Skip to content

Two parts of growing my faith

May 11, 2010

Philippians 2:12-13 : Work hard to show the results of your salvation, obeying God with deep reverence and fear. For God is working in you, giving you the desire and the power to do what pleases him. (New Living Translation)

In this awesome reading I see the two parts needed to grow my faith.  The first is what I have to do: Work hard to show the results of your salvation, obeying God with deep reverence and fear. Which when I explored the original Greek, spoke of how I need to recall how Jesus saved me and how each day through the forgiveness of my sins I am able to come into the presence of God. I am His child and called to do His will!!  And that I don’t just accept this reality, but do all I can every day to seek that forgiveness, and to act in accordance with His will.  And this rightly acknowledges that I will make lots of mistakes, that I will massively struggle in serving God, but as the reading encourages me, I must work hard, I must keep on going.  The greek for work in this first part of the reading is katergazomai which speaks of the need to practice, to keep attempting.  So I am to keep attempting, to just keep trying even when I fail, to pick myself up and try again to best serve God and live according to His will.

And then in the second part where the word ‘work’ is used again is a different greek word.  That part reads: For God is working in you, giving you the desire and the power to do what pleases him. And the greek word here for ‘work’ is energeo which is an active word (energy!) in that God makes it happen.  So yes I need to work at it, to never give up seeking to do God’s will but I am not alone in this as God is working in me as well, God is making it happen, giving me the desire and the power to do what pleases him.

So I make a massive effort and God works within my effort giving me power and the desire to absolutely follow His will.

Praise God!!

Mark

http://www.facebook.com/MarkBrown.page

http://twitter.com/RevMarkB

If you would like to subscribe to this blog and receive my reflections as an email for freeclick here.

Yahweh’s Yarn in a Year : 1 year Bible reading plan

The portions for today are: Job 35-36; Jeremiah 27-31

To access the complete plan for the year click here

From → Uncategorized

9 Comments
  1. Joy permalink

    I totally neede to hear this today. I was beginning to feel like all that I am doing was getting me nowhere. Then this reading reminded me that God is actively working in my efforts to bring me into conformance with His will for my life. This was the little push I needed.
    God bless

  2. Grisel permalink

    I agree with Joy, I was feeling lost and without direction. I know God is re-directing my path to better serve Him!

    In Him

  3. Larry permalink

    Mark,

    Your meeting needs each and every day with your online work. Christains are being taught the word, blessed with common sense Godly wisdom through your words, and the Lord is raising up an online community through you.

    Thank you brother Larry

  4. Joanne Heatley permalink

    Thanks Mark!

    I’m glad that you have explained the meaning of work as it suddenly becomes so much clearer. To be persistant to perservere in seeking forgiveness and having an obedient heart. Wow isn’t God so amazing that He gives us His power and desire to do this. What an incredible God we serve! Hallelujah! x

  5. I’ve been working very hard lately! I have 2 jobs, working 7 days a week. Supporting the unemployed folks who are now living in my very small 2 bedroom apartment – which seems so much smaller now that there are 4 adults living in this small space – and I am the only one working to make sure the bills get paid on time because everything is under my name, because it’s my home! With all of this hard work I was recently invited to go on a business trip for my company to learn a new project and with that I can prospectively grow with in my department. I am SO EXCITED for this opportunity and I only pray to God that He continues to give me the strength I need to do a good job on this trip next week. That I continue to prove myself and that I can grow within the company I work for and I can reap the rewards of my hard work!

    I struggle every day with becoming a better and stronger Christian. I am faaaarrr from perfect, but I feel so blessed everytime our heavenly Father reminds me that with strong will and determination, He will favor me when it time to recieve my reward!

    Thank you Jesus!

  6. Nancy permalink

    May God bless you Mark for this wonderful message. You just spoke to me. I am amazed and grateful to know that despite the fact that i may fall from time to time, God doesn’t give up on me. If i seek His forgiveness, He’s more than willing to welcome me back into His wonderful arms. What an awesome God we serve!!!

  7. MARK-I FEEL GOD IS WORKING ON ME AND GIVING ME THE DESIRE AND POWER 2 DO WHAT PLEASES HIM. I MUST ALWAYS WORK HARD TO STAY ON TRACK SO HE CAN USE ME.SO I WILL BE ABLE TO HELP , SOMEONE THAT MAY BE LOST OR NEED A HELPING HAND ON THE WAY TO SEE JESUS. ALSO TO HELP MYSELF AS WELL.I HAVE TO REMEMBER IT HAS TO BE RIGHT WITH MYSELF BEFORE I CAN HELP THE FALLING MAN.AMEN..THANKS MARK..

  8. Lisa Fekete permalink

    Thank you for posting this today! God is so awesome and worthy of all our thanks and praise!

  9. DGHENZY permalink

    i need to WORK hard… so help me GOD!!!

Leave a Reply

