Skip to content

Don’t Give Up

June 9, 2010

Hebrews 10:35-36: So do not throw away your confidence; it will be richly rewarded. You need to persevere so that when you have done the will of God, you will receive what he has promised.

Something a little different today..  My reflection as a video only!  Click on the play button or screen below!!

God bless,

Mark
http://www.facebook.com/MarkBrown.page
http://twitter.com/RevMarkB

If you would like to subscribe to this blog and receive my reflections as an email for free click here: Subscribe.

………………………………………………………………………..

Yahweh’s Yarn in a Year : 1 year Bible reading plan

The portion for today is: Luke 9-10

To access the complete plan for the year click here

From → Uncategorized

46 Comments
  1. You mentioned you might be expanding your organization. If you do I would like to be a part of it. Your bible studies have been a life saver to me, I am disbaled and some times too sick to go to church but I have had your studies to study and the prayer site to have people pray and to pray for others. I may be disabled but God can still use me. I have been taking business classes in college alonf with social media marketing and search engine marketing and I know God has a purpose for me. Please pray about it and keep me in mind. Thanks God Bless

  2. Paula permalink

    Mark, I heard this message and thank you for sharing it. I can see that you genuinely are looking to God to reveal His will to you. Your focus here is ‘persevere’. But I will encourage you to read the scripture in context as a whole and embrace it as that, putting your focus on the complete message.

    So therefore I will encourage you to read Hebrews 10. Remembering Leviticus – the law, the former things and the wonderful fulfilment of the law in Christ Jesus our Lord.

    Hebrews 10 ends with a clear indication of what the will of God is in Christ Jesus our Lord toward us.

    The will of God is already revealed in His word.

    In His Grace
    Paula

  3. Carie permalink

    Thank you so much Mark for your dedication, I get so much from you! : )
    God Bless,
    Carie

  4. Marilyn permalink

    Mark, your message via video this morning was especially nice … to ‘persevere’ is the key, and you reminded us to keep going in faith as God’s will can only be found through trusting Him. You are so spirit filled, and I know He has a very special place for you. You encourage and touch so many … we all wonder what God’s plan is for us, and Hebrews is good to remind us to stay strong.

    • Paula permalink

      Is God’s plan not revealed to us in His word? Indeed it is. Then why do we wonder what God’s plan for us is?

      Search I pray through these Scriptures:-

      1. Mark 3:35
      For whosoever shall do the will of God, the same is my brother, and my sister, and mother.
      Mark 3:34-35 (in Context) Mark 3 (Whole Chapter)
      2. Acts 13:36
      For David, after he had served his own generation by the will of God, fell on sleep, and was laid unto his fathers, and saw corruption:
      Acts 13:35-37 (in Context) Acts 13 (Whole Chapter)
      3. Romans 1:10
      Making request, if by any means now at length I might have a prosperous journey by the will of God to come unto you.
      Romans 1:9-11 (in Context) Romans 1 (Whole Chapter)
      4. Romans 8:27
      And he that searcheth the hearts knoweth what is the mind of the Spirit, because he maketh intercession for the saints according to the will of God.
      Romans 8:26-28 (in Context) Romans 8 (Whole Chapter)
      5. Romans 15:32
      That I may come unto you with joy by the will of God, and may with you be refreshed.
      Romans 15:31-33 (in Context) Romans 15 (Whole Chapter)
      6. 1 Corinthians 1:1
      Paul called to be an apostle of Jesus Christ through the will of God, and Sosthenes our brother,
      1 Corinthians 1:1-3 (in Context) 1 Corinthians 1 (Whole Chapter)
      7. 2 Corinthians 1:1
      Paul, an apostle of Jesus Christ by the will of God, and Timothy our brother, unto the church of God which is at Corinth, with all the saints which are in all Achaia:
      2 Corinthians 1:1-3 (in Context) 2 Corinthians 1 (Whole Chapter)
      8. 2 Corinthians 8:5
      And this they did, not as we hoped, but first gave their own selves to the Lord, and unto us by the will of God.
      2 Corinthians 8:4-6 (in Context) 2 Corinthians 8 (Whole Chapter)
      9. Galatians 1:4
      Who gave himself for our sins, that he might deliver us from this present evil world, according to the will of God and our Father:
      Galatians 1:3-5 (in Context) Galatians 1 (Whole Chapter)
      10. Ephesians 1:1
      Paul, an apostle of Jesus Christ by the will of God, to the saints which are at Ephesus, and to the faithful in Christ Jesus:
      Ephesians 1:1-3 (in Context) Ephesians 1 (Whole Chapter)
      11. Ephesians 6:6
      Not with eyeservice, as menpleasers; but as the servants of Christ, doing the will of God from the heart;
      Ephesians 6:5-7 (in Context) Ephesians 6 (Whole Chapter)
      12. Colossians 1:1
      Paul, an apostle of Jesus Christ by the will of God, and Timotheus our brother,
      Colossians 1:1-3 (in Context) Colossians 1 (Whole Chapter)
      13. Colossians 4:12
      Epaphras, who is one of you, a servant of Christ, saluteth you, always labouring fervently for you in prayers, that ye may stand perfect and complete in all the will of God.
      Colossians 4:11-13 (in Context) Colossians 4 (Whole Chapter)
      14. 1 Thessalonians 4:3
      For this is the will of God, even your sanctification, that ye should abstain from fornication:
      1 Thessalonians 4:2-4 (in Context) 1 Thessalonians 4 (Whole Chapter)
      15. 1 Thessalonians 5:18
      In every thing give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.
      1 Thessalonians 5:17-19 (in Context) 1 Thessalonians 5 (Whole Chapter)
      16. 2 Timothy 1:1
      Paul, an apostle of Jesus Christ by the will of God, according to the promise of life which is in Christ Jesus,
      2 Timothy 1:1-3 (in Context) 2 Timothy 1 (Whole Chapter)
      17. Hebrews 10:36
      For ye have need of patience, that, after ye have done the will of God, ye might receive the promise.
      Hebrews 10:35-37 (in Context) Hebrews 10 (Whole Chapter)
      18. 1 Peter 2:15
      For so is the will of God, that with well doing ye may put to silence the ignorance of foolish men:
      1 Peter 2:14-16 (in Context) 1 Peter 2 (Whole Chapter)
      19. 1 Peter 3:17
      For it is better, if the will of God be so, that ye suffer for well doing, than for evil doing.
      1 Peter 3:16-18 (in Context) 1 Peter 3 (Whole Chapter)
      20. 1 Peter 4:2
      That he no longer should live the rest of his time in the flesh to the lusts of men, but to the will of God.
      1 Peter 4:1-3 (in Context) 1 Peter 4 (Whole Chapter)
      21. 1 Peter 4:19
      Wherefore let them that suffer according to the will of God commit the keeping of their souls to him in well doing, as unto a faithful Creator.
      1 Peter 4:18-19 (in Context) 1 Peter 4 (Whole Chapter)
      22. 1 John 2:17
      And the world passeth away, and the lust thereof: but he that doeth the will of God abideth for ever.
      1 John 2:16-18 (in Context) 1 John 2 (Whole Chapter)

      The will of God in Christ Jesus is that we love the Lord our God with all our being and that we love our neighbour as ourselves – that we serve the Lord our God, giving thanks in Christ Jesus our Lord. That we believe, in the One who God the Father sent – His Son Jesus Christ, that we abide in His Grace. Search the Scriptures. Nowhere do we find the will of God being to build organisations – is not the body of Christ an organism or is it now an organisation?

      2 Timothy 3:16 (King James Version)

      All scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness:

      Why do we seek for something more, something else when all the gifts of our Saviour already are given?

      I look at those in Christ Jesus who have so little and their lives in poverty and surviving on such little – these are the ones who holding on to the Gospel of our Lord Jesus Christ seek His will in His word, knowing it is revealed to us by His Holy Spirit in the word of God. It’s not found outside of God’s word but in it. It’s not found in men, but in the Lord Jesus Christ by His grace in faith.

      We are to persevere in Christ Jesus our Lord who overcame the world –

      Romans 5:2-4 (King James Version)
      By whom also we have access by faith into this grace wherein we stand, and rejoice in hope of the glory of God.
      And not only so, but we glory in tribulations also: knowing that tribulation worketh patience;
      And patience, experience; and experience, hope:

      Is the word of our Lord God and Saviour not sufficient? The Bible tells us, that it is with faith and by the Grace of our Lord Jesus Christ.

      in His Grace
      Paula

  5. Cristi permalink

    I am not a very good lip-reader, as my PC has no sound card 😦

  6. Deborah K. Wiles permalink

    Thank you for sharing this reflection, Rev. Mark. I recognize in your voice a familiar anxious eagerness for God to reveal His will for my life – and even a bit of a very human lack of patience. It is difficult sometimes to work through each step of the journey we take when we obediently heed our Father’s voice, but you have it right; perseverence is key. It seems a confused and frustrating place we walk through at times; it is during these times that we must most importantly persevere, lest we lose our way.
    Four years ago, newly unmarried and feeling very alone, I walked away from a successful yet unfulfilling career, and began a journey that has led me to accept Christ, and then fall very deeply for Him. I have worked hard in my human frailty to learn to listen for God’s voice, and then obey when I hear it. Two years ago, after surrenduring my life to Christ during a solitary, Spirit-filled, experience, I found myself back in school after a 25 year absence, studying math, of all things – a field that petrified me when I started this. Now I am tutoring others in mathematics and finding many opportunities to truly live a servant’s life for Christ. And, He’s not done with me yet. I’ve just been led to add English to the mix for a double-major and I know that I know that I know that this is His will and not my own. Amazing and awesome!
    I still don’t know what His ultimate will for me is. I feel like He is leading me along a journey that refines me slowly, so that it takes permanently. It seems I must walk this long path to get to the place He needs me. So, I just continue to pray that He uses me as a tool for His will, a vessel for His word. And, I persevere in that, as joyfully as my impatient and anxious human heart can do!

    • Grisel permalink

      Deborah,

      I was reading your comment to Rev Mark’s video and I found it (personally) very inspiring. I myself have been divorce over six years now and all this time has been of soul and purpose search for me. I have yet to be successful about it since I also have lost myself many times on the way.

      I found in your message and inspiration for me to continue searching, getting closer to God so I’m able to listen to His voice and calling and finally start serving Him. If you could please pray for me as well, since your connection with Him seems to be a lot closer than mine, your ears ready to listen and your heart more obedient than mine.

      I pray God for one day I will know my purpose in life and be ONE with Him and finally be at His service.

      Thank you and God Bless You!

      • Deborah K. Wiles permalink

        Grisel, I am happy to have been a conduit for God in inspiring you. Trust me when I say that if you ask, seek, knock, with all your heart, the door will be opened to you. It was a very painful time for me after my divorce – a time full of missteps and mistakes, self-doubt and fear. But, Jesus is my rock now. The less I make it all about me, the better it gets! I still get scared and lonely from time to time, but more frequently now I am able to turn to God for comfort – not to worldly things. I will pray for you, Grisel, that you find time to spend with God, in quiet devotion, quiet conversation, and in reading His word daily. His love is powerful!
        God Bless You!

  7. Brenda P permalink

    I have been thinking about quitting the vestry, because I am skirted on my own duties! I know that God intends to use me, and I must persevere. You have inspired me to stay and continue to do God’s will in spite of other people’s snubs. Thank you, you are God’s messenger…. so doesn’t that make you an angel? (a small joke)

  8. Mark, you are doing wonderful work. Thanks for the daily inspiration!!! Worth more than gold.

  9. Connie permalink

    Thank you for the words of encouragement this morning. As I and others continue to look for work, the words about persevering and continuing on despite whatever else is going is was timely. Also the section where you talked about your own search for what God wants you to do show that you have patience about you as you search and wait. And you remind us that God seems to guide us in that journey quietly. Sometimes I wish God would just speaking very loudly and say, “Go this way, or do this.” God is purposely quiet so we have to STOP, be STILL.

    I also am encouraged to hear another speak boldly about how, 99.9% of us have to work extremely hard to become successful at what we do. This is an on going challenge for me within my classroom. I teach music and my students think that beautiful music just happens because they open their mouth to sing or put an instrument to their lips. As with most things, that just doesn’t happen.

    Keep teaching! I look forward to your videos and insights.

  10. Steve Gill permalink

    Thanks Mark….
    So good that you have worked your way into video. I have had my own video production company for 15 years and I believe that your “persona” is needed on this site. It shows that you “really” are a Godly man instead of just TELLING. I love your passion and your message here. I had just been thinking about doing something similar with my video gifts. You know…. my own daily devotional messages and there you were “WHALLA” right in the flesh with the True Spirit of the One who is teaching you. Thursday night I will show this message to my baseball team that I coach. They are 14, 15 and 16 year old boys and I had been thinking about how I could best get the point across about WORK ETHIC. You have done a nice job with your World Cup analogy. I thank you for helping me to continue to know that GOD will help me to Persevere. I will PLOW forward with the Love of Christ in my heart. I will continue to wait patiently and GO as God shows me His Will for my life. Blessings to you this day my brother. Steve
    PS – It would be nice if you end your video with a prayer.

  11. Christy permalink

    This was exactly what I needed to hear today. Thank-you.

  12. I live in Bradenton Florida (In between Clearwater and Sarasota) Central West Coast. I think you are great! You remind me of my pastor (so much alike) and just wanted to give you my church’s info if you reach people in my town, you could send them to my church. It’s Church of the Cross in Bradenton Fl, non-denominational…teaching God’s love, relationship and how to study his word, pray. etc.
    Our mission statement is to “Love God, Love others, Serve the World.” Keep up the good work, today’s message REALLY HELPED ME! Thank you!

  13. john permalink

    Mark,
    Thank you so much, you have no idea how bad I needed to hear that today!!

    May God bless you!!

  14. Terri permalink

    Thank you, thank you ,thank you for your ministry! I look forward to reading and studying the words you share each time you email. God directed me to you thru facebook, and almost every time, if not every time, what your preaching about/studying pertains to exactly what is going on in my life. So thank you ,thank you, thank you for sharing.

  15. Tina Odim permalink

    Loved seeing you are You Tube! The message seemed more alive and filled with energy! Definitely a great ministry is here online! Our church uses http://www.streamingfaith.com for video and audio. Will continue to pray for you and others that subscribe to your pages on Facebook that we all will seek God’s will!

  16. Jay permalink

    So many thousands of miles away, and God answers with His Word and further explanation…I am amazed at Him.

    In prayer this morning, I asked for Him to reveal His message for me today. It did not come in my devotion, it came in the verse and your words about how this verse applies to your ministry.

    I am recovering from sin, iniquity, and wickedness in my life. Sometimes, I lose heart and the feeling of despair comes along…I ask “how long will this last? When will Your work be more complete in me, Lord?”

    I know patience is a fruit of the Spirit, but it is revealed in ways that are not common to my “get it now” expectation. It is revealed in how the verse in Hebrews applies to my path.

    Thank you for bringing this reassuarance, Mark. God Bless you.

  17. Danielle permalink

    Thank you for this message. It seems to have come at a time that I really needed it. As a college student, I was losing hope for this year. Thanks for giving me the extra push that I needed.

  18. Janice permalink

    I really appreciate the video teaching, I learn so much better from hearing.
    May God continue to use you in this awesome way. I will pray for you.

  19. adrienne permalink

    Thankyou for your word of encouragement,I love your passion to find the will of God for your Life and that you are willing to persevere to find out what it is God has for you to do.Every Blessing

  20. I really enjoy your Journey Deeper posts and the videos are nice too. I would love if you could keep putting it writing as well…some of them I like to keep and re-read when I need reminders.

    Thanks for all you do!

  21. I love what you’re doing! Keep up the great work!

    I have a blog as well and just bought a webcam… will most likely be following in your footsteps!

  22. Rev Mark – The videos are a wonderful and helpful way for me to better understand Gods word. Your message is reaching me at a deeper level. I really like how it seems/feels you are talking directly to me, as if I were there with you. Thank you for exploring this way of reaching those of us who truly NEED to Journey Deeper into Gods Word! The impact is beyond words. God Bless You!

  23. Mark, as I watched this video I was inspired and heard from God. I’ve been shouting, crying out I need to hear from Him about His will for my life. I talked to a dear friend, on temporary leave as missionary to China, about following God’s will and obeying, not just praying.

    God finally broke through my barrier. I have been selfish with my time. I’m an out of work EMT, I was called into it very clearly by God. So while I renew my license, I’ve been asking what am I to do. He’s been telling me so clearly to volunteer with RAM, Remote Area Medical, and I keep putting it off, saying what if I have to work, what if, what if. I ask him to tell me what to do, he does, and I get selfish and say no. I didn’t realize this was happening. By not being selfish, I give a lot of time to RAM, and I’ve been encouraged to start teaching sewing lessons.

    Loved your message this morning.
    THank you, God bless you.

  24. Amy Gosselin permalink

    The ME I AM going to be is the person I AM in CHRIST… and the only way to get there is to put off the old self and put on the new, through PERSEVERANCE!!
    Not always an easy task, which is why staying in THE WORD and PRAYER is ESSENTIAL 🙂 AMEN!!! I learned alot from your message today Pastor Mark, and it went hand in hand w/ what I learned at the REVIVAL this weekend.
    You are a blessing.
    Humbly in HIS Service, Amy

  25. Lisa Reimer permalink

    Mark,
    I am so blessed by what you are doing! Like you, I feel that I am led to encourage people. My field for doing this is in recovery from alcohol and drugs. Perserverance is the key to recovery and to serving God and His people. Thank you for serving God and His people!
    In His Love,
    Lisa

    L iving
    I n the
    S on
    A lways

  26. Kyle permalink

    Heyy thankx for sharing this I really needed this message. I really like the vedios you have.
    God bless all of you 🙂

  27. Barron M. Felder permalink

    May God continue to bless you and everything you touch. I love the videos. I watch them at home and work. They have been a blessing to me. I share them with family and friends. This message was truly a blessing as I continue to stand and wait on the Lord. I Thank God for the gifts He has given you and the works He has placed in your hands. Be blessed, Barron

  28. Kathy permalink

    Thank you so much, Mark! That is just what I needed to hear! I am looking for a job, and I want to do whatever God wants me to do. I love Facebook, and it’s wonderful how God is using it! Would you be staffing people only where you live, or would it be global? I am in the U.S., and I’ve been sensing God calling me to do much more for Him than I ever have. Keep me in your prayers and know that I have a willingness to help you. God has raised you up for such a time as this!

  29. Dawn permalink

    Thank you so much for your messages, on my way home for lunch today I was pleading with God to show me his plan for me. I feel like he wants me to move, change jobs, something, but not sure what. Hearing this particular message was the answer I was looking for, I believe I’m on the right track & I just have to keep myself open because I believe he’s preparing me for my next step…oh and that I need to perservere 🙂

    God Bless & I’ll keep you & your direction in my prayers as well!
    ~dawn

  30. Grisel permalink

    Thank you Rev Mark! Perseverance and to continue working, searching without giving up is the way in which God will let me know which way I should head toward.

    As a friend of mine said: ” There’s always a brighter day, we just have to learn to dance in the rain!”

  31. Ariel permalink

    Your accent is amazing!! haha, love it. good video too. pretty awesome watching God move.

  32. Lydia Reyes permalink

    I thank God almighty for your wonderful teaching on perserverance. Today was a day that I needed to hear this. I’ve had so many things in my mind as to what direction God wants me to go and I like many others, was getting a little anxious with all that is going on. This afternoon I got home and was feeling so down. Then for some reason I went into my room and spent time with my lLord in prayer, just telling him how I felt and how I am truly lost without him. I turn on my computer and there you are with this awesome message spoken straight to me. God just blows my mind everytime. I got alot from all the comments that were share too. God Bless each and everyone for helping me perservere in this journey. Love you all.

  33. yo Mark! i liked the video. that was a cool change. but i prefer reading it, i can just focus better 🙂 YOU ROCK!

  34. Thank you so much, I REALLY needed this today:-)

    God bless

  35. Ardith permalink

    Mark,
    The examples you use of the ‘world’s successes’ are just that….the WORLD. God through Jesus Christ has worked a supernatural rebirth in you that cannot compare to anything the world has to offer. The ‘new’ ministry you propose with fundraising and huge outreach could easily become a worldly workhorse that would drive your faith into the background and snuff it out under the mountains of ‘need’ from people that are seeking help from an organization instead of turning to the only help they need, the LORD.
    I have watched as your genuine desire to expand through the internet to hurting people has grown to now include “a new ministry, a new this, a new that”!!! The Lord doesn’t need new, there is nothing new under the sun, the Lord’s will is that we love Him, with everything we have, and love our neighbor as our self. This is not new, it is the Lord’s will.
    May the Lord bless your time of searching and may you dig deeper into the bible to know the Lord’s will for all.
    Ardith

  36. Gary permalink

    It’s amazing how your scripture reading has hit home!. I too need to persevere to let God and His Spirit come into my life. Thank you Mark, and God bless.

  37. Suzanne permalink

    Thank you! This is exactly what I needed to hear today. God does work in mysterious ways! 🙂

  38. Sandy permalink

    I need the written copy of this video….please…allow me to copy it for my compilation of my encouragements notes to read in times of my struggles….thanks….

  39. Lee Zoraya De Jesus permalink

    That video was awesome!! You’re onto something Mark, keep persevering! I would absolutely LOVE to receive your Journey Deeper into God’s Word in video!! God bless you and your family!

  40. Glenda permalink

    Thank you Mark for this message. My husband and I are looking for God’s will for us too. He hasn’t had a job for soon to be a year. His unemployment check ran out this week. He needs to find a job quickly. My hours at work are cut back from full time to part time. We have had financial difficulties for this year. we have seen God work time after time for us. Yes we need to see Gods will soon.

    • Paula permalink

      Glenda. You will find His will in His word. It’s all there. In His word. When we go through difficult times, we need to turn to the Lord in our weakness, in our desperation, in our confusion – and we need to take our worries and our troubles to Him in prayer, believing that He hears us, that He loves us, that His promises remain no matter what. Do you know how many believers, have experienced so much more heavier tribulations? Some have even lost their lives for their faith. We must hold on. We must persevere. Our faith, is so precious to the Lord Jesus Christ. Believers are not exempt from the harsh realities of this evil age. Remember that. I encourage you to read the Bible more often, as often as you can and even more so, to pray and ask the Lord God to help you understand His will which is revealed to each believer in His word.

  41. Kellie Rogers permalink

    Mark: I live in Houston, Texas and have been reading your blog for several months. It has been a very positive and faith-building experience and I Thank you for sharing God’s Word and your faith journey with all of us total strangers.

    Recently I have been going through major changes with my job and I have been feeling edgy … anxious … stressed … depressed… and seriously insecure about myself and whether my job will be secure. Seeing as how I haven’t really been in an open frame of mind, I had not read the blog for a few weeks (telling myself I was too busy for bible study). But on Wednesday, I finally decided to make time and catch up on my e-mail.

    When I opened the June 9th blog e-mail and saw the heading and read the scripture, I knew that God had sent this message through you for me. It’s amazing how He arranged the timing perfectly so that I would hear His words at the moment that I needed them most. I was reminded that if I just give myself, my work, and my life over to Him and have faith and confidence in Him; I don’t need to worry AT ALL.

    I just wanted to share this experience with you and let you know that your ministry is affecting people’s lives. Thanks be to God.

  42. Paula permalink

    Kelly – please be encouraged to read the Bible, to study the word of God, to ponder it in your heart, to pray, to look to the Lord Jesus Christ for strength and patience in your trials and tribulations. We too often, turn to others and yes it is good to be encouraged by another’s words but ultimately, it is in the word of God that we can find wisdom and understanding. I encourage you to read Proverbs chapters 1 and 2 and to read the two epistles of Peter.

Leave a Reply

