Skip to content

Reading the Bible – Kids Style

April 15, 2010

So today’s devotion with my kids (which anyone reading this is welcome to use, men in particular) was on reading the Bible.  (To check out yesterdays on Prayer click here). Well given that only one of my kids can fully read the Bible the proper title is really reading the Bible or having it read to you.

I started by asking each of my kids how they learnt about their favourite topic and they answered from reading books, chatting with people and watching TV.  I then spoke of how we can learn about how to live our lives, to be good Christians by reading or being read the Bible.  I shared how the Bible is the most important book ever produced and that it is how God communicates to us.  I shared how the Bible teaches us how best to face challenges and difficulties.

And then we relocated to a store room that with the lights off is completely dark and where I had planted some treats.  We stood in the darkness and I told the kids to find the hidden treats.  They stood still protesting not being able to see, so then I produced a torch and together we searched the storeroom for the treats.  Then I told them that the torch is like the Bible, guiding us through the challenges of life.

We returned to the house where I read:

33Point out your rules, LORD, and I won’t disobey even one of them.34Help me to understand your Law; I promise to obey it with all my heart.35Direct me by your commands! I love to do what you say.36Make me want to obey you, rather than to be rich.37Take away my foolish desires, and let me find life by walking with you.38I am your servant! Do for me what you promised to those who worship you.39Your wonderful teachings protect me from the insults that I hate so much.40I long for your teachings. Be true to yourself and let me live. Psalm 119:33-40

I reinforced how God works through the words of the Bible so as to guide us in our lives.  And then as an example of how alive and engaging the Bible is, I read a passage that is a popular one with our kids:

10Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power.11Put on the full armor of God so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes.12For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.13Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand.14Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place,15and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace.16In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one.17Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.18And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the saints.19Pray also for me, that whenever I open my mouth, words may be given me so that I will fearlessly make known the mystery of the gospel.

While Matty my 6 year old put on some armor (see above) that I had made with him a week before!  Wonderful way to end!  Praise God!!

God bless,

Mark Brown

http://twitter.com/RevMarkB

http://www.facebook.com/MarkBrown.page

If you would like to subscribe to this blog and receive my reflections as an email for free:  click here.

And I welcome your comments!!  Click on comment and scroll down.

Yahweh’s Yarn in a Year : 1 year Bible reading plan

The portion for the next day is: Exodus 5-8

To access the complete plan for the year click here.

From → Uncategorized

32 Comments
  1. Donna permalink

    What a wonderful, clever way to teach your children about the Lord and His promises! I so enjoy your devotionals every day. I learn so much. God bless you!

  2. Toni Maher permalink

    Thank you for this today. God clearly needed me to see these passages today to pass on to my 5 children. Thank you for letting HIM use you for HIS purpose.

  3. chris permalink

    GREAT story. GREAT picture. I actually thought it was a Norman Rockwell painting before I clicked on the link and saw it was a photo.

    That’s a keeper.

    Going to go hide some treasure now! Thanks for the idea!

  4. Shelia permalink

    You really have creative and fun ways to communicate with your children about God’s word and messages! And they will always be grateful for you for these lessons! Thank you for sharing a part of your life with us each day.

    God Bless YOU!

  5. Patti McLaughlin permalink

    needed those scriptures today ,Thanks for posting!!!!!

  6. Erma Solis permalink

    Thx for ur help today…I sure needed to hear it today…I got alot of work with my son…Thanks again for your help..

  7. Tenieka! permalink

    LOVE IT! Bless you & your family! Truly an awsome thing to do with & for your children. To God be ALL the glory!
    I NEEDED those scriptures today, too! No such thing as “coincidence”. Love you & bless you! —–{–@

  8. Tenieka! permalink

    That was supposed to be: —–{–@
    * GOD BLESS YOU!

  9. tonya permalink

    i absolutely love it

  10. Thanks for your help,Those are a cool way to explain some things to my two grandsons. They love Jesus and going to church,They are 6 and 3 years old and Im sure this will help us have fun and learn at the same time. THANKS,,,GOD BLESS..

  11. Debbie Barbour permalink

    Mark, this is truly amazing the talent you have. You are spiritually feeding your children and providing sound teaching in their lives. We as adults look back and realize the mistakes we have made in raising our children and have to suffer thru the consequences of not raising our children guided by the bible. Seeds were planted however they were not kept watered….

    I would be great if you could put your daily teachings to your children in a book..I for one would buy it. This would show direction for parents on how to involve their children in a daily devotional. I am a grandparent of 6 precious Grandkids and love them dearly..I see mistaken being made, some carried on from generation to generation and its time to break the cycle and get on track with God. Thank you for your sharing of the talents the Lord has given you and God Bless you and your family..May the Lord continue to work thru you and the Glory be given to Him..

    Your sister in Christ,
    Debbie

  12. Leigh Ann permalink

    I have a ten year old and a six year old and I also have been neglecting spending time with them in the word. We recently starting praying together in the mornings before school and I have had that naughing feeling to do more with them. Thanks so much for this information it will be used in our home daily. God bless u and your family!

  13. ryan permalink

    I love this idea of getting them using their minds and really into it by incorporating cool things kids like to just to get them interested! Great Idea! I’m stealing this idea for when my kid! hhahaha! Love it!

  14. Kathy permalink

    I like it! Very creative! So, did you pray after that??

  15. Rose Welch permalink

    Thanks for the story. It will come in handy tonight at our first Bible Study since Easter, for us grownups….as we are always our Dad and Mom’s children, no matter our age, we are ‘ Gods children’ now and with Him in Eternity ! AMEN !

  16. Brad permalink

    Plain as day, there it is, written in the scripture you quoted, and yet you still cannot see; “Take the helmut of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which IS the word of God. . .”

    You and multitudes of well-meaning Christians have inexplicably bought into this notion that the Bible is the word of God, when the Bible never refers to itself as such.

    The holy Spirit is the living word of God, as is Christ Jesus Himself. Jesus never said he would have a Bible published to be a guidebook for our lives. He said, “I will pray to the Father, and he shall give you another Comforter . . . even the spirit of truth. . . (the holy Ghost) . . . and when the spirit of truth is come, IT (He) will guide you into all truth.”

    Those who rely on the Bible alone, and never feel or experience God’s presence in the Spirit, will never see the kingdom. How could they?

    “If any man HAVE NOT THE SPIRIT of Christ, He is none of His.”

    “For as many as are LED BY THE SPIRIT of God, they are the sons of God.”

    Those verses say nothing of being dependent upon the Bible.

    The Bible is a holy book, certainly; a valuable tool to lead us to Christ, but it is NOT the word of God. It is made of paper and ink, and as Paul said, “the letter killeth, but the SPIRIT GIVETH LIFE!!!

    “Ye must be born again” (by the Spirit)

  17. Josh permalink

    I love all that your doing and teaching in the spirit!!!:D
    I would love to read a teaching on “we can’t get away from sin just in God” if Our father tells you=) your a blessing my brother haha$$$

    God Bless You
    -Joshua

  18. I like this!

  19. Thank you Mark for another great posting it is a great way to start my day. Thank you for sharing you family with us.

  20. That’s some really good stuff my brother in Christ.

  21. diana permalink

    wow brad i never heard it that way before! but yeah Jesus never did mention a bible nor did he or the discipels carry one huh? good point! although its great to read and learn from. right?

  22. Delia Rodriguez permalink

    I loved it Bro. Mark! God’s Word is our salvation from all things. Praise God for His Mighty Precious Word!!! Thank you so much for sharing. I will post on my profile as well. Again thank you so much. God bless.

  23. Jim McLeod permalink

    It was a great day in my life when I learned that God wanted us to worship him just because He is God. It takes all the praising His Name and puts in perspective so that we are not praising him to get something, but actually to sacrifice something , I guess. We bring the sacrifice of praise into the House of The Lord.

  24. K.T. permalink

    Loved this and Matty is priceless !!!!!

  25. To those who are doubtful about the Bible being the word of God;it’s very true that it is a HOLY BOOK and i cherish it because it is GOD”S WILL written with the fingers of men but inspired by GOD HIMSELF so if we go through the BIBLE,not just a few scriptures we will find it written in there that every scripture is GOD BREATHED which means that GOD gave these people the words to write.
    THANK YOU Rev.Mark for sharing and encouraging the world to Journey Deeper Into The Word Of God.

  26. Lydia Reyes permalink

    Thanks Mark for a wonderful way of teaching the young ones about God and his word. The Bible , to me is the way to know what God wants us to read, learn and obey. Yes it’s writing are inspired by God himself. The Holy spirt is the one that open our mind in understanding the word. Even Jesus quoted from the scripture many times, especially when he was in the desert for forty days being tempted by the devil. That is why we have to pray first that God may enlighten our mind and hearts so we also can understand fully what he has to reveal to us. Jesus told his disciples that he had to return to heaven ,but that he will send The Holy Spirit to lead us in the truth. How else do we know this if we didn’t go into the word of God? I love you Jesus and I thank you for The Holy Bible that teaches me the truth with the guidance of your holy Spirit.

  27. Kenneth Azigbo permalink

    I am really blessed with your message today. I will surely introduce the Bible along this line to my kids. Thanks & God bless you.

  28. Michael Cook permalink

    Great illustrations and great way to communicate the truths of Gods word to your children. And to us grown up children as well! Thank you for allowing God to use you Mark. I am definitely going to look you up when I get to heaven.

    Your posting reminds me of this verse:
    And he said: “I tell you the truth, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven. Matthew 18:3

  29. Leisa Perego Fornelius permalink

    God Bless You! Great ideal. I believe this is the generation that Jesus will come. We need to be on watch and pray for a hedge of protection around your family friends and your church and discernment. Many will fall away. Avoid “deception and apostasy”! Right. ISA 5:20. Discernment is a gift from God. Pray Pray Pray Know God intimately.

  30. Love the picture of your son, and wanted you to know how blessed I am to read your journey everyday. Thank you

  31. nduta permalink

    thats nice, be blessed with your family.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Top Posts — WordPress.com

Leave a Reply

