Skip to content

How to discover God’s will for your life

September 2, 2010

Over this past  5 or so months I have been exploring God’s will for my life and have discovered an amazing technique of how to discover God’s will.. click the play button below, and if you are on email, to watch it click here: video



God bless!

Mark

http://www.facebook.com/MarkBrown.page
http://twitter.com/RevMarkB

If you would like to subscribe to this blog and receive my reflections as an email for free: click here.

Yahweh’s Yarn in a Year : 1 year Bible reading plan

The Portion for today is: Proverbs 16

To access the complete plan for the year click here.

From → Uncategorized

18 Comments
  1. Carol permalink

    Mark, Thank you so very much for sharing the word of God with us in America.
    I am so Blessed by your preaching. Thank you Jesus for allowing Mark
    to be on facebook where he is seen by thousands of people.
    Because He Lives,
    Carol

  2. Dear Mark,

    I appreciate your insights more than you can know. Two years ago I left a well paying HR Manager job to pursue my own company as a Personal Trainer. I did and still do believe this is the direction God wants me to go. I don’t make a lot of money yet, but business is starting to pick up a little bit.

    After hearing your message, I made me realize that I was that person who wanted to go in the bush, but only so far. I have done some work to expand my business, but was more sitting back waiting for God to do his thing. Having realized this, I understand why I’ve only gotten mediocre results in my business. I need to commit 100% to God and his will and do everything I’m supposed to be doing on my end. By doing so, I know my business will increase as well.

    Thank you for you insights and your total commitment to God. I get more inspired every time I get your emails.
    MarkB

  3. Amen!

    I would just add that God calls us to be holy because He is holy. See 1Peter 1:16. That is, we are to become His peculiar treasure, set apart from that which is common to the world. We are called to be like Him.

    Thus, His righteousness will be expressed in us, and doors of opportunity to be a blessing to others will be opened. We will no longer say “What can God do for me?” but “What can I do to make His love known to others?”

    But how can we know how to be holy?

    The answer is in the Scriptures, which testify of Jesus. His example is the one that we are to follow in all things. And if we truly follow Him we will fulfill God’s will for us, thus being holy as He is holy (1John 2:6).

    Blessings to you…

    –Christopher

  4. Betty Colemire permalink

    Thank you for your message of Gods will…..

  5. Mike permalink

    What does ‘taking off’ really mean Mark?? Sometimes it’s not so easy when others are involved. I think all 3 of your approaches are valid. And each of those positions can be hard. ‘Staying where you are and waiting’ has always been the hardest thing for me…. in NO way easy!!!! The question remains ‘which approach does God require of me TODAY. That will continue to be a difficult question for all of us. God’s Word doesn’t always tell us the nitty gritty of life’s difficult decisions. The comfort for me is that God is watching and when I make a mistake it’s not final.

    • Mike,

      If I may answer your question, I think what Mark is talking about here is not letting fear of the unknown keep you from stepping out in faith and doing what you know ought to be done.

      It’s easy to take the pleasant path but difficult to take the road of opposition. One way only requires sight, while the other way requires faith. One way focuses on self, while the other way relies on God.

      When self ceases to be the object of focus the right path is made known. In many cases one doesn’t have to go anywhere, they just simply have to change the way they look at things.

      Blessings to you…

  6. Hi Mark,

    I’m trying to get support from Christians to turn round an atheist poll where Stephen Hawking is saying that the universe is the work of physics and not God.

    At the moment the Christian vote is looking pathetic (although we have raised it from 16% to 18% in the last two hours) and I wonder whether you’d consider posting something on your “The Bible” facebook group so it is posted to all the millions of newsfeeds and ask them to spread the message, utilising the viral nature of the internet and uniting Christians together across the world.

    http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/belief/poll/2010/sep/02/religion-hawking

    It would be nice to show that there is still faith in God out there rather than letting the atheists feed their egos with a crushing victory.

    I can’t find another way to contact you easily, so hope you don’t mind me posting on your blog.

    Dave

  7. Emily permalink

    Thank you so much Mark!! I needed to hear this message today…I’m currently walking the path God called me to about three years ago now. That path led me to quitting my corporate world job to attend graduate school where I have completed one year and have about a year and a half to go. This has certainly been a time of hiking through the hills (and goodness have there have been some valleys amidst the hills!!), but I have found exactly as you were saying – I have to make sure to tie into God’s Word and find those markers along the path. Walking this path is truly the most difficult thing I have ever attempted in my life, but it is also the absolute most rewarding. Thank you so much for your words of encouragement! God is speaking through you. God Bless <

  8. jenna permalink

    Mark…. i’m speechless…. it feels like God used you to talk directly to me today. i thank you so much for letting God use you! i wont go into my entire life story right now, i just want u to know that i busted out in tears as i watched the video. you have no idea how much i needed to hear every word you said. God is so awesome! and He DOES guide us. God bless you, may u never lose your faith, grow stronger each and everyday and continue to bless those who watch/read your posts. thank you again. if you would please pray for me, i need peace and acceptance with the the plan God has for me, it’s scary, but i know i have to do it. please pray that i dont get discouraged. thank u, God bless

  9. Stephen White permalink

    Thanks for that, Mark. The sort of reflection that bith encourages and challlenges. I could not help but think of Robert Frost’s poem “The path not taken” as I listened. The poem reads:

    Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
    And sorry I could not travel both
    And be one traveller, long I stood
    And looked down one as far as I could
    To where it bent in the undergrowth;

    Then took the other, as just as fair,
    And having perhaps the better claim,
    Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
    Though as for that the passing there
    Had worn them really about the same,

    And both that morning equally lay
    In leaves no step had trodden black.
    Oh, I kept the first for another day!
    Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
    I doubted if I should ever come back.

    I shall be telling this with a sigh
    Somewhere ages and ages hence:
    Two roads diverged in a wood, and I–
    I took the one less traveled by,
    And that has made all the difference

    …Robert Frost

    Taking the road less travelled makes all the dirrerence.

    Stephen White

    • Kathy permalink

      Stephen, thank you so much for writing out Robert Frost’s beautiful poem! I’ve always loved it, and the last two lines are so true.

  10. Annelize permalink

    Best Mark, I really wanted to see your video but staying in SA and our internet connection speed makes it very difficult. Could you place the video somewhere so that we ca download it and watch it afterwards?

    Thanks for the inspiration!

  11. You are a BLESSING. Thank you for sharing the inspiration of the Holy Spirit in this space…. reaching across time zones and through wireless networks to minister to my heart and soul. God bless you!

  12. Edgar permalink

    Too often in this “keep up with the Joneses” society we’ve built for ourselves we often take the road most traveled by anyone and everyone so as not to appear different in the eyes of fellow men and friends and family. That’s not the way God intended life to be, but gave us the road less traveled and a “freewill” for us to decide how we want to live our lives as we journey here. That “freewill” can be lived in righteousness in the sight of God Himself, or can be lived hidden in the shadows of darkness that is sin forevermore. The choice has been given entirely to us to make, and make it we will at some point in our lives either to reject the LORD or accept His gift of Life once and for all.

    We can be the same as the world by taking part in all of it by conformity, or we can make a difference by being different and stand apart from this world and the sin that comes along with it. A wise choice is deserving of an eternal reward.

  13. Steve Gill permalink

    I’m at an impasse. Yes…. I have two roads that I’m on and they are both roads in which I feel are important. What a struggle as I work a “true ministry” in the Inner City with Racial Predjudice and God’s Word as the battle ground. And the other “A video production vision” that has carried me into different parts of the country and offered me dozens of opportunities to pass on the Good News about God. This message was much needed. Even though it didn’t answer anything about which path I should take…. I figured out one thing. If i didn’t go both ways, I would have never known. Meaning…. if I never was doing both of them, I’d never have the experience of whether God wanted me to do either in the first place. I will Trust That God Will Show Me which way my life will go. Thanks for the encouragement. I will keep plodding down these 2 paths for now. God will show me what to do.

  14. LYNN permalink

    THERE HAS SEEMED TO BE AN ONSLAULT OF SPIRITUAL ATTACKS AGAINST ME, WITH MANY BATTLES TO BE FOUGHT. I THANK GOD FOR BEING MY STRENGTH AND BRINGING ME OUT VICTORIOUSLY. THE BATTLES WERE LONG AND HARD, BUT ALL PRAISE,POWER, GLORY ,AND HONOR GO TO THE LORD MOST HIGH. I WAS COMPLETELY WORN OUT AND BATTLE WEARY, BUT GOD FOUND EXACTLY THE RIGHT PLACE FOR ME TO RECUPERATE AND STILL BE USED BY HIM. I AM IN SUCH AWE OF GOD AND HOW HE WORKS. GOD IS JUST SO TOTALY AMAZING TO ME. I WAS IN A HOSPITAL FOR TWO AND A HALF WEEKS AND GOD SENT PEOPLE FOR ME TO MINISTER HEALING TO. 1 LADY HAD SEVERE STOMACH PROBLEMS AND GOD HAD ME LAY HANDS ON HER AND PRAY, AND THAT NIGHT SHE WAS ABLE TO SLEEP WITHOUT PAIN MEDICATIONS. ANOTHER WOMAN WAS THERE WHO HAD A FORM OF DEMENTIA. GOD SENT A SISTER TO PRAY FOR HER WITH ME AND WITHIN 2 DAYS SHE HAD CALMED DOWN AND TRANSFORMED INTO A DIFFERENT WOMAN. SHE WAS TAKING SHOWERS, FIXING HER HAIR, AND PUTTING MAKE UP ON. AND I WAS HUMBLED BY THESE THINGS AND OTHER THINGS THAT TOOK PLACE THAT I FELL TO MY KNEES AND THANKED AND PRAISED GOD, FOR I KNOW WHO HAD PERFORMED THESE MIRACLES, AND IT CERTAINLY WAS NOT ME!!!

    • Steve Gill permalink

      Lynn….
      How great it is… and how HUMBLING it is to be used by the Hands of God. When you are WEAK…. there is God’s strength manifested by His Holy Spirit ready to work through the ABLE vessel known as LYNN. I am so encouraged when I see the TRUE christian witnessing these wonderful acts. And I am even more encouraged by your unselfish and grateful attitude towards the miracles that our God is performing in your midst. Many people look at the situation with Peter stepping out and falling in the water after a few steps and see it as a Faith Failure. But many of the disciples were watching from the sidelines. Yes, Jesus did make a point to tell Peter that he didn’t have enough faith. But he never said he had none! Peter’s faith would grow… but last time I looked, nothing can grow without first being planted. Thanks for your witness and continue to update us on what is going on. I will pray for you Lynn and please pray for me. I am being used by the Mighty God also. I cry knowing that little ole me is useful when the Holy Spirit comes. It’s such an honor and so darn humbling. Love and Peace to you this day and to all the sons and daughters of Jesus Christ, the only TRUE SON OF GOD.

Leave a Reply

