Skip to content

A Clean Heart

July 13, 2010

‘Create in me a clean heart, O God; and renew a right spirit within me. Cast me not away from thy presence; and take not thy holy spirit from me. Restore unto me the joy of thy salvation; and uphold me with thy free spirit.’ Psalm 51:10-12

I yearn for a clean heart, a pure heart, free from the blemish and ugly stain of sin.  Clean and fresh, pure and holy.  I know that just expecting this to happen won’t cut it.  Every day I need to commit to keeping it clean.  Like taking a shower or brushing my teeth, it is a daily task.  But not one that I can manufacture, all I can do is be willing to be in God’s presence and to ask Him to create in me a clean heart. I have to take the step towards God, to confess my sin, to turn from wrong practice and to focus on the things of God.  This is a commitment to be in the presence of God.  And today I make this amazing passage my prayer:

Lord create in me a clean heart, O God; and renew a right spirit within me. Cast me not away from your presence; and take not your holy spirit from me. Restore within me the joy of your amazing salvation; and give me a wonderful life through your free spirit. Amen!

Join me today in praying this.

God bless,

Mark Brown

http://www.facebook.com/MarkBrown.page
http://twitter.com/RevMarkB

If you would like to subscribe to this blog and receive my reflections as an email for free click here: Subscribe.

………………………………………………………………………..

Yahweh’s Yarn in a Year : 1 year Bible reading plan

The portion for today is: Leviticus 13-15; 2 Kings 6-10
To access the complete plan for the year click here: click

Check out this awesome song by a good friend of mine, Anna Weatherup by clicking on the play button below..

From → Uncategorized

35 Comments
  1. I often pray this prayer. This verse happens to be my favorite.

  2. Sandee permalink

    God this is my prayer and commitment toYOU today as I leave family and cleave to YOU I have sinned You and I know what and I ask Your forgiveness and start fresh right here and now in Worthingting, MN

  3. Michelle permalink

    Yes Amen Mark ” who can come to the mountain of the Lord, but those that have clean hands and a pure heart.” We cry out God for You to purify our heart !

  4. rohan permalink

    hi i’m a student, and I am struggling with my religion, things seem to get a bit much sometimes. I hope that I can receive the blessing from God that we pray for.

  5. Sarah Arseneault permalink

    I love this verse create in me a clean heart oh Lord and renew a right spirit within me…. , we sing it at church, thank you for the reminder. To have a free heart to love unconditionaly. That is my aim. / Praise God!

  6. Kay permalink

    Yes i yearn to be free in the Lord. The freedom that belief brings. And the peace it brings too. i am fedup of living a life of unhappiness and suffering. I try to do my best to keep a clean heart and soul but sometimes i feel that God tries me and tests me…..and i am afraid that i fail through my impatience and i rebel at my situation which is not as i want it to be. I have prayed for changes ….and i wait to see whether these changes will occur. I work at trying to be holy but of course i dont succeed. Unhappiness overwhelms.

  7. Jessica Keyes permalink

    Wow!! God is so Wonderful I was actually singing this morning Create in me a Clean Heart and then I open my email and the words are spoken back to me. Praise God for always hearing and Knowing that I need him everyday!

  8. Sharon permalink

    We can’t do the work of making our hearts clean. We come to God and He cleans our heart. He is faithful, if we confess He forgives and cleanses us. God doesn’t want us to come to him so that he can punish us like we deserve but instead he desires to forgive and to free us from the handcuffs of sin.

  9. Raye permalink

    Yes Kay, me too. I plead the blood of Jesus over us today, to lean on you and live in your ways, oh Lord. I feel I am drowning, but Jesus, I know you are saving me. I just don’t always see your hand until the last second. I must have faith, blind faith in you Jesus. For you are always faithful.

  10. Momuv2 permalink

    I have been struggling A LOT lately with unclean thoughts. It seems my imaginative nature is going in a bad way. I want to use my wonderful imagination for good not for fleshly lusts…..
    I really have always headed straight for this scripture when I have struggled in the past.
    Now it seems God came to me when I didn’t go to Him!
    Thank you for your ministry!

  11. Thanks for this, I needed to hear this, with all the trials we go through sometimes, its so easy to keep unforgiven in your heart, bitterness and every form of sin. But God is able to make all grace abound. God Bless

  12. Marcia Whittock permalink

    Was submitted without name.

  13. Dominique permalink

    i really enjoyed reading this thanks

  14. patrick permalink

    this prayer thats at the top of this page is so awesome i true needed it at this time.thank you rev mark. god speaks. volumes threw you,and this song about the heart and loving unconditionally comes at a time when im so broken hearted over a relatinship that has gotten messed up. and i have shown forgiveness and unconditional love towards this person who has done this to us. and yet i still want to love unconditionally. praise god for his faithfulness. ilove you jesus.

  15. Sonia permalink

    I pray for this, too, often, but often fall short and let the worries creep in and the negative thoughts, as well!! Help me, O’ Lord, you are the only one that can cleanse me! AMEN!!!

  16. julia permalink

    Thank lord !!!!!!AMEN.

  17. stephanie permalink

    Yes, i pray constantly tht god will create in me a clean heart,an purify my mind daily i ask this an slowly i see him clean this old body up! i thank him everyday for the victory over the thing tht i struggle with

  18. Sandra Denise Thomas permalink

    I PRAY THAT GOD CONTINUOUSLY RENEW MY HEART EACH AND EVERYDAY. I AM SEEKING GOD CONSTENTLY EVERYDAY FOR CHANGE. YES IT IS A BATTLE BUT I PRESS MY WAY TO GET THERE.I LOOK AT IT LIKE IF GOD WAS PATIENT WITH ME IN MY MESS, I CAN BE PATIENT WITH HIM IN HIS CLEANSING OF MY SOUL. I AM SO GRATEFUL THAT HE STILL LOVES ME NO MATTER WHAT I’VE DONE OR DO. THAT’S WHY IT TAKES ALL OF ME TO DO WHAT I HAVE TO DO TO PLEASE MY HEAVENLY FATHER!!!! I’M NOT TRYING TO PLEASE MAN ANY MORE…HALLELUJAH!!!!!

  19. Katherine permalink

    Yes Lord, I yearn for a clean & pure heart. Lord I’ve sinned against You & I ask for Your forgiveness. Help me to life live holy & acceptable to You O Lord.

  20. Teresa permalink

    This might sound silly but I used to get chills when my old Lutheran church sang this…I LOVED IT and always wanted to sing it every Sunday. I put these verses under my profile on FB because it is what led me to seek the LORD when I didn’t even know that I was lost!

  21. leonie stennett permalink

    Yes I pray to God each and every day to purified my thoughts and to create in me a clean heart,and slowly but surly I see it happening paise be to God

  22. Barbara Christopher permalink

    Dear Mark, Your create me in a clean heat is beutiful.I give myself to the Lord every Morning in my Morning praryers.Those whom have a deep spritual life in Christ,Will always have a clean heart,because your always with our Lord,and you know better not to sin.There is a great commitment in any religion.I pray alone and my Grandson,which is 4 years old knows so much for his age.I ask him if he said his prays to Jesus,and he goes right to Jesus statue in my home and prays.I have start him at at a early age.Just a few months after birth.As far as your clean heart Mark I need not to say this to you but your a very selected person by our Lord.You have a gift to spread the name of Jesus and the Gospel.The Gospel in very intence reading for me.The Love,Trust,and faith I have for our LOrd is fanominal.and deep in my heart.Mark I need not give you any confidance in your work because your right there.You will grow stronger and stronger and your mind your thought will just apear to have more knowledge to teach and express to people,and you will have a very long gathering of people..Have to go Mark God Bless to you..Your in my prayers..Barbara christopher 🙂 I should put this on spell check,accualy its just my typing..(heat,heart) (start,started)Not to give) sorry for the bad spelling. Peace in your heart.

  23. leonie stennett permalink

    Yes I pray to God each and every day to purify my thoughts and to create in me a clean heart,and slowly but surly I see it happening paise be to God.

  24. Barbara Christopher permalink

    Mark did you get my other message Barb

  25. Lydia reyes permalink

    My prayer to God everyday is that he create in me a new heart. A heart of compassion, of love, of forgiveness. I want to follow the example Christ left for us. In our humanity sometimes it’s hard. As pastor Mark stated, It is important to keep close to God so he can help us follow the example of his Holy Son. God is so awesome. May he continue to guide us in his rightious Path.

  26. Mary Montgomery permalink

    I have listened to the song a bunch of times today. I really like it! Thanks so much for including it. It was really inspirational and beautiful.

  27. stiv permalink

    This is an awesome verse,lest we forget and we always forget ,please dear Lord help me,forgive my forgetfulness ,renew my mind,clease my spirit ,give me a heart of flesh,thank you Lord.

  28. Jack Beaton permalink

    Absolutely brilliant allogory

  29. TEKISHA RUSSELL permalink

    AMEN!! THANK U, JESUS. I THANK THE LORD FOR LOVING ALL OF US SO MUCH THAT HE DIED ON THE CROSS FOR US. ALL WE HAVE TO DO IS ASK, AND WE SHALL RECEIVE. AS LONG AS WE SINCERELY REPENT, HE WILL FORGIVE US. AND OUR PLATE IS SWIPED CLEAN. AGAIN, THANK U, OUR HEAVENLY FATHER, THE LORD, THY GOD.

  30. DINA JOHNSON permalink

    GOD BLESS!!!!!!!!!!!!!! THANK U IS ALL I CAN SAY.

  31. Lydia permalink

    Have long had this passage posted above my kitchen sink- it reminds me that when I do not renew my relationship with God on a daily basis I am apt to fall into folly

  32. lucy ng permalink

    Renew a right spirit in me..At times being humble can be torturing!!People stab you from behind, even christians!Thinking that they can bully you..because I don’t retaliate just to keep that friendship going?A right spirit means to discern , swallow , patiently ? Well my experiences tell me that arrows shot can be avoided.Anyway I did not hit back…no cheek for cheek….Guess what happened? My heart stays clean with no grudges!!GOD turns situations around when the enemy came forward with a gift to say he’s sorry!!!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Top Posts — WordPress.com

Leave a Reply

