Skip to content

Fishing for a future

February 24, 2010

Mark 1:16-17 16 One day as Jesus was walking along the shore of the Sea of Galilee, he saw Simon and his brother Andrew throwing a net into the water, for they fished for a living. 17 Jesus called out to them, “Come, follow me, and I will show you how to fish for people!” (New Living Translation)

Today I sent my final mass email to my staff as Chief Executive Officer of Bible Society New Zealand.  For the next two days I will be part of the organisations AGM then most of next week I am orienting my replacement with my final day the 5th of March.  So not long till I finish with this amazing organisation!  (For info on Bible Society New Zealand click here.)  And my email to the staff included,

…one comment I will make is that minutes after coming to Christ, I promised God that I would serve him completely; it really has been an honour to serve God as your CEO.

One thing I am certain of is that God created me, God has given me certain gifts and abilities and my task is, as best I can to keep none of it for myself, but to offer all that I have and am in the service of God.  In this amazing reading from Mark, Jesus selects two of his disciples and does so in the most amazing way, He sees abilities in them that are being used in another direction, but directs those abilities to the furtherance of the Kingdom.  Wow.  This is massive for two reasons:  the first is that Jesus says in effect, give up the security of a regular income and step out of your comfort zone and do something radical – follow me without any obvious guarantee of income.  The second amazing point is that Jesus still wants them to fish, only now they will fish for people.  And I am certain their skills honed over many years of fishing would come into play with evangelism such as, being aware of the environment, being patient, understanding the behaviour of fish, or now people.

As I finish up with Bible Society New Zealand I am leaving behind a regular income and stepping out of my comfort zone, uncertain of the future.  But what I am certain of is that I intend to serve Jesus, to use my skills and abilities as best I can to glorify our Lord!!

Exciting times ahead!

God bless,

Mark

If you would like to subscribe to this blog and receive my reflections as an email for free:  click here.

And I welcome your comments!!  Click on comment and scroll down.

Yahweh’s Yarn in a Year : 1 year Bible reading plan

The portion for the today is:  Psalms Chapters 24-26

To access the complete plan for the year click here.

From → Uncategorized

43 Comments
  1. Patty permalink

    Brother Mark, with all due respect we are on week 8. The last two readings have been week nine. God bless you.

  2. Patty permalink

    I had stepped out of my comfort zone 8 years again. I quit a very good job with no job in sight and moved to another state. I now work at what I love doing and it does not pay well but I have more now than I have ever had in my entire life. When I started to trust God into taking care of my daily needs, they have been met, plus alot more. I would give it all away to follow God, in my husbands eyes I have at times. I would rather go to Heaven with no shirt on my back than be cast down with a pocket full of money. It is sad for me to see some that have everything they could possibly want and yet not have nothing because they do not have the spirit of the Lord inside of them. I find they are the hardest to reach in spreading the Word of God. We need to keep them in prayer. Dear Jesus, you know those who are aflicted with the god of money, I pray that you can interceed before it is to late for them. I pray that they will see the light and start their journey towards you and use what they have to help glorify your name. Then they will know freedom and know that money cannot buy everything. You are everything. In your name I pray. Amen.

    • Daniel permalink

      Amen!!

    • Amen. It makes me shake my head on the fact that people are blinded by money. Surfing the net all day has introduced me to the fact how greedy people can be and how they’re willing to take God for granted for money. 😦 I pray for these people to finally find True Light.

    • GRACIE permalink

      hi my name is gracie; a servant of GOD almighty!a prayer warriors for our nation youths!! i was wandering through the web-site and waslead to sites-its great-my hopes u will join me in the power of prayers for our nation youths!! for this our nation youths yaer to be more than conquerors to accomplished all set goals and dreams; for the devil is a lair!! for all of our beautiflu youhs of this nation shall and will do all things through CHRIST JESUS, who shall and will strenghten each one of them through out this nation for HIS glorious holy purpose and for HIS kingdom and HIS righteousness!!for they r HIS beutiful treasures to receives his blessing and HIS annointing to reach out to touch the others progical youths nation!! my eyes have seen and my heard through testimonies of two through five years old childern being move in the Spirit of GOD to bring family in the power of prayers and GOD bible being read in their homes!!that GOD SPIRIT moving in the spiritual realm !!![THE BLOOD OF JESUS ON EACH OF ALL YOUTHS THROUGH OUT THIS NATION ;TOP OF THEIR CROWN ALL THE WAY THROUGH THEIR BODYS; THE PALMS OF THEIR FEETS!!] the devil is lair!!!

  3. God Bless you Mark, exciting times indeed !!!!
    http://myfxadvice.com forex trading

  4. Wendy permalink

    I am so glad that there are other people who understand my situation. most people think that I am crazy to have quit a job with nothing to back me up but I am far from a traditional person. I worked with a small group of people who were all very mean-spirited, foul mouthed and really didn’t have a very good attitude about life. On top of that they treated each other with disrespect; especially me. Because I was a positive person and optimistic and hard working. When the negative attitude began rubbing off on me and I started becoming angry and bitter then I knew it was time to get out. I prayed to God and asked for strength and to let me work through these people but apparently the timing wasn’t right. I am a single mother with 2 teens and have no job at age 45. i am considering on-line classes and am feeling very anxious because I’m not sure what direction to go. I know that God will guide me but it is very difficult to remain calm and relaxed not knowing what lies ahead. It can only be better.

    • Cindy permalink

      Stand fast and lean of Jesus!!! He will never forsake you when you follow His lead….God Bless and keep you:)

    • Leo permalink

      The Bible says ” lean not to thine own understanding”. We cant think like God, Just know he has your back.I am unemployed with a 5 year old daughter. I just learned my son is selling drugs for their mom’s boyfriend.These battles are not for us to fight. We are not God. He hears and will answer our prayers,in His time.Be patient.When has he ever let you down? God Bless.

  5. Cindy permalink

    God blesses and takes care of His obedient servants….God Bless you for stepping out in faith and all the best in your new exciting journey for Jesus!! Will pray for you! Spread the GOOD NEWS of Jesus:)

  6. A WORD OF CAUTION

    For the disciples, the change from “fishing for a living” to training in “fishing for people” required such breakthroughs that “their skills honed over many of years of fishing” served them little or nothing! A good illustration is Simon Peter.

  7. Rita permalink

    I admit I have not been keeping up with these readings daily, though I am in the word daily. Today, however, I decided to read this before getting ready for work. What a God thing! This message could not have come at a more perfect time.

    For the past 20 years I worked in the corporate world and last year felt God calling me to become a teacher. Last spring I began volunteering with a local ministry teaching ESL and returned to school in August to begin earning my teacher certification. A couple of weeks ago I was hired by a local junior high school to work as a classroom assistant in the ESOL department.

    The pay is almost $5 hour less than my last salary in the corporate world and this Friday I will get a pay check for maybe a little more than $300. I was just wondering, “God, I thought you wanted me to do this, but I don’t know how I am going to even pay my bills with this salary.” I am reminded that thinking this way is not living by faith, but by sight. This morning as my son and I prayed over the meal, God reminded me that He gives us “everything for life and godliness.” 2 Ptr 1:3, so why should I fret?

    I promised Jesus to follow Him and I want to serve Him. This is stepping out of my comfort zone careerwise and salarywise and it is somewhat scary. But as one of my favorite preachers, Charles Stanley, always says; “obey God and leave the consequences to Him.”

    Father God, help us to trust you as we obey you and leave the consequences to you. You are sovereign, all powerful, all good and all wise. Why should we fear? Break our bonds of fear so that we can live fully and freely to be the men and women you have created us to be. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

    • Pam Dye permalink

      Rita, I love to listen to Charles Stanley as well. He has such Godly character. He is such an annointed man of God to be a witness for Jesus.
      Yes, God didn’t give us a spirit of fear, but a sound mind. When fear trys to creep in as I have to do…..Call out the name of Jesus and tell it to skit!! AMEN

  8. Mike permalink

    I have been “toying” with something to that degree also, as I cannot seem to make my carreer and my heart-felt calling from God work side-by-side. It takes a huge amout of faith, and God bless all of you dearly.

  9. Anita permalink

    May God continue to bless you in all that you do. We support you in prayer.

  10. elodie M. permalink

    God, i refuse to stay in my comfort zone again. I need your mighty hand. Be y’all blessed

  11. Lynn permalink

    Pastor Mark, I’m sure the people at the bible society are going to miss you very much, but I know that as you follow Gods leading there are many blessings ahead for you and your family. I wish you all the best, and look forward to your letters from where ever God leads you. You and your family will be in my prayers. Take care, and God bless.

  12. Cheryl permalink

    Pastor Mark, Jerm 29:11 God is already in your future, He has a plan and a purpose for your life; for the steps of a righteous man are ordered by the Lord. It’s all good. God bless you for all you do and may you continue to glorify Him in all that is said and done in your life.

  13. Erin permalink

    Dear Heavenly Father…be with Mark and his family as changes are coming their way. Help them as they step out into the unknown to trust in you wholeheartedly regardless of what comes their way. May you pour blessing upon blessing out on them for trusting in you and following what you would have them to do. Give them strength to not grow weary, but to continue down the path you are leading…to bless others in the way that his simple reflections have blessed me. Thank you…in Jesus’ name…Amen.

  14. sharon permalink

    Pastor Mike, I too am a Pastor, and just wanted to tell you that you have been such an inspiration to me. I appreciate your faithfulness, and I send Blessings in Abundance to you and your family.
    This is an exciting time for you, and I know you will be even greater blessed by our Father, and I also know you will be a Greater Blessing.
    May your Walk with our Lord Jesus, grow even more intense, and may you Walk in Deeper Love, Joy, and Peace!!!!!
    In JESUS NAME
    Sharon ‘

  15. nicholas ross permalink

    god bless you mark and go for it you are good at what you do ,god has blessed you and made you what you are ,keep up the good work you will always have friends now and for ever,thank you my brother.

  16. pray that God will use as a strong vessel in His Hand for many to enter into the kingdom of God and enjoy life in the kingdom of Heavenamen Blessings

  17. stephanie permalink

    i have been trying to see what plan god has for me or just what i am todo at this point. i try to live with a giving heart but it seems i am not doing what god wants me to i decided to step out on faith and sell my mary kay because that is what i enjoy meeting women and talking about how good god is and yet i can not get regular customers and i fell scared to talk to new people just to try and meet new so now i fell it was a mistake to give up my job that i was so stressed out with. brother mark can you help?

    • Hey Stephanie, Do they offer support and training for you? Plus I would strongly suggest that you bring this before the Lord and seek His direction and will. God bless ya! Mark

  18. Jo Heatley permalink

    Hi mark!
    May god bless you and keep you and your family.
    Your walk with the Lord totally inspires me.
    Your love for the lord, Your trust, your obedient heart and your faithfulness to the calling you have received is a portrait of true dicipleship.
    You allow God to touch so many hearts through you for which I thank you.
    It certainly is an exciting time for you and I know the Lord will have something amazing planned for such a faithful servant.
    I pray you feel the Lord ‘s presence continually during this part of your journey and that He give you the strength, the courage and the energy you require. His blessings favour mercy and grace be on you and your family now and always. x x

  19. Stacy permalink

    I never thought of it that way! God does that, though-using the gifts and abilities we already have, but for his kingdom. Very cool that Jesus turned their expertise in fishing into something they could do for God.

  20. David Obaseki permalink

    GOD will continue to use you to encourage and build christians the world over.

  21. Angie McKnight permalink

    God Bless you Mark. Prayers are with you and your family as you carry on to your next journey. ~ Safe travels.

  22. Maura permalink

    Mark,

    It strikes me how life’s journey is a composite of smaller journeys. Now that your role as CEO in NZ is over, it must be so interesting to think of how it fits into your journey overall. Obviously, great things have happened there to have inspired you on the social media front and to have influenced us to think in similar ways both personally and professionally. God Bless!

    Maura

  23. What a great bleesing 2 have support @ all times

  24. Pam Dye permalink

    God Bless ya Mark. I trust you will have a rich fulfilling life walking with the Lord and many will benefit.

    MY TIMES ARE IN THY HAND

    My times are in Thy hand. Psalm 31:15

    My times are in Thy hand,
    Such grace to sustain my way,
    Trusting all to what Thou in wisdom planned.
    Our Lord knows our need day by day.

    My times are in Thy hand,
    Such guidance to direct my way,
    Depending not on what I understand,
    But on Him Who keeps me lest I stray.

    My times are in Thy hand,
    Such goodness to bless my way,
    Providing from Thy storehouse at Thy command
    Thy sweetness in glorious display.

    My times are in Thy hand,
    Such glory to delight my way,
    Displaying the riches of that Heavenly Land,
    That shall be mine when I am there to stay.

    ~ GENE GRIFFIN

  25. Lydia Reyes permalink

    God bless you Mark for all you are doing to further the kingdom of God on Earth. All that you are doing in your life is Pointing the way to Jesus. What a great example to follow. God, indeed has made you a professional Fisher of Man. May he continue his marvelous work in your life. There is a saying that goes like this… Working for God pays very little,but the retirement benefits are out of this World. Look at what you have to look forward to. Continue the Journey , my brother. May the Holy Spirit direct your steps.

  26. Sister Pam OP permalink

    For years I heard God calling on me and I chose to continue on doing what I was doing even though it wasn’t good for my life. Finally, when I became very ill, I stopped to really listen to God speak to me and show me His Kingdom here on earth. I thank God for that illness. Although I had to quit working for pay, I gained treasure from heaven. I love what God has done for my life. Now I am free to do His will, not mine. Life is so much richer now even though we have much less financially. My husband sometimes frets about money and paying bills. God wants us to trust, not to worry.

  27. Thanks for this post. That is one leap of faith to take–to forget about living for work and live for God instead. I am only 18 years old, and I stopped going to college because of financial difficulties. I dream of being a humanitarian, but my mother wants me to become a doctor or any other career that would pay a lot. I cannot tell her that it’s really not my priority to become rich, and I am afraid to disappoint her.

    I just pray that Jesus take me to the right path, to where He wants me to be. Because I still have no specific plans.

    May God bless you, and may you continue to bless other people’s lives as well, Bro. Mark. 🙂

  28. Thank you rev Mark, God will honour your sacrifice to serve him & as paul wrote the reward that awaits us is much greater than the sacrifice. Im 25yrs & greatly desire to serve God but im uncertain where & how to start. i dont earn much & im in a cerious relationship that i hope will end in marriage if God wills it. I want to do that which God created me for. How will i get to know what im called for & the right time to step out in faith to do his will? i know that there is an appointed time to step out, so when do you know that this time has come? Jesus begun when he was 30, Esther was told “you were meant for a time such as this” & many other bible characters got their q to start their ministries like Abraham, Moses, Noah, Paul, does that still happen in this day? Is got still that specific & clear when he calls us to serve him? i dont want to miss it when he calls on me.

  29. MARK, GOD HAS GIVEN,YOU WORD TIME AFTER TIME WHICH IS A GIFT FROM MY,HIGHER FATHER, THAT SIT’S HIGH AND LOOK LOW. WAITING 2 COME AND TAKE HIS HOME. WHERE THERE BE NO MORE CRYING,DYING AND WONDING IF THIS OR THAT WAS GOING 2 GET CUT OFF. OR NOT. WHAT A GREAT TIME THIS WILL BE. HOW AWESOME IT WILL BE WITH THE LORD. A-MEN. BLESSING ON YOU AND YOUR FAMILY MARK!!!!!!

  30. Praise the Lord Jesus because He used you as His instrument for us to encourage us and to teach us what God saying to us, sir i realy appriciate your doing to us God Bless you sir ^^ may the Lord give you more annointing in your Life and to move massive God and the Hold Spirit in your Life sir!

  31. As long as we look to God as our source,He has all things as His resource and will supply all our needs according to His riches in Glory.Keep on trucking Bro Mark and walk right into what Father God has for you and yours.God’s favor is more precious than all the gold in the world .

  32. Sheryl permalink

    Mark,
    I glorify God for His people. You have been obedient to His calling and blessed are you. Once youdo His will everything will fall in place and your blessings and joy will be like nothing else you have ever experienced.
    God’s guidance always and keep on working for the Lord; the world needs it.

  33. Victoria permalink

    I recently stepped out of my comfort zone and have never been happier. God called me to quit my job with what I thought was a passion to go into psychology. However, immediately after quitting my very promising job, I was offerred a teaching job at a university and LOVE it! I never imagined that this was possible and only received the offer because I quit my job with blind faith. God is so wonderful!!! He truly knows what will satisfy our hearts and desires:)

    • Pam Dye permalink

      That’s AWESOME Victoria!!! Congradulations. Yes, Jesus says He will give us our hearts desire. I’m glad you stepped out in faith to be rewarded.
      God Bless You and may your cup runneth over with God’s blessings!!!

Leave a Reply

