Skip to content

Getting rid of the rocks

April 17, 2010

Number four of my five part devotional series for my kids on ‘how to be a great Christian’ was on the importance of forgiveness!

I started by reviewing the other three days, using the fingers of our hands as prompts, the first finger being Prayer, the second finger, reading the Bible and the third finger going to the church.

And then I spoke of how every person on the planet sins, does wrong and that we need to pray to Jesus, to admit our sin and then Jesus will forgive us, and once that happens our sins are gone!!!

I read 1 John 1:9:

If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.

And reinforced how important it is to share our sins with Jesus and to know that He takes the sins away.

Then we performed a play!

My 6 year old boy carried a bag on his back, my 3 year old and my 1 year old put rocks into the bag, and each rock represented a sin, weighing my boy down, eventually his bag was full and he called out, ‘help me Jesus! Please forgive my sins.’ At that point my daughter stepped forward and playing the part of Jesus she started to remove the rocks, one by one till the bag was empty and he was free of the burden!!  I asked my boy whether he felt relieved to not having the weight on his back (it was heavy!), he turned to me and said, ‘no it wasn’t heavy, easy to carry dad!’, that’s my macho 6 year old boy, don’t mess with him!! LOL!

I want to declare that without the forgiveness I find at the foot of the cross I would be a mess.  I say this not only as an Anglican Priest, but as a qualified psychotherapist.  The grace available to me at the cross is one of the most beautiful aspects of my walk with Jesus.  It is freely given and I embrace it wholeheartedly.  I am far from perfect and to know when I slip up, when my bag is full of rocks, that I can go to Jesus and he will forgive me.  YES!!  Praise Jesus!!

Mark Brown

http://twitter.com/RevMarkB

http://www.facebook.com/MarkBrown.page

If you would like to subscribe to this blog and receive my reflections as an email for free:  click here.

And I welcome your comments!!  Click on comment and scroll down.

Yahweh’s Yarn in a Year : 1 year Bible reading plan

The portion for the next two days is: Psalm 42-44 and Job 29-30 (I don’t post on Sat hence the two!)

To access the complete plan for the year click here.

From → Uncategorized

17 Comments
  1. sheryl permalink

    GREAT ANALOGY!!

  2. It is when I can actualy feel the burden leave ,and such a blessing comes in it’s place,,then I am so over whelmed that my saviour would do this for me.

  3. Shelia permalink

    What a great depiction of forgivenes of sin! It is a heavy burden. God Bless you for teaching your small children and us adults.

  4. nicholas ross permalink

    thank you for that it lifts us up when we read what you write and i enjoy the way you express and act out the words with your family,keep it up and god bless

  5. Wonderful way to teach your children about sin and Jesus’ awesome forgiveness. I think I’ll use this to teach my daughter, as well!

  6. What a great skit.It’s a wonderful way to teach children the bible at home,at school and even at sunday school.
    Keep up the good work.May God continue to bless you and your family.

  7. Joanne Heatley permalink

    Hi mark!
    I love the practical way you present God’s word to your children. You give them something tangiable to think about.
    Wow without Jesus where would i be?!
    i praise You Lord for your merciful forgiving heart, Your heart of grace and Your amazing love.
    i always have been so taken with the scene in the Bible
    where Mary washes Jesus’ feet with her repentent tears and dries them with her hair and then annoints them with oil. Jesus’ love is so powerful here it takes my breath away!
    Thank you Mark and God bless you. Jo xx

  8. Sophia Churchill permalink

    I love the simplicity of the message the way you put it and yet resounding very loudly the truth of the Gospel.

  9. Donna permalink

    You are so inspiring!

  10. Angela permalink

    Thanks a lot for your teaching. It is a very practical and easy way to teach children and also for us adults.I May God continue to bless you.

  11. I carried that bag of rocks around for a long time until I finally learned what forgiveness and salvation really meant. One by one the weight of sin disappeared.
    That is what Christianity has to offer! Nothing else can compare to the freedom and health of salvation. Thanks be to God.

  12. Elomena permalink

    Was wondering how amazing God’s peace is just yesterday. When i sin, there is actually a great burden i feel inside but once i ask God for forgiveness and start moving in God’s direction again, there is such a great calm within me. Thanks Mark, and God bless you.

  13. dorthy porter permalink

    This was great Mark, I have two of my grandchildren for the weekend .I am going to put bags and walk them slowly putting rocks while teach alsoI.I had already planned teaching them in the woods at the prayer rock,with a picnic following. This will work out great.Dorthy

  14. Lydia Reyes permalink

    That was a beautiful anology of being forgiven . You are surely great leader, bless your heart. Not only for your children but also to us in this site. I am also so deeply greatful to my Lord Jesus for the ultimate sacrafice he made for me. I am cleansed by his blood. I was once lost and my bag was so heavy and when I lay my bag at the foot of the cross and let God take my load away I felt so free. One thing we as christian should know is to leave the heavy bag at the foot of the cross and not pick it up again. This is a struggle that most of us go thru, just letting go and not looking back. Don’t focus on your past sins and focus on the one who freed you from sin. Hallelujah.

  15. Dennis Bisner permalink

    We have missed you the last couple of days Pastor. What happened with the fifth part of your study for kids? I want to give this to my granddaughter,

  16. GlenysLouise permalink

    Such beautiful teaching. Thank you. Bless you.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Showing God’s love through a hug « Journey Deeper Into God's Word

Leave a Reply

