Skip to content

How I do my Journey Deeper into God’s Word reflection

February 22, 2010

Psalm 119: 81,88,89,97: My soul faints with longing for your salvation, but I have put my hope in your word. Preserve my life according to your love, and I will obey the statutes of your mouth. Your word, O LORD, is eternal; it stands firm in the heavens. Oh, how I love your law!   I meditate on it all day long.

Perspective

I have been involved in preaching, sharing devotions for years, and most of the time I found the preparation seriously hard work.  Even just producing one sermon each week created a lot of stress for me.  I was caught up in the idea that I had to make it interesting and entertaining.  So how is it I can now produce so many reflections on the Word each week with very little stress?  The difference is that I am only focused on reading the Bible and growing in my relationship with God and not at all interested in entertaining.  I don’t think so much about how to make them interesting to read, but more I focus on what God is showing me.

How I read the Bible

So how do I read the Bible?

* I find a quiet place

* I look at my watch and work out when I will stop (seriously, now the issue isn’t forcing myself to read but to stop!)

* I come before God and admit my sin and seek forgiveness

* I pray the Holy Spirit will guide me

* Then, I either read systematically through a book (like Luke) or I allow God to reveal a passage

* I read the passage until stuff starts to appear.. ideas and thoughts as they relate to me

* I read the greek or hebrew version (I use a Greek and English Interlinear like this one: click here. Note this isn’t a product endorsement!!  Just the one I find works for me.)

* I ask God to reveal stuff and often something that has happened to me that day connects with the reading

* And then I write a reflection and nearly always it just flows out of me!

I so praise God for the way he is working in my life!

God bless,

Rev Mark Brown

Mark

If you would like to subscribe to this blog and receive my reflections as an email for free:  click here.

And I welcome your comments!!  Click on comment and scroll down.

Yahweh’s Yarn in a Year : 1 year Bible reading plan

The Portion for the today is:  Genesis Chapters 28-31

To access the complete plan for the year click here.

From → Uncategorized

32 Comments
  1. Thank you for sharing how you read the Bible Rev Brown.
    I have seen when I look at the Strong’s meanings for words in the Bible a fuller meaning can be revealled. Because of that I may have begun to see the Word perhaps as a Hebrew may have understood. I am guessing that but thought, a Hebrew would speak and would write and write the scriptures, I think Hebrews wrote the scriptures and they probably used whole meanings to portray precisely the fullest of meanings and when those meanings are revealled a scripture has a whole and complete sort of meaning.
    I begin to try to speak to God and want to learn to Worship Him.
    I began to use the prayer Jesus taught His disciples and loved it especially that I could understand most of that prayer in truth. I mean, I was allowed to see what the prayer was saying so that it was meaning what it really was when I could speak the prayer.
    I feel, that whole meaning leaves me when I try to say that prayer but find I am not lost because I can do other things now that I did not do at that time. I can see further now.
    Now I like to imagine I can say things He will hear.
    I have just managed to confuse myself by editing this reply, but have remembered some wonderful experiencesI had when I began trying to read scripture, LOL, so….I Praise the Lord.

    • brenda fischer permalink

      RE: NiclolasBaker… this is wonderfully interesting to me…that you began with Lord’s Prayer as a guide and I love that it led you to a place that you weren’t necessarily counting on> me too! me too! lol! i will tell you that at the beginning of my recent journey to really trying to seek God out, i didn’t know where to begin either, nor did i even know how to go about finding Him. although i had been raised in a strong Christian home and thought at certain times in my youth that i was really on fire for the Lord..was I really?… i was away from Him for so long that I had no idea where He would be…How to find my Lord? How to find my Jesus? How to find the God that made me? strange…considering my upbringing:) i began with the Lord’s Prayer and in a very Catholic way, although i have never been a believer in Catholicism, i even prayed the Hail Mary,lol…many times haha! this is what i learned…God doesn’t care about the instrument. it’s not the instrument that matters…it’s Him. He saw my desire. He saw my efforts. He knew my willingness, and He used it to reveal Himself to me and then to guide me to the place where i would find Him. i found Him in His Word and i just dove right in. Couldn’t get enough. raised in a God loving home and I had no idea what the words of the Bible even said. but when i found out…Oh my Sweet Lord Jesus!! what a glorious revelation of my soul!!!! He used this to teach me, to enhance my desires, to guide me to His presence. He lives in my very home. he sits on my sofa, in my living room hahah!! (and this is not as laid back and casual as it sounds) This is the Living Water we talking about! Praise Jesus! The Lord has a habit of showing me how much bigger He is than i imagine in my own mind (even in my living room:)) He showed me if i do his will that He can come to me in all different ways. but i will say this, even when He’s sitting with me in the same “friend”(ship) that He offered His disciples, He’s always so much greater than that. His hand is on me constantly and i pray this will continue to be true for you as well God bless you.
      p.s. sometimes i take a step back to praying the prayer that Jesus taught us because it truly is a beautiful example of His grace…to teach us to pray:)…Actually, if your interested there is an online sermon that i listened to called “teach us to pray” given by Pastor John Teschan. it’s a 2-part sermon (about and hour each maybe less for the first one)>but i think you might enjoy it. i know it really blessed me this morning:) the website is http://www.ssachurch.org Click on EXTRA and then select DOWNLOADS. i actually just accessed this site to make sure i gave you the right info. and i saw that they have put up a PART 3 for the “teach us to pray” series. hope you enjoy the message. Pastor John Teschan has a great way to reach his listeners:)

  2. Might I suggest that the services of a “Ghost Writer” or two be welcomed.
    An insight to something revelant that you’d never ever, ever, ever, ever think of in a ga-zillion years can be spoke of at the dais with the assistance of others. Usually such thoughts are written in crayon on first grade note pads.
    Good Luck – Vinnie. …

  3. Stephen B permalink

    Thank you for Journey Deeper Into God. I really like your outline for reading the the Word and asking for inspiration as we read.

    Thank you for what you do.

    Gods Blessings!!!

  4. Donna permalink

    Thank you for making it so clear for me. I cannot tell you how MUCH I enjoy reading and applying the message of your devotionals. MOST of the time they are speaking directly TO ME at just the right time I need to be receiving the message. God bless you!

  5. Karen permalink

    I love the verses you picked out and wrote on. Psalm 119: 81,88,89,97: My soul faints with longing for your salvation, but I have put my hope in your word. Preserve my life according to your love, and I will obey the statutes of your mouth. Your word, O LORD, is eternal; it stands firm in the heavens. Oh, how I love your law! I meditate on it all day long. These words touch my soul. I love reading the Bible. The words are life to me. My heart strings are pulled when I read your words about how you love the Bible and how you study. That is how I love to study. Thank you for sharing and caring.

  6. KEVIN permalink

    I HAVE RECENTLY BEEN READING YOUR SITE , A FRIEND HAD SENT IT , THEN I SUBSCRIBED , AND NOW I USE IT DAILY FOR ONE OF OUR READINGS FOR MY SON AND ME . YOUR SUBJECTS ARE RIGHT IN TUNE WITH WHAT OUR DAILY STRUGGLES ARE AND IT IS A GREAT ASSET TO HAVE AT OUR FINGERTIPS. THANK YOU AND KEEP DIGGING INTO GODS WORD . IT WILL NEVER FAIL ANY OF US WHO SEEK IT HONESTLY .

  7. alexa permalink

    I am so glad I came across this… or you found me somehow… maybe cause I’ve been wanting to start reading the words in the bible and don’t know how to begin, why is not as easy as reading any other books, I’ve read many!!! I feel I am very spiritual but lately have been having trouble – hearing – listening to GOD… I also am having trouble expressing myself through writing, & I LOVE to write.. so I am obviously going thru something.. doubts plaguing my mind..affecting my whole being…

    Thank you again… I already feel better!

  8. Steve Gill permalink

    I actually find that no matter how I flip through to a page or verse or book…. He’s sent me there for a reason. Many times I will go …. Read…. Reflect…. and then He actually sends someone to me that day that needs me to witness about it or he sends someone that witnesses to me about what I’ve read. God is so perfect! I know that none of this would have happened unless He had come and saved me out of what I was in. Thank you Jesus and thank you Mark for learning that God is Always there in your preaching without us being the planner of the words. If he is going to work through us…. we need to Preach without thinking and controlling so we know that it is His Word and not Our Words.

  9. Anita permalink

    I so love Psalm 119. It has been a focus for me for the last week. Lot of self inspection in that Psalm. Thank you for allowing God to use you and in turn showing how we need to refocus for ourselves.

  10. Terry Gray permalink

    I purchased the Word of Promise Audio Bible. Over time, I’ve found that listening to the Bible is much more effective for me than just reading it. Especially if it’s conveyed by skilled performers who know how to “act out” the text with all the emotional nuances. The Word of Promise is also good because there is no voice that interrupts the flow by announcing “Chapter three” or “Chapter thirty, ” or whatever. As for as a reading of the Bible is concerned, the ESV Literary Study Bible is great. Understanding the literary beauty and complexities of the Book is, I think, the very FIRST methodology one should master in order to form a foundation of learning. These two approaches have greatly enhanced my love for and understanding of God’s Word.

  11. LISA COOK permalink

    I have learned this leason also. All we need to do is focus directly on God. And really all the things of this world will pass away. Now I’m not saying it’s easy or that I do it ALL THE TIME LIKE I AM SUPPOSE TO but if you teach yourself Godly ways and Godly practices it will become easier and after awhile it is your life style. I want to share something will all of you that I asked myself all the time.

    Close your eyes,imagine yourself standing at the bottom of Jesus’s cross. Your so close you could touch his feet, your looking up at his pain filled eyes as he is giving his life for your life, now WHAT ARE YOU GOING TO DO FOR HIM?

  12. Pam Dye permalink

    The Bible
    There it stands, like a mighty rock
    In the midst of a raging sea;
    The Bible stands, though men may mock
    And attack it vehemently!

    Why do men mock and hate it so?
    This Book of eternal salvation!
    Could it be that wicked men know
    It warns of their condemnation?

    They have burned it, and spurned it,
    And explained it away;
    They have denied and spiritualized,
    But the Book is here to stay!

    And though wicked men like Jehoiakim,
    May take their penknives and whittle,
    The Bible will not be expired by them,
    Not even one jot or tittle!

    For should they destroy it from the earth,
    This Book which God has given;
    ‘Tis settled forever from the first,
    And has been presereved in heaven!

    They shall be judged by this Holy Word,
    All whose sins have not been atoned,
    When they meet a thrice-Holy God
    At the great white judgement throne!

    God Bless you all. Your sister in Christ….Pam

    • Sister Pam OP permalink

      Dear Pam, Do you compose the lovely poetry that post? I enjoy reading the poems.

  13. wisdom david permalink

    honestly i don’t know how to explain my joyfulness in seeing n joining this great group.i have been so confused for a long time,not knowing where to turn to,but this has been a bright light guiding me and showing me what to do.GOD bless you guys.keep up the good work..

  14. Amen Mark. I use a mostly similar system. When reading I have to have low instrumental music playing… that’s just me. It helps my brain stay focused. The rest is pretty much the same. Thanks for sharing.

  15. PASTOR MARK, I LOVE READING JOURNEY DEEPER INTO GODS WORD. YOU MAKE IT SO SIMPLE FOR US TO UNDERSTAND. I JUST WANTED TO MENTION, THAT OUR MINISTERS IN THE U.S. USE THE “DAKES BIBLE”, YOU MIGHT CHECK IT OUT. THEY SAY ITS THE ONLY BOOK YOU NEED, YOU DON’T HAVE TO HAVE A OTHER REFERENCE BOOKS. KEEP ON KEEPIN ON. GOD BLESS YOU…

  16. Christy permalink

    God is so amazing! Today I was writing my lifes pupose and goal. My goal was to become closer to Him by reading the Bible more but was feeling slightly overwhelmed. Then I see your post about journey deeper into Gods word! Bless you! Thank you God for providing for my needs!

  17. Patty permalink

    I like to start my day with reading and reflecting. It stays with me and I always have a great day. I find myself praying more and being joy filled instead of just being happy. Then, there are those days that I cannot get an early start and do my reading and reflecting on Gods word. What misserable days those are, those are the days that something always goes wrong or I get angry quickly. My whole attitude seems to go down hill. So I will do my best to get up early and get Gods word first thing in the morning and be joy filled with Gods word everyday. May God be with ya”ll :)

  18. This will be of a great help for me,thanks Mark.

  19. MARK,THANKS FOR LETTING THE LORD USE YOU THE WAY HE DO BY LEADING YOU 2 BLESS US WITH THE WORD WHICH HE INSTILLS IN YOU 2. GIVE 2 US. JUST HOT OFF THE PRESS, NO MESS. JUST THE BEST. FROM THE BLESSED!!!BLESSING ON YOU AND YOUR FAMILY…MARILYN TURNER

  20. Marti permalink

    Thank God for sending Rev Mark to us who really take the time to read your word through his teachings. Thank you Rev Mark for allowing all of us to feel God’s love through you. I look forward each day to your devotions and Journeying Deeper Into God’s Word with all of you. It is very inspirational to me. Thank You!

  21. Tyler permalink

    Thank you Rev Mark. Thank you for taking your time to post all of these wonderful links. It makes everything so much clearer to me! I often feel like they are directed directly to me. Lately I have been wanting to red my bible more, but i never know what to read! This really helps a lot.

    God Bless

  22. mayan permalink

    I read all these comment & it give joy to here GOD children
    talk of his goodness, i’m deeply touched.I myself would like
    to read the bible more. There are blessings that will come to you from GOD simply because you are praying and reading is word. I read a lot of spirital books, but there is nothing like the bible. My desire is to seek him more: that i may dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life, to behold the beauty of the LORD and inquire in his temple.
    psalm 27: 4
    thank you for incurraging word GOD BLESS!

    mayan

  23. Lydia Reyes permalink

    Praise Jesus, the living word, Who is the way to the Father.[John14:6] Mark you are the great christian who is small enough to let God be great in your life. I thank God for you and all my brothers and sisters who are also sharing thier needs , thier thoughts and all that God is doing in thier lives. You can’t imagine how much you are all helping me in my walk with the Great I AM. The way I started to understand the bible was when I came in prayer , asking God to reveal the truth to me. I tell you now I can’t get enough of reading the Bible and other books written with scripture backings. God is so Good

  24. Sister Pam OP permalink

    I pray the Bible as I read it, first asking to enter into God’s presence. Like Father Mark, I journal after my time of reading. So much can be revealed as I write freely asking the Holy Spirit to guide me. I appreciate the link, thanks.

  25. naftali mutahi permalink

    keep pressing on God bless you and welcome to nairobi kenya

  26. Jo Heatley permalink

    Thank you for your guidance mark. I will try to write my reflections down as this is something i do not usually do but think very strongly that it will help me dig deeper into God.
    I thank God for your ministry here and ask Him to give you the strength courage and energy you need to continue serving Him so faithfully. I ask Him to pour out His blessings, favour, mercy and grace on you and your family at this time. I pray that your transition to Australia is a smooth one and and through it all you are aware of His presence. I also pray that you are able to find time to be with Him during this busy period.
    in the name of Jesus
    Amen x

  27. I was just reading all of the comments on here and I really feel inspired as I read them. My heart just seem’s to go out to all these people. They seem to know how to put their thoughts into words. I seem to have a hard time with that. When I am sharing something from a book or the Bible that seems to be all I can do, but my day does go better. Rev. Mark, please answer my questn that I am going to have, I do realize that your busy alot of the day, I was just wondering, if a person just thinks in his heart, his inner person, what he would like to say as a prayer, does that constitute as a real prayer? I really, really want to serve the Lord wholeheartedly, but I seem to be having a hard time doing so. I think also that the devil might have his hand in my daily walk with the Lord. What do you think? Thank You so much!

  28. I love this site. When I first discovered it; I thanked Jesus 4 such a committed man. In these times of trial and tribulation; we need more than ever to have all the prayer warriors out on the front line. Fighting the battle againts Satan.Keep up the great work!!!!!!!!!!! GOD BLESS YOU!!!!!!!!!!! I will keep you in my prayers……

  29. Susanna Liew permalink

    Thank you Rev. Brown for your reflection each day and I read them all. Most of them have spoken directly into my heart and His Word lifted me. Thank God for working through you to reach out to others this way. I pray that many will seek His Kingdom and His Righteousness. Praise God!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Top Posts — WordPress.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,694 other followers

