Skip to content

Power cleaning my life – Luke 6:17-19

November 16, 2009

Luke 6:17-19 :  Jesus came down with them and stood on a level place; and there was a large crowd of His disciples, and a great throng of people from all Judea and Jerusalem and the coastal region of Tyre and Sidon, who had come to hear Him and to be healed of their diseases; and those who were troubled with unclean spirits were being cured. And all the people were trying to touch Him, for power was coming from Him and healing them all.

We are about to attempt to sell our house and to improve our chances we have been cleaning up the inside and the outside and removing many years of clutter.  It is starting to look amazing, just in time to move out!!  But the cleaning process is taking a while, it is tiring messy work that requires us to just keep sloggin away at it.  One job I had was water blasting our wooden deck in the back yard.  The jet was about an inch wide and so to remove the grime I had to carefully move the inch wide high powered jet of water back and forth.  It took several sessions and many hours, but the result is stunning – one clean deck!

As I immerse myself in Luke 6:17-19 what stands out is how many people seek after Jesus to be healed.  Some are healed of disease and others of ‘unclean spirits’.  Unclean in the greek is <i>akathartos</i> which means foul and impure, referring to the sin that keeps us from God.  When I began this journey deeper into God’s Word I was challenged to face my sin, all that is impure within me.  And now, many months later I can see how absolutely essential this process of facing my sin is.  It is central to drawing close to God, it is a major theme within the Bible (Jesus died on the cross so that I might be washed anew!) and it is key to my growth and development as a Christian.

My wooden deck is like my life, the grime being my sin, accumulated over many years. And the high powered water jet is the Word of God!  God is revealing practices and behaviours built up over many years that I need to face, confess and have removed!

This is a tough process, but I know that through it I am drawing closer to God and becoming more of what He intends of me.

And I praise God for that!

God bless,

Rev Mark Brown

To subscribe to my blog to receive my reflection for free as an email click here: Subscribe to Journey Deeper Into God’s Word by Email

Add to: Facebook | Digg | Del.icio.us | Stumbleupon | Reddit | Blinklist | Twitter | Technorati | Yahoo Buzz | Newsvine

From → Uncategorized

22 Comments
  1. MARILYNN permalink

    Fantastic, I pray it sells and the move is a blessed and wonderful God based decision for you and your family. we all have to face the music and let a holy and pure GOD take true control and lead, guide and direct us through out our lives. sometimes we don’t want to give it all up but when our lives become stagnated then he always puts us in front of the mirror so we know it’s our fault and that confession is a must I can’t remember where or when he came into my life and became mine and I his it’s been so long I dont’ know where He bigins and I end. but the Prince of the Air always bother us who are sold out as he knows the time is short so therefore I too have to do a check to make sure all is righteous and right in me we have to stay in a state of repentence, and that’s allright as long as wekeep moving toward the throne room I go up when it gets too bad and just lay at his feet and don’t care how long it takes me to get back I stop ask permission to come up Dad. so brother you r human and one day we will step out of this folish body and get a righteous one and no more struggle and no more all night prayers and by the way how’d go were you tired or have you found a fresh pair of lungs from the crying out. I love you and you keep on keeping on and stay in him and he will stay in you. Pray ye one for another.
    Evange Marilynn

    • Sis, I thank God for your faithfulness and obedience. To Bro Mark thank you for planting the seed and Sis, comes along and waters it so that Daddy can Add the increase. This confirmation from the both of you has truely brought the increase. We know that those who are “Blood bought, Twice born & full of the Holy Ghost are the ones that are usually thought to be so able to fight this battle and come out able to extend virtue to those who come, and to God be the Glory, through Christ Jesus we are able to do our reasonable service. But We sometime find ourselves drained of our virtue and like Our Brother we have to steal away and get tested and proven. Our test causes us to face the adversary (who is always with us) as he utilizes this time of precieved weakness to tempt us. This is the time to do as my sis says, we must remain in a state of continued reflection,confession and repentance. By doing exactly what the Lord did and that is to yeald not to temptation and lean not to our own understanding. Thereby we become recievers of Gods mercy and grace. Much Love for the ministry, and To God Be the Glory. “AGAPE LOVE”

  2. janet permalink

    sometimes life just gets you to apoint of no return. I have been so close to God but of late i seem to slip deeper into sin and my body is taking control over me while my Dad in heaven has been so gracious and just to me. Will He take me back? Ofcourse i pray and repent daily but i need your prayers and for you to agree with me that am starting afresh with the Almighty coz where 2 or 3 are gathered in His name He is in our midist.

    • Mike permalink

      Hi Janet, i just wanted to say ive prayed for you and hang in there okay!! Love ya sis.

      mike

    • Linda permalink

      Sister Janet,
      Your post touched me, because like you I have been crying out tomy Heavenly Father in confession and discouragement. He has shown me that I need to make time to rest in His arms be still and be spiritually healed. I must feast on His daily bread or as I like to think of God’s word… his love letter to us…there we find truth, the whole truth and nothing but truth, when the lies of bondage rejection and defeat bombard us in the world with the father of lies who would have us doubt that the love of our Lord is steadfast. We are created to worship called to love and destined to see what we were meant to be if we don’t neglect the study of Truth. Find your solace in complete surrender to God and study His word with a prayerful and believing heart.

    • LGant permalink

      I will be praying for you also. Just remember He is faithful and just to forgive.

    • Hi Janet,

      If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrigheousness. 1 John 1:9

      This is a gift, if we truely believe Christ is the Son Of God. Our faith is believing in things we can’t see…!
      This is a scripture that just jumped out at me the other day for I have felt lonely. Show me the way I should go, for to you I lift up my soul. Psalm 143:8

      Linda

  3. Patsy Bond permalink

    you, washing your deck, reminds me of my baptism. It only took a couple of seconds for the preacher to dunk me under, and in those couple seconds God removed from every creavous of my soul, the hurt, fear, anger, any and all of my human defects. It was a second of total imerssion with God. My spirit always wants to remember and stay with that feeling to the best of my human ability. Happy house selling and happy house hunting. Just think, someone else is cleaning their grime off for you and your family. God bless.

  4. Antionette permalink

    Our God is so full of grace for us He will provide in all our needs. He sold our one house in 1 hour. Blessings. Thank you for the message. It is very true.

  5. DALLAS permalink

    This is a blessing & an awesome confirmation that the Holy Spirit is calling His church..His true followers into real sanctification & cleansing.

    The time of our redemption draweth nigh, and we are closer to it than when we FIRST beleived. The Word says that judgment will FIRST begin w/the sons of disobedience.

    No wonder he tells us to “judge ourselves” so we don’t have to be judged.
    He loves those He chastises.

    So, I’m feelin’ reeeeeal LOVED right about now!!

  6. tay permalink

    thank God for Jesus!

  7. bezawit permalink

    God is always good! today i ask God to cure me from unclean spirits.please pray for me to be touched by holy sprit and to be clean and to serve Jesus christ of the lord in any ways he wants my presence.Thank you!

    • YOU CANNOT BE TOO CAREFUL!

      There are: Satan disguised as angel of light, a different Jesus, a different gospel, and a different spirit all ready to deceive you (2 Cor. 11). Therefore, do not rush into the first help that comes along.

      Your sustainable healing (as ours) is exclusively in his wounds, i.e., in his perfect death on the cross. That is where you will find ALL your answers! It will be in your best interest to check out the immediate CAUSE and EFFECTS of Jesus’ death as it happened (http://www.the2keys.com). You will never regret it. GBY.

  8. Beth C. permalink

    That is soooooo in my mix as we used to say here :). I have been looking at the sin in my life, and have decided it is time to do something about it. I am a bit reluctant, because of course my flesh is sooooo in love with what I am doing, but I know that it is time. So I will take this week, to devote to the Lord, with no interruptions of technology, ect… and give my time to Him, so that he can tell me what I need to do next.

    • There is only ONE THING you need to do! If you spend time to know Jesus Christ, firsthand and personally (It is very possible), all will be well with you. GBY!

  9. charread09 permalink

    Understand you totally. Sometimes it’s not even sin but things we have begun to covet that are not bad but keep us from our time with Him and the things He has for us. Have been thinking lately about things as simple as a hobby can take our attention away from Him. Yes, we do need some stress releasers but I find most times if I just pick up the book of Psalms and start reading I can feel my stress begin to be depleted. Pray that you will have a miraculous sale on your home.

  10. Dana Benton permalink

    Dear Mark,This so awesome, I want to thank you for the beautiful time that I’m spending reading the Bible with You and all the comments that people make.There is nothing more powerful a
    than God and Prayer.I am loving each and every word that comes from the Bible and from Your Posts.It really gives People insight to what God is really about.People today need so much of this,that it breaks my heart to know just how many there is.So with each and every word they can read just by looking at your website could be the best thing that has happened to Facebook and All the people that read and enjoy the WORD OF GOD. It has to be the happiest time of my life to be able to share the word of GOD with people in a way that they can understand what really is going on.Thank You Mark for all that your doing to try and save these people and the world today,as most of us really need more of this than we think.God Bless You Mark Brown,Hoping your selling and looking for a new Place brings you Good Luck,I know it will as for God is on Your side.Everyone could use a little of that now days.But If they only new the Power Of Prayer.

  11. DEMETRICK permalink

    I AM AT THIS POINT IN MY LIFE WHERE I NEED TO FACE MY SIN AND ASK THE LORD FOR MORE OF HIM AND LESS OF ME I NEED TO STAY IN THE WORD

  12. dorthy porter permalink

    A scripture came to my mind when I read this post.Deuteronomy 11:26-28 Behold I set before you this day a blessing and a curse;A blessing, if ye obey the commandments of the Lord your God, which I command you this day: And a curse,if you will not obey the commandments of the Lord your God, but turn aside out of the way which I command you this day,to go after go after other gods,which ye have not known. I ask myself how do blessings and curses come up on a person.It is a choice that we each make by living with sin or having Jesus purify us by forgiving our sin and us sinning no more.Genesis 4:7 tells us we must subdue it.Subdue means to control it or get rid of it.Sin brings curses if we do not want curses to follow us we must subdue it.Jesus is the only way to sudue it,he washes us clean just like you cleaned the deck,someone is going to have to maintain that deck to keep it clean.It is the same with our life,after our sin is cleaned up we need to keep our life subdued from sin.We need to maintain our life from evil.If you put raw sewage on your clean deck it would start stinking ,not look so good pretty soon.If we play in the sewer of life,sin pretty soon will stink and not look so good.We need to subdue sin.

  13. JK South Africa permalink

    I`m feeling down these days allthough i pray daily. For ;me its like i need a breakthrough in my life. Pls pray for me that i will keep my faith and strengh in the mist of the storm.

  14. Lina permalink

    Well I am a christian but i have an issue with sexual immorlity whenever I see a very good friend of mine. i dont know what to do But God also said in his word that if you cant keep away from sexual immorality you should get married but then he does even give me a husband i really do try to resist but it is so hard and each time I think that my relationship is growing the mistake happens again and again tell me what you think. I guess this is also indicative of what of my ability to stick to it or my ability to persevere but what am i to do.

  15. Pam permalink

    I pray that you will not only sell your house, but that wherever you move to will be great!
    I can relate to this because my husband and I just went through this. He had a massive heart attack early this summer. Since he couldn’t work, we were going deeper into debt. We couldn’t pay the mortgages. We were headed for foreclosure.
    I prayed to God day and night. I asked him for guidance. He led me to a buyer for our old place, and to our new little house that is paid for! My Almighty Father in Heaven knew exactly what He wanted me to do. And He rewarded us richly when I put everything in His hands!
    Praise be to God!
    For he has blessed us so much!

Leave a Reply

