Skip to content

Dealing with Pain

June 22, 2010

Proverbs 22:17-19 : Pay attention and listen to the sayings of the wise; apply your heart to what I teach, for it is pleasing when you keep them in your heart and have all of them ready on your lips. So that your trust may be in the LORD, I teach you today, even you.

Recently I was massively challenged to change the way I studied the Bible to include reflecting on how the passage should change me.  This awesome reading reinforces this when it says apply your heart to what I teach. It is not enough that the teaching remains in my head and a series of thoughts shared on this blog, but what I learn needs to change my attitude, my approach to life – it needs to be applied.

I get lots of comments affirming my gift of teaching, but actually my goal isn’t teaching but to share my earnest journey deeper into God’s Word, my attempt at drawing closer to God.  The closer I come into God’s presence the more joy, confidence and assurance I have.  And how does this happen practically?

So that your trust may be in the LORD. The closer I move to God, the more I find myself trusting God.  And trusting God is really big for me right now.

I am presently facing a hugely difficult emotional issue and in the midst of my pain I trust that God is guiding me, that God is with me through this difficult time.  When my faith is strong then this feeling of trust, of knowing God is with me increases.

And over the past few days as I face this emotional issue I have found myself praying absolutely heaps – long periods of prayer mixed with much thinking and reflection; and through this God has really blessed me with a strong sense of peace.  I am trusting that God is with me.  And prayer has been key.

So as I pray more, as I engage the Word, as I move closer to God, so to my trust in God grows.  And as my trust grows, so to does my sense of peace that God is in control.  What seems insurmountable to me, what threatens to overwhelm me suddenly becomes manageable when I rely way more on God.

Trusting God to deal with my pain as I draw closer into His presence through heaps of prayer, reading and acting out His teaching and opening myself up to the Holy Sprit.  God is so awesome!!

God bless,

Mark
http://www.facebook.com/MarkBrown.page
http://twitter.com/RevMarkB

If you would like to subscribe to this blog and receive my reflections as an email for free click here: Subscribe.

………………………………………………………………………..

Yahweh’s Yarn in a Year : 1 year Bible reading plan

The portion for today is: Luke 11-12 and Ephesians 1-3
To access the complete plan for the year click

From → Uncategorized

23 Comments
  1. Bill Hoppe permalink

    I love your statement, “Iam trusting that God is with me”. Thanks so much. This is so essential to my knowing God.

  2. Karen Connor permalink

    God have proven that he is with me. He has turned a recent harsh situation around that has given me enough hope to continue my fight for what I beleieve is right. I have several nay-sayers around me that have told me to cut my losses and move on. But I know through Christ, everything is possible. I’m digging my heels in and I’m going to continue to pray for my situation to change. I’ve put it in God’s hands and I trust him that he will take care of it. Thanks for all your posts….

  3. Gloria Collins permalink

    I couldn’t have said it better myself. I want to trust God utterly, completely! That is top priority.

  4. I too know exactly what you’re talking about. I am constantly praying and giving up everything to God. Since I have given up everything so many miracles have happened in my life. He is watching over me every moment of every day even when I forget! I keep trying to make that love grow more every day.

  5. Steve Gill permalink

    WOW…. thanks Mark. Great lesson on The Heart. I will put my trust in God and let my heart pour out over His Word.

  6. Amy permalink

    Praying for you, Mark!

  7. You’ve inspired me soo much and I wanna thank you. The Lord put it in my heart to start my own blog. Please tell me what you think:
    http://myofficespace.wordpress.com/

    🙂

  8. Babette permalink

    Thank you so much Mark, for your wonderful teaching. I truly appreciate it. And I too am going through some difficulties also. I have been praying and praying. I know there have been times when I feel my prayers don´t get past the ceiling. But God reminds me over and over again of His love and His faithfulness. I have been learning that He is the one that owns everything. His word says that He owns the cattle on a thousand hills. So whatever I have is really His. I keep hearing that song in my head God will make a way where there seems to be no way. So I must trust in Him and not in what I see around me. As His word says Faith is the substance of things hoped for the evidence of things not yet seen. Praise God!!!
    May God continue to bless you and your ministry.
    In Christ
    Babette

  9. Horte permalink

    Praying for you Reverend Mark….thank you!

  10. Sheila permalink

    I too have gone through a very emotional time the past year and a half going through a divorce. I have found that I have grown closer to God during this time and he has sustained me as well as delivered me from my hurt, pain, and humiliation. God is so good and has held my hand the whole way. I do have my bad days, of course, but I pray to my God and he lifts me up. Praise His Holy Name.

  11. Lynn permalink

    i have been going thru such a deep depression and overwhelming sadness for about a month now and i just keep remembering that God is with me that He never leaves or forsakes me and He niether slumbers nor sleeps so when i can’t sleep He awake watching over me.i’m feeling so battle weary and feel the fight draining from me, but God reminds me that He’s fighting these battles for me and He also reminds me of the promise i made to Him many years ago, to never quit, to never give up. so i fight with all that is in me. i fight thru the pain and i know i will come out on top because God is for me. and i’m asking you to please add your faith to mine and pray for me andi thank you now for your prayers.thank You God.

  12. Florence Webster-Hudson permalink

    Thank you, thank you for your dialog allowing others to grow as you grow. I have often felt some small form of guilt because of the peace I have experienced through some unspeakable challenges. I have learned to put my trust in GOD and ask the question of HIM. “What Lesson am I to learn from this experience? How may I use it to YOUR glory?” This is sometimes a difficult question to ask while you are going through. However, if you stop and let GOD handle your battles while you remember the victories HE has already won for you in the past, you will lean to stand and let the Lord. This does not mean you don’t do your part however, the part you are doing you make sure is lead by the LORD. Trust Him, He can handle it. We too must be proactive in the word. Prayer is a dialog with GOD; it is what a relationship is all about. Much Love

  13. lucy ng permalink

    TRUST & FAITH seems to go hand in hand.
    Trusting in GOD in my time of pain reminds me of how HE has always carried me through!!
    My faith builds up still trusting in HIS goodness & mercies!!
    I know my faith needs strengthening !!
    Thanks to REv. MArk for encouraging WORDS!!!

  14. Bev permalink

    Praying for you Rev. Mark! I have been working through pain for several months now and I have grown closer and closer to God. He has put a fire in me to seek Him in all ways. Bless you for all you do for others!

  15. Cheryl Costner permalink

    I’ll pray for you & pray for me as well. Heartache is never easy & very slow to subside. I’ve learned some valuable lessons through mine, but it hurts even still. I spend time in prayer every day, I lay my burdens down at the cross, I just haven’t learned not to pick them back up. Even though Jesus is always with me and I know He is, I still have loneliness.

  16. Lydia Reyes permalink

    All I can say is that we are serving an awesome God. Proverbs 3:5-6 Trust in the Lord with all your heart,on your own intelligence rely not. In all your ways be mindful of him and he will make straight your paths.

  17. shelly permalink

    any time i sit to read your blogs or writing about the bible or God, i get tears rolling down my cheeks.

    Sometimes i forget how much joy one can get just dwelling in His presence, and that is something your teachings always bring to me.

    I pray that The Almighty God would continue to bless and Keep you, and make His face to shine upon you and your family.IJN

    May all your teachings be a blessing to you on the day of judgement.Amen

    Please pray for me to receive the gift of evangelism. It’s something i need to do, but don’t always know how to go about it or get it right.

    God Bless you

  18. There is strength in adversity when you trust in God.

  19. meritwolff permalink

    I have just spent some time reading several of your past blog entries. Not only does this one hit a very raw nerve but the one from earlier this month – 2Corinthians 12:9 – His grace is sufficient…also resonates deeply. Over a year ago I heard God very clearly speak that verse to me. It has followed me around since then. But with basically the wave of my hand I said, “Sure, God – I know.” and then kept right on doing the very thing He was warning me not to do. Now over a year later, the heartache and pain have brought me to the broken place that I HOPE will be the point where I finally GET IT!
    I want to change – but there has been a disconnect between my heart and my head it seems. I so want to feel, see and be the change! I want to be the ME HE WANTS ME TO BE!

    • Steve Gill permalink

      Well…. just so you know. I am only replying because I read your comment and felt moved to say “Hello” and tell you the spirit has told me to tell you the “You Are Loved”. I have no reason to tell you this and it may not be received in your heart…. but I know for sure that this message is from God because I would never write these words to someone who I’ve never met for no reason at all. I feel the pain in your heart over what you have written and just to let you know…. “We all struggle with these issues” of the heart versus the head. Keep on trucking. He’s very close and He will swoop down and give you an overwhelming “GRACE FILLED REST OF YOUR LIFE ON EARTH” when you are ready. Just ask. Have a great rest of your earthly life.

  20. Brenda permalink

    You say ” I get lots of comments affirming my gift of teaching, but actually my goal isn’t teaching but to share my earnest journey deeper into God’s Word, my attempt at drawing closer to God “… but we are COMMANDED to teach..and in my opinion .. your statement might mislead others…We are responsible as Christians to teach others the Gospel…Sharing is all good But Teaching MUCH more important..
    I enjoy your blogs….

  21. brenda fischer permalink

    “FOR IT IS PLEASING” I LOVE THAT PART! 🙂 ❤

Leave a Reply

