Skip to content

How I handle criticism.

September 14, 2010

I get a lot of comments on my blog, Facebook, YouTube and sometimes they are critical. How do I handle that? Click on the vid below..

If you are on email and cannot see the vid, click here: Blog

God bless,

Mark Brown

http://www.facebook.com/MarkBrown.page
http://twitter.com/RevMarkB

If you would like to subscribe to this blog and receive my reflections as an email for free: click here.

Yahweh’s Yarn in a Year : 1 year Bible reading plan

The Portion for today is: 1 Chronicles 5-9

To access the complete plan for the year click here.

From → Uncategorized

20 Comments
  1. Charisse Crowter permalink

    I’m disabled for about 17 yrs. It started off 1st by a spinal tap that left me with nerve damage, and I was in such horrific pain, I believe I was very close to death. I have been a believer since I was a young girl. No one taught me, no one took me to church. I believe God lead me the way. Going back to my health. It was the most horrific experience….yet it was the most beautiful and I would never want that changed. I experienced a very personal relationship with the Lord. I felt my soul leave, no I did not see a light, I just realized and felt my soul was not of my body. The Lord spoke to me, and it was all positive things, and things I would not have knowledge of. As for gaining weight. I was able to eat, but not get up out of bed. So I gained alot. I’ve always been a thin person. When I looked at a picture of myself and didn’t recognize it was me, was when I knew to lose weight. With prayer, as with anything. I just downsized what I ate alot. I couldn’t exercise like Mark Brown. In fact I couldn’t exercise at all. But I lost all the weight I had gained. I was a smoker at a young age too. I tried after 20 yrs to quit, and my husband would smoke right beside me, and I was unable to quit. It was then I prayed and asked the Lord to help me with something I couldn’t do..quit smoking. Not long after that, I developed extreme pain when I inhaled a ciggerette (sp). I went to the doctors thinking I surely had cancer as the pain was very bad. Through many exams, I had not one thing wrong with my lungs or anything to do with my smoking. I went home and tried, and still I couldn’t handle smoking. I knew then…. the Lord answered my prayer. It was not hard to quit, gained weight again, but also as before I just reduced my meals and my weight went back to normal. I have many illnesses and one that is a rare one. My doctors can’t do anything about it, but I do know my Savior is the only True Healer, and I will go when He wants me home, and no sooner. I don’t believe doctors should tell patients how long they have to live. Any doctor who does that I don’t believe is a believer. I hope this helps someone. I love you my Lord and Savior ! And yes, the Holy Spirit is the Temple of my body. God Bless All !

    • Priscilla permalink

      I truely needed to hear that today also. I am in a simular situation, and i was starting to give up. But after reading this message, i know now they is hope. I love my lord, i just have to get more in touch with him. thank you so much and god bless.

  2. Jacqueline Strawder permalink

    Well, I needed to hear that today..Thanks

  3. Thank you for this. I have problems handling criticism. It is true. All things should begin with Christ and end with Christ. Also, all things should begin with the Word and end with the Word. So this video truly spoke to me. I think it will be a real help to me in my life.

  4. Steve Gill permalink

    Hello my brother Mark. Listen…. and please know that God leads me to Still Waters. I am not here to have arguments with my brother in Christ… But Peter and Paul disagreed on many issues. What they did not agree on was that Christ was the True God and True Authority.
    You are a Shepherd and we are sheep. Actually some of us are Sheperds also…. but you are the Shepherd in this environment. Saying “Take a Before and After” picture can be perceived as vanity. God doesn’t want us to look at ourselves in a mirror and flex our muscles and say “Oh… I look good”. That is why you did not take a before and after picture. My point is…. you’re not going to find everything in the Bible backing up everything you say. My feeling is “as long as you mean well and you follow God”…. Who Cares. You love me, right? You aren’t going to lead me astray, right? So….. I guess I can filter out what I don’t agree with and still call you my brother. Paul and Peter disagreed, so why can’t we. I am a minister of The Lord for what The Lord brought me through. I have no paper work to prove that I am a minister. But I AM A MAN WHO GOD CHOSES TO USE…. despite my weakness. Keep pressing on. God is great.

    • Steve Gill permalink

      Ooops I meant what Paul and Peter DID AGREE on was that Jesus was the one and only son of the True God. Sorry about that.

      Steve

  5. Juliana Pace permalink

    Just wanted to thank you for this….what a confirmation! My pastor had advised me to say nothing according to the scripture, Matt. 7:6 ” Do not give what is holy to the dogs; nor cast your pearls before swine, lest they trample them under their feet, and turn and tear you in pieces.” I minister to artists/art related people on Facebook (over 3300 in my network)…friends lately called me a Facebook Missionary (LOL). I’ve come up against some opposition for things I posted, which were just blatent irrationality! I was also criticized for not standing up to them and saying my piece but I knew that the Lord showed me to keep my lip zipped or in this case, my hands tied behind my back! Thank you for more confirmation of this…I know God has given me His means of speaking to this once in a while but mostly it’s just to keep my mouth shut! I am also taking a class in church on Peacemaking so I shared this with other members of this class, too! Thanks a bunch!

  6. Paula permalink

    Mark — You are doing great, and conducting a great ministry. People reading/listening to your discussions are not perfect. They are looking for another imperfect person to help guide them through life’s challenges by showing how they overcame some of the same problems. You are a stronger witness for Christ by being a human struggling with human weaknesses. I only doubt the guidance/wisdom of those who have not experienced enough problems or have never messed up themselves. They have nothing in common with me. The Apostle Paul was a great example of this. He just spoke his heart. Just read what he expresses in Romans chapter 7. That keeps me from being down on myself when I mess up. No one can relate to a person who represents himself as having already arrived at the perfection of Christ. We can never match his perfection but are better people for striving to do so. Assure yourself that those who cricize you do not know your heart. The Lord knows your heart and he loves you tremendously. That is enough.

  7. Mark,
    I believe that you are sincere and passionate about the gospel,preaching,teaching reaching.I think that you are doing fantastic and i look so forward to these videos,and the journey! I am kinda disappointed when the weekend comes(lol!) because of the lack of the journey! But you enjoy the weekends with the family!Don’t you worry about the critics,there’s enough folks on here that love you and pray for you and encourage you! I am one!And just how are you supposed to present the gospel….all weak and timid?NO!I believe you should use GOD given authority and present i t strongly and powerfully!
    Love ya and GOD bless you!
    Donnie

  8. I was lead to your pages by the Holy Spirit. Otherwise I would have never found you. Daddy teaches me great things through you, so don’t you dare stop because of someones criticism. I know you didn’t say you were going to, I’m just letting you know that you should press on. This was a great word. It has helped me to know how to correctly respond to criticism I receive. Thanks for you due diligence & your obedience to Daddy & pursuing this ministry.

    Blessings Friend/Pastor,
    David

  9. Timothy M Musyoka permalink

    Dear Brother Mark, Thanks for the great work you are doing. Criticized or not this should not let you loose your i.e your positive mental attitude towards the great mission a head. In fact critics are here to stay not now ,yesterday or the time a head en whether you do something, speak or not they will open their mouths to speak .Of a truth ”I DON’T PAY MUCH TIME TO CRITIZISM UNLESS ITS A POSITIVE ONE, COZ THIS WORLD IS DIVIDED INTO TWO GROUPS OF PEOPLE, YES THE CRITICS EN THOSE WHO MAKE THINGS HAPPEN.”
    Mark you are amongest the company of those people who make things happen en if you doubt this analyse from to day the feed back of those who call back or subscribe to just report on how this blog has changed ther lives.
    They criticized our Lord en called him Belzebull will it be you? let this act as your spring board to the next door God is preparing to open wide if you won’t loose focus, sucurb or recard you hope en be dismayed ! -see – Jeremiah 1:8
    Regards Timothy!

  10. Timothy M Musyoka permalink

    Dear Brother Mark, Thanks for the great work you are doing. Criticized or not this should not let you loose your PMA i.e your positive mental attitude towards the great mission a head. In fact critics are here to stay not now ,yesterday or the time a head en whether you do something, speak or not they will open their mouths to speak .Of a truth ”I DON’T PAY MUCH TIME TO CRITIZISM UNLESS ITS A POSITIVE ONE, COZ THIS WORLD IS DIVIDED INTO TWO GROUPS OF PEOPLE, YES THE CRITICS EN THOSE WHO MAKE THINGS HAPPEN.”
    Mark you are amongest the company of those people who make things happen en if you doubt this analyse from to day the feed back of those who call back or subscribe to just report on how this blog has changed ther lives.
    They criticized our Lord en called him Belzebull will it be you? let this act as your spring board to the next door God is preparing to open wide if you won’t loose focus, sucurb or recard you hope en be dismayed ! -see – Jeremiah 1:8
    Regards Timothy!

  11. Lisa permalink

    Just wanted to throw this out there… I enjoy your emails more when they’re in written format, rather than when it’s a video. When you write it out I can leave off wherever if I’m distracted by something that’s going on, but when it’s a video it’s a hassle to pause, or find the spot where I was… And it’s not most convenient if I’m in a public place… Just throwing this out there…

  12. Edgar permalink

    It seems that every time I attempt to carry on a conversation about Christ or the Bible, someone I’m talking to gets angry, or even offended. And the sad part about that is they are “church members,” and supposedly “Christian.” I had all day to pray and talk to God about this, and my answer is to just “be quiet,” “be still,” and “listen.” Sometimes I do believe that is the better way to be here in America when it comes to Christ, the Bible, and the church. Just be still, quiet, and listen. One can pick up on an awful lot of things when we just take the time to “listen,” especially to God. Hmm…The very mention of God, Christ, or the Bible still seems to urk people off, especially in the USA where we have a “freedom of religion” and everyone has the right to worship as they see fit. If you bring up Christ, God, or the Bible scriptures up outside the four walls of the “church building,” you are immediately condemned by those who attend every week, or every time the doors open.

    I’ve heard it said many times that “God works in mysterious ways,” but in the American church it seems God is ONLY supposed to work “one way,” and if you don’t meet that standard of “one way,” you are NOT saved, nor do you have any place in His kingdom or his church on earth. That “one way” seems to be: you are to be saved and baptized just as soon as you are old enough to understand, give immediately of your finances, and continue to worship and fellowship with the other believers in [your] church building for the rest of your life. But do not ever talk to anyone who’s been there longer than you about Christ or the Bible. That’s a “no-no.” Okay, I guess it’s a “control thing.” Humans are inevitably possessed by it as we’ve seen throughout our world history where men attempted to control others by force or other means. It still goes on today. We see it in churches, we see it in the workforce, we see it in families, and we see it among friends (or should I say today – acquaintances?

    How do I handle “criticism” from others? My best bet is to shut up, be still, be quiet, listen, and most of all “let it go!” If I get too caught up in the moment, I will not handle this thing called “criticism” very well, leastwise not according to God’s plan and purpose.

  13. Douw permalink

    We all serve one great God but we have so many churches and different believe and so many people dont like their pastors or people like Mark to talk about certain thing within the bible because that limits their fun or their point of view of their live. Basically before you start saying things like I’m a christian and I dont like what you are saying or believe its not right, go to the bible and pray for the Lord to show you what He wants you to do and believe. Dont let your pride and self service come in the way of the Holy Spirit trying to teach you.

    And if you dont like what you hear than dont listen, its as easy as that! So if you dont have anything good to say, rather dont say anything at all than.

  14. Ben permalink

    To Edgar, I heard a man say “I have been in church all my life and if anyone tries to explain something that is not what I have heard all my life I don’t listen. It is a strange thing one can post on facebook something as click “Like” if you believe that Jesus is Lord” and get few or no “Like” responses. But one can post click “Like” and write something a favorite sports player and get lots of “Like” responses. It is hard to understand why few people spend time sharing their feeling about Christ and God the Father. The only explanation I came up with is the problem comes from Religion. We have more churches in this country than other countries yet we have just as much Ungodliness as other countries. People may disagree but I see the problem from Christ’s point of view. Christ said in the last days people will be lovers of pleasure more than lovers of God, they would have a form of Religion but denying the power there of. Many people go to churches saying they are Christian but they are taking Christ’s name in vain. They follow a form of worship and say the right words in Church but their hearts are far from God. They likely do not read the Bible so get into a conversation about Christ show whose child they are.

  15. Amen, Ben!

  16. Aaron Kline permalink

    Hey Mark,

    I agree with you belief that you return to the Biblical principle that justifies your action. However, at the end of your video, you did not carry that through to completion. You sited principles, but not passages. While I agree with most of what you said, and assume that it is correct, I would prefer to be able to go back to the scripture that you get those views from and study them. What scriptures are the source of the statements you make from about 9:50 to the end?

    Please continue your work. I am praying for you.

    Sincerely,

    Aaron Kline

Leave a Reply

