Skip to content

I am called!! YES!!

April 22, 2010

Be strong and very courageous. Be careful to obey all the law my servant Moses gave you; do not turn from it to the right or to the left, that you may be successful wherever you go. Do not let this Book of the Law depart from your mouth; meditate on it day and night, so that you may be careful to do everything written in it. Then you will be prosperous and successful. Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be terrified; do not be discouraged, for the LORD your God will be with you wherever you go.”  Joshua 1:7-9

Tomorrow is a big day for me as I am to be interviewed for a global leadership role.  And in preparation for the interview I have been thinking a lot about my vision for the organisation I might lead, and was blown away when I received a strong sense of what God wants me to do:

To be part of leading a reformation of society, one person at a time.

Wow.

The position I am being interviewed for would be an amazing way to express this calling, but I also realise that if it isn’t this particular position, another will emerge.

Wow I get excited at the thought of being part of leading a reformation of society, one person at a time! Society will reform when you and I submit to God and come into His presence.  For once this happens we will see a change in our attitude, a change for the good in how we relate to those around us and how we decide what is important in life.

I believe this will lead to more passionate evangelism, increased involvement in church, an increase in discipleship, and many more acts of selfless service, all towards glorifying God.  This will lead to a greater concern for the poor and disenfranchised and less glorification of material excess, we will witness greater acts of love and compassion and less violence and self interest, we will see families drawn closer together rather than being pushed apart through anger and abuse.  And I yearn to be part of this reformation.

This calling is a culmination of many years of preparation and yet it coming today is absolutely perfect.  As tomorrow I am being interviewed for a role that would provide the structure in which to offer global leadership to this calling.

In the Joshua reading above I am challenged and encouraged to spend considerable time reflecting on the Bible.  As it says to meditate on it day and night, so that it doesn’t depart from my mouth.  The challenge of the teaching contained within the Bible to be constantly part of my thinking, part of my approach to life.

As this calling starts with me, I am the first person who needs reformation.  I need to continue to spend time in the Bible, to be praying, facing my sin and actively yearning after Jesus.   And I don’t do this alone, for as Joshua states, I am to Be strong and very courageous… for the LORD my God will be with me wherever I go!!  Praise God!!

So will you join me in this calling?  Will you submit to God and open yourself up to reformation, to an even greater change in your heart?  I invite you to join me as together we yearn to be in God’s presence!!

And I invite your prayers as I am interviewed for this awesome role; I seek only to do God’s will. (My interview is on friday the 23rd April at 11am, to see what time this in your part of the world click here.)

God bless ya!

Mark Brown

http://twitter.com/RevMarkB

http://www.facebook.com/MarkBrown.page

If you would like to subscribe to this blog and receive my reflections as an email for free:  click here.

And I welcome your comments!!  Click on comment and scroll down.

Yahweh’s Yarn in a Year : 1 year Bible reading plan

The portion for the next two days is: Mark 9-10

To access the complete plan for the year click here.

From → Uncategorized

33 Comments
  1. sheryl permalink

    will be praying for you at 11pm, NY time

  2. sheryl permalink

    i will join you in your calling & mine also, as I have a similar role /job change going on in my life, and my aim is to do Gods will also, I really feel your heart is in your journey, with god directing you, i submit to God & yearn to be in his presence, I think this year we will both see reformation and the fruits of our labor as we continue to serve God!

  3. Thank you once again! I am a grouch when I fist get up and this was a reminder to me to think on God, not on my bed! I am ready for the challenge to reach societ, one person at a time! I am ready to be reformed and changed from the insid out! I can do nothing without Him, but I CAN DO EVERYTHING through HIM!

  4. Steve Gill permalink

    Oh Mark….

    What a wonderful message sent by Your God. I too would like to be a leader in this reformation one person at a time. I join you and now we pray as one that God would be “transforming” His People through our good works. I pray that He teaches us His ways and gives us “Strength and Courage” as the humility comes. I love you brother Mark and I am with you. I live in Suffolk, Virginia and I am praying that our little town is reformed through God’s Works. We deal with so much hatred here and there is no trust. I anticipate watching as God works it through. God’s speed my brother and Pastor from Australia. Let me know how we can serve (Lead) together.

  5. Angela permalink

    God bless you. I ask God to help´you to choose the best for you, your familly according to HIS wish and plan, Blessings from Venezuela South America.

  6. Nat permalink

    brave! bravo! I think this is your most stirring devotion yet….praying on Friday for you..and for your family at home….amazing the clarity that comes when we are away from our normal lives….

  7. Amy permalink

    Amen! I will be praying at 10pm Baton Rouge, LA, USA time! What a tremendous calling from God! I stand with you, brother in Christ!

  8. KKY-Omaha, Ne permalink

    I am in agreement. To His honor and glory. Just think, the Lord is transforming us into His love.

  9. Here & listen 2 d word of Lord..

    ”BEFORE I FORMEND YOU IN THE BELLY I KNEW YOU; AND BEFORE YOU CAME FORTH OUT OF THE WOMB I SANCTIFIED YOU, AND I ORDAINED YOU A PROPHET TO THE NATIONS…

    SAY NOT I AM A CHILD: FOR YOU SHALL GO TO ALL THAT I SHALL SEND YOU, & WHATSOEVER I COMMAND YOU YOU SPEAK.

    BE NOT AFRAID OF THEIR FACES: FOR I AM WITH WITH YOU”….Jeremiah 1:5-8

  10. Bless you Mark….We praying 4 you..

  11. Go for it, mate!

  12. joan m anderson permalink

    Be encourage man of God , He will never leve u or for sake u . am in Nassau . ill be praying for u .

  13. Debbie permalink

    I will keep you in my prayers ! I LOVE following you on your journey ! God Bless !

  14. angel permalink

    good luck to you and the job openining that you have i know you will get it a few weeks ago i sent an email to you and you havent replied and i am wondering why i was longing to hear your views on the topic

  15. Larry permalink

    Mark,

    Prayers from Missouri for you. America needs a revival too—one person at a time. I thank the Lord for you and the work that you do. Larry

  16. Sharon Bathory permalink

    Mark, You have already started with one person. I’m thankful that God is working in you because it is definitely having an impact on me! Your interview and the will of God will be in my prayers for only what is best for God, for you and your family to occur. May God bless you immensely that you continue to be an immense blessing to others! Kind regards in Christ our Savior, Sharon Bathory

  17. Bev permalink

    Mark,
    Thank you for sharing your experiences with God! You are reaching so many people throughout the world here with”Journey Deeper”. I will be praying for you from Georgia at 11PM on Friday. May you know God’s will for what he has planned for you.

  18. servant permalink

    You mentioned evangelism. Sometimes I feel compelled to talk to someone, but I never know when it is the spirit telling me to, or just my own human instinct. How do you identify an urge as coming from the spirit and not just yourself?

  19. Glenys Louise permalink

    Dear Mark, such a powerful sense of my loving God moving amongst some of His people that are fast becoming cast-offs – one by one, but now maybe with a leader?! There are so many isolated and alone, that for them the love may only arrive through one or two who are willing to walk quietly along, to love, encourage and provide safety. I WILL be praying at 1 p.m. Bris time. May the Lord bless you and keep you always in His presence.

  20. Nadege Toussaint permalink

    Priase God for he is Jehovah nissi, Jehovah shammah. The Lord is God and is worthy to be praised. He knows us from the inside out. He knows what is good for us and knows how to provide us with opportunities that aren’ only beneficial to us but to those around us who need so much guidance. I pray brother Mark that God will either bless you with this position, or lead you to a position where you would be of most value for his Kingdom. Praise God.

  21. Lydia Reyes permalink

    I will lift you up in prayer too. 11:OO PM , USA, Florida. I feel the excitement you have in serving the Lord and I know that he has great plans for you and alot of us here. This is the real reformation we need in all the world. For all to know, Love and serve the only true God who loved us so much that he send his beloved son to die for all our sinfulness. By the blood of Jesus we are saved. As the word of God says, His spirit will be pour out throughout the world. I am looking forward to the great reformation thruout the world. Even if we reach one person at a time. Come Holy Spirit.

  22. pam bailey permalink

    What a great vision! I will pray for a good outcome! (11pm est)

  23. Dear Father Mark,
    You are not alone in this mission. Jesus started 2000 years ago and we have strayed. It is past time to gather the lost. I am with you in my part of the world. God be with you in your interview.

  24. Chrissie Minton permalink

    Your interview was 4 am our time so sorry – I was asleep then!
    Whatever the outcome, you do have a global ministry through these reflections for which I for one, am very grateful.

  25. Elomena permalink

    I am ready for the reformation and by God’s grace impact the lives of those around me one person at a time. God’s will for you brother Mark, will be made manifest.

  26. Larry permalink

    Mark,

    I support you brother. The electronic message board is a great tool! A face to face encounter is always the best; however not always possible.
    I thank the Lord for men with vision. Larry

  27. Michele permalink

    God’s will be done! Prayers going up for you brother Mark.

  28. Greg permalink

    I am just now reading this after I read your Friday blog. I will continue to pray for you and you are right, the reformation has to start with me.

  29. Marilyn permalink

    May His hand guide you in all you do …
    Prayers are with you and yours

  30. Philip permalink

    Praying that everything went well with the interview. And I want to be part of the reformation. Well said. God Bless. Amen.

  31. my prayers are always with you . Though i am late because of pc problems , i was not able to be in touch ur site. How was the inter view?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Resting so that the rest is up to God. « Journey Deeper Into God's Word
  2. Learning how to overflow with Love « Journey Deeper Into God's Word

Leave a Reply

