great eye opener…. It really helps you differentiate what’s minor and what is major… Thank You dear God for using Mr. Brown as an eye opener…. I really needed that… Thank You Dear Lord….

  9. evelyna butler permalink

    O teach us lorddd 2 b whatever 2 wwwhomever. ,whenever we need 2 b. Whatever is ur will Lord. N the name of ur sonChrist Jesus Amen!! JAH love Evelyna Butler

  10. evelyna butler permalink

    I am homeless! And I do no the Lord has a plan 4 me. And I do want my own home 4 me & my grandchildren!! JEHOVAH’S WILL,CAS I BABYSIT ALSO. Bless Eve

  11. Aneisha Elliott permalink

    Love it, this will truly change someone and touch someone’s heart…can everyone that commented on this please add me.? God bless.!

  12. When so many have closets overflowing with clothes, coats, etc they don’t wear that could keep a child or homeless person warm, we need to STOP thinking about selfish needs, and realize the real blessings received by helping others. One of the greatest blesssings in my life was helping a homeless man find clothes at the food/clothing pantry for our church Mosiac Church of Central Arkansas. I was so humbled when he didn’t care about the syles etc, he was grateful just to have clothes. What are the most requested items? Take a guess? Socks, underwear, toilet paper, and personal items. Now I tell you that each of us can give something to help the needy if it is only our “time”, a hug, a smile, a bar of soap. The world needs to stop being so selfish and realize that by helping those in need it gives so much more to the heart than material items that will soon fade away. Think about it, and do something to help those in need. You will be blessed greater than you ever imagined, and God will be Smiling at your good works. God Bless You!

  13. Jeff permalink

    Thank you Mark. I am having some issues lately that may be tied to depression and anxiety disorder. Sometimes Christians are not too accepting of this kind of illness. Preachers have told me in the past that Christians should never frown because we are saved. They do not understand. I pray that God will open peoples eyes.

    • Stacy permalink

      Praying for you, Jeff!

    • Steve Gill permalink

      Jeff….
      My wife is just coming out of this. I will tell you that after witnessing this first hand, you will have tough moments…. but I’ve seen how my wife has drawn NEW strength in this weakness. Yes… she feels weak…. not as useful. But God does His Work in an empty shell. My wife is being used by The Lord more every day. I will pray that your courage and faith withstand the deep and dark pain that you feel at times. Be brave Jeff, God will use you as you go through this struggle.

    • Kathy permalink

      Oh my goodness, Jeff, I’m appalled! I don’t know what kind of preachers you’ve been talking to, but that’s just wrong! We are not promised that we will never be unhappy. Only a clown smiles 100% of the time, and it’s painted on! I hope you are now in a good, loving church that fully supports you and prays with you. God bless. Don’t let people discourage you.

    • Julie permalink

      I know how problematic such disorders are misunderstood or treated unjustly. You are not alone and I pray for the strength needed to cope with such issues!! A support system makes the troubles easier to on everyone concerned. “Seek and ye shall find” and I think you’ve take the first step. God Bless You and yours!

      • Julie permalink

        3rd sentence the word ‘TO’ between ‘easier and on’ should not be in the sentence, my apologizies

  14. liz permalink

    I believe that Father God has left an example for us to follow and aply in our walk with Him. He has givin to some of us more than others not to burry in the sand to hide,but rather to share. He will bring to you,the whom,what,and the where. Ask Him for your walk with Him in this life. Personnal relationship is so important for each of us. So if you have been givin a large home use it for Him and His kingdom.You could use it to hold more people for a home bible study. If you have a pool use it for a baptism pool. There is so much you could do. Don’t let the emotional guilt because you have and others don’t stop the bigger goal. The enemy would have trapped in that.

  15. Steve Gill permalink

    Well……
    Last night one of my football players came to my house at 2AM and needed a place to sleep. He and his mother have lived in a local motel for the past year after losing the place that they rented a year ago. My player is 14 years old and he barely has enough clothes to make it through the week. He and His Mother got in an argument and needed a break from one another. They have been living in one room in extreme poverty for a year!!! Mark…. if you’re ready, The Harvest is Plentiful. Go for it. Get so uncomfortable that it hurts. Because this boy is one of a hundred examples of poverty in our city and not many people understand what steps to take to help. The first step…. build real relationships. Care enough to go into there life where they live and show compassion for wanting to know them. Step two: Listen, Love and let God Lead. Step Three: If you do these things then have faith to know that God is with you (Immanuel) and HELP. Do it quietly and unassumingly, because we serve a God that is deserving of All The Glory. I love you Mark. If you’re ready…. then “Go ye therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of The Father, The Son and The Holy Spirit”. The poor…. the widows and the children are ready too. They will see God’s Grace through our God Serving Actions. Love and Peace to all today. Look in the knooks and crannies for God’s Voice calling you into action. He’s promised us Eternity, so the work has already received it’s payment. He’s paid in full!!

  16. diannegookool ramnath permalink

    god,i love u unconditionally,please bless me inabundants so i can bless those who are ineed of ,also continue the work u have started in me,my family and my home,that we can make a difference where ever we go and what ever we do,help us lord to be a piquella people for u ,love u always!!!!!!!!!xxxxxxx.

  17. Lloyd Lenz permalink

    Then the king will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world. For I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, I was naked and you gave me clothing, I was sick and you took care of me, I was in prison and you visited me.’ Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or naked and clothe you? When did we see you sick or in prison and visit you?’ And the king will answer them, ‘I tell you the truth, just as you did it for one of the least of these brothers or sisters of mine, you did it for me.’ Mathew 25:35-39

  18. It seems that we spend so much time trying to find contentment in our own lives by looking for that better job, bigger house, newer car, more clothes, more possessions, the list goes on and the result is that we’re never completely satisfied or contented.

    However, we seem to be content in our ignoring, nor even acknowledging the injustice and suffering that occurs all around us. Where is our discontentment in knowing that so many live in pain and poverty throughout this world.

  19. curt miller permalink

    Thank you for a realality check Mark!

  20. I would like an answer to : how do you let go and forgive people or loves ones that has hurt you so bad all you do is think about it and your heart seems to break? 2nd: I KNOW i NEED TO GET BACK IN CHURCH, but I am too lazy to get up and go and I am not sure which one to go back to or find another, 3rd: how do you pray for all the prayers that is asked of you , its seems impossible.

    • choupie permalink

      The enemy is the father of all lies he will put in your head all kinds of thaughts to keep you from getting closer to God. Get on your knees and ask Jesus to come into your life becuz know he died for ur sins for you to be forgiven for ur sins. ask the lord totake control and guide you to Him and believe he will and you will be lead to where to go. faith in God will lead you to God seek God with all your heart. God is good give him your heart and you will see your life renewed. God bless you.

  21. Kathleen permalink

    I love to listen to you, I couldn’t say it better. May God Bless You, Keep You, and Protect You & All Your Loved Ones, Always.oooooooooooooLots of Hugs

  22. Susan permalink

    Thank you Pastor Mark for your message. We need to be reminded of the blessings that we have, and the need to be grateful and not be such a complaining people. We do tend to complain about what we lack and forget that compared to most of the world, we live abundantly. We never seem to be satisfied or content with our blessings and seek more, or better than. We need to remember that there are people in the world that don’t have anything that they can call their own, every day of their life they struggle just to survive. And yet, we complain about the little things. We need to focus and remember that only by the grace of God do we have the life that we have, and be forever thankful.
    Praise the Lord. ♥♥♥

  23. june miller permalink

    It’s so encouraging to be reading all of these responses. The Christian life is rich and alive with people who care and want to please our Lord Jesus Christ.
    Thank you Mark and all who have responded. Again, I am encouraged.

  24. lucy ng permalink

    Mark your post really touched my heart!!I’m now in tears……….as much as I want to thank GOD for putting me into difficult situations daily carrying crosses……I’m now feeling grateful that I can still praise & thank HIM for sharing in his sufferings..I cannot change the world but even to share your love to someone…it means a lot as you have said angels are rejoicing even for one lost soul…LORD may you give me strength to continue this journey!!!

  25. Lydia reyes permalink

    Thank you for the wonderful post today. It really put us in a position to be content in any circumstance. If we have litlle, Praise God for it. If we have plenty share with the least fortunate. I always remember the verse in Matthew 25 verse 40. Amen, I say to you, whatever you did for one of the least brothers and sisters of mine,you did it to me. I thank God when I am able to give someone in need because I know that God is the giver of all that I have.We can never out give God. Praise you Lord Jesus ,for you gave us your all.

  26. I wrote a song about exactly the same thing, also based on Isaiah 58:6-10.
    It’s here if you’d like to see it:

    Lyrics:

    It seems so far away –
    The thought of suffering, of hunger and need.
    Lord, we’re so comfortable,
    They’re only pictures on my TV screen.

    Oh, we fast but we know we can eat the next day,
    And we travel to church in a car.
    There are carpets to comfort our knees when we pray,
    And no danger in being what we are.

    Are my praises so loud that they drown out the cries?
    Do I fail to stoop down ‘cause my hands are raised so high?
    Are my eyes shut so tight when I pray I won’t see?
    Am I worshipping God for only me?

    You say that worshipping, Lord,
    Is more like something I should do with my life.
    Not just at Sunday School –
    No Lord, You’re calling me to put these things right.
    There are hungry to feed – I have so much to spare
    For the naked and down-trodden too.
    So much hurting around me, please help me to care –
    Lord, I want to start worshipping You.

    You make me shine like the sun,
    And Your glory will shelter me.
    When I cry out, You come.
    You restore me Lord, setting me free!

  27. Rachaelluv permalink

    Amen

  28. michael claypotch permalink

    Brother Tim when two or more are gathered together there i am in the midts of them.Wow The spirit of God on the internet!

  29. Dan Muchacho permalink

    Ride for Refuge 2010! Helping out the displaced, vulnerable, and exploited. Here’s the promotional video: http://www.rideforrefuge.org/resources_video.php

  30. SKLee permalink

    Thank you very much for your post to-day. It is most relevant.The church must play a meaningful role in the community in which it is in for the community to be aware of its existence!Reaching out to alleviate poverty, loving generously without expectation of being loved in return,understanding the sufferings of others without having the “holier than thou ” attitude can certainly go a long way for a church to have an impact in the society in which it exists.Most importantly, it is in line with the teachings of the Bible.

  31. Wanda D. JOHNSON permalink

    Like this and thank you.

  32. vicki permalink

    Amen.

  33. rani sitorus permalink

    I was so blind for long time. now I can see arround me. I was thinking about myself only. thanks pastor, your message has opened my eyes. I wanna be a loving – care person. this can change my point of view about life

  34. Jordan permalink

    If everyone responded to these questions the way Christ did, there would be no need for them in the first place. Thank you for your words that are a desperately needed reminder for a self-centered teenager who needs to take my relationship with Christ more seriously. Thanks!

  35. Eric permalink

    I recently spent some time in Africa and these have been questions that I have been asking myself and even asking others. When you see it with your own eyes a passion is formed

  36. Chris permalink

    These are questions that we must ask ourselves not just to get a warm a fuzzy feeling but, questions that we must ask ourselves as believers in God’s word. There is NO impossible through God!

  37. Debbie Hickey permalink

    I adopted a few years ago from Kazakhstan and even questioned that! It’s a big expense and I could have given it out to help many in need. Yet I put those resources into one child. Hard to understand God’s plans for us, but when God directs, we must follow.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Top Posts — WordPress.com

Leave a Reply

