Skip to content

Living a radiant life, floodlit from within by God’s love

June 30, 2010

Luke 11:33-36 :  “No one lights a lamp and then hides it or puts it under a basket. Instead, a lamp is placed on a stand, where its light can be seen by all who enter the house. “Your eye is a lamp that provides light for your body. When your eye is good, your whole body is filled with light. But when it is bad, your body is filled with darkness. Make sure that the light you think you have is not actually darkness.  If you are filled with light, with no dark corners, then your whole life will be radiant, as though a floodlight were filling you with light.” (New Living Translation)

I am my own boss.  In the sense that I choose how to spend my day.  As a father and husband I have obligations, but by in large, how I spend my day is up to me.  I have done this intentionally, creating a bit of room in my life so as to explore, to see where God wants me to go.  And with choice comes responsibility, I can choose to spend the day in silly and wasteful ways, where I get to the end of the day and wonder what I have achieved!  Or I can choose to really serve God, in working through the calling that God has put on my heart.  This is not saying I need to be a workaholic (though I am very prone to this), but that what time I do have is spent really well in the service of God.

And God has called me to be a father, so this morning when I led a devotion for my kids I was fulfilling my calling.  God has called me to minister through Facebook, so when I post scripture and respond to prayer needs I am fulfilling my calling.  But it is so easy to be off track and allow myself to make poor choices.

Reading this awesome passage in Luke made me realize how easy it is to make the wrong choice and what profound affect it has.  When it talks about my eyes being either good or bad Paul is saying I have a choice, a choice to either fill my body (my life) with light or with darkness.  The greek for light is Phos which speaks of my life being filled with God’s presence, spiritual illumination.  So when I am full of Phos I feel deeply God’s presence and the solutions to life’s challenges are revealed like a light shining in the darkness revealing the way forward. Whereas the opposite – darkness, which is skotos speaks of my life being full of punishment and misery.  And the passage is very clear, I chose which way to go.

And I want to live a radiant life, floodlit from within by God’s love.  Today and everyday I make the choice to seek after God and fill my life with His love!

Another thought:  I have several friends who are struggling with an addiction, and for them making the right choice is not so simple.  Yes they also need to make a choice, but the darkness much more easily takes them over, making choosing the right path much, much harder.  These are the moments when they need strong support in their life, people who they can be completely open and accountable with, people who can help them with their choices each moment of the day.

For in the midst of addiction, the best approach is to deal with the reality right now – how can I make the right choice now? They need to really make choices in the moment and having people with them to assist that is incredibly important.  And to those who are struggling with an addiction, you always have my prayers, prayers for strength and determination, prayers for healing.

God bless!

Mark

http://www.facebook.com/MarkBrown.page
http://twitter.com/RevMarkB

If you would like to subscribe to this blog and receive my reflections as an email for free click here: Subscribe.

………………………………………………………………………..

Yahweh’s Yarn in a Year : 1 year Bible reading plan

The portion for today is: Luke 15-16
To access the complete plan for the year click here:
click


From → Uncategorized

22 Comments
  1. Therina permalink

    I have a 24 year old son who is struggling with heroin addiction.He is in treatment at the moment and doing good, Praise the Lord,but he needs all the prayers he can get. Will you please pray for him. Pray that he will make peace with God and peace with himself. That he will be strong and determined and keep on making the right choises. Thank you for your wonderful words. I needed it today.

    • LYNN permalink

      I WILL PRAY FOR YOUR SON TO BE SET FREE FROM THE BONDAGE OF HEROIN ADDICTION AND RENEWED, BODY, MIND, AND SPITIT IN JESUS BX

    • I just prayed for your son- I once was a herion user- and theLord set me free
      I remember how discusted I was with myelf- having to scramble in the streets
      in order to be well for the day—yuk–

  2. The straight and narrow way is never easy but Jesus has promised he will never leave or forsake us. Broad is the way that leads to destruction and unfortunately many people have chosen it. Sometimes, we are tempted to choose the easy broad way…no rules, no sacrifice but just live as your flesh commands you. The end thereof is misery, bondage and eternal doom. I choose light and righteousness.

  3. Kay permalink

    The thought of God directing my life is a very delicious thought. i know there will be difficulties on the way but the end result is probably worth it. I pray that i may be more worthy, holier and more eager to do God’s will as i know there are days when depression takes over i i lazily spend the time in bed. i am sure God is not pleased with that. Depression overwhelms me at times but with time god will help me overcome this horrible feeling as that of panic and anxiety. Prayers.

    • Kathy permalink

      Hi, Kay! You might think this is crazy, but I just read and article about the benefits of eating bananas. It said bananas contain tryptophan, which the body converts into seratonin. Seratonin is that brain thing that makes people feel relaxed and happy.Studies have been done on people with depression. They reported feeling much better after eating a banana. I’m not saying all your problems will be solved by eating bananas, but if it perked up your mood a little, it would be worth it. Just a thought! God bless!

    • Prayers on the, Kay. Be strong in the Lord. Without Him we can do nothing. 🙂

  4. janet eades permalink

    You appear to be a good father and friend. What about husband? Did you minister to your wife at all or does she get the left overs?

  5. Dona Swenk permalink

    I just want to say Thank You. You put your teachings into words that I can unsderstand also with the bible verse that goes along with it.

  6. Missy permalink

    Please Pray for my daugther and her addiction that God will give her strength to make the right choices. Amen!

  7. Darrell permalink

    Mark, I wont to thank you for all you doing through the internet, I like what you said about your friends with addictions, I hoping they will find a program that will help them to use with their faith. I am a member of AA and celebrated 15 yrs 2/25 maybe you can have a prayer day for addictions and people who is suffering on your Prayer web site. I want to think you again for all you are doing, my walk is stronger each day after I read your links. Darrell Sterry TN

  8. Daniel permalink

    Thank you for your dedication to reaching people with God’s Word through the Internet and through Facebook.

  9. Kyle permalink

    I really like this message thank you for shareing :).
    If you could please pray for me i am strugeling with sin almost all the time, just please pray for me not to give into it.
    and also pray for me to put God first in my life and pray that i come closer to him.
    Thank you 🙂

    God Bless

  10. livingfree7 permalink

    Mark,
    A friend told me about your blog so I thought I would check it out. Actually realized we are friends on Facebook as well. I’ve read several of your blogs and like what you have to say! This post in particular caught my interest. I am a former addict to quite a number of things (alcohol, pills, coke, etc..). I like that you have encouraged people to simply pray. For MANY years lots of people prayed for me, then one day it all clicked! God’s grace, love, and mercy is beyond sufficient enough.

    My goal is to get my degree in counseling/psych and work with addicts in particular. There is a wound in every addict. Most have no idea what the REAL wound is. I want to be able to help people find that wound and allow God to heal them.

    Anyway, I will continue to visit your blog. I’ve enjoyed what I’ve read. Feel free to visit my blog any time as well! http://www.livingfree7.wordpress.com

    ~ Dave
    Galatians 2:20

  11. Kay permalink

    KATHY…..thank you for your suggestion. I WILL try bananas.

  12. LYNN permalink

    THANK YOU KATHY FOR THAT INFO ABOUY BANABS. LIKE KAY, I’M GONNA START EATING MORE BANANAS TOO. NO WONDER WE NEVER SEE ANY SAD MONKEYS. LOL, SORRY, IT’S MY WEIRD SENSE OF HUMOR. GOOD TO SEE YOU HERE AGAIN KAY. GOD BLESS YOU. HOW ARE YOU DOING TODAY? I’M STILL NOT QUITE DONE WITH THE DEPRESSIVE SIDE OF BI-POLAR, BUT I’M ABLE TO LAUGH AT THE DEVIL AS I KNOW I’M THE ONE WHO HAS THE VICTORY OVER IT IN THE NAME OF JESUS. GOD TELLS US THAT NO WEAPON FORMED AGAINST US SHALL PROSPER, AND THAT INCLUDES DEPRESSION. I NOW KNOW THAT EVEN IN MY DARKEST HOURS, JESUS STILL SHINES IN ME. THANK UOU JESUS. I LOVE YOU LORD.

    • Kathy permalink

      : ) I sure wasn’t suggesting that bananas are a substitute for the power of God, but I do think that sometimes it would be better to try natural remedies before being too quick to take mind-altering drugs. Drs. today just want to write prescriptions for everything. But Lynn, if you are on meds for bi-polar, that’s fine. You can’t just stop taking them. Oh, dear. I think I’d better just shut up! Love you two!

      • LYNN permalink

        OH NO KATHY, PLEASE FORGIVE ME IF I GAVE YOU THE WRONG IMPRESSION. I THINK IT’S SO GOOD TO KNOW THAT THERE’S SOMETHING ELSE OTHER THAN MORE DRUGS THAT MIGHT HELP MY CONDITION. I MADE THE LITTLE JOKE TO TRY TO PUT A SMILE ON PEOPLES FACES. I HAVE A TENDAANCY TO DO YHAT. AND I WON’T TRY TO SUBSTITUTE BANANAS FOR MY MEDS, BUT I WILL ADD MORE OF THEM TO MY DIET. KATHY I REALLY APPRECIATE THAT TYPE OF INFO BECAUSE AT 1 TIME THEY HAD ME ON SO MUCH MEDICATIONS I WAS NOTHING MORE THAN A ZOMBIE. I WAS UNABLE TO REMEMBER IF I TOOK MY MEDS OR NOT, OR TO FUNCTION IN ANY MANNER WHATSOEVER. MY WAKING HOURS WERE SPENT ON THE COUCH WITH THE TV ON DRINKING COFFEE AND SMOKING CIGARRETTES TRYING TO STAY AWAKE AND TRYING TO REMEMBER IF I HAD TAKING MY MEDS OR NOT. I WOULD SIT AND CRY MOSST OF THE DAY OUT OF FUSTRATION. I WAS ALIVE, BUT I WASN’T LIVING. I MISSED OUT ON SO MUCH OF MY GRANDDAUGHTERS LIVES CAUSE MY DAUGHTER COULDN’T HANDLE THE CONDITION I WAS IN,AND I CAN’T SAY THAT I BLAME HER. NOW I’M ON JSST THE BARE MINAMUM OF MEDS. COULD I USE MORE MEDS? MOST DEFINATELY AT TIMES LIKE THESE PAST 6 TO 8 WEEKS. WILL I TAKE MORE? NOT ON YOUR LIFE.IS LIFE HARD TO HANDLE? MOST DEFINATELY YES. BUT NOW I’M NOT JUST ALIVE, I’M LIVING, AND JESUS MEDICATES ME WITH HIS LOVE, JOY, AND PEACE. AND I USE MY WEIRD SENSE OF HUMOR T5HAR GOD HAS GIVEN ME TO LAUGH,AND TO MAKE OTHERS LAUGH. SO AGAIN I ASK THAT YOU PLEASE FORGIVE ME FOR MAKING YOU FEEL AS IF YOU DID SOMETHING WRONG, BECAUSE YOU DIDN’T. YOU JUST SHARED SOME INFO THAT YOU HAD HEARD WHICH MIGHT BE A VERY BIG HELP TO OTHERS INCLUDING ME. THANK YOU SO VERY MUCH. GOD BLESS YOU SWEETIE. YOU ARE MOST DEFINATELY LOVED.

  13. Greg Phillips permalink

    Thanks for doing what you do on here. I so look forward to seeing what you have to share with us on your site each time it comes out. So many times it fits right into my day. Be it my struggles, doubts, being clean and sober, or whatever is my issue that day, I can get some reflection, hope, peace and strength from your words. Keep up the great work and know that you are touching more people than you even know. Have a blessed day.

    Greg Phillips
    “when God guides, God provides”

  14. Edgar permalink

    Life is all about choices, and sometimes we make good ones, but most often than not, we make bad ones as we journey down this road called “life.” I myself have made many bad choices in my life, and live today in regret of most of them. The one thing today that is different that sees me through all of those bad choices is my faith in Jesus Christ as Lord and Savior of my life once and for all. My life still isn’t perfect, but through His grace and the Father’s love, it gets a little bit closer with each passing day.

  15. Nathalie permalink

    You are all reason about life is hard his choice her way also thinking of mind for change for life that’s better live if life on earth that’s worth the evil who give bad intention addicts etc..That’s give nothing..It’s best value life family, kids, friends, Freedom, Rich, Happiness..This Happy Birthday America!! 🙂

    Sis Nathalie

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Mission Freedom

Leave a Reply

