Skip to content

Old Man of Prayer

February 2, 2010

Something a bit different today..  recently an amazing friend challenged me to write a poem, so yesterday I gave it a go and here it is!

Old Man of Prayer

Ignoring the cold constriction of knees long past their best
This old man of prayer persisted with long earned patience.

Painfully positioned, hand grasping each other in a determined embrace
The old man of prayer dropped his head, eyes locking out the simple room.

He paused, to release his thoughts and invite a focus on the one who made him
The old man of prayer knew his time was short, but he thought slowly.

He prayed a life of friendships and family long travelled
The old man of prayer told the story as he had done many times before.

The story of love and joy that brings tears and pain
The old man of prayer found his cheeks moist with memories.

The story of failure and desire of hope that confuses and refines
The old man of prayer, with undaunted clarity pushed on.

Then pain splashed across his frail body, pushing him into the grey
And the old man of prayer knew that his time had come.

They found the old man of prayer resting peacefully against his bed, still kneeling, hands loosely bound in prayer, a faint smile fixed on his face.

When they gently removed him they found two knee sized worn patches in the carpet beneath him.

The ambulance attendant, quietly offered,   ‘Amen.’

……………………………

God bless,

Mark

If you would like to subscribe to this blog and receive my reflections as an email for free:  click here.

And I welcome your comments!!  Click on comment and scroll down.

Yahweh’s Yarn in a Year : 1 year Bible reading plan

The Portion for next day is:  Psalm Chapters 12-14

To access the complete plan for the year click here.

From → Uncategorized

57 Comments
  1. Please thank your friend. This poem is beautiful. :]
    I’m typing this as my mom is kneeling down besides her bed for her nightly prayer for her whole family. That’s two prayer warriors tonight!

  2. Sister Pam OP permalink

    Beautifully expressed, is all I can say. My son, now 28, kneels at his bed to pray each evening. My hope and prayer is that this is how he will meet his dutiful end, after which, we will join together in praising our Lord in heaven.

  3. Sister Pam OP permalink

    Psalm 13 is included as part of the daily Bible reading for today. It compliments today’s reflection well, along with yesterday’s on healing.
    Psalms are great for pouring out our sorrows and as songs and prayer for supplication.

    To the leader. A Psalm of David.
    1How long, O Lord? Will you forget me for ever?
    How long will you hide your face from me?
    2How long must I bear pain* in my soul,
    and have sorrow in my heart all day long?
    How long shall my enemy be exalted over me?

    3Consider and answer me, O Lord my God!
    Give light to my eyes, or I will sleep the sleep of death,
    4and my enemy will say, ‘I have prevailed’;
    my foes will rejoice because I am shaken.

    5But I trusted in your steadfast love;
    my heart shall rejoice in your salvation.
    6I will sing to the Lord,
    because he has dealt bountifully with me.

  4. Rod permalink

    Beautiful!

  5. Pam permalink

    Very Good, maybe you have another calling…I am a librarian…so get it copyrighted…lol

  6. Greg Phillips permalink

    Wow! That is beautiful. That brought tears to my eyes. It also told me that I need to get down on my knees and pray slowly and lock out everything else except for my praying. I needed to read that this morning. I am new to the Christian walk and am seeking God as never before. Keep these email coming. I so look forward to them every day. It is something that I use, need, and can grow with. I forward this to my fellow Christians and recovery friends and family everyday.
    Awesome! God bless you and yours.

    Greg Phillips
    “when God guides, God provides”

  7. patricia permalink

    I felt the love he had for the Lord…It is our love for the Lord and passing the messages on to the generations of how we pray…on our knees,, in bed,,to our family so they may put this love and complete being into the worship and reverence of the Lord…This is a beautiful article…I could see it in my mind and smile that the old man knew where to go to spend his last minutes…Its where he went all of the time..In to the presence of the Lord through prayer…

  8. val permalink

    Thankyou, that touched me immensly. More please. When you have written a few, copywrite them and put them in a little leaflet. That way we can show others or just carry them with us to read our selves. You are blessed with many talents.

  9. Lynn permalink

    thank you mark for this beautiful poem about the man of prayer. he was a warrior who knew his best weapon was the prayers said in faith. i , for one learned a lesson from this poem.

  10. Enid permalink

    What a privilege it would be, to have the opportunity to be humbly kneeled before the Lord in prayer and praise before we leave this earth. To enter into that eternal sleep, knowing that although the physical body will be no more, we will be in the presence of our God Almighty forever…I for one have learned the importance of prayer in my life. This is an area I have had to deal with, as I had always been lazy when it came to prayer…Now I see the power in my constant dialog with the Lord. Battles are won, petitions are granted and questions are answered..

    Praise and Glory to the Lord Almighty!!!!!…

  11. Gemma permalink

    That is absolutely beautiful. Reminds me of my grandpa and grandma and of my mom. I’m glad your friend challenged you. You did great!

  12. Donna permalink

    What a beautiful poem! One of those writings that stirs the soul and warms the heart at the same time.

  13. Absolutely wonderful!! Thank you so much for sharing this!

  14. tracey permalink

    wow!!!

  15. Joy Rayle permalink

    Thank you for sharing this poem. Your efforts were a blessing to me! I was indeed moved by your poem and want to be like the Old Man in Prayer. I am asking for prayer that my faith keep me on bended knee. On my knees in thanks, in prayer for others and in repentence for my sins. I do so want to be worthy of the Kingdom of Heaven. I do not want the fears and doubts to permiate my heart and mind, I want to be strong in faith and strong in acceptance of Gods plan. I am ‘new’ enough to need the likes of your poem to move me like a child, learning to be smarter in God, bigger in my Love of Jesus Christ and still have the confidence that I am worthy of the Love of our Father. Your prayer fed my hunger this morning, thank you from the bottom of my heart. May God richly bless you and yours.

  16. BEAUTIFUL! You remind me that I too should be on my knees more. I look forward to your email everyday. The Lord touches many, many lives through you. Thank you and God bless. Roz Nixon

  17. Rita Enyim permalink

    what a beautiful poem is touchy and nice encourages us to pray until something happened especially for others. God bless

  18. Melanie Smith permalink

    That was awesome!I enjoyed it tremendously!Don’t let it be your last,Melanie Smith

  19. Olga permalink

    Beautiful!!! So well expressed! Thank you So Much for your daily scripture readings & commentaries. Love your thoughts on these and look so forward to reading them each day. Also am enjoying The Bible in a Year challenge -this is just the discipline I’ve been needing!

  20. Judy permalink

    I was very touched by your poem. Thank you for sharing. We all need to be reminded to take the time to get down on our knees once in awhile when we pray to our Lord. There is something about that physical act that brings us into complete humility.

  21. Sheri Biller permalink

    beautiful poem-thanks for sharing:)

  22. Tina Camara permalink

    An absolutely beautiful write! It made me feel – and then, it made me think!
    Pastor Mark, take this advice from a published and seasoned writer: PLEASE KEEP WRITING!!!
    Love and Blessings to you and your Family!

  23. Lena permalink

    Thank you so much for reminding me the importance of prayer! I know I don’t pray enough and its so important to pray for a Christian! May God richly bless you!

  24. Caroline permalink

    Rev Mark , to be so honest. I see you in this poem. I feel you are the man in it. So touching and real. Very true. God bless!

    • Caroline permalink

      I just wanted to clarify that I wish you health , but if God forbid , I just feel that when time comes you will be praying to the last ……..God bless you and your family and keep you safe always!

  25. lori colbo permalink

    Beautiful poem. Lovely descritions. Keep it up. You’re good.

  26. Patricia permalink

    Thank You so much .It was so needed at this time in my life again it is a sign that God hears my prayers.Such a awsome poem.

  27. love it! it touched my heart… thanks for sharing us a beautiful poem like this!… there is a saying…” Seven days without prayer makes one WEAK”!…

  28. Jeff permalink

    Nice job! God bless!!!!

  29. Susan permalink

    Anointed tears and a deeper understanding I’ve been in need of since finding a co-worker. I recognize that faint smile, love and peace in a facial expression that could only come from God blessing one of his special children. Thank you for your poem of healing. Your new gift absolutely needs to be continued and documented.

  30. *!krystal!* permalink

    This is so beautiful! it comforts me to know that there are older people in the world that stay strong in their faith with God all the way until the end. In this day and time so many older people in the ministry are just falling out of faith and turning to the wicked ways of this world, such as greed, and homosexuality. Ray Boltz the famous christian singer just came out of the closet, It’s so sad. I know that I will keep my faith until the end of my time on earth. Father God I promise you that I wont give up on you and I wont give into the horrible things of this fleshly world. Just like this old man I will stay devout and faithful to you just like you are to me. I love you Father God. In jesus name Amen!

  31. Taryn permalink

    That is a beautiful poem! I have began doing a Bible study on the secret place – “shutting the door” to find our secret place in prayer. I love this!

  32. Mark I simpley love this writing.I thank you and a question,I read somewhere that we should have an attitude of prayer and our attitude will determine our altitude.What is your defination of attitude of prayer? There are so many conflicts when I try to get more of Jesus and get closer to God.It is like I am 2 people,I can talk to 1 person and my mind is still thinking and carrying on a conversation with my heavenly father at the same time

  33. Very nice …..Great poem…….profound heartgripping ……”Do it Again Mark” !!!!!………

  34. Delanee permalink

    I really liked the poem idea! I think you should deffinetley do more poems! Thank you so much Rev. Mark! God Bless You! ♥

  35. Sharron Gray Atkinson permalink

    Awesome storyline and surprise ending ! You rock Mark! Do it again !

    God Bless you and every work of your heart and hands in the kingdom of GOD for HIS Glory ! AMEN!

  36. Mona permalink

    Awesome, Mark!! It was very touching!

  37. Kristen permalink

    That was wonderfully! Keep writing, you are very talented!

  38. Kristen permalink

    *wonderfully written 🙂

  39. Michael Cook permalink

    From reading all the other postings (and I agree with them all), I would say mission accomplished! I need to respond to my hearts call
    More prayer,more prayer!

  40. I can only hope your challanges you to write poetry more often. Stunning, Personal and beautiful are the words that come to my mind. Thank you does not seem to be enough. I really needed to read this today.

  41. Lydia Reyes permalink

    Love the poem. As I finish readiing it, I couldn,t help thinking of my dear Dad. He went to be with the Lord in 1997. He spent the last three years with me before he passed and I remember getting up in the middle of the night and I would see the light on in his room. I would get up to see if he needed something and I would always find him reading the Bible or Praying. He was a very sick man but he would always get up between 3 and 4 in the morning to spend time with God. This brought tears to my eyes. Pastor Mark, Thank you so much for bringing me back into such beautiful memories. Boy, God gave you such a great talent. Continue on, my brother.

  42. Dutch permalink

    That was beautiful! Wonderful poem, but we all know God is the greatest artist! God made the Heavens and the earth! Beautiful poem Mark!

  43. stephanie permalink

    MARK……………
    Your friend was right I got on this blogg tonight so happy and ready to dig deeper into gods word and be blessed and I not only got the blessing that I new I was going to but I got a double blessing thank you JESUS I got a perfect picure of a GOD loveing old man that spent days weeks months on hs brocken tender knees loveing are GOD only to have a GOD loveing man pick him up AMEN.

  44. Tina permalink

    This was heartwarming! Thank you Mark!

  45. AMAZING how our Father is connecting us through ‘blogs’ and Facebook…through the beauty of poetry and just sharing our hearts…
    proclaiming HIS GREAT LOVE for this whole world! WOW!
    Pleased to know you…and BLESSED by your wonderful words!

  46. The poem was beautiful. I hope that someday we all could end up like the old man in the poem. On your knees praying to God would be a peaceful way to go.

  47. Chrisey Alfree permalink

    FANTASTIC poem… GOD BLESS, Chrisey Alfree Dover, Delaware…

  48. AMAZING LOVE AND GRACE…..The scripture read”Goddid not send his Son into the world to condemn it, but that the world might be saved through Him.” So I asked myself; Have I counted the cost if my soul was considered Lost? Have I looked in the mirror to examine each tear?Have I looked the other way, rather than act like Jesus today? Now with no time to grumble UNDER THE WEIGHT OF HIS CROSS I crumbled. So I carefully examined His cross, I was so unworthy, so lost.The evidence was all to clear, all the things I had denied for years.I then fell to my knees asking God for his forgiveness, pllease. I confessed all my sin to the great IM, He then cleansed my soul and there made me whole.There never was a sweeter name that ever crossed my lips. The name is Jesus and nnow He’s in control, the very Captain of my ship.Now he guides me through rough seas and squalls, to him it doesn’t matter. For he is Lord of all the earth, thhe King of endless Glory. The sea and sky, the wind and waves, the snow and rain obey him. Now how can I do less than give christ my best and live for him completely after all he has done for me. Yes, I’m part of the world he came to save’ by Grace He saved my soul and through His great Love, Iwas made whole. So all who pass and dare to ask, I’ll tell them about my story.Amazing Grace how sweet the sound With a Love that is profound. by: A.C. Buzzy McLaughlin PS: Mark, Have a great day, and God bless you…..

  49. Laura permalink

    On bended knee I find me not, I pray in my easy chair, have I forgot the lessons taught? I hope not, I Love Him so, more time on my knees is the way to go. My poem, my prayer, love what you are doing Dearest Mark! Truly.

  50. God has given you more talent than you realize!!!!!

  51. God has put it on my heart lately that we never get on our knees to pray. I humble myself before God as I think of so many times when I was a child and went to church, we always were on our knees to pray, and yet today, I dont know when I have went to a church where bow down on their knees to pray. God make us more humble.

  52. Thank you.It is beautiful……………..

  53. Hey, That was amazing. Do you care if I repost that on my profiles?

  54. Yakie Favour permalink

    I am very grateful to every prayer and advice made here. But I didn’t expect to see these in Google, Pls I only confided in the Xtians I met in Facebook and not for the whole world to see. Pls use ur Good Office to remove these Complaints of mine in this site. I want it to remain in the household of God. Thanks to Rev Mark Brown and His Crew.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Old Man of Prayer in Audio! « Journey Deeper Into God's Word

Leave a Reply

