Skip to content

I am not ashamed to follow Jesus

April 11, 2010

15When they had finished eating, Jesus said to Simon Peter, “Simon son of John, do you truly love me more than these?” “Yes, Lord,” he said, “you know that I love you.” Jesus said, “Feed my lambs.”16Again Jesus said, “Simon son of John, do you truly love me?” He answered, “Yes, Lord, you know that I love you.” Jesus said, “Take care of my sheep.”17The third time he said to him, “Simon son of John, do you love me?” Peter was hurt because Jesus asked him the third time, “Do you love me?” He said, “Lord, you know all things; you know that I love you.” Jesus said, “Feed my sheep.18I tell you the truth, when you were younger you dressed yourself and went where you wanted; but when you are old you will stretch out your hands, and someone else will dress you and lead you where you do not want to go.”19Jesus said this to indicate the kind of death by which Peter would glorify God. Then he said to him, “Follow me!” John 21:15-19

Before church this morning I had an amazing run along dirt tracks through Australian bush with the early morning sun and clear blue sky as company.  I was listening to some amazing music and and one particular song just grabbed me, ‘Worthy is the Lamb’ , drawing me into an amazing state of worship while I ran.  I lifted my hands, giving myself over to worship, pushing my usual male reserve to the side as I allowed myself to be taken by the moment of connection with God.  Tears filled my eyes as the Holy Spirit filled my heart and I began praising Jesus.

I got home full of energy and renewed sense of the awesome power and love of being in relationship with Jesus.

In reading this passage from John I am struck by how insistent Jesus is to Peter around loving Him, Jesus asks Peter three times whether he loves Him and Peter gets a bit upset by the insistent questioning.  But Jesus wants Peter to be real, to realise what loving Him truly means.  It isn’t just something that is easily spoken, but a decision that will affect his whole life, something that requires complete dedication, a new choice of direction in Peter’s life. Jesus tells Peter : follow me!

In the same way I also need to take my decision to love Jesus way beyond just words and get out of my comfortable practices, set aside my sinful ways and follow Him with all that I am and all that I have.

And for me the challenge I have from my time of ‘running’ worship is to not be ashamed to share how God is working in my life to my friends and family.  I am like many males a little reserved when it comes to sharing touchy feely stuff, but now I realise this is silly, here is this awesome God working massively in my life and I am not sharing this?  What?

So Lord I will follow you, and I will be bold in sharing how you are magnificently working through me and with me to those around me.  OH YES!!!

Mark Brown

http://www.facebook.com/MarkBrown.page

If you would like to subscribe to this blog and receive my reflections as an email for free:  click here.

And I welcome your comments!!  Click on comment and scroll down.

Yahweh’s Yarn in a Year : 1 year Bible reading plan

The portion for the next day is: Jeremiah 7-11

To access the complete plan for the year click here.

From → Uncategorized

15 Comments
  1. Joanne Heatley permalink

    Good Morning Mark!
    Well it is a beautiful sunny start to the day in the uk!
    How timely is your message today. I believe God has been speaking to me about the exact same thing.
    There are times in my life recently where i could have been so much bolder in my witness for Jesus and have missed the opportunity. To my shame I have not wanted to speak up about what God has been doing in my life. I have just changed the “about me” section on my FB profile so my testimony to Jesus is there for everyone to see should they look me up!
    I know it was a radical life changing decision to follow Jesus and I pray the Lord look on me with grace and give me the boldness and the passion I had for him when i first came to know Him.
    Thanks for your message. May God continue to bless you and yours today and always. Jo x

  2. drey permalink

    I am not male but I am Anglican. You know we/they are quiet worshippers. But just like you, every time I get a burst of the spirit speaking to me through songs, I forget how to be quiet and just raise my hands and dance.
    God’s ways are totally beyond us sometimes. Enjoy him as he enjoys you.

  3. bee permalink

    Thank you for sharing this passage!

  4. Mark,

    What an awesome way to begin any day. Worship can happen anywhere. Every morning when I shower, I wind up worshiping God and just talking to Him like we’re best friends. It’s amazing where God will speak to us if we let Him. There have been times that I too have been reduced to tears just because of the awesome presence of God right then and there. It’s overwhelming.

    You are right, we should be sharing these moments with others! God isn’t just for one person, He is for all! Let these moments of spontaneous worship be added to our individual testimony and witness for Christ. How much effective will we be when we do so?! (:

  5. Afua permalink

    God bless you Mark, for sharing this message.

  6. Brenda P permalink

    I am charismatic Anglican, and know in my heart that what you just said is so true. We must open our lives and our hearts to Jesus’ teachings, and our love for Him must be growing each minute of our earthly lives. Praise God for your insight and for your obedience in sharing it with us.

  7. Kathy permalink

    I’ve heard pastors say that Jesus asked Peter three times if he loved Him because Peter had denied Jesus three times just before the Crucifixion. Peter had to reaffirm his love for every denial.

  8. Jamie permalink

    God’s timing is always perfect!! The sermon given today (Indianapolis, IN) was “Staying in love with Jesus!” This just so happens to be one of my favorite scriptures! I’m making a stand today, to give more of my time in His presence and in His Word on a daily basis. Because He IS WORTHY!!!!

  9. I can connect with your experence. The Lord just moved me and my family to a new home in No AZ….and for the last few days the Holy Spirit has put the song “There’s a sweet spirit in this place…and I know it is the presence of the Lord.” And I also know that when he moves me, I am about to go on an amazing journey. God bless you and yours. Thank you Jesus.

  10. Enjoyed your blog today. In these days, we who are Believers, must be bold in our faith and be not silent. The time we have left to walk this sod, we are called to perform a task for Jesus…to spread the Good News. Many still do not believe. They MUST see Jesus in US. God bless you in your ministry!
    ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

  11. Lisa Fekete permalink

    I an NOT ashamed to praise and worship God and Jesus!!! I walk around my yard with my dogs several times a day, and many times I sing songs of praise to God…I don’t care what the neighbors or traffic going by think!!! Praise God!!

  12. Pamela McDowell permalink

    Mark Brown: I am so in love with you, and the way you share the word of God so personally! through you God has lifted me up in ways I can’t even explain. I have just recently started recieving “Journey Deeper” in my e-mail and I look so forward to it as well as your other FB pages. In short I just wanted to say THANKS! TO YOU AND TO JESUS CHRIST! Amen

  13. thank you brother mark,for your encourgement,in god,s word, jeremiah 17 i will bless the person who puts his trust in me

  14. louisa permalink

    Hello Mark, I am glad to hear you say its silly for a man to share his true feelings. Because its important to be vonrable and to share it. My pastor sometimes when the Holy Spiret realy starts to move he gets teary and it affects all of us because then a sweetness of God just fills the place and His presince in Praise and Worship becomes so wonderfull to be part of it. I love to Worship God and have found that only good things come from doing it. Tks for sharing that with us.

  15. Carol Anthony permalink

    What a wonderful job you are doing for the Lord! I live in the state of Mississippi in the USA and start everyday reading one of your devotions. God is truly using you. Keep up the good work, you are indeed touching and changing lives across the world!

Leave a Reply

