Skip to content

How to be more loving.

February 10, 2010

‘Love must be sincere. Hate what is evil; cling to what is good. Be devoted to one another in brotherly love. Honor one another above yourselves. Never be lacking in zeal, but keep your spiritual fervor, serving the Lord. Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer.’ Romans 12:9-12

Recently I witnessed something absolutely beautiful. My 3 year old boy, Jack had a heavy cold and was resting. Knowing their little brother wasn’t well, my 6 year old boy and 8 year old girl took it upon themselves to serve him. They got his breakfast, placed it on a special tray with a drink and carefully placed it next to him. They got a box of tissues and a couple of his favourite toys and generally made sure he was comfortable. It was a wonderful display of love through service that brought a massive smile to my face!

And then I read this passage from Romans and in digging deeper discovered that ‘Love must be sincere’ is talking about genuinely showing care and affection to others. This follows on from my last reflection where I was massively challenged to treat those who are rude towards me as I would treat people I really love. God is really working on me here, that my love for others should be genuine and devoted. I really want to be someone who is known for being a loving, caring guy.

So how can I improve how I love others? The passage provides some direction when it says, ‘Honor one another above yourselves’ which in the greek, honor literally means to really value someone, to treat them as precious and special. It goes on to say that I should, ‘Never be lacking in zeal, but keep your spiritual fervor, serving the Lord.’ This is talking about me maintaining my enthusiasm and commitment to serving God. And then the passage finishes with the encouragement that I should be joyful, patient and faithful. So I can increase my love of others by seeing others as precious and special, by seeking to serve, wanting to serve and looking for opportunities to serve, and through being joyful, patient and faithful. WOW!!

What are your thoughts about this passage? Are you someone like me who would like to be able to love others more readily?

Praise God for this challenge!

God bless!

Brownie

If you would like to subscribe to this blog and receive my reflections as an email for free:  click here.

And I welcome your comments!!  Click on comment and scroll down.

Yahweh’s Yarn in a Year : 1 year Bible reading plan

The Portion for next day is:  Job Chapters 11-12

To access the complete plan for the year click here.

From → Uncategorized

73 Comments
  1. I really needed to hear this today and I thank God for giving you the ability to let me hear what he needed me to. It is very hard to always concentrate on honoring others above yourself in today’s society when we are always consumed with putting ourselves first and always told not to do what doesn’t make us happy. If you are truly doing the Lord’s work they way he wants you too, you will always be happy, even when you are putting others wants and needs ahead of your own!

  2. Yes Mark…I too am on the Path…Smiles..Thanks for the food to grow on!

    • Hey Mark,
      I liked your subject today.I to have been dault with on this subject by the Father.It was a great teaching and time of growth.The lord calls us all to be Christ like,and follow His example.We are all being molded.I am glad to hear you have learned something new,it”s so exciting when we see things as the Father does.God Bless,Your Brother in Christ,Jim

      • Lisa Bostic permalink

        Thank you for daily inspiration, I am really struggling with this it’s not that i don’t try to love everybody, sometimes people don’t accept it or because you are a christian they treat you different, but i will continue to walk in love. GOD Bless !!

  3. rebecca powers permalink

    Authentic Love. This is what we should all be striving for. Mark, have you ever considered http://www.discovery-training.com? That program is EXACTLY what you’ve been writing about.
    Authenticity. The world needs it.

  4. Enid permalink

    Hi Mark!

    I have to say that I am a rare person. I find it hard not to love people and try very hard to see the good in everyone I meet. This doesn’t mean that I have not had encounters with people, whom have really ticked me off and that there hasn’t been a time where I have lost all patience with someone. But, I have made it a point to really find the meaning in God’s word as far as, the person who He wants me to be and the way He wants me to live. For this, I have had to change my way of praying and ask God to change in me, the things I alone cannot change. God has been faithful…

    I wish you and everyone who takes the time to read your posts and become instructed in the Lord’s word, a very blessed day…

    • Dorothy permalink

      Enid: I also have been blessed with a very loving heart. . . it has been such a burden watching others that are not so blessed in that area….. I do not understand why it is so hard to love others. I have kept in my heart a quote that comes from Mr. Rogers “If you walked a mile in someone elses footsteps they would not be so quick to judge people” I find it easy to be compassionate and kind. . . . not that I do not struggle with other issues that I do not understand or am not conscience of . . . . I also pray for wisdom and a charge of me from he inside out. God bless you, Dorothy

  5. Wendy permalink

    Loving those who are rude to me has been a BIG issue in my life the last several months and I have really been struggling with this. The nicer i am, the worse treatment I get and by ALL of my co-workers, not just one. I have become angry and bitter and have come to the point of quitting my job because of the treatment. I try to show compassion and that I care but it is not easy!

    • Marie permalink

      Wendy I have been in your shoes and I am still struggling with this to a point. People, even adults, can be cruel. I have learned to keep my focus on God and when someone treats me bad to the point that I want to leave my job, I hum hymns to myself. This may sound strange but it works for me. I just try to focus on the one that really loves me. I read a quote once that said, “what people think of me is none of my business” and I think it says volumes. Pray for God to help you with this..He will! My situation is not perfect with my co-workers but it is better. Just be your sweet self and learn to *let go and let God*.

  6. Ahilia permalink

    Good Morning Mark,

    I find it easy to ignore people who are less than brotherly towards me. It’s the ones whom I love and are close to me that creates a challenge not to retaliate.
    I continue to pray for God’s wisdom in these situations, I continue to loive them but I am building up a resentment.
    I was happy to receive your posts on facebook and I believe it will help me to heal.
    Thank You and God Bless!

    • Sister Pam OP permalink

      Dear Ahilia, I identify with what you said. No hurt is as great as the hurt that comes from the ones we love and trust. Alas, they are only human and I know that I, too, have disappointed others. It helps me to appreciate every kindness when it is extended. Resentment is a dead end because it only hurts us. I deal with those feelings every day and struggle with them just as you do. Staying in touch with a Christian community definitely helps. Thanks for your post.

  7. Meagan permalink

    I think everyone can benefit from this reading! We could all learn to love more, be more patient and increase our faith! Thanks for the reminder Mark! GOD Bless you!

  8. Karen permalink

    Thanks for sharing all that wonderful information about love. I Love It. I want to have the Savior’s heart to where I can love everyone unconditionally. But Wow, is that hard to do. I am always asking the Lord to put his Love in me so I can love others, regardless if they are friends, family or enemies. I desire this. I want to have the Lord put his loving thoughts of them in me. I guess you would say, Open my eyes Lord, put you salve upon my eyes so I can really see to love. Reflecting the imagine of my Savior is my goal. Oh, how everyone needs so much love and genuine caring. This crazy world knocks us about to where we feel like surrendering, but then YOU don’t because you need to keep on keeping on in this growth of growing up and beyond in Christ Jesus. He is my inspiration. What ever you behold you become like. So I behold my Loving Savior, Jesus Christ. Mark, keep on inspiring us what the Lord is inspiring you to do.

  9. Jacques permalink

    Amen Mark, I too want to be sincere in loving others. Thanks for the word and practical application (example). Blessings to you and your family!

  10. Ernie permalink

    I think one important point not to forget is that love must be sincere. Sincere love can only come form God; it is the kind of love you give when you seek God’s hear first and give His love. Our love can be fleshy and conditional, but God’s love is perfect. When I do not reflect on the source of the love I give: the spirit or the flesh, I may end up resenting the actions I take to express it when it is not reciproctated in the same manner I give it or in the “the same quantity” y profess it. The love of God must fill me before I can give any sincere love, otherwise I may end up projecting my onw carnal neediness, instead of the unconditional love of God which is given to me also unconditionally by Him who loved me first. Recognizing the God that lives in others will enable me to honor them and value them as precious creations of the Heavenly Father and rejoyce, even when they hurt me, as Jesus did when they tortured him and crufied him (‘forgive them father…”) with patience, knowing that He is in control and his will will be done. Praying faithfully allows me to achieve this, jus as Jesus did in mount of olives before facing God’s will for his life. It allows me to stand firm in his promises and his unconditional love, even in the face of adversitiy and hate.

    • Andie permalink

      Ernie, Thank you for this. I usually skip over the comments, but I am so glad I took time to read them this morning. I have trouble with sincerely loving my mother-in-law. I needed the reminder that I cannot love her on my own, but God can and will love her through me, if I allow Him.

    • Sara Sue permalink

      Thank you, Ernie, for saying this so well. I was formulating a similar response, when I read yours!

    • Sara permalink

      This whole article is great, but this made it even better- thank you! :)!

      I definitely need to let God do these things in me more.

      And the part where the pastor talks about “‘Never be lacking in zeal, but keep your spiritual fervor, serving the Lord.’” reminds me that my passion for the Lord is not a feeling, but an action and a decision to serve Him with all that I am!

      Thank you Jesus for speaking through these two amazing people :)!

  11. Tami permalink

    Thank you for the reminder – I have a boss that I have went over the top for, the extra mile and I have to remind myself almost daily to love the unloveable.
    He has not people skills to speak of, no family, no friends, he is a bully to his employees – but I keep thinking somehow God is using me in my place of work. Crazy aren’t I?
    Some days are harding then others, but I just go do my job
    and I feel like I am constantly in prayer.
    I will keep this passage and read it a time or two more –
    I want to walk in Jesus’ foot steps and so I will continue to love the unloveable…remembering how much Jesus went thru for me.
    Thanks again!

    • Sister Pam OP permalink

      Dear Tami, One line you wrote is quite insightful., “I feel like I am constantly in prayer.” Isn’t it amazing the good that come from a bully?:) LOL. I am laughing, but there is truth in what you say. Thanks for the insight and being a person of compassion.

  12. Lynn permalink

    for some reason i always find myself looking for the good in others rather than focusing on the problems they seem to have. maybe it’s because i realize that when God looked on me He overlooked all the bad things i had done,and looked past the problems i had and just saw me, the real me. i don’t know. i had a friend comment on how i accepted her as she was, the good and the bad. i told her that we can’t slice the bad out of a person and just accept that which is good, but that we needed to accept them the way they were ,good and bad, and pray that God make any changes that needed to be made in them and i asked her to please pray that God would do that for me as i am far from perfect. and i know only God can do the work in me that is needed.

  13. God loves me.I can’t make him love me more and I can’t make him love me less.It is an unconditional love.when we are in Christ,,then and only then can we love as God wants us too.I am so glad he loves me as there are days when I am not so lovable.Thinking this keeps me a little more realistic toward my fellow men .

  14. Pam permalink

    Hello Mark,
    This is so good thank you for the reminder. I can remember how hard it was for me to forgive and find the love in my exhusband. It was very hard as he would hit on me all the time. I could hear my grandmother’s voice saying to me search for the good in all people Pam, just don’t see the bad. So with many prayers I was able to forgive him over time.I have moved on thanks to God and His love for me. God Bless you.

  15. HELLO MARK I TRY DAILY TO LOVE EVERYONE AND I GET UPSET WITH SOME PEOPLE LIKE A FRIEND OF MINES OLD SCHOOL FRIEND WAS GOING TO SALE A LAP TOP COMPUTER OR NOTE BOOK HOW EVERY YOU KNOW IT TO BE AT A CHEAP PRICE WELL I TRUST MY FRIEND BUT I DON’T TRUST HER HUSBAND HE IS WORLDLY AND WHAT HE SAY’S GO ONE THEM KIND NOW I LOVE THEM BOTH BUT I CAN’T TRUST HIM ANYWAY THEY ARE GOING OUT OF STATE TO SEE FAMILY AND I HAD GIVEN THEM THE MONEY TO GET THE LAPTOP AND IT WAS OVER A WEEK AGO AND I GIVE HER A MESSAGE ON HER YAHOO AND TOLD HER I WANTED MY MONEY BACK BECAUSE I HAVE BEEN DONE WRONG ON MONEY A FEW TIMES OVER OTHER THINGS NOT BY THEM BUT I JUST DID NOT WANT TO BEING SETTING HERE AND JUDGING WHILE THEY WHERE OUT ON THERE TRIP SO I ASK HER TO BRING MY MONEY BACK AND SHE DID BRING THE MONEY BACK TO ME BUT I FELT BAD ABOUT IT THIS MORNING JUST FELT LIKE I WAS SAYING TO HER I DON’T TRUST YOU AND I DON’T THINK SHE WOULD DO ANYTHING TO MY MONEY BUT I DON’T KNOW I ONLY TRUST THE LORD AND THE FEELING I HAD WAS TO GET THE MONEY BACK THEN THIS MORNING I FELT SO BAD WHEN SHE BROUGHT IT TO BEFORE THEY TOKE OFF TO GO OUT OF TOWN KEEP THEM IN YOUR PRAYERS WE ARE IN THE MIDDLE OF A BIG SNOW STORM IT HAS WINDS BLOWING UP TO 50 MILES THERE THE NAMES ARE MR AND MRS JASON COX I JUST WANTED TO SHARE THIS I FELT AS IF I WAS SAYING TO HER THAT I DID NOT TRUST HER AND I DO IT’S AS MUCH AS YOU CAN TRUST SOMEONE LIKE I SAID I TRULY ONLY TRUST THE LORD AND REALLY I DON’T TRUST HER HUSBAND I DON’T FEEL THE SAME ABOUT HIM AS I DO HER BUT I LOVE HIM AND I PRAYER FOR THEM BOTH NIGHTLY WELL I HOPE THIS WAS WHAT YOU WHERE TALKING ABOUT IT WAS ON MY MIND GOD BLESS AND KEEP YOU IN THIS DAY HE MADE LOVE BROTHERS CECIL AND JASON

  16. ” My desire to be like Jesus. My desire to be like Him. His Love orewelm me ,His Spirit fill me. My desire to be like Him” The answer to your question, YES,YES, YES

  17. Pam Dye permalink

    Being fully committed to God enables us to grow spiritually and being changed into what we weren’t before, “dying to ourselves” and leaving our old nature to walk a spirit filled life. I want to come to that place where it comes natural. To be transformed because it is pure love without trying. Jesus is saying “I’ll take you there”, just surrender to me, and let the love flow. I’m sure there are a lot of you, me being one that desire a fullness of God’s Spirit to intertwine my soul and His Word and Love show and flow thur me to overflow into the lives of others that need Him desperatly because they are dead spiritually which all falls into ‘Loving with no criticism, judgement or demands but just the opposite. I just thank you Jesus that we have a way out thur your love and ‘mercy’ not giving us what we do deserve, and ‘grace’ in giving us what we do not deserve. Amen

  18. Chris Kreiser permalink

    Hi Mark ,
    i have a problem with this at work . i am the manager(cafeteria ) and am new at this so it is hard for me when I see people laugh at me when I say something and they talk sneakly .i mean this when I say something to them for there own good and to see the job get finished because we are on a time schedule and have to be ready for the kids plus cleanup after words . I see it as a privilage to work I am so thankful for my job . additudes says alot . i have one person in perticular that complains alot and thinks she has too much to do but yet has time to stand around and talk . and then she wants to get snappy with me . I do pray every morning for my job and the girls . and it does help me get through the day . i do not feel I should have to help her when i am swamped with my own work. Help ! Chris

  19. Jo Heatley permalink

    Hi Mark!

    mmm this reminds me of last summer. To my shame I have to admit after a few tough years I began to wonder what was the point in all this praying and worshipping. I never stopped beleiving but just felt that God was asking too much. I had always found it easy to love people with His help, but I forgot how I just couldn’t do it on my own.

    I stopped reading my Bible so much, I stopped praying so much and going to church so much. As a result I began to think the non beleivers were better off than us!! I gradually became more selfish and found it hard to serve others in love, found it hard to love them sincerely.

    After a few months I had a light bulb moment and realised the reason I was finding it hard to love and serve others was that I was doing it in my own strength. Without him I can’t do it. It’s as simple and as hard as that!!

    I got back into praying, worshipping , spending time in God,s presence and now with your encouragement Mark, God’s word. Life is becoming sweet again! I am more able to consider others before myself now that I’m walking more closely to God. I thank the Lord that He didn’t let my foot slip. I am nothing without Him. The Lord recently gave me Psalm 73 and said Expound it!

    Life is still filled with it’s problems but knowing the Lord is with me and is helping me just fills me with such joy now I just want to praise Him all day! X

  20. Dina permalink

    Christians ought to display the Love of Jesus with a sincere heart. That’s right! Love must be sincere. We should love our neighbor as we love ourselves. I need help to explain this to my husband so that he will not get discourage and lost his faith.

    It is very difficult for me to comprehend how the member of our previous church had treated my husband. My husband was a former Jehovah Witness and through years and years of prayers the Lord has granted my request and with His grace has save my Husband. I am very grateful for the Lord to change my husband heart and believe in the Lord Jesus. The problem was our previous church had persecuted my husband because of his past, as a Jehovah Witness. People in the church are intimidated with his presence. We were excommunicated in our church because the church leaders cannot accept my husband passion to share the Gospel. We started a bible study in our church on a Saturday, home bible study for church members who had opened their house for us. The Pastor of the church has canceled all the bible study and said to me that only my son and I can stay in the church and not my husband. I was so disheartened that we decided to all leave the church. Now we moved to another church and I told the Pastor that my husband was a former Jehovah Witness. The reason I told them because they wanted to know which church we came from. The bad thing now is that there is a member of this new church that is a friend of the former pastor in our old church. This new brother in Christ supposedly not to meddle in our previous church problem but it is still happening the same way. This brother is persecuting my husband through deregatory comments. We have forgiven them and we are moving on. How can I help my husband not to get discouraged despite of the persecution? That’s right! love must be sincere. Thanks.

    • Sister Pam OP permalink

      Dear Dina,
      I am so sorry to hear that you and your husband have been treated in such an unloving manner. You and your family must be deeply hurt. There are many good Christian churches that will welcome you with open and accepting arms. Don’t give up. Visit a variety of churches of different denominations until you find one that is a good fit for you all. Trust your instincts and pray for discernment. Remember, it is some of the people that failed you, not God. Our God is a God of forgiveness. Please keep us posted on how this progresses.

  21. P Sales permalink

    Thank you very much for this. I really do want to love others more. But I want it to be like you said, a genuine love, not fake or phony! The verse about ‘Never be lacking in zeal, but keep your spiritual fervor, serving the Lord.’ this is what I want. So many times we are on fire for the Lord and then we just die out. So many times we are on task with our reading, studying, and working our ministry and then we just stop completely or stop working wholeheartedly. I pray that the Lord helps me and I pray for you all!

    -In love of Christ Jesus, God bless

  22. Thank you for your post on, “how to be more loving” it really touched my heart and made me see this scripture more clearly. Sometimes it’s hard enough to be more loving to those we actually do love and spend our lives with, let alone a stranger but it is something we should all strive for.

    Recently I had been really upset with my husband with whom I felt was not “loving” me the way I felt I deserved to be loved and he on the otherhand felt that I was not “respecting” him in the way he deserved to be respected. This boiled until finally it exploded, ruining a special event in our lives. In the end neither of us can take back the horrible things we said nor celebrate that event ever again. We did finally talk it all out and was able to explain to each other that though we both needed love, we both needed it to be shown in differing ways for each to understand and feel appreciated. Well after reading your post today I realize that I wasn’t “loving sincerely” because I was putting my needs ahead of his. Jesus did not beg us to love Him the way He wanted it but He did show us what love is and we are to mirror that love. Coming from a dysfunctional, abusive home I realize that at 46 I am still trying to define how I should be loved because that child who was abused so long ago never realized and accepted that Jesus loved me all along and His love is perfect where what I invisioned was perfect love was born out of an hurtful upbringing in which love could not be defined.

    I hear the message, love sincerely, love deeply, love like Jesus and you will be loved. How amazing it is!

    • Pam Dye permalink

      Hi Kellie ‘smile’. Why don’t you take the day you both came to the relization what you had done and celebrate that day each year. Thank God you worked it out, and Thanks to God that you have come to know Christ and can let the past be that and forgive knowing that Jesus was not the cornerstone in your lives then but is Now.
      God Bless u

  23. Wow, that last paragraph was one run on sentence…sorry…hehe I was caught up in the moment!

    • Sister Pam OP permalink

      Dear Kellie,

      Keep it up! You are doing well in healing from your past. These are very tough issues to deal with and impact a person for one’s whole life. With God’s help even the worst situations can work for the glory of God. Peace be with you always.

  24. Dutch permalink

    God is sooooooo brilliant! Mark, most of your passages is what the world needs more of, and I pray that God can help me love the way the great loving Lord and Heavenly wonderful Savior Jesus Christ loved us, Jesus Christ showed how great His love is by dying on the Cross to pay for our sins, Jesus Christ rose again the Third Day-Easter Day, and now and forever Jesus Christ sits at the Right Hand of God in Heaven forever! Lord, help to love the way you great loving Lord Jesus Christ loved us, and help me to not judge others or measure other, and help me to not be boastful or bragful, but help to only boast and brag about how awesome You are God, and how great Your love is God, and just to Praise and Glorify You God, God in Your One and Only Begotten Son Jesus Christ real alive resurrected ever-lasting King and Savior and Lord and God holy Heavenly wonderful loving Name! Amen!

  25. scott permalink

    Just joined today,looking forward to your e-mails,plus the inspiration I will not only get from God,but also from my brother and sisters in Christ…

  26. We are to pray for our enemies and those who persecute us or treat us badly. It is hard to hate someone you are praying for.

  27. Pam Dye permalink

    AAAAMEN Dutch!!! I thank God for You and the work He has done in you as it is obivious that you are Holy Spirit Filled and are a blessing to this place. AMEN

  28. Kathy permalink

    A few days ago my niece un-friended me on Facebook because of a comment that I made. What I meant as advice, she took as serious criticism. In retrospect, I can see that my occasional comments may have sounded a bit harsh to her, but she opens herself up to this by airing all her dirty laundry (family problems, discipline problems with her kids, her unhappy marriage) on Facebook. She shares too much, and she complains a lot. I know she’s depressed, and I wanted to be helpful, but it backfired. Maybe I’m not loving enough. I have apologized, but I’m not sure this broken relationship can ever really be repaired. I welcome your prayers.

  29. Kathy permalink

    Wow, Dina! I can’t imagine a church excommunicating your husband based on his past! How tragic and un-Christian! “Let him who is without sin cast the first stone.” All I can say is that I know not all churches are like that. Seek God’s direction. He can lead you to a really loving church that will welcome your husband with open arms.

  30. Azure permalink

    How in the world can I be loving to the woman that had an affair with my husband last year? She was married too and has six g/kids.
    She is emailing me and being very nice. I have not been rude and in fact, I forgave her and my husband…only through a miracle that God did. After praying my head off. We also lost my parents, suddenly in a wreck, about six months before and I was reeling from that, plus the economy was down.
    She was trying hard to get ahead in the company and she thought getting w/the supervisor ( my husband) would improve her career. She actually moved about 170 miles away as soon as the affair was over. I am grateful for that.
    She was having panic attacks. Many Godly women/people were earnestly praying for her. We asked God to cause crazyness and confusion when they were together.to send His Holy Spirit. We asked God to clear their eyes and ears and minds.

    God is good. That relationship turned sour quickly. My hubby saw her for what she was doing and he is so embarrassed and humiliated that he can hardly believe it happened. It was so out of character for him. It is so difficult to talk about, as he cries and says over and over, I never ever would hurt you like that, EVER! What did I see in her? She is 9 years older than he is…and is low class. I am not saying I am better either. I’m not. But you get my meaning, right?
    When ”that kind” of woman is after a guy, she usually catches him. My husband says he was just as much at fault as she was. I agree. Anyway, its so weird when she instant messages me to talk on line about her medical issues, as I am in the medical (ortho)field. And ask my advice about her kids and her life in general. Her mom is very old and is living with her and her kids and g/kids.
    She sleeps around alot, did it before my husband and even after. She tells me she is involved with another married man! I don’t want to know!

    She is aware that I know about her, and that I knew about this affair for a year because my husband told me and Trent and I have prayed and the Lord has put our marriage back together. We joined another church in a different community.
    So??
    Should I email her and say, ”I forgive you”?
    Further, should I say, ‘Yes I have forgiven you, but I feel you will understand that amidst the circumstances, we just cannot be best friends?

    I have feel for her, but she will not ask my forgiveness, and she doesn’t have to in order for me to forgive her. I believe she’s honestly sorry. She was having her own personal problems and telling a (my) married man about her troubles, and that is wrong.
    How do I handle this? Any suggestions?
    I am praying, waiting on God, but I want your opinion. I do not like talking to her on line when we both know the truth and no one brings up the affair.
    How do I honor her? How do I tell her she is forgiven by me? And how do I stop the communication? Should I? Thank you very much.
    Jeannette

    • Kathy permalink

      Jeanette: Why is this woman emailing you? That really is out of place. She is foolish to think that she can cozy up to you now. You must forgive her, and it sounds like you have, but that does not mean you must be her pal. For your peace of mind, she should leave you alone. I think, if it were me, I would email her one time to tell her I have forgiven her and have moved on, but I would appreciate it if she did not continue to contact me. Wish her God’s best and cut the ties.

  31. Susan permalink

    In our present day generation,only sincere and God’s kind of love can actually keep us together in our families,our relationships(most especially couples) and the world at large.Thanks Revd Mark your post is source of inspiration

  32. Julie permalink

    Well, this is exactly where I am this week! I am trying diligently to be loving & caring to a few individuals who have talked aobut my family especially my children. I interact with them at church and I am trying not to treat them any differently–just be myself. I have prayed so much this past week that my knees & back ache. Thank you for the message so I will pursue! I want to be known as a loving, caring Christian woman!

  33. Taren permalink

    God has answered one my prayers(Thank you) I work as a loan collector and get all types of negative attitudes and have become to dislike my job. But i have been praying and searching for a better way to treat the customers, and the answer is Love Sincere. Praises to the almighty God….

  34. Sandy permalink

    Wow!! I really want to be able to love others uncondotionally!! and this is challenging but I’m ready to take this challenge!
    LOVE, it’s all about living Jesus’ Love!!!

  35. Renee permalink

    Rev. Mark, this was extremely refreshing to read and I’m overjoyed that I was able to stumble upon it. Sometimes I find it difficult to always be loving (especially in the face of those who aren’t always loving and caring back), however through God’s love, and through your encouraging words here, I have further inspiration to love my brother as myself.

    Thank you for reminding me of the challenge that the Lord has presented us with!

  36. What an awsome reminder that we should ALWAYS look at others as GOD sees them. They are precious in to Him. To show someone love even when they are not nice to you, reflects the love of Jesus. UNCONDITIONAL LOVE!!

  37. Glenda permalink

    This really spoke to me. I struggle so much with guilt and shame because my husband has to do so much for me. He does it willingly and I often wonder what I can do to show my love for him. Many times I say thank you, I love you, and I am sincere, but it doesn’t quite seem enough especially after saying it repeatedly day after day. I’m afraid he will feel its getting stale. The best I can, I need to do more for him, but am not always sure what I can do that will show my love.

    I’ve always felt that love is an action verb as well as a noun. But, action means nothing without heart, and love becomes dull without action. Or so I’ve thought. Maybe it’s enough that I’m here, that I am interested in his day, and that I pray. I do the chores my health allows and maybe I need to let that be enough until an opportunity presents itself for me to help and serve him better.

    I really do have to work on loving others. I believe in tough love, but it is hard to love those who are intentionally hurting you. Thanks so much for this.

  38. Dina permalink

    Please pray for me ok I having a rough time not forgiving my ex for what he did to me and am very hurt by him how do I got over this hump I can’t and it does hurt me bad I thought that he love me but he is still married and commenting adultery that hurts me bad

    • Azure permalink

      I asked my husband if he would pray with me. I said the prayer and asked God for direction and to guide my husband in all he does. After he goes to work, at noon, I pray alone and claim scriptures for him. I have an appt with a therapist next week.
      I have forgiven my husband. Now when I think of him, I want good things to happen and I have compassion for him. God did the healing in my spirit or I could not have done it. Keep praying. Don’t run away. That is the easy way out. If he is saved, he will hear God’s voice calling him back to where he needs to be.
      Prayers for you…This happened to me too about 9 years ago. God heard my cries and answered my prayers.
      Azure

  39. Khadijah permalink

    Good stuff thanks for the insight.

  40. YES, I AGREE, GOD HAS BEEN HELPING ME LOVE THOSE WHO HAS DONE ME WRONG, IT’S THE BEST FEELING WHEN SOMEONE DID YOU WRONG AND THEN YOU TURN AROUND AND BLESS THEM REAL GOOD. IT’S THE GREATIST FEELING, THAT’S THE BLESSING FROM GOD..LOVING UNCONDITIONALLY.

  41. What a wonderful story. Thanks for the encouragement and for all you do for the Lord!

  42. Cathy permalink

    Thank you Mark! This is just in time for Valentine’s Day too! Yes, it is difficult to love the unlovable, but that is what God commands us to do. Everytime I’m tempted to be aloof to someone who is rude, I ask God to help me muster up every ounce of love (& patience) that I can share with those who aren’t so kind to me. I also try to remember the times when I’m also “unlovable” and how others have responded to that or have granted me mercy and continue to love me…especially my ABBA, Father, in Heaven. Thank you Jesus!

  43. Sister Pam OP permalink

    “Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer.” This is the line a needed to hear today. I have not felt well for the past 5 days so it has been hard to do these things, especially being patient in affliction.My prayer life has also suffered because of not feeling well. Last night my husband brought a pizza home for supper. It made my day! It was like he was reading my mind. Small acts of kindness are a great boost!

  44. This is a great topic for me because I used to be one of those worldly people who was constanly let down by the lack of love. I tried to hide my pain in possessions instead of looking to the one who loves me the most our Lord. I feel so lucky to have a fiance’ who influenced me to return to church and I have grown so much. He flet like something was missing and so did I even though we never discussed between oursleves. Today I feel the Lord’s presence and will try even day to spread his true love. My fiance’ could use some prays for he is about to get layed off I know that his love for the Lord is strong. God Bless you Mark.

  45. i wanted to be bapttizied in water in jesus name but cant find any one if ura pastor contact me at my email is brendajdee@hotmail.com

  46. Lydia Reyes permalink

    My Prayer to my Lord is to help me love as he loves and to help me forgive as he forgives. Everyday is a challenge but with the spirit that lives in us, we will get to accomplish what he ask of us. God Bless You Mark and all who put thier comments here. Let’s all strive to be the Army of Love. May all the people that we come in contact with, see the Love of Christ in our lives.

  47. Janis Schofield permalink

    The example of your kids was so tender and so sweet, and such a good picture of the message from Romans. It made it more real and it made me think about how to be more loving towards others. You have great children and you are blessed. Thank you so much for sharing this. This is such a constant process of growth in my life. Often I am too much into myself and what I need – I need to hear this message and such great examples more often, and let the Holy Spirit make the changes in me…God is so good and His Word truly edifies!
    Thanks again, Mark. This is one to save…and share with others….Janis

  48. God has been dealing with me in theses area’s as well and He has me fidgeting in my seat( when someone cuts you off or slows down in front of you or are mean not caring. It’s very hard and I find myself beating my self up and seeing how loving i can (not) be some times. Father help me.

  49. Leonarda permalink

    Absolutely, love must be sincere. And sincere to love means our willingness to die our self (ego, pride and etc) especially when we hurts by the person that we love and care. ( I learns this from another discussion board) By dying on the Cross, Jesus Christ showed us how sincere His love is, even though He persecuted by men. Yesterday, i shared how difficult for me to forgive the person that i love and care but at he end turned me away. Amazingly, after reading and sharing yesterday topic “How to deal with rude people” and participating in another discussing board with topic “Recognizing Him as He Disembarks” i am able to vanish my fear to die my self. I did call him to forgive him and i am forgiven too. Alleluia !!!… Praise the LORD!!!…for His LOVE….

  50. Doreen permalink

    So inspiring.

  51. Amanda permalink

    I also want to become a more loving person, i have a lot of love and i want to be full of even more, its a journey that I am on right now as well:)

  52. Naomi permalink

    Its true that love is ordained by God.It feels good when one is at peace with each other which is begins by loving others it also brings us closer to God.This is a great desire mark. I have also desired that this could be practical to me at all times.May God help us, Amen!

  53. Thanks for this post! Love is what the world needs. We need to give more love, like what Jesus did. I wanna be more Christ-like, and because of that goal I really wanna devote my time to volunteering someday. I stopped school but when I get back I’ll make sure that my career is gonna have to do something with humanitarianism.

    I pray that God help us to be more loving of one another, despite all odds.

  54. isaac nazulme permalink

    love without expectations, love just because God loved us so, and Christ loved us enough to die for us. Love even your enemies and treat them as such. It’s hard for many to grasp and we are tested amm the time to love. Love all, hate the sin. Love thy neighbor as thy self so can you love the man or woman that murdered a family member, who hurt your child, who robbed you and etc.?

  55. adedayo bolade permalink

    love thy neighbor as yourself and hate thy sin

  56. Evey permalink

    Wow, I really needed to read this. I am being testing in all aspects of my life when it comes to the heart.

  57. Pearlie Ratliff permalink

    I was so relieved to learn several years ago that love is not a feeling. There are a lot of people I don’t think I could ever feel love for. Thank God love is a choice we make. I choose to love my neighbor as I love myself,,,ie I would never do anything to harm my neighbor. I treat my brothers and sisters in Christ with respect. I try not to judge others cause I don’t know where they have been or what they have gone through. I choose to treat people right even when they don’t treat me right. I made a decision to love everyone, cause love is the most important fruit of the spirit, and without it, our faith doesn’t work.

  58. Mark,God is speaking to me strongly about this and He is ,in every possible way.i apreciate Him for that,may His name be praised.

  59. Mark, Thank you for this site. Having the Holy Spirit fill me up empty’s me of me. The HS enables me to take the next right step. He never fails me.
    Spending time w/Him is everything.
    Forgiven

Leave a Reply

