Skip to content

Losing weight and gaining Jesus

June 28, 2010

Romans 7:14-20
14We know that the law is spiritual; but I am unspiritual, sold as a slave to sin. 15I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do. 16And if I do what I do not want to do, I agree that the law is good. 17As it is, it is no longer I myself who do it, but it is sin living in me. 18I know that nothing good lives in me, that is, in my sinful nature. For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out. 19For what I do is not the good I want to do; no, the evil I do not want to do—this I keep on doing. 20Now if I do what I do not want to do, it is no longer I who do it, but it is sin living in me that does it.
(New International Version)

Check out the vid of me sharing my time in this amazing passage by clicking the play button below..

The other day I watched an advert on TV that shocked me. The product being sold was a simple piece of exercise equipment designed to work the abs and oblique’s which looked ok, but what shocked me was the absolutely ridiculous claims of how effective the equipment can be. While the narrator spoke of seeing astonishing results in just two weeks(!!) the image was of a middle aged very overweight man morphing into this 6 pack muscled 20 something… really?

This got me thinking, the world sets up this expectation that success is instant and easy, everywhere I look I see evidence of instant gratification… this drink will take away my thirst, lottery will instantly deliver my dreams: products and services that would have me believe success is simple and instant.

And I know this affects how I view my faith walk, I expect things to change immediately. Like when I gave my life to Jesus many years ago, I expected that suddenly overnight sin would never be seen again in my life. Well yes clearly I dramatically changed, but no sin did not talk a long walk never to return. And in this awesome reading from Romans, that giant of the faith, Paul shares how much he struggles with sin, so it seems I am in good company.

10 months ago I decided to really take my exercising seriously and started weight training, running or swimming most days. And I also started eating much better. Unlike the silly advert that promised great results in weeks, over these 10 months I have slowly shaved off the weight and build muscle definition. I still have a long way to go but I am on the right path!

In the same way, I am on the right path in acknowledging my sin, in seeking to spend way more time in prayer, in being changed by the Word of God. I have a long way to go, but I know I am on the right path, and that path is very slow going at times, and actually, I am just fine with that.  It is better to be slow going than not going at all!!

God bless!

Mark

http://www.facebook.com/MarkBrown.page
http://twitter.com/RevMarkB

If you would like to subscribe to this blog and receive my reflections as an email for free click here: Subscribe.


………………………………………………………………………..

Yahweh’s Yarn in a Year : 1 year Bible reading plan

The portion for today is: 1 Kings 19-22; Psalms 75-77
To access the complete plan for the year click here: click

From → Uncategorized

48 Comments
  1. LYNN permalink

    GOOD MORNING PASTOR MARK. AT LEAST IT’S MORNING HERE IN THE USA. I OUGHT THIS SAME FIGHT AS PAUL DID FOR MANY YEARS, ESPECIALLY WHEN MY FAITH WAS WEAK AND I DIDN’T HAVE A CHURCH TO GO TO. I ALMOST GAVE UP ON JESUS THINKING THAT I WASN’T GOOD ENOUGH FOR HIM EITHER. I WAS TOLD FROM A CHILD THAT I WAS NO GOOD AND THAT I NEVER WOULD BE. THE ONE PERSON IN MY LIFE WHO TOLD ME THAT JESUS LOVED ME WAS MY GRAM. THE SAME ONE WHO STAYED AT THE HOSPITAL PRAYING OVER ME WHEN THE DOCTORS SAID I WOULDN’T MAKE IT.AND I REMEMBERED HER TELLING MEHOW MUCH SHE LOVED ME AND HOW JESUS LOVED ME MORE. NOW I MAY NOT HAVE LOST PHYSICAL WEIGHT BECAUSE MY HEALTH LIMITS MY ACTIVITY. BUT I HAVE LOST TONS OF THE WEIGHT I CARRIED GROWING UP AND BEING ABUSED AND UNLOVED FOR THE MOST PART, AND THAT WEIGHT HAS BEEN REPLACED WITH LOVE, JOY, PEACE,AND THE GRACE OF GOD. THERE’S STILL WORK TO BE DONE, BUT I KNOW GOD WILL FINISH WHAT HE HAS BEGAN. AMEN

  2. LYNN permalink

    WHAT IS SUCESS TO YOU? A LOT OF MONEY? A BIG BEAUTIFUL HOUSE? AN EXSPENSIVE CAR OR TWO?WOULD ALL THESE THINGS MAKE YOU TRULY HAPPY? WOULD YOU STILL SERVE JESUS IF YOU HAD ALL OF THESE THINGS? WOULD THEY MAKE YOU SUCESSFUL? TO ME, SUCESS IS MAKING A POSITIVE DIFFERENCE IN ANOTHERS LIFE, ESPECIALLY WHEN DONE FOR JESUS.

  3. Sheila permalink

    Good Morning! Today is my first day of receiving your messages. This particular one could not have come at a better time. I have found myself in the last few weeks wanting instant gratification in almost all areas of my life. I do believe that God will send you people and other things in your life when the time is right. I will keep this one and watch it for motivation for quite a while. Thank you for doing this. It is very much appreciated. May God bless you in your travels and in your life. Sheila

  4. Kay permalink

    Success is living a good life for and with the Lord. Unfortunately i am still far aay from that. i want to feel that i am living a good life but i feel useless and purposeless. I just cannot be happy. Not yet anyway. I search for God…where is HE?

    • stephanie permalink

      He is there honey He is there just when you think he is not He will show up full force. I have been there.

    • LYNN permalink

      Kay, i promise you , God is right there with you at this very moment. i wouldn’t lie about anything so important as God is. Stephanie also knows that God is with you. i think almost all the people who come in here can tell you where God is because we know and trust in his promises to never leave or forsake us. God is not a man that He should lie.God is faithful and true even when we are not.

    • Bob Dellamano permalink

      Kay, I pray with great expectation for God to env elope you with His loving mercy and grace. Those who turn from their wicked ways and pray to God, allow Him to hear from heaven and show his presence. For years I had found it hard to understand what it really meant to accept Jesus. The truth is we are saved by grace through faith. Jesus uttered it is finished while on the cross. The finished work of Gods Son enables us to go boldly before the throne because His sacrifice was Gods plan to save all who call upon His precious name. I will pray for you to grow closer and closer to our Lord and Savior as well as our friend. May God bless you and keep you in the palm of His hand. Bob Dellamano Sr.

  5. Lawrence permalink

    Haha!!! Was shocked and in the same time, wasn’t really shocked when I read this… Amazing how God speaks the same things to His people at the same time!

    Been sharing this with a few of the youths, on their struggle with sin and how they felt that sin have pulled them down in their walk with the Lord…
    We’re sometimes given the idea that addiction towards alcohol or smoke can be overcome by addicts in matters of an instance when touched by God and some of the youth have led defeated lives with that thought.. But there is hope! As Romans 12 says our mind is continually transformed each day! Meaning, more of Him and less of us each day! It is indeed a race and the some of the youth was even more encouraged and spurned on when they found out that Jesus is more than just a saviour and a King, but He is also a sympathizer!

  6. Aundrea permalink

    I once heard that feelings are not real. I am trying to find out who I am in Christ. The Bible has all the answers! Learning to believe that “I am the head and not the tail” “I am a child of the Most High God”, I can do ALL Things through Christ who strenghtens me”. The more I take my thoughts captive unto Christ, the more the lies of the enemy or my feelings seem to change. But it takes time, willingness and obedience. Praise, honor and glory be to God!

  7. Nikki permalink

    Hey what does one do to remove generational curses? I’m an innocent here, suffering because of this.

    • Kathy permalink

      Pastor Larry Huch has some excellent materials on the subject of breaking generational curses. Go to http://www.larryhuchministries.com and look in the bookstore section. I would especially recommend the book called Free At Last. It’s in the Top Ten Products section. Pastor Huch has an amazing personal testimony, and he knows from his own life experience about dealing with generational curses. God bless you, Nikki. We can take authority over demons. Jesus wants us to be free.

  8. Matt permalink

    Even though I have read that passage a thousand times, it didn’t really hit home till now. I have been fighting these same battles with myself and could not understand. That is until now.

  9. Paji permalink

    …more of God in my life!

  10. Helen permalink

    Thank you for that, Mark – really helps. Struggling with weight issues myself and realise I am expecting instant results! Guess I need to hang in there for the long, hard slog…!

  11. Rita permalink

    Great advice, Rev. Brown. I have struggled with losing weight for some time. I joined Weight Watchers in 2003 and lost 40 pounds. I eventually got bored with the meetings and stopped just 13 pounds shy of my goal. It took me 5 years to get re-motivated to lose weight. I began losing in the fall of 2008 and to this day I have lost 43 pounds on my own, exercising and eating better. Of course, one thing that motivated me a little more is my son enlisted in the military, and certainly I can’t let him have a fat mama (I confess my pride here).

    Like you, I have a long way to go and am on the right path.

    Whether it is physical, or spiritual, I think its always better to go slower knowing you are on the right track, rather than trying to rush things. When I rush things or do things impulsively, I burn out a lot quicker and then I find myself complaining.

    I also find that when I compare myself to others even coveting another person’s weight loss, I struggle more and even become discouraged rather than motivated.

    I often need to ask myself what is driving me to do what I am doing? I need to focus on my goal, my ministry, etc. If what I am doing is pleasing the Lord and I am on His path and doing His will, that is all that matters. Yes, I would like to have a new car, more money because right now I don’t make enough to cover my expenses, etc., but if those aren’t the Lord’s will for me then I have to wait on Him and His timing.

    We can’t do things/have those things that we are not called to do/have, no matter how hard we try. He has given all of us different gifts to build up one another, and even if we find others with the same gift, He probably has given us different abilities to use those gifts to compliment each other so more work is accomplished. When we try to go beyond God, he will rebuke us, our joy will not be all it could be and we will have regrets about our actions in the end, not to mention God may either take those things away or withhold other blessings from us.

    To quote Charles Stanley, Pastor of the First Baptist ?Church in Atlanta, GA., “Obey God and leave all the consequences to Him.”

    • josie permalink

      AMEN RITA.i’v enjoyed listening to this passage and reading your comment.

  12. Hi and thanks everyone for the comments. Battling sin is part of this world we live in but thanks be to our Jesus who said, Be of good cheer for I have overcome this world. He has done it all on the cross for us so we can walk in victory. So, yes with His strength we can overcome.

    I am learning more and more to take my thoughts captive and retrain my thinking. For out of the heart, the mouth speaks. Life and death are in the power of my tongue. I check the fruit that is coming out of my mouth daily. What are my words? Are they life and love or are they negative? Then I check what I am putting in thru my eyes. Is it positive and gives glory to God or is it negative? I take my thoughts captive. Like when I walk by a mirror and the old voices say, wow you look terrible, or you are fat and need to lose weight, then I take my thoughts captive and throw out that old thinking and say, I am fearfully and wonderfully made by my Father. I start to praise Him for making me for His purposes and plans. I thank Him that I am royalty because I am covered by the blood of His Son and He paid a very high price for me. Then I take my thoughts captive thruout the day when I am tempted to go throw something into my mouth without being hungry or it being meal time. And I make myself exercise when my flesh says no, I don’t give it any thought and I just start to praise Him and ask for the grace to enjoy exercising and keep it up. He is always faithful to help me in such weaknesses and it gets easier. Our God is an awesome God and there is no limit to His grace and help for us. If we call upon the name of the Lord we shall be saved — healed, delivered, made to prosper etc. He is a very present help in times of trouble.

    For years, I always wanted God to just set me free from my weight. Well the truth is Jesus has set me free, but obedience is the key. I didn’t want to do the hard work but Jesus said we need to take up our cross and follow Him. I know that’s where true joy is found. When I get obedient and continue to walk in that, and I’m not saying be perfect because that’s not what it’s about, but just continuing in the race and following His voice, well I see blessings start to pour in. Things really start to turn around when I follow obedience. I ground myself in the Word and fill my mind with His thoughts and it all starts to change. I start thinking like He thinks and then it is not I who lives but Christ and the fullness of His life who dwells within me. Everyday we must walk by faith and not by sight. The process is not always as fast as we’d like. After all we live in a microwave society but our God is into marinating us. But thru it all He still uses cracked pots and be glad that He does. Because when a cracked pot is filled with living water, the water will pour out of those cracks and onto others !!!

  13. Nomcebo permalink

    Trusting God is the key. I have really really learnt a lot from all of you and your comments, thanks and God Bless!

    No matter how alone you feel you are, know that Jesus is right there. Acknowledge HIS presence especially in the difficult times. I’m so Blessed to be a part of this. I love u all brothers and sisters.

  14. lisa permalink

    I feel so lost. I fill so lonely at times. I want to do so much for my daughter. I want to take away her pain of being over weight. Her pain of not being married and afraid she will not have children because she is already 31. what is wrong I don’t have the answers I wish I did, I want to take away my great nephew pai, he is only 8 and his parents are acting younger than him. spitting up, arging. Some times I feel this is to much to handle. Please pray for me and my family.

  15. Lydia Reyes permalink

    Who said it was easy? I myself ,love the Lord and still fall short. I know that a long as we live this life on earth we would all at sometime in our lives we will end up like St. Paul. wanting to do the right thing in God’s eyes,yet doing what we should’nt do. Thanks be to Our Savior Jesus Christ that he knows all our shortcomings and sacraficed his life to give us the abundant life. We can all be grateful that at those times the Holy Spirit is there to convict us of our wrong doing and little by little the transformation comes. It is said that it is better to lose wieght slowly and most of the time you keep it off, but when you lose fast you tend to put it all back. That is the same way with our spiritual life, Now don’t take your time in following Jesus. If today you hear his voice , harden not your hearts. He is doing a mighty good job on us and promises to continue till we meet him face to face. Isn’t that a wonderful hope, we christians have? Thanks for the spiritual feeding, Mark. God Bless

  16. Brittney permalink

    This really touched my heart. I’ve been dealing with some things here lately, and I want everything to be when I think the time is right, but I have to remember that it is only going to happen on God’s time. No need to rush, because if I do then it won’t work out for the good it will be for the bad because it isn’t on God’s time. We as humans try to rush things like marriage, relationships, and things that we think we should have and want by a certain age. Sometimes this is why certain things don’t work out because we don’t wait on God.
    I am not where I should be on my Christian walk but I am further than where I was. I love the Lord with all my heart, mind, body, and soul, but I struggle with patience sometimes, and I need the Lord to help me get through all my feelings and emotions of being lonely and impatient at times. For I know He is always there and he is never going to leave me. I need to wait on him and only move when He says move. Lord, guide my footsteps each and everyday. Help me with the things that I struggle with on a daily basis. I need you every hour, minute, and second Lord. You are all I need and I need no man or anyone to validate who I am because Lord you made me, and the only validation and approval I need is from You! Lord I need you right away!!

  17. Crystal Jones permalink

    I understand the emotional and spiritual wounds that cause the extra baggage we drag through life. I also know the freedom of having God strip all that away and leave me with His love and GRACE. I am a messy, imperfect, sinful person all the time. HE loves me anyway and always will…..no matter what. THAT is GRACE. Thank you, Jesus.

  18. Very good delivery of word and testimony Mark. Video very benficial and easy to understand. A friend of mine named Chris Smith in S.C.,USA told me of your blog. Be encouraged! +Steven

  19. This is the first that i have seen this site. And i read it thru my cellphone. I love and need it everyday.

  20. This is awesome. i need this everyday. Thank You

  21. How true Mark! There is no quicker way to grow in the Lord but by studying the word, obeying the word and being committed as a christian. Even when the desired results is not visble, press on. May God give us the grace to press on.

  22. Crystal Davis permalink

    I am in deeply need for god.. I have lost my way and name my marrige and everything else is going down the drain fast. I need god an i need help.

  23. Valerie permalink

    Before I had read an old book b4 that I bought as surplus. and it tells about what technology can do to our life, there so many great minds had invented and discover alot of things to make our living be better, easy and Mark ur so right to use the word “instant”, unfortunately that book author’s point or ideas seems so right bcoz of the new technology it also invented destruction by inventing fatal equipment and so many to many to mention that can destroy humans physically and our spiritual aspect . The book also asked where these intelligent minds that creates great ideas are also all from God? but as the old sayings, all things are too much, misuse and cravng for more power are fatal. If we can all just live simple and not become greedy technology we cannot think technology is bad.

  24. Mike Anderson permalink

    Mark, Loved todays blog post. It hits home with me. I started taking my physical health and my spiritual health seriously 2 months ago. Thanks for the posts.

  25. Tina permalink

    Thank you so much! Funny how I’ve read this passage and known it for many years, yet this revelation to me! I focused on the fact that Paul continued to do what he did not want to do without looking at the big picture. As you’ve stated, the point is that this walk is a lifelong walk. Sometimes we get it right, sometimes we dont. Some sins are easier to overcome than others, and that varies person to person. If this great man of faith struggled to take sin captive, who am I to think I will snap my fingers and have it all together?!? This is not to be used as an excuse to continue in sin, but it does serve as a reminder of the amazing grace that is upon each of our lives as we strive for holiness. Thanks again!

  26. Dea permalink

    Wow, I really needed that insight today! Thank you.

  27. Raymond permalink

    Just what i needed right now thx. God Bless.

  28. Leah Gonzales permalink

    Hi Mark! Thanks for sharing this. I just asked God to speak to me today and He did, through you!. This was my prayer this morning and just what i needed right now. Slowly but surely… Thank God i know i am on the right path.. God bless.

  29. Roes Henrique permalink

    Very Good Message, Tks Pr.!!

    Every day i will think about “It is better to be slow going than not going at all!!”

    God Bless

  30. Dear Crystal Davis . . .I am praying for you right now as you cry out for God. He does hear you and I am standing with you in prayer as you receive Him, believe Him, and are delivered by Him. Please don’t give up. He cares deeply for you and wants to make a difference in your life.

  31. Mary permalink

    Great post, Rev Mark!
    The passage in Roman you used has always been a convicting one for me and rightly so. I think people are often mistaken by thinking that things will get easier once they become a Christian when in fact it gets harder. You become more aware of the war (I’m speaking of Spiritual Warfare) that is raging around you. You’re choices become more clear and often times the right choice is the hardest one to make. We need to arm ourselves and we can only do that through reading the Bible and prayer and getting closer to God, we can do nothing without Him.

  32. Rick Manz permalink

    Why is it you negected your health and poor eating habits? The Bible clearly states to treat your body as a temple. Neve trust a fat preacher…….

  33. Nomcebo permalink

    The key to it all is trusting Jesus… Hold on to your Faith everyone, you’ll never be disappointed.
    you have all touched my life, thank you. God Bless you all, thank u Pastor Brown, GOD has really Blessed u, really and I pray that HE continues doing so… Much love, Nomcebo, Child of God…

    • Sue T. permalink

      Thank you hon and much love to you also..God Bless and keep you safe and well..Sue

  34. This is a nice blog message, I will keep this idea in my mind. If you add more video and pictures because it helps understanding 🙂

  35. Sue T. permalink

    Hi. My name is Sue and I struggle with cigarettes and losing weight. I lost my thyroid a few years back and had gained a lot of weight. I was between 130-145 before I lost my thyroid and now I am way over 200. I cry when I look in the mirror and I and my Dr want the weight off. It has been about 4 years sense I lost my thyroid and still I am unable to lose this weight. It is effecting my health. I am on so many medications now for high bp and thyroid of course, water pills etc. I do my best I think to stay away from foods that are not good for me. Yes, I admit there are times I have sugar snacks or salty snacks, yet for the most part I don’t. My stomach looks like I am almost 9 mos. preg and I hate it. I can’t fit my clothes and had to buy more, This gets really expensive. I have prayed and prayed for God to take my addiction away as well as the weight. I am not saying He won’t, yet my faith is low. I, like one other gal I read about on here was told by my mom I wouldn’t amount to anything. I never felt love at home growing up and was told GOD WOULD GET ME IF I WAS BAD..This scared me. Then when I did go to Church as an adult I was not scared of God in a healthy way I was terrified of God. I guess I still am. I have been sexually abused growing up and even had an abortion at a very young age, still carry guilt over that, I am now 54 years old, raised 4 kids of my own and am now raising my great nephew. I so want to believe God loves me and has forgiven me and yet I don’t,. I want to be free of this guilt I feel. I am in Christian counsling and yet I feel God doesn’t want anything to do with me, I know in my heart of heats he does yet at the same time I don’t know, I hope this makes sense. I am divorced and have been for sometime now, And I seem to marry abusive men, I want so bad to know what “love” is,
    Please someone pray for me, Also if you would can you pray for my new son as he deals with tumors and has already lost part of one leg when he was 5. He has tumors in his head, spine, and behind his eyes that are being watched. He has a heart for God and makes me feel so shameful with my doubting ways, although I don’t talk about my doubts around him. I do talk with him about God, yet I still doubt,. I know it is wrong to doubt God. God help me please and help me to raise my son as you would have me do..GOD PLEASE REVEAL YOUR LOVE TO ME…..

    • Kay permalink

      SUE……I sympathise. Pray to God, He will hear you and help you. He will not desert you. Offer all your sufferings to Him. He is with you and near you ALWAYS.

      • Sue T. permalink

        Thank you for your kind words of wisdom. My 8 year old and I are moving back to Vancouver, Wa. to be closer to our Drs. I may have a clogged artery and he has tumors he deals with. When he was 5 he lost part of his right leg due to tumors. He has them in his head, behind his eyes and also on his spine. He prays God will take them away. I pray too but should pray more I know. I am not sure what is wrong with me yet I am even more depressed sense moving away. The house we are in has black mold and the sewer comes up in the back yard. We looked at a apartment that we both really love and am praying we get it. I am asking for prayer also that 1) we get this apartment and 2) God will take his tumors away and 3) that God will restore my health. It seems like every sense I lost my thyroid my health has taken a turn little by little for the worst. I’m scared and yet i know I shouldn’t be. I pray God will restore my faith also so I can live more and worry less. any words of encouragement would be greatly appreciated. Thank you for taking time to read this and thank you for your prayers. God Bless and keep you all safe and well………..Sue

  36. Caroline Smith permalink

    It is good to here that it takes time especially struggling with sin. I have been struggling with gaining control of my anger and depression for many years, but I have just now noticed major improvements just in the last week. For example, at the beginning of this week I had one problem after another, but those problems became a blessing in away. First, my husband lost his job because the business he was working for closed their doors. God kept me from getting angry and going into depression. He opened a door for my husband. Now we are awaiting a call for an interview for him. Also, my husband wants to become a published writer, and this will provide him time to research to do so. Then, I thought I had lost out on an interview opportunity; however, once again God was in it within 20 minutes of my e-mail response, I got a response back saying we would like to set up a personal interview with you. One more thing, I had asked my husband to do some cleaning, and he did. He missed some sections, and normally I would have yelled and screamed at him, but I didn’t. I just did what he missed, which took me maybe five minutes. It would have been longer, if I had yelled and screamed at him. God has been there to get me through my anger and depression all this time, but like most things it does take time. I am consistently surrounding myself with good and positive things, which are from Him, and this has helped.

  37. Annika van Zyl permalink

    Hi my name is Annika. I don’t really know where 2 begin! I have done so many things wrong these past few months and I’m not at the place I have 2 be with God! How do I get back on track when I have done so many bad things? I’ve done a really big test and I’m waiting 4 the results. I’m scared that God will punish me by making me not pass. This depends my future. I know God is a loving God, but I also know I can’t go through life without being punished! I’m so scared. What do I do? Where do I begin???

  38. Sue T. permalink

    God Bless you all and I pray all your prayers will be answered. So many times I have prayed to know God’s love. I was told as a child if I did something wrong He would “get me” . I know I fail him daily and yet I don’t know why I do the things I shouldn’t and don’t do the things I should. I know we are to have a healthy fear of God yet I am terrified of him and what he will do to me for doing wrong. I want so much to train my great nephew that I have custody of sense he was 4,(he is 8 now) in the way God wants me to and yet I feel I am even failing him at times. God why can’t I do what you want me to do and stop the bad stuff in my life? And why am I so terrified of you. You have answered prayers in my past and yet now days you seem so far away. I know you won’t leave me for your word says you won’t yet why do I feel you have? My tears fill most my days and I feel awful for not being the christian woman I should be. God please help me get back on the right path……….YOUR PATH!!!!!! I do so want to please you Lord and know that w/out a doubt I will be in Heaven when I die. Yet I feel I won’t be with you in Heaven for I do wrong things. Show me your will Lord and help me to do right. Thank you, your daughter, Sue

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Top Posts — WordPress.com

Leave a Reply

