Skip to content

Why walking in Central Park is good.

June 19, 2010

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” Matthew 11: 28-30

Hey!!  Press play below to check out my journey deeper into this amazing passage!!

God bless,

Mark
http://www.facebook.com/MarkBrown.page
http://twitter.com/RevMarkB

If you would like to subscribe to this blog and receive my reflections as an email for free click here: Subscribe.

………………………………………………………………………..

Yahweh’s Yarn in a Year : 1 year Bible reading plan

The portion for today is: Proverbs 4 and Ezekiel 1-6
To access the complete plan for the year click

From → Uncategorized

21 Comments
  1. Dutch Hofstetter permalink

    That’s awesome. It connected to when Jesus Christ said, ‘My burden is light’, it connected me to the cross. When Jesus Christ died on the cross to pay for our sins, it was excruciating pain, it was the darkest hour ever, but it became the hour of redemption. Through Jesus Christ’s death for our sins, we are made alive. Jesus Christ’s burden is light. Jesus Christ’s death is life. Thank You Lord Jesus Christ for the cross.

  2. Laura permalink

    Thank you. . I really needed to hear that after the week I have had. Once again, God knows what I need to hear.

  3. Michelle permalink

    Wow God is good, it has been an emotional and physical past few weeks but tommorow we fly from the uk to New York, and I know that spiritual, physical and emotional restoration will come as I step into central park. So today as I watch u share Gods word I am truely encouraged that restoration is coming I just need to get up and get out! Sounds easy I hear u say! For me it will b a major task as I struggle with depression and have a lower back problem that makes me less mobile, so the battle is on both mentally and physically! But I know what is waithing for me and after Reading today’s verse there is not gonna be much that’s gonna stop me reaching that goal. Praise God.
    Therefor, my dear friends, as you have always obeyed not only in my presence, but now much more in my absence continue to work out your salvation with fear and trembling.  For it is God who works in you to will and to act in order to fulfil his good purpose.
    Phil 2:12-13

  4. valma permalink

    Last night I remembered very vividly a very traumatic event of my teenage years. This is on top of trying to come to grips wirh a childhood full of abuse. I struggle everyday to come up with reasons to keep on going. I am so emotionally drained and need his strength just to see another day. I just wonder why if his yoke is easy and his burden light, why is the journey He allows us to go on is so hard.

    • Chrissie permalink

      Believe me – you will come out the other side. The road to healing is slow and painful but thorough and well worth it. I’ve been there… Take courage – God will see you through.

    • Debbie permalink

      “His” journey, Jesus, “His” yoke, Jesus. Carring his word and walking in the word is the journey he speaks of. Because we are humans and sin is in this world we suffer, because there is evil here. You did not ask for this pain or this burden, neither did God put it upon you. It is the work of Satan, evil on others that has put this on to you. You must let the Lord comfort you and lift you away from your pain with his words and with living your life for him. In this you will find purpose and comfort. Pray for these things and they shall be done. There will be times you will be tested, not by God , but by others, the evil of this world and he will carry you. With each day you will get stronger, with each prayer you will have more joy and will be able to move on past the pain and heartache of your past. I pray for you in Jesus name . AMEN

    • brittany lauren permalink

      Velma, it seems the Lord has a special plan for you that may require you having dug deeper, seen more, challenged harder, and sat longer, than many others you know. But be sure, if you wait on Him, He won’t waste a single bit of your experience. Wait, trust, seek, and you will find. I speak as one who needs this very comforting Word myself. My heart is likened to yours, you are not alone.
      The mere fact that you are reaching out, tells God of your desire, it also tells your enemy, so be patient with yourself and sit in front of our Father, on this Father’s day and every day after.
      You are loved with ‘His arms fully outstretched’ all His love.
      Blessings,
      brittany

    • hester.s.wallace@gmail.com permalink

      Dear Valma, as a person also abused as a child by my father and had reached a point where it did not matter if I lived or died life was just a drugery, I was involved in a partial head on collision that sent six people to hospital. A lovely lady of the Lord came to see me and told me to always look up. A better Father, ABBA Father, is there looking down on me. I took hold of the fact Jesus had done so much more for me, what had I ever gone through that could compare? I buried my self in the Word of God and got involved with everything the Church had to offer me. If I was needed to wash the floor I did that, if I was needed to keep the children quiet I did that. The Lord then brought me to a place where I ministered to the children every Sunday for 2 services. I have ministered to the children for 30 years, been involved in 3 more accidents that have left me disabled so that I only have 30-40% of a normal persons mobility, but you know what ABBA daddy has been there for me through it all. I am a living walking miracle and I praise HIM that He is the one who keeps me going from day to day. I pray that you will also reach a place where no matter what ABBA Daddy is there to hold in you in HIS arms and comfort you. With each dawning of the day look up to HIM and with the setting of the Sun praise HIM for being there for you another day.

    • Sister Pam OP permalink

      Dearest Valma,
      I have been there, right where you are at right now. It was so very hard. Yet, I know that is how I came to totally and completely rely on Jesus. He knows our pain. People have free will. Some people abuse that privilege and hurt others terribly. Only through the help of Jesus can that pain be healed. The burden will become lighter in time. Have faith, it’s true, even if it doesn’t seem possible right now. I pray that the Lord heals you today and continues to strengthen you on your journey. Bless you.

  5. Ssopa permalink

    Please stop doing videos. 😦

  6. LarrytheWrightman permalink

    I really appreciate the work you are doing here on the world wide web. People that may never enter a church can catch the word of God and be blessed!
    I have been encouraged and the Lord has blessed the reading and hearing of your posts.
    your friend Larry

  7. anita cooper permalink

    Thank u 4 this reminder. Considering this intense trial i have been going thru and what im still going thru, God is good, He is good all the time! This scripture came right on time as i wil b helping to care 4 a young lady who just turned 18 and she definitely needs to read this and apply it to her life. Both of us wil definitely b studying and examining God’s Word as we continue to seek Him in everything we do. God has chosen me to b this vessel on this journey with her. Keep us in prayer, the journey 4 us is just beginning. Godspeed!

  8. Christine Probert permalink

    I received the scripture verse but there is no play button. Can you help me?

  9. Glenda permalink

    Mark Matthew 11:28-30 was a text I studied this week too. I enjoyed your exposition of this text. Thank you. God bless you.

  10. Debbie permalink

    Thank you Rev Mark for your wonderful site and comforting words. I will be listening… God Bless

  11. mary winski permalink

    I am asking for prayers for my brother Paul Medellin I made a copy of the scripture you posted and I will give it to him,but I am asking in the name of our Jesus that everyone Pray for him. I know that Jesus and Our God almighty will answer our prayers. God Bess you Mark and thank you for your words from the scriptures.

  12. Gloria Collins permalink

    Thanks Mark! I appreciate you. God bless you.

  13. LaTanya permalink

    Thanks so much for sharing that!

  14. Marc permalink

    Hi Mark,

    We live in England and are also in New York this week.

    And yes Central Park is an amazing place to stroll around and take in what God has for us and reflect on who He is.

    Blessings to you.

  15. Pam Ferguson permalink

    I sure that was really good–and I enjoy all your comments–but I can’t listen at work. It really picks me up when I can read them.

  16. Sister Pam OP permalink

    I love this passage of scripture. Life is so much more manageable being assured of the love of Jesus. We still carry a yoke to guide and direct us with the yoke being the way of Jesus. I give thanks for that guidance.

Leave a Reply

