Skip to content

Am I a Pastor? Isaiah 40:29,31

November 20, 2009

He gives strength to the weary, And to him who lacks might He increases power. Yet those who wait for the LORD Will gain new strength; They will mount up with wings like eagles, They will run and not get tired, They will walk and not become weary.’ Isaiah 40:29,31

I am a very impatient, if I have an idea I like to get onto it immediately; I don’t like wasting time.  I work out plans, resourcing is sorted (who will do what and how?) and then I start hassling people till it’s done!   Which is why this amazing Isaiah reading is so challenging:  there are times when I need to wait for the Lord.   Nearly a year ago I was ordained as a Priest, which was a calling I received 16 years prior at the age of 20 – it took 16 years for the calling to be fulfilled!

I had it all worked out, theology training, ordination, and pastoring a church by 24.  But it all fell apart only 6 months prior to ordination.. I simply couldn’t handle the study load and the practical expectations, so I quit.  And I can now see that I needed those 16 years to build my strength and power and now these days I am more ready to fulfil God’s calling as a Priest.

And part of what God has revealed to me is that though my calling maybe to be a pastor, the outworking of my calling isn’t to pastor a local church.  Over the past 16 years God has been equipping me and strengthening me for a different environment completely.

And I can now see that God is calling me to be a pastor online, through my Journey Deeper into God’s Word blog and The Bible page on Facebook I am proclaiming the Word, through the Praying People page on Facebook and my interactions with people via chat and email I am able to care for people, and encourage them in their faith.

And several years ago I planted a church in the virtual world of Second Life, known as the Anglican Cathedral of Second Life (for info see:  http://slangcath.wordpress.com/) which though I have now retired from active involvement, offers several services each week within the virtual setting online.

So my calling to being a Priest is to the online setting.  And it was only through waiting in the Lord that this was made clear.  I praise God for the way He is working in my life and revealing His will for me through His Word!

God bless,

Rev Mark Brown

PS  Zondervan have just published a book called SimChurch: Being the Church in the Virtual World by Douglas Estes.  If you are interested in online church as an idea, this is a very cool book.  Plus I feature in it!!!

To subscribe to my blog to receive my reflection for free as an email click here: Subscribe to Journey Deeper Into God’s Word by Email

To order a copy see:  http://www.amazon.com/SimChurch-Being-Church-Virtual-World/dp/0310287847

From → Uncategorized

22 Comments
  1. That is a blessing,everyone has a different gift,who God calls,he equipps them,just like a baby has different stages,baby food,meat,that’s how God does us we start off on milk,then we are on the meat,once he gets us there,we must stay humble,otherwise he will bring us back down.I love talking about the goodness of the Lord,may God keep you and your family in perfect peace,God bless.

  2. I thank God for your clarity for the work in your life. I so get a kick out of God using the tools of our day and age, too. God bless you and yours above and beyond your dreams!

    KC

  3. Patsy Bond permalink

    I witnessed a fight today between to 6th grade boys. What is our world coming to. Can’t have God in school but the violence and the felons your children sit next to everyday is ok? The gentleman (God) has been expelled but the thugs can stay. I feel completely drained today. I am praying and praying for these children and for some, I see no hope. I needed this passage today. Thankyou

  4. Alli permalink

    I too am very impatient. I feel like I have been waiting forever for the same things that many of my peers have. A decent job, a sound marriage, proper finances etc……but it all seems to elude me. I can’t tell what God’s purpose is for me but I continue waiting and hoping and praying that he will reveal it in His own time.

    • askduane permalink

      HI Alli
      After reading your post, thought to reply. This passage came to mind.

      Matthew 6:32-34 (New American Standard Bible)
      32″For the Gentiles eagerly seek all these things; for your heavenly Father knows that you need all these things.
      33″But seek first His kingdom and His righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.
      34″So do not worry about tomorrow; for tomorrow will care for itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

      This passage from Jesus is telling us to not worry about tomorrow, today. Our Father knows that we need all these things you mentioned. He said seek first His Kingdom and His Righteousness, so my friend this is the solution that God’s revealing to you now. Seek His Kingdom and His Righteousness, the rest will fall in place. Trust Him on this. In other words don’t seek the things first, seek God’s Kingdom first.

  5. Ann Hite permalink

    This message is so timely for me. God used you to speak to me. Three years ago He directed me to step out in Faith and go after my dream of writing full time. While I’ve been published over and over in this time, I still haven’t sold my novel. I’ve since finished my second that made it to the semi-finals in an Amazon Novel contest last year. He keeps me encouraged, but I’m so impatient. Anyway, today I was feeling that angst again. This message reminded me to leave it to him and not obsess on any of it. He has so much more planed for me than I could ever come up with myself. 😉 And yes, I realize he is building my character with every success and rejection.

    Thank you for your daily messages. They help me so much.

    Ann

  6. Debra permalink

    Wow, this is really encouraging and inspiring. There are things I am waiting for in my life that I pray to God for guidance. This reflection has truly given me hope and assurance. Thank you!!

  7. Brother, we are so alike, it is scary!! Praise God for you, mate!

  8. Nice...Jesus is Lord... permalink

    Continue! Wil b praying 4 u…

  9. Thanks so much for your illuminating message. God has been waiting 72 years for me to ready to serve Him. I am also impatient to spread my testimony called My_Life.doc (34 pages) all around the world. It describes in detail how by His Grace my life was spared 27 times. That goes far beyound all the laws of probabilities as only He can do !
    Love to all in Christ,
    George.

  10. Melissa Hernandez permalink

    I really enjoy your emails. I am a fairly new Christian and I am struggling, I am looking for a Church where I feel comfortable and fit in. Ive had a very wild lofe in the past and one night God spoke to me ever since that night I stopped doing everything I used to do( all the old bad habits). I dont know where to go from here. He gave me a new life, what do I do with it now?

  11. Donna Wall permalink

    I need prayer for my marriage. My husband is not a believer, he now is working in North Carolina and I still live in Florida. My son will be back in the country next month and be with me. My husband is living with my parents and is working at a drug store. He left to go to N.C. with one job and in 3 days he got a job up there. With the houses not selling around me, I don’t know what to do. He does not call me and when I call him most the time he does not answer. I have found out some things he has hide from me that a husband should not be doing. It has made me loose alot of trust in him. I need help and prayer. Please reply back.

  12. Kim Wilson permalink

    Hello Mark,
    Wow I think God is so amazing, and I am so glad to hear that you had a real revelation, and that God is moving in mighty way through you.
    I thank Him for you, and this sight. God Bless!

  13. Fantastic. I thinks it’s amazing how God is raising up many like you to minister to us right in our homes!

  14. karen faulkner permalink

    Pastor, yes.You have a caring heart. In these last days we don’t see to much of caring for the flock. Thank you for each day you allow the Lord to speak through you. Praying for you and the ministry the Lord has placed in you! God bless love and prayers.

  15. MaryMarthaKay permalink

    Thank you Rev. Mark. Bless you for your continued faithfulness and sencerity; for sharing your heart like an open book. God is blessing so many thru you.

    For sure it’s not the building, but it is the “relationSHIPs” we have with others. We are the “temple” of GOD; the church is not a buiilding, but unity of the believers.
    The questions are:
    which SHIP are you in ? …. an intimate relationSHIP with the LORD?
    who is guiding your SHIP ? …. are you the yielded VESSEL ?
    Is JESUS in your BOAT ? …. DID you ask Jesus inside your heart/temple ?

    “He gives strength to the weary, And to him who lacks might He increases power. Yet those who wait for the LORD Will gain new strength; They will mount up with wings like eagles, They will run and not get tired, They will walk and not become weary.’ Isaiah 40:29,31

    THEY THAT WAIT ….. will gain new strength
    THEY THAT WAIT ….. will mount up with wings like eagles.
    THEY THAT WAIT ….. will run and not get tired
    THEY THAT WAIT ….. will walk and not become weary

    The WAITing is spending intimate time in the relationSHIP with our LORD JESUS, and living our daily lives looking forward EXPECTANTing HIS promises to be fullfilled.

    Our MESS + a little AGE (in your case 16 years) becomes our MESS-AGE ! and in all those years God is preparing us for HIS PURPOSE, but still using us on a daily basis in the simpliest of situations and encounters with others. All the while we are being strengthened so that we can express that very strength to others to encourage them. How AWESOME is our GOD and in it all we can see the many faucets of HIS PLAN where it is 2-fold, on up to unlimited help to not only each individual but all those they encounter. In other words, while God is working on you, He is working on others thru you. (a dual effect, or unlimited effect depending on how many others it effects the same time it is effecting you).

    This brings to mind: Lu 24:49 “And, behold, I send the promise of my Father upon you: but tarry ye in the city of Jerusalem, until ye be endued with power from on high.” …… Jerusalem means DUAL Peace….. and here again we see the WAIT (tarry) approach.

    Our GOD is just totally awesome! Praise the LORD for you Rev. Mark.
    JESUS IS LORD. /// Sharron Gray Atkinson ❤

  16. even I’ve been troubling GOD to tell me when is that thing going to happen
    Thanks for reminding me that I have to wait. I even thank GOD for making you my Pastor.

    Thanks Mark
    MAY GOD BLESS YOU AND YOUR PREACHING

  17. Shirley permalink

    thanks Mark.

  18. ayo permalink

    God will help your on-line inspirations to re-kindle the fire of revival that has gone for a long time in the body of Christ.

    Continue.

  19. Sandy permalink

    God has been preparing you this whole time for a purpose!! and here you are being a REAL blessing for others! Thank you so much Rev. Mark .

  20. Isn’t it something how we make plans and God laughs. I to thought at one time that my husband and I were called to a pulpit ministry. Although we are ordained He has not chosen for us to have one. I must say though that I probably do more in ministering to people now than if we did have a church.

    Blessings

  21. Like me….
    When I became new Christian (before I was Catholic) I tried to preach Gospel to my friends, to people I know and one month before I have met Christ I started to write blog (about my sad love story-I don`t have boyfriend(I do now) and my life) and after my new birth I decided to write about God, about faith and True (Bible).
    But it is not easy `cause I recive comments from people who don`t believe, who have their own philosophy about Bible and God.
    God bless you Mark!

Leave a Reply

