Skip to content

Leadership is about making dreams happen

March 2, 2010

Titus 1:7-9:    7Since an overseer is entrusted with God’s work, he must be blameless—not overbearing, not quick-tempered, not given to drunkenness, not violent, not pursuing dishonest gain. 8Rather he must be hospitable, one who loves what is good, who is self-controlled, upright, holy and disciplined. 9He must hold firmly to the trustworthy message as it has been taught, so that he can encourage others by sound doctrine and refute those who oppose it. (New International Version)

As I come to an end of my time as CEO of Bible Society New Zealand I am finding myself thinking a lot about my leadership.  I absolutely love being a leader!!  I love being able to inspire others towards the fulfilment of a dream.  To see people realise that more is possible, that a mundane reality is not permanent and that they can truly be great.  And under Jesus all things are possible!!  Why not dream big?  Why limit God?

It is essential to have dreams, big dreams, but even more important than this is the ability to make those dreams a reality.  And this is leadership – the ability to make a dream a reality.

And a massive part of leadership is seeing our work as God’s work.  And from this flows an awesome responsibility as a Christian leader (or a leader who is Christian)  Titus lays the challenge out, to be blameless, not overbearing, not quick-tempered, not given to drunkenness, not violent, not pursuing dishonest gain. At the root of these is the leader abusing their power, taking their authority and using it for personal gain.  Whereas Godly leadership isn’t focused on what the leader can get, but what the leader can give.  As Paul shares in Titus, a leader must be hospitable, one who loves what is good, who is self-controlled, upright, holy and disciplined. These are qualities that positively affect others, are thoughtful towards others, not about me gaining anything but about you realising your dream.

And this is achieved through holding firmly to the trustworthy message as it has been taught, to knowing the Bible intimately.  Wow!!

Praise God for this awesome reading!

God bless

Mark Brown

If you would like to subscribe to this blog and receive my reflections as an email for free:  click here.

And I welcome your comments!!  Click on comment and scroll down.

Yahweh’s Yarn in a Year : 1 year Bible reading plan

The portion for the next day is:  Genesis Chapters 36-39

To access the complete plan for the year click here.

From → Uncategorized

36 Comments
  1. Maria Akridge permalink

    I totally agree with you. You are a good leader, because a good leader is willing to duplicate himself. Helping other’s reach their God-given dream/destiny is very scriptural…that is why the Lord gave us His Word. He used so many great men and women of God to be examples for us. You are an example to others.

    Loved your message!

    Blessings!

  2. Thank you for sharing this encouraging word; especially for putting dreams into perspective that leaders help guide others toward how God would have them pursue and fulfill them. I have never thought of the connection between dreams and leadership that way.

  3. GRACIE permalink

    thanks for God puriest word!! TURELY U R A GOD GIVEN BLESSING FOR HIS PEOPLES TO RECEIVE HIS ANNOINTING WORD THROUGH U AS HIS VESSEL WITH THE FULLEST INSPIRIATION OF GOD SPIRIT!! [HAVE U EVER BEEN INSPIRE WITH GOD LAWS[AS A MIRROR OF LOVE NOTES} A COUPLES MONTHS AGO GOD SPIRIT PLACE THIS MESSAGE IN MY SPIRIT AND MY HEART!! THAT THOSE IN THE DARKNESS HAVE NO MOVEMENT OF GOD SPIRIT WHEN IT COME TO HIS LAWS!!THAT THOSE WHOM WALK IN HIS LIGHT{JESUS IS THAT LIGHT!!] GOD SPIRIT MOVES WITHIN US WITH HIS LOVE NOTES[HIS LAWS] THAT JUST AS JESUS FULFILLED ALL OF THE LAWS; WE IN JESUS WILL AND SHALL FULFILLED THE LAWS!! HOW? THAT THROUGH HIS GRACE WE HAVE REC’D THEM WITH HIS HOLY FINGER, HE PERSONALLY CARVED THEM INTO OUR HEARTS AND OUR MINDS!!THAT GOD LAWS IS NO LONGER A POINTIMNG FINGER AT THOSE WHOM ARE IN THE LIGHT!![JESUS] IT’S BECOME A MIRROR OF LOVE NOTES FOR US TO REFLECT INTO AS GOD LOVE LETTERS FOR US TO REC’D AS BELOVED ONE OF GOD CHILDERN!! JUST AS CHRIST JESUS DIDN’T COME TO DESTRROY THE LAWS BUT TO FULFILLED AND HE DID!! HE IS STILL TEACHING ME THROUGH HIS GRACE!! WOW A MIRROR OF LOVE NOTE FROM GOD HIMSELF THROUGH HIS SON JESUS!!!WOW IS IT SO EXCITING THAT GOD STILL COMMUNICATED TO HIS PEOPLES!!!WHEN I TRY TO SHARE SOME UNDERSTAND WHILE LOOK AT ME WHO R U!! WELL I’M A SIMPLE SINGLE MOM WHOM TRUST HER GOD ALMIGHTY WITH HER WHOLE ESSENCE CREATED IN HIS IMAGE AND HIS LIKENESS!! BEING CHALLENGE EVERY DAY BUT ITS OK I’M NOT ALONE; JESUS IS WITH ME AND TWO TEENAGERS!!

    • heidi permalink

      i so much enjoyed what you wrote gracie, i know its not easy with 2 teenagers , but god is always near and suffient!!! praise his holy name!!!!!!!!!!!
      we serve an awsome god and he loves us so much and i am so thankful for his faithfulness and i want to be the reflection of christ , when people see me i want them to see christ the hope of glory!!!:-)

  4. Jo Heatley permalink

    Hi Mark!
    Thank you for opening this scripture to us. I always find it interesting to see things from someone elses perspective. You are called to lead and I am called to follow. It seems that my mind works in a different way to yours. It is a revelation to me to understand just this particular part of the leadership role. To encourage people to know that they are so much more than they believe, to help make dreams a reality, wow! I’m not sure this is making much sense only that I know I thank God for His leaders and ask for Him to continue to pour out His blessings upon you.xx

  5. angela brydon permalink

    I love the way that God will bring a word of scripture to my attention just when I need it. I have discovered recently that the leaders of my church don’t see themselves as such. (to explain I am in the methodist church in the UK where we share a minister with a number of other churches, so the church stewards are the leadership of a local church.) the church stewards expect the minister to do it all and take the responsibility
    Also I have felt pushed out of my church recently by some over bearing attitudes from stewards and other leaders, they have been quick to shout ” you offend me” when people are only saying things how they see them. However I don’t beleive that any of them are given to drunkeness,, violence or dishonest gain? Thank you Mark for sharing your challenge with us God Bless you and continue to encourage you in your Christian journey.xx

  6. MINISTER MACK permalink

    Praise The LORD. KEEP THE GOOD WORK

  7. I need to practice Titus’ way – not just as a leader, but as an example of what a Christian leading others to the Lord should be behaving.

    Thanky you.

  8. Sister Pam OP permalink

    Books about Servant Leadership address the concept that leaders are called to serve. Like so many of Jesus’ principles, this is counterculture. Many of our leaders would benefit from putting this into action. The USA banking CEOs are a prime example, along with corporate lobbyists, of those who misuse their roles of power.

  9. Your message came at the right time for me;at a time when I looked around at what I’m doing and am dissatisfied. I grow people who do not remember me when its better for them. I honestly want to give up until you recandle my spirit tonight. I know you spoke the mind of God to my spirit. I’m encouraged. I thank God for you. Honestly,from the bottom of my heart. God bless you…

  10. Attila permalink

    Leadership: the word leader is not in the NT… Follower: now, that’s a better way to express it. A good “leader” is a good follower. I mean: to ask GOD’s dreams to happen, not just dream ours and let God make our dreams happen. It works like creation: first its a dim vision, a mess, darkness. But the Holy Spirit is over it. It’s a process getting clearer. And it’s effective if leaders are week and meek as the church of Philadelphia where Jesus was the One who opened the doors. And also, if you want to go back to OT and imitate the “Moses Model” (as the modern day church model of Senior Pastor-leaded institutions), you must be also the most humble man on the earth. A good leader is a good servant. So, again, there is no leadership. There is follow-ship, and fellowship.

    GBU:
    Attila

  11. Praise the Lord for godly men who have the qualities mentioned in Titus 1.
    My husband has all these qualities and in September 2010 we will celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary. We have had many ups and downs during these years ; but our love for the Lord and his word has never changed. God has been with us through the dark valleys and when we were up on the mountain tops.
    We have been blessed with 5 healthy children. Our God is awesome!!!!

  12. Mark
    A timely word as I too take on a new role with a new Company and desire
    to bring the “kingdom” to bear through Christ Like leadership!!
    Thank You

  13. “…Godly leadership isn’t focused on what the leader can get, but what the leader can give.”- I really like that quote from this post. This is the type of leadership Jesus modeled for us: “just as the Son of Man did not come to be served, but to serve, and to give His life a ransom for many.” (Matthew 20:28)

  14. heidi permalink

    thank you mark for the truth you bring to us , i want to walk in the light that god has given us , and be that light to others that they see christ in me !!!

  15. Amy permalink

    Rev. Mark, thank you for such a timely message- one that reaches out to all Christians. We are to all reach out to others, and this message tells us, in no uncertain terms, the behavior in which we are to do so. You are an inspiration to all Christians everywhere!! Thank you for making your blog open to anyone…. I thank God for leading me to the link that led me to you!! Keep up the good work~

  16. Joshua permalink

    Hello, my name is Joshua…I find myself getting closer and closer to God each day, there are days when i mess up and don’t follow the spirit but God has been calling me into the inner parts of the temple to join Him in communion and worship. God has given me a vision, and a desire to become what He has called me to be before the foundations of the world. I want to be that person He sees me as. I want to fulfill HIS will in my life…not mine. I know when I am in His presence and being obedient to His spirit that i am the happiest. I don’t know what God’s will is for my life but i do know that i want Him to be part of my everyday life. Every second of it. I’m tired of living a life that doesn’t matter. I want God to fill me with His spirit everyday so others can see it and turn to the Father as well for all their needs and wants…God bless you all and Mark for giving to the Lord. Pray for me that I will follow God always and that His will will be made manifest in my life! Amen God bless you all in Jesus name! Amen

  17. Delsia Hall permalink

    What a wonderful message. This is a great way of laying out what a good leader looks like to the Christian community at large. People need to know what type of spiritual leadership they are placing themselves under when they seek out a church body. Please keep writing about such topics. Many people need to know this especially new Christians. Thanks-God Bless!

  18. betty permalink

    I am at crossroad today. unsure of where the Lord wants me. the career I had for a long long time is gone now. I began a new one, or at least the education part but cannot pass the exam. I know that because I have failed it, I don’t want to fail again and am afraid to try. Yet there is nobody who has been able to reach me to encourage me enough to do it yet again….where are the ‘encouragers’ , I have been such an encourager to so many in my life, and now I stand in crossroad not knowing which direction to go, I feel like i am looking at the scarecrow in wizard of oz “its that way, no, that way, or is it that way????? please pray for me.

    • I am so praying for ya!!! And want to encourage you to go for it, try again!! God bless, Mark

    • Mina permalink

      In every experience there is the opportunity to learn…even if it is learning what not to do. So what do you need to change about your approach to the exam? Don’t speak failure into your life. You can pass this exam. You can pass this exam. You can pass this exam. Say it to yourself until you feel it in your heart.
      I know how you feel. I have stared at the scarecrow, too. Sometimes you just have to choose a direction and give it your all. God will allow you to back up and change directions if you find you made the wrong choice. Don’t allow fear to freeze you in place. Go for it! You can do it!!!!!

  19. Nancy M Nichols permalink

    Great inspirational message…grabbed onto the following… “in knowing the bible intimately.”

  20. Oteh friday permalink

    thanks for this publication it has really help me to realize how a leader should live. may GOD continue to blessed u with knowledge, so that you we continue to be of greater help to humanity.

  21. Wawan permalink

    It’s true and very encouraging.

  22. Michael Montague permalink

    Dreams are funny things. I wonder how many “Josephs” are out there with dreams that are still there, but life has handed them a “raw deal.” I cry every time I read the story of Joseph because it touches a deep place inside of me. If one is a Joseph, one can also trust that the same God who gives the dream is able to help fulfill it to the end. The dreams that you dream may not be about you, it may be for someone else. It may be for a nation. Abraham Lincoln failed many times, but became the President. Thomas Alva Edison failed numerous times too, but he created the light bulb. He who began a good work in you is faithful to complete it. HE alone is the author and the finisher of my faith. In God we trust!

    • Patti permalink

      Amazing..I am in tears… Has God lead me here? What’s going on? I have always thought of myself as, and friends have regarded me as, the “Joseph of the family.” The way I’ve been treated by my elder siblings who are very hateful, jealous, and who robbed me of my money, my life, and interfere with any move I make to get away from them and make a happy life. I already know to pray for my enemies and those who despitefully use you. But where do you go from there? God is good.

  23. Mina permalink

    It is good for followers to know what a godly leader is to avoid being lead down the wrong path. I have found myself in a position at work where my leader is questionable, but God has shown me that I am to help her be a better leader. Thank you for reminding me of what a leader should be so I have a clear direction.

  24. Marie G. permalink

    Thank you for the Word! I am a leader who is Christian and the road has been tough for a while. We have a new president at our organization and I need to be very clear regarding God’s voice about my role in the new administration. I treasure the days that I had when I was a youth and walked by faith naturally. I need to get back to that frame of thought and I realize that I was put here to be God’s instrument in helping people realize their potential and purpose.

  25. Patti permalink

    Thank you for integrity. I wish my Christian experience was as supportive as this. I have been oppressed by other people: family, jealous people, self-promoters, users. Bad people, unhealthy situations and takers. Even in the church. God gave me talent to use and a vision. I tire of stupid input from people that don’t even understand what they are talking about and don’t care..they especially don’t care about single women without families and the last place I would ever go back to is church where other women are happily taken care and are clueless about life in a man’s world out there. They don’t get it. And if I ask to speak to the men for counsel, they keep me away from the men thinking whatever unholy thoughts they’ve got going. I’ve been so misunderstood. So thank you for the encouragement.

  26. JOY Onuoha permalink

    Thanks to Almighty God for given us a leader who believe in the totality of God’s word. Hope you will not be weary in promoting godly principles in leadership in our generation. May God, through His son Jesus, renew your strength and give you more of his revelation and wisdom to keep working for him.

  27. Khean Chin permalink

    Thanks for sharing. It is what I need to hear/read. It helps to know our weakness as leaders. Like what you have mentioned, the good qualities of a leader will helps to encourage others to be strong.

    GOD BLESS.

  28. Cher bey permalink

    Mark, great word about Leadership. I have one question for you.My family and I have just changed churches because we felt the leardership(pastor) was to controling and demanding at the church where we use to attend. Is it right for a Pastor to never be questioned about where the money is going,about his decisions?, for a pastor to have total control over every aspect of the church. I understant that they are accountable but how much control should they really have? We have witnessed alot of abuse of power over people and are concerned about that kind of power where people follow someone so blindly….

    • Personally the more questions of the leader the better. But that is my view! God bless ya! Mark

  29. Beth permalink

    Thank YOU Dear LORD GOD our Heavenly FATHER for giving us YOUR Word and thank YOU for letting us be able to understand it. We pray that we may all be leaders in our lives working each day for YOU in the name of Dear JESUS CHRIST our SAVIOR so that we may help others fulfill their dreams and make it reality. Please Dear JESUS CHRIST our SAVIOR give us the strength to always live each day in the name of GOD and always read HIS Word in order to make ourselves stonger and more aware of our surroundings. We thank YOU, praise YOU, love YOU, and worship YOU Dear LORD GOD our Heavenly FATHER above all and above everything in the name of Dear JESUS CHRIST our SAVIOR whom we thank, praise, love, and believe in.
    GOD Bless all,
    Amen!!!

  30. What a great thing to come here and listen to the prayers and heart felt comments … I lost everything … everything and was called back to sanity by Jesus and he led me back home. Home to my family and home to my artwork. it has not been all the easiest .. the intense internal forgiveness is hard, coping with misunderstanding and pure anger at behaviors that seem so wrong and unholy and the guilt that comes from not being perfect or even close. Then God comes into my heart and calms my fears and I manage somehow to redirect my passions towards his Heaven and to put my treasures there as Jesus asked us to. I’m grateful to be alive really but to be able to share and to be of use again is incrdedibly awesome. It gives me hope.. You are all so very wonderful.

  31. Terry permalink

    In all my years I have never heard any leader talk about it not being about what they gain personally but what they can do to help others move toward or into their own potential ect… as a character of a good leader. This reading today really opened my eyes and touched my heart and soul….

    I enjoy these readings and God’s Word Journey!

    Thank you for being such a strong leader for God!

Leave a Reply

