Skip to content

James 1:22-25

December 22, 2009

James 1:22-25 :  But be doers of the word, and not hearers only, deceiving yourselves. For if anyone is a hearer of the word and not a doer, he is like a man who looks intently at his natural face in a mirror. For he looks at himself and goes away and at once forgets what he was like. But the one who looks into the perfect law, the law of liberty, and perseveres, being no hearer who forgets but a doer who acts, he will be blessed in his doing.

Wow.  The word doer is amazing, the greek for doer is poietes which means to write a song or poem, to be a performer!  This is where we get the words poet and poetry.  So when James encourages me to be a doer of the word this is saying I am to read and soak up the Word as my friend Jennifer says, ‘like a sponge’.  But I am also to share it with as many people as possible like a performer.  A friend of mine, Anna Weatherup is an amazing Christian singer/songwriter who I am sure spends heaps of time practicing, praying, writing, thinking about the lyrics, and melodies of her songs ready for her performances; and in the same way as a doer of the Word I need to read the Word, and then think about how I can apply it not just to my life, but how I can share it with others so that I might encourage others in their walk with God.  The Bible is not a secret to be kept but something to be proclaimed – shared widely!!

Then James talks about the man looking in the mirror, and how we are called to look into the perfect law and to persevere.  Though the word look is used as the action in relation to both the mirror and the perfect law, they are actually two different greek words.  With the man looking in the mirror, it is more of looking, but not too carefully, easy to forget as James says, but with looking into the perfect law (the Bible), that is a careful look, really taking the time, being thoughtful and intentional so as to not forget!  And I am encouraged to continue to take my time with the Bible, to carefully look into what the Word has to reveal.

Giving the Word time to act, and then acting on the Word given!

Praise God!!

God bless,

Rev Mark

http://www.facebook.com/MarkBrown.page

To subscribe to my blog to receive my reflection for free as an email click here: Subscribe to Journey Deeper Into God’s Word by Email

PS If you want to leave a comment click on ‘Comments’ below and scroll down.

To check out one of Anna Weatherup’s songs click here. 
From → Uncategorized

23 Comments
  1. Wow. These versus are amazing! I never thought about the word in this way and usually I just try to “rush” through it. Thanks and keep on writing.

  2. Peggy permalink

    I love the book of James! It is such down-to-earth & understandable instructions in how to be a good Christian. These verses (along with James 1:27 exhorting Christians to “…look after orphans and widows in their disgtress and to keep oneself from being polluted by the world.”) should be reiterated over & over in today’s established churches where the emphasis is so often on soccer, volleyball, prizes for memorizing the most Bible verses–basically entertainment to get the numbers up–but not on training the new Christian or new church member in what it means to live as a Christian. We’ve forgotten to practice the fundamentals of living as Christ lived, regardless of all the WWJD trinkets being worn on wrists, necks & t-shirts these days. KUDOS TO YOU FOR DELVING INTO THE BOOK OF JAMES!!!! It’s so often ignored.

  3. I am a wicked sinner….I do know right from wrong…I judge…I gossip…I dont’ read the WORD …. by His Grace I am forgiven and I have NOT earned…I can do better to serve the Lord my G-d

  4. Teressa permalink

    I LOVE GOD’S WORD…..WHY BECAUSE MY HEALING &
    DELIVERANCE IS IT! I DONT KNOW WHAT I WOULD DO WITH OUT IT! IT MY NURISHMENT!
    keep that word coming here on FaceBook 🙂
    thanks for the encouragement Be Blessed

  5. debbie permalink

    Oh PRAISE GOD FROM WHOM ALL BLESSINGS FLOW!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thanks once again to our Heavenly Father for your devotion and teachings for all of us! This is indeed GREAT MANNA FROM HEAVEN!!!

  6. Beth permalink

    I thank YOU GOD our HEAVENLY FATHER for letting us be able to read YOUR amazing WORD and be able to understand YOUR WORD with the help of Rev. Mark Brown of whom YOU have blessed us with. Please help us to always take in YOUR WORD and act upon it and to spread YOUR WORD, LOVE, and PEACE to the whole world. We also pray for all those struggling in thier faith, that they may find peace in YOUR LOVE. Thanksfor always blessing us with YOUR pure LOVE and most of all for blessing us with DEAR JESUS CHRIST our SAVIOR whom YOU sacrificed on the cross for the forgiveness of our sins. We praise YOU and love YOU oh LORD GOD our ALMIGHTY FATHER in the name of JESUS CHRIST our SAVIOR whom we love. GOD bless all. Amen.

  7. dorthy porter permalink

    It is time for us to be doers,I am going to step out in the anointing of God to be everything he has called me to be.There are people who will never hear about Jesus unless we tell them.Everyday we need to wake up asking God how we can serve him and bless him .I enjoy your teachings Mark.

  8. MaryMarthaKay permalink

    As we are doers of the WORD …. by our actions …. deeds for others, walking in love, sharing the WORD with others, for the kingdom of God for his glory …. we are transformed into his image.

    2Co 3:18 and we all, with unvailed face, the glory of the Lord beholding in a mirror, to the same image are being transformed, from glory to glory, even as by the Spirit of the Lord.

    God Bless you!
    Sharron Gray Atkinson

  9. Antje permalink

    We should live the Word. Be kind, be patient, be understanding, be slow to anger, be helpful, help the poor. You do not have to get up one morning and decide well today I am going to be kinder and more patient etc. You should live every moment of your life like that. If you fall get up dust yourself off and start over again. Do not have a over exaggerate guilt complex. It eventually becomes easier. You do not have to go looking for people that need help. In your walk during the day you might see a beggar, an eldery person, a child in need of help. You than immediately act in that situation. It is a way of life as things happen on the road of life you travel. Sometimes our action speak louder than words.

  10. Jennifer permalink

    Good Stuff!!
    Praise GOD…

  11. Ethelbert permalink

    In this contemporary world, so many sheep are going astray. The bible is the focal point and believers having the mirrow (bible) and drawing strenght from it, should gather the flocks regardless of the cost. This is Christ`s testament.
    Happy Xmas.
    Ethelbert.

  12. Jethro permalink

    these verses hold a very special with me…on march 15 of this year i had just bought a bible and sat down to start reading it and the first verses i read was those…how powerful they are and God was working on me the moment i sat down…i would drink an 18 pack of beer every night when i got home from work, everyday of the week for years, and after reading James 1:22-25 this peace came over me and i realized i did not need alcohol anymore…i got up and trashed all the beer and liquor i had left in the house and have not had a drink since…glory be to God, because without him i never would have done it

  13. Its wonderful thank You Mark
    GOD BLESS…

  14. Tharadjne Orisma permalink

    I was asking God about my future and trying to figure out if He really wanted me to quit my basketball team. As I was readying my daily devotion the word “vanities” caught my eye and I decided to dive more into it’s meaning…. after looking it up in some other bibles I began reading the book of Ecclesiastes and the vanity of gaining wisdom and living life. I really became discouraged after reading it, but figured I was being overanalytical (if that’s even a word) Can you help with understanding the book a little more? and Pray for me so that
    I won’t read too much into things (especially like that)?

  15. Amy Spotswood permalink

    Thought-provoking and encourages me to act upon it!

  16. I have always understood be doers of the Word but the whole man in the mirror and looking into the law seemed less understandable but now it makes more sense. Thanks Mark. Keep up the good work–the Lord’s Work!

  17. Kentra permalink

    i will like to be that person that Christ wants me to be. so as of today i an going to study the word more. please direct me as to how i should start and please pray for me.

    God’s Blessings

  18. Becki permalink

    I am very guilty of rushing through the beautiful Word of God. I am going to be much more careful to read and ponder His Word and learn how to apply it to my life. I love the book of James, it teaches me and convicts me. I probably need to read it once a month!

    I just love reading all of the comments – They are so uplifting and makes me know I’m not alone.

    I’m so glad I get these everyday – Thanks Mark!

  19. Lydia Reyes permalink

    I thank God for you everyday. May you continue the beautiful work that he has giving you to do, here on FB. Everyday the scripture reading have a way of touching my heart. I do want to be a doer of the word. On occassion, I am,but I am hoping with the guidance of the Holy Spirit I can do better. The revelations of God are so many and I truly want to find them. I will try my best to take my time in studying the word and being obedient to it. That is all God wants of us. Then we can truly be doers of the word. Help us , Oh Lord.

  20. No where is the distinction between “doers” and “hearers” of the word most applicable as in whether or not we follow-up and act upon the crucifixion-specfic POINT OF CHANGE in being born again as clearly prescribed by Jesus Christ and literally obeyed by Nicodemus with unmistakable change! (John 3: 1-21; 19: 30-42)

    How long are we going to deceive ourselves?

    • P.S.

      Two Questions on “Being Born Again”
      (For Thought and Discussion)

      • Does Jesus Christ’s Prescription on Being Born Again, given to Nicodemus (John 3: 1-21), contain any specific reference to a POINT OF CHANGE or situation at which spiritual re-birth is supposed to occur worldwide or not?

      • If in the affirmative, what evidence is there of anything being done by Christians today to reinstate the omission of multi-dimensional DEFINING MOMENT for so long?

      (Are we complete failures?)

  21. Michelle Johns permalink

    I write pomes for the Lord through his spirit theres one below.

    The Voice Of The Lord
    In all your mistakes I have kept you safe; not giving you more than you can take. I am a healer when you’re in pain I’m a teacher and Jesus is my name. I am your refuge when you’re in need. I am the judge over thee. I am holding you hand pulling you to me. Child I tell you there are none greater then me. Bless my name and be not ashamed because I came to save, so until I return remember my words always.

Leave a Reply

