Skip to content

Action Time

April 1, 2010

1 John 3: 16-20 : This is how we know what love is: Jesus Christ laid down his life for us. And we ought to lay down our lives for our brothers. If anyone has material possessions and sees his brother in need but has no pity on him, how can the love of God be in him? Dear children, let us not love with words or tongue but with actions and in truth.

Not long ago I finished 6 years of being a Chief Executive and part of the reason I didn’t immidiately jump into a similar role the decision to take my life down a few gears: reduce the hyper frenetic pace of my life.  Every moment of my life was planned and accounted for which I absolutely loved! But wow did it take its toll.

One of the things I really hated about being super busy was telling people I would like to catch up, be involved in something or doing something and then proceed to do very little about it.  This 1 John reading is clear that taking action is way more important to expressing love than just words.  My love is expressed in how I act towards others not just in what I say.

And in the new phase in my life I am aiming to have less planned time, more free time, more flexibility to act, to show love to someone in need.  And this took a conscious decision on my part, to make the space to be more open to being a man of action not just words.

Ok admittedly these are just words on a blog.. I think it is time to act.

God bless ya!

Mark Brown

http://twitter.com/RevMarkB

If you would like to subscribe to this blog and receive my reflections as an email for free:  click here.

And I welcome your comments!!  Click on comment and scroll down.

Yahweh’s Yarn in a Year : 1 year Bible reading plan

The portion for the next day is: Jeremiah 1-6

To access the complete plan for the year click here.

From → Uncategorized

16 Comments
  1. Sandy permalink

    You encourage us everday with your amazing reflections! and yes you are right, people need to feel loved, not just to know they are loved! they need action from our side! May the lord help eveyone of us to show Jesus love to those who feel unloved and betrayed, to show love to the whole world! WOW!
    thank you Mark! thank YOU JESUS!

  2. What outstanding and emotional words to live by,Amen and The LOVE of JESUS is AWESOME.Thank you for your Dialy Words Of WISDOM…God Bless……You help me everyday.Jesus is in my LIFE everyday,Jesus is my rock,my trust and faith are with him.

  3. Davitta permalink

    Brother, you are really on it! The Holy Spirit is speaking to me through your sharing. Thank you.
    I just made the decision to end my empty words with solid action. Done with the want to do it alls….and time for freeing up space…
    Proverbs 16:3 – Commit thy works to the Lord, and your thoughts will be established…
    I’ve been wanting to start my own business for a little while and God gave me some solid info, but only after I emptied a space…
    Thank you…
    PS – this happened in a sudden action…business steps are in motion

  4. Helene permalink

    Thank you for your message, it hit home for me. I strive in being busy, having every minute accounted for and living to the fullest, doing my best in everything. But that leaves little time for impromptu love, which is sometimes the most needed. I have been consciously leaving empty spots of my calendar so that I can be there for my fiance – he only opens up to talk about the way God is working in his life when I don’t try to fit him into a schedule (which is fair). I’m glad to see I am not the only one struggling with this, and you are encouraging me to make myself more available to others!

  5. Brenda P permalink

    It is interesting to note that every one of your messages is a timely message for someone I know, and if I share this information with them, they are influenced by the love of God, and not just themselves. Thank you for putting into words so many of the things I think, but do not take the time to say or look up in the Bible. You do indeed Journey Deeper, and we are all grateful that you share it with us, as well.

  6. Angela permalink

    Let us notlove with tongue or with words but with actions and in truth.( this is my favourite one). There is an old song which I heard by chance a month ago and has taught me a lot “I just called to say I love you I just called to say how much I care and I mean it from the botton of my heart.” Now I have been calling my friends,relatives whom I hadn{t been in touch for a very long time with and when they asked me: why are you callling me up? Has somebody in your family died? or Are you sich?
    and when I answer No . ” I just called to say I love you ” They felt so happy and surprised for this very tiny action of love . Que el señor te siga bendiciendo grandemente y poderosamente bendiciones desde Valencia-Edo. Carabobo – Venezuela

  7. Kayla permalink

    Oh my gosh! This is exactly what my prayer and meditation was this morning! Thank you God for you affirmations!

  8. Jennifer permalink

    Is anyone else finding it hard to act on these teachings?? I was deeply convicted by yesterdays post from Psalm 36 about “flattering myself too much to hate my sin, or that I am wicked and deceitful and that I plot evil.” I know that the path is narrow to heaven and few will be on it. My mind is really fighting me on these principals. My heart wants to be loving and hate the sin in my life, but my mind is trying to talk me out of it.
    I just wanted to see if anyone else is struggling like I am. I sure could use some prayer…I know I cannot do these things on my own, I need God to work through me!

    • I am struggling!! and you have my prayer. God bless ya, Mark

    • Sister Pam OP permalink

      Oh Jennifer, if you only knew what a struggle it is. When our faith grows, Satan works harder to turn us away from God. When we stay rooted in our faith, we are able to withstand the strain. It is so tempting to say, “Oh yes, I am a good person. I hardly sinned at all, or, it was just a little sin.” Well, we are only fooling ourselves. Striving to follow Jesus’ path to heaven is the most rewarding and happy way to live.

  9. Tiffany Gossett permalink

    This one really hit home to me. My life is scheduled to the last minute everyday between my work schedule, my daughter’s schedule and then my husband’s schedule. I always mean to do something for someone else but never seem to be able to “find the time.” I really felt like God was talking to me thru your blog today, almost commanding me to make the time.

  10. Thank you brother for” Journey Deeper Into God’s Word”.This has helped so many of us to journey deeper into God’s word.Your reflections are always timely and always speak to us directly.God is surely working through you to inspire so many people around the world.May He continue to bless you.What an encouragement you are to us.

  11. dorthy porter permalink

    My life was slowed down this past year with me being layed off after twenty plus years at the same company.God is teaching me so much about being his hands and feet.The inner reward for helping with out exspecting anything in return is wonderful.Stepping out in faith knowing that know matter what each day brings Jesus will hold our hand.I was praying for a homeless lady with others at Monday ladies Bible study.To pray for her and not to offer her a place to sleep and food would of been a empty prayer.I am cleaning my home up today for others who need a place to sleep and a place to eat and clean up.The world is in pain we have got to offer them the love of Jesus.Actions speak so much louder than words.Thanks for sharing what you are doing.

  12. Sister Pam OP permalink

    Father Mark, I was much like you a few years ago with a high stress, demanding job. I knew God was calling me to a simpler life But I couldn’t let go. Finally, illness brought me down very hard. It was miserable but I finally let go and let God. This gave me the opportunity to explore my spirituality and led me to the Anglican Order of Preachers. Life has never been so fulfilling, richer and filled with discovery. We take vows of simplicity, which is a tremendous gift. Like you, I wanted to act out my love for others. It is a wonderful life. Your blog is acting out in love as it is a form of preaching, a very love-filled action.

  13. Diana permalink

    Hello Mark, your comments on the word has been very timely and God has indeed spoken to me through you. I have just ended a very busy job with an International organisation and reading your blog sounds like my life. As I write this, it i 5 am and I cannot get back to sleep as my sytem is still adjusting to my new life. I will try to be active in my love and not passive. I start now. Instead of tossing and turning in bed, I might as well get up and make a good Easter breakfast for my husband and kids. God bless you for bearing this message

  14. Michelle Jo Pratt permalink

    This is really encouraging for me. 1 John 3:20 is actually the verse that we use in Appalachian Ministries (formerly Love in Action) at University of the Cumberlands. We go out in to the community every week and we minister to children. Most of the children are in homes where there are single parents or drug addicts or even neglect. Showing love to these children not only impacts me as one of the teachers, but also it impacts the children, showing them the love of Jesus that they may not get shown every day. It’s truly amazing to see God work so much in these kids! They are such a blessing to me! And through Appalachian Ministries, we pray and hope that the children will see Jesus’ light shine through us so that they may come to know him as well!

    I have also just came into a leadership position at our college’s Baptist Campus Ministries. I had an interview in which I sat down and told the director that there were a lot of problems with the BCM because the people who were in it lacked passion and just stick together in there own little cliques. I had applied for president, but God put me in a position that ministers to the entire campus! A campus outreach is just what we needed! And it is my job to assemble a team and go to the dorms and knock on doors and see what people need and maybe even hold a small Bible study once a week in the dorm lobbies! God has blessed me so much! And I would just like to ask for some prayers so that I am that Christian example that is true, nonhypocritical, and totally passionate and on fire for God so that my peers may come to know Jesus in a personal way! Thank you so much for this deep journey into God’s word! God bless!

Leave a Reply

