Skip to content

Perfection through Weakness

June 8, 2010

My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness. Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. That is why for Christs’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties, for when I am weak, then I am strong. 2 Corinthians 12:9-19

Yesterday God confronted me about my weakness, showed me how much I need the power of the Holy Spirit in my life and then this is the verse that I came across today which builds perfectly on what I learnt yesterday.

And I am just blown away by what I have discovered as I have spent time with this passage.  When it says My power is made perfect in weakness I realized that God’s power cannot fully happen in my life till I really face my weakness.  That I am not able to access, to be assisted by God’s power while I rely on my own power.  In admitting I am weak, I am in fact stating clearly to God that I desperately need Him.  And until I do that, until I am big enough to face my weaknesses then I am not able to access God’s power.

And then when I start to think that way, that being weak is good as then God’s power can be accessed in my life, then I start to Delight in weaknesses! So I get insulted, I face a hardship, I struggle with life – all of them are examples of my weakness and way more importantly, are examples of where God can act in my life!

For when I am weak then I am strong

I am strong only because I am weak.  My strength comes through God.

Ok so it tells me to boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses which means to rejoice in them, to be happy about them!  So let me rejoice now:

I rejoice in the fact that I have a tendency towards self-promotion!  Ok think I need to explain that one.  So what I am actually saying is that self promotion is a weakness of mine, and I welcome God to challenge me on this weak area in my life and seek to rely on God’s power not my own in achieving this.  And the challenge to change, to become more a promoter of God not me brings me to rejoice!!

What weaknesses do you want to rejoice in? Feel free to share them in the comments below.

Praise God for my weaknesses, for when I am weak, then in Christ I am strong!!

God bless,

Mark
http://www.facebook.com/MarkBrown.page
http://twitter.com/RevMarkB

Check out this video version of today’s journey, click on the play button..

If you would like to subscribe to this blog and receive my reflections as an email for free click here: Subscribe.

………………………………………………………………………..

Yahweh’s Yarn in a Year : 1 year Bible reading plan

The portion for today is: Lamentations

To access the complete plan for the year click here

From → Uncategorized

43 Comments
  1. I have a tendency to want to control everything in my life and those I love. I try to fix” every problem. Recently, I had a problem that I didn’t have an answer for. I searched the internet, talked to experts on the subject, oh I prayed too for the Lord to give me the right answer or the right person to go to. You know what the Lord did. He took care of the whole thing with out me haveing to do anything, so I spent all that time and effort for nothing. I have to learn to go to him first and then wait for him to answer.

  2. Sarah Arseneault permalink

    Thank you Jesus this is the 2nd time I hear that word His power is made perfect in my weakness. My job is working with a quadruplegic person that needs my hands and feet and my emotional support. And I know I can only do this by His grace. I am strong in my weaknesses. Amen!

  3. Pam Bailey permalink

    Too insecure….!

  4. Sherry O'Banner permalink

    I believe that my way is right most time (most times they are) and I thrived on running my household with a iron clad fist from finances to the rearing of our children. Well I lost my job and I had to learn to defintenly depend on God and my husband more. I don’t know how I would have made it this past year without either of them. “For I am weak but you are Strong”. GLORY TO GOD!!! Powerful scripture today.

  5. BARASA TOM TINDI permalink

    THANKS A LOT,YOU ARE VERY INSPIRING

  6. Cristi permalink

    I am rejoicing in my weakness for food. I love it way too much!! Where I am weak, God will be strong and deliver me from this addiction!!

  7. Suzanne McClere permalink

    I am with you, Donna! I have had major stress over talking with our daughter about something very important. Going crazy about how she may react!! I prayed yesterday for things to go well and they went SO well that now I am freaking out about that!! I am a “fixer” and “control-freak” also.

    Lord, PLEASE help me realize that YOU are always in control.

  8. keiasa suggs permalink

    My weakness is a need to give up my fear an learn how to drive. I will be 40 this year an give more to faith an stop giving in to my fears. Help me in the name of jesus.

  9. keiasa suggs permalink

    An I also need to be more organized in controling money, my house,my life to.

  10. Julie permalink

    Single mom raising Godly boys seems very difficult at times….but I trust in God to help me through this!

  11. For the first time EVER, I am rejoicing in my food addiction. I know without doubt that I am powerless and weak when it comes to food and what I put in my mouth. But, as you said Mark, “in my weakness, his strength is made perfect”. I will hang on these words today! Thank you Lord God Almighty!

  12. I feel I can handle anything through God, my Father. Here’s the but… But in all the things that I feel I am strong at, are my weaknesses. I am alone in this world, without God. I am starving in this world without God. Like a child born with no father on this earth, I to have no blood family on this earth. I don’t won’t fear, but faith to lead my ways; which I have no idea what my ways are, or where they will lead me. And the one thing I thought was mine from God down here, He is now letting know that it was only a 16 to 18 year lease, not really mine. I am so scared and I know I am not good enough for God, and I never will be!

  13. Hollie permalink

    I rejoice in my insecurities of not feeling good enough for anyone. i have given this to God and he is going to handle this for me and i will be strong in him!

  14. My weakness is located deep in my heart. It is a weakness that brings me to my knees, turns my universe upside down, and I feel that I cannot control my emotions long enough to allow God’s will to be done. Father, I pray that knowing where my heart lies, you are working on my behalf to bring me peace in the place I am at today. I know that the will of my heart may not be your will for my life, and that if it is, you will deliver it to me. For I trust whoeheartedly that you will is perfect. I trust in you Lord, that knowing how truly weak I am, You will heal me from what I have carried deep inside for so many decades. That, You Father, will carry it for me. That You oh Lord, will reconcile it if it is meant to be, or give me a certainty for it’s ending in my life. I pray that I relenquish it fully to You, so that I am free from carrying the pain associated with it. Or, that being said, if it is my cross to carry, my reason to admit how very weak I am, then I will do so. For I know full well that my dialogue with you will be a never ending one of prayer and meditation. In You alone, I find peace, joy, hope, and faith that the life you’ve given me is a great of blessing, and admitting that I am a Christian, is the greatest blessing of all!

  15. My weakness is that I have an addiction to cigarettes. I have tried to quit unsuccessfully a number of times using the patch and then the prescription drug that is supposed to help with the craving. I have been a smoker for 34 years. I had bone marrow cancer 3 years ago which I beat with God’s help and thousands of prayers and after undergoing 7 months of chemotherapy and radiation and a analogous stem cell transplant, but I continue to smoke to this day. I need God to take away this craving and help me to get the willpower to successfully defeat this addiction once and for all.

  16. Dawne P permalink

    I am struggling with loneliness right now. I lost my husband to alcoholism almost 2 yrs ago and I ‘lost’ my son to prison 3 1/2 years ago. The loneliness is a weakness in my opinion because I need to be depending on God to fill my life, not other people or activities. But when I meet someone I try to hard or too fast. Sometimes I catch myself trying to be what I ‘think’ the other person likes, instead of just being myself.
    I should just be open to friendships as God brings them to me…which He has done. But I get impatient if the friendship doesn’t develop quickly. Also, I fill up all my time with busyness…there is my regular job, then I turned my hobby into a 2nd job. I rarely just sit down and watch a movie when I am home. I involved myself with a Christian Singles group in my area and I volunteer for different ministries that I come across.
    I struggle when it is time for my quiet time with God, just to read or pray.

  17. I have to many to list,but I was reminded today,by you and the others to always go to God first,and speak to him about our weaknesses . he always works them out. I was fearful about talking to my boss about a situation,and I prayed first,and then called her,she was as nice as pie ! Situation taking care of no problem !!!! Thank You Jesus !! I Praise Your Holy Name ! God Bless You All ! ASK GOD FIRST AND TELL HIM YOUR WEAKNESSES !! ❤ Thanks to All !

  18. Suzie permalink

    Just a quick note to say… really love the video clips, Im not a great reader.. and so I found this usefull. Thanks for the thoughts on God, really amazing. I am weak in so many things, but I know God has them covered, and he has charge, just as long as i rely upon him (which sometimes feels like the hardest thing to do)
    Thanks to God for being there always.

  19. Jennifer permalink

    My weakness is self-control…especially with food. I need God more then ever before to help me! He led me yesterday to join a group that will guide me to weight loss. Hallelujiah! I can’t do it alone! 🙂

  20. Tim permalink

    I’m also pretty insecure, totally clung to finding security and worth through people and relationships around me rather than through Jesus. This is the major weakness of my life. I admit it! I am desperately weak!

  21. Briana permalink

    I too am a ‘fixer’, a problem solver, and a bit of a control freak. Things have to be a certain way, my way, or I have a hard time with it. I recognize this as a weekness and I want and am asking God to be strong in me in these places. “Please help me to LET GO and let You work out the path of righteousness in my life.” I am so weary of the struggle of trying to ‘figure it out’ on my own and in my own strength. I TRUST You Lord and that You will not leave any detail or piece out. Please forgive me for trying to be You in my life.
    Oh, and food is also a place where I am weak. Lord please be my comfort instead of food. I love You!

  22. Charnae permalink

    Of being fearful. I have allowed it to rule in my life for way too long; have kept me from being where I need to be in Christ. I know God’s word says, “I have not given you the spirit of fear, but of power, of love, and of a sound mind.” I rejoice right now in this weakness, for I have been delivered!

    • Ashley permalink

      This is my weakness as well. My anxiety/fear/worry is constantly allowed to consume my life, to the point where my relationship with God gets put on the back-burner. Today I’m going to rejoice in this weakness. I have nothing to fear or worry about when I give it to God and realize he is in control!

  23. Pamela permalink

    I have problems with self control. If I get upset about something, alot of the time I feel as though I should fix it myself. Instead of giving it to God and staying humble I just say how I really feel or try to fix it myself. I don’t act up when I do or anything to that affect but I do raise my voice and get mad. I need to just leave it alone in that way. Since I have become saved and filled with God and constantly seeking him it seems that everthing and a lot of people are just mistreating me, family as well. It’s just hard.

  24. my weakness is the flesh,in all aspects of this,pride of life,lusts of the flesh and all aspects of this too. walking in the spirit and self control is another weakness of mine too! Man!! I need GOD badly eh?!?
    please remember me in this with prayer!

    Love and GOD bless

    Donnie

  25. Katherine permalink

    Uncanny… God’s timing but as I study weakness along with you a friend (who new nothing of it) posted this one today: (Enjoy–it is a great picture of what our Heavenly Father wants to offer us).
    A little boy was having difficulty lifting a heavy stone. His father came along just then. Noting the boy’s failure, he asked, “Are you using all your strength?” “Yes, I am,” the little boy said impatiently. “No, you are not,” the father answered. “I am right here just waiting, and you haven’t asked me to help you.”Author Unknown

  26. Marla permalink

    God is good, all the time! I studied this very passage yesterday, and was not convicted by the Holy Spirit until this morning, listening to you Mark. My weakness is of the flesh. Every aspect of the flesh. Material things, lust, food, lack of self control, etc.. So many things to get caught up in, in this world of ours. I pray that in my weaknesses, God’s power is made perfect. Praise God.

  27. Bonnie permalink

    You have opened up a new way of looking at my weakness to expect more of myself than I can deliver. I feel guilty that I can’t do what I did when I was younger. I will look at my problems a lot differently now…Thank you for making this scripture NEW to me!

  28. Amy Gosselin permalink

    I have to admit that my family’s dysfunction and my obsessive need to be pulled into it, in a desperate attempt to repair and be accepted, or to meet unattainable expectations…are some of my GREATEST weaknesses. Let alone the the negative influence I allow it to have on my ability to live my life for GOD and not for my family or for others. The price is great and the end result is misery , yet through my weakness I am able to find strength in Jesus Christ. Thanks be to GOD!!! 🙂

  29. Matt Patterson permalink

    I wear my heart on my sleeve. I am a sucker for women and lust, and every time I get shot down, I hurt a lot.

  30. Merilee permalink

    I have to confess that I have a weakness to watch and buy things on the QVC and HSN TV shopping Channels and I dont have that money to spend on myself that money should be going toward my bills. Living alone has some getting used to? I also confess to my trying to help people get insurance and leaving things off the app to help them so they can close the loan which is not right for the Ins. Co. but I just want to help people and its not right. God help me in my weak areas you know I have no strength to say no and or stop and turn away to avoid it. Thanks Jesus

  31. Amy permalink

    One of my weaknesses is being so afraid of not knowing how to give God the glory certain situations that I completely freeze up.

    Another one is feeling.. actually believing.. I have nothing to offer anyone so instead of sharing with them I just don’t even talk or try.

  32. Nicole permalink

    Praise God that I am a self-serving liar!

  33. Gary permalink

    For so long I have done most things without help. I will figure out how to do something by my self instead of asking for help. It is ingrained in my life style.
    My weakness is “not relying on anybody.” Please Great Father, help me to tell you my weakness’s and let Your Holy Spirit reveal to You that I am nothing without You.Praise to God!

  34. Lydia Reyes permalink

    The Lord is my Shepherd, there is nothing I lack. Sometime we are like sheep , stubborn,dumb and stupid at times,thinking we could do our own thing and disregarding God in our lives, But praise God for the Great and marvelous Shepherd that he is, to be able to bring us back from falling into the pit. We are nothing without God. He is The Force, The Course and The Source of our life. My strength comes from the Lord. I am a total weakling , but with Jesus I am strong. Forgive me God for the times that I have falllen short. Thanks Mark, for a well deserved message. I guess , we all needed to hear that .

  35. Cella Dora Lawrence permalink

    My weakness is people … Thank you Jesus for given me the strangth to let go of people and stand up for my family and myself… Praise God!!!

  36. Gwendolyn permalink

    Thank you so much for sharing this devotional. I am weak in faith at times and in breaking through to the next level in my business which in return aids in provision for my family. I am expecting God’s strength to be demonstrated in my life in a real way! Thx again!

  37. Sandy permalink

    I can believe that God will talk to me through you…..Your testimony was an encouragement to me….I’m in the situation where I’m about to lose my connection to God and making my life as a daily routine to live for….I never expected that God will let me begin again to know Him intimately and to seek His words by reading my bible…..but God is faithful. He never give up on me….I thank Him for your life because your Love and passion for God extend to me…..I awe my Life to God and do what He’s will for my life….Please pray for me that I will continually stand firm until I see my Father in Heaven and build a strong foundations that will give Glory and Honor to our Almighty God…To God be the Glory, in Jesus name.AMEN

  38. Dorie permalink

    I have multiple chronic illnesses including (but not limited to) fibromyalgia, chronic fatigue syndrome, diabetes, asthma. I have loved working as a nurse since 1972, but I had to go on disability last year. I missed working and did not feel like rejoicing in this – but I did anyway. God has changed the desire of my heart (to work as a nurse) and now I’m gladly rejoicing in my weaknesses as I see God using them for HIS glory. Thank you, Father, for the priviledge of being used in my weakness for your glory.

  39. Grisel permalink

    I tried to fix every little problem in my life and I always end up making them bigger sometimes. I’m always doing things half way and never finish them; I’m have this fear of insecurity and not being good enough inside me.

    I want to let go of all these and rejoice in God’s power through my weaknesses to make me strong!!!

    Thank you Mark, always so inspiring!!!

  40. My weakness is wanting to be independant & strong. This weakness comes because I have always had a certain amount of physical weakness due to a stroke I had in the birth canal while waiting to be born. I worked really hard as a child to overcome those weeknesses & never wanted to be treated any different for my weaknesses, thus instilling in me a high need for independance. Now I have had additional injury to by body because of a multiple roll over car accident 16 years ago which left me w/ damage to my spine. Plus I’ve had many complications over the years. So, I often find myself confined to bed, unable to even make it to church because of pain & weakness in my body. I am working hard to do my physical therapy & push myself in taking care of my home & family in order to have as much of a life as is possible. I am determined not to give up & to always reach for as much as I can have. The trouble is I don’t want to be weak! I want to be strong!! I’ve always worked & pushed hoping to become strong! And now I realize the strength I sought will never be. So I’m working to come to terms w/ the weakness in my body, while at the same time not allowing it to control me. In other words, keep me from living the life Jesus has given me. I have a wonderful husband & three beautiful daughter’s. I am truly blessed just in that! Plus, I can walk, talk, see, hear, taste, etc. I have nothing to complain about, yet I’m still working on being weak, yet not helpless & sitting out on life. So right now my biggest weakness, I guess, is wanting to be strong.

    Thanks for your ministry & all you’re doing. 🙂

  41. Glory permalink

    I am weak in handling my finances and managing my money. I struggle each and every day, month and year to keep my finances in order. I pay my bills on time, but I have to borrow from one area to pay another. I need God to strenghten me and bless me and my family so that we don’t have to struggle anymore with money. I am a giving person, if I have it and I can help someone else out, I will. I need to continue to give, but make sure that my household is stable. Please help me Lord Jesus Christ!
    Mark – I really enjoy your new video lessons, it’s a great personal touch. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

