Skip to content

How do we talk to people about Jesus? Luke 6:1-11

November 13, 2009

Luke 6:1-11 : One Sabbath Jesus was going through the grainfields, and his disciples began to pick some heads of grain, rub them in their hands and eat the kernels. Some of the Pharisees asked, “Why are you doing what is unlawful on the Sabbath?” Jesus answered them, “Have you never read what David did when he and his companions were hungry? He entered the house of God, and taking the consecrated bread, he ate what is lawful only for priests to eat. And he also gave some to his companions.” Then Jesus said to them, “The Son of Man is Lord of the Sabbath.”

On another Sabbath he went into the synagogue and was teaching, and a man was there whose right hand was shriveled. The Pharisees and the teachers of the law were looking for a reason to accuse Jesus, so they watched him closely to see if he would heal on the Sabbath. But Jesus knew what they were thinking and said to the man with the shriveled hand, “Get up and stand in front of everyone.” So he got up and stood there. Then Jesus said to them, “I ask you, which is lawful on the Sabbath: to do good or to do evil, to save life or to destroy it?” He looked around at them all, and then said to the man, “Stretch out your hand.” He did so, and his hand was completely restored. But they were furious and began to discuss with one another what they might do to Jesus.

On the Bible page I started on Facebook, there are lots of self proclaimed atheists who write comments hoping to get into a debate about Christianity.  Their world view is that God is make believe, and why would you bother with something that isn’t real.  As one person posted, ‘Santa isn’t real either.’  And in my life there are many people who see Christianity as something weird.  They have no idea about the Bible and many of them see Christians as pushy and silly.  And yet I am absolutely convinced that they need to have a personal relationship with Jesus Christ.  I was recently chatting to someone who wasn’t Christian and I asked them why they don’t go to church, they answered that it was on at a really inconvenient time, he shared that he liked to sleep in on Sundays and take it easy!  I thought about this a lot, what about putting church on at a time that really suits him?  And then I realised, looking at church as the answer is looking at the wrong thing.  This guy needs a personal encounter with Jesus Christ first.  Once this happens then he will make changes and adjustments to make sure he is fed, to meet with other Christians and worship as part of a church community.

Becoming a Christian may start as an intellectual exercise but at some point you have to open your heart, set aside your preconceived notions and trust.  When I became a Christian I made an intellectual decision to invite Jesus into my heart, and then handed the rest of the process over to God.  I trusted that God would act and He did and He does!

In this amazing reading above we see Jesus debating with the Pharisees and teachers of the Law and He does something really amazing.  He answers their accusations in their language, in a way that they would understand.  He moves into their neighbourhood and speaks almost as one of them, only He has a different spin:  that He is the ‘Son of Man’ – the Messiah (see Daniel 7:13-14).  So as I interact with non-Christians I also need to move into their neighbourhood and understand their world view, and then speak from within that in pointing them to Jesus.  Wow.

Lord, give me opportunities to talk about you!!

God bless,

Rev Mark Brown

PS Thanks for your messages of support and care and for your prayers!  I am feeling much better after my low day yesterday.

To subscribe to my blog to receive my reflection for free as an email click here: Subscribe to Journey Deeper Into God’s Word by Email
.

Add to: Facebook | Digg | Del.icio.us | Stumbleupon | Reddit | Blinklist | Twitter | Technorati | Yahoo Buzz | Newsvine

From → Uncategorized

47 Comments
  1. Randall permalink

    Thank you Rev Brown for your insite on the word of GOD and the messages of our Lord Christ Jesus. Your site has brought a felling of hope and excitment to the word
    Thanks again Randall

  2. timothy permalink

    God Bless you, ur doing amazing things. Nomatter what anyone thinks, ur pleasing God. Thats all that matters. Ur touching somany people, u made my day a better day. Ur teaching and healing the spirit of somany, Thank u Rev.

  3. paul cassagnol permalink

    language by being prepared in season and out living in the word…..willing to share what is your hope.No man can be drawn to the father unless the father is exalted.The word boldly states ask the father for the harvest and he will make all the provisions.My favorite is the power does not in talk but demonstration of your faith[what u do…folks are always watching u] Your actions and examples discloses alto about who u are and what u represent.How many times folks tell u i see something in u and what is it about u,what a great opportunity to testify about the light that rules supreme in your life.[Tracks are another way,with verses on them]We must test are faith and be bold sometimes and simply ask what their beliefs are? amen!!! one time i was bold for the world why not be for eternal salvation bondservant10@yahoo.com

  4. Bob Carter permalink

    Brother Brown, your journey into God’s Word each day is a blessing to me and I hope everyone who will take that time will find and share the same experience with others as God presents that moment…and He will!

  5. carol permalink

    When i didn’t know Jesus i felt the same way,,But i now Have a RELATIONSHIP,,,with Jesus! there is a difference between Religion and a Relationship…. i am a baby christain,,, and thank God ,,that He chose me to be in a personial Relationship with Him…People don’t relize How much He loves us !! I love my Lord and thank Him for His Grace and forgivness in my life…Jesus saves!

    • Is our relationship with Jesus Christ real or fake? That is the question! The test is simple. If Christ is in us, we will grow like the seed “sprouting and growing”, completely by ourselves, all the way to fruition and harvest (Marl 4: 26-29). Otherwise, we will fall by the wayside sooner than later. That is why it is very important to test our faith (2 Cor. 13:5-6). PRAISE THE LORD!

  6. Melanie Parks permalink

    Thank you so much for all you do. God is working through you on others without a doubt. I feel very blessed to be able to read what you have to say and I just encourage you to keep pursuing after God and letting the closeness of your relationship with Christ be displayed through your work. God bless you.

    Melanie

  7. carol permalink

    thank you !

  8. i know there are a few people around where i am who went to church where i go and there more then one but i don’t know about them but there one she is back doing the worldly thing now i pray for her i hope you day is a blessed one thank you for your words of help in jesus name cecil and jason the burdette boy’s ps i would like to get emails from you daily thank you love in jesus name cecil

  9. Interesting that you had this discussion today. Not only is your current immersion following very closely to what we are studying in BSF right now (John), but I also just started blogging this week and my first real post kind of went down a path that speaks to the fact that we all need a relationship with Jesus. I wrote this, like you said, in their terms/words, but with His spin. Very interesting how He works! Check it out if/when you get a chance!

  10. Joanne permalink

    thank you, this is truly inspiring .. Godbless

  11. I used to find it difficult to talk to others about God, until I realized that my life spoke so much more than I could ever say.

    • Attention: Kelly

      Talking to others about Jesus Christ will be so much easier if we, ourselves, know and rely exclusively (not on our own lives) but on his LIVE WORKS of authentication based on or around the cause and effect of his perfect death on the cross (John 5:36; 7: 37-39; 8: 21-28; 10: 17-18, 37-38; 12: 20-36; 14: 15-21; 16; 17; 19: 30-37) –“I am Who I Am” or self-sufficient life made known in death! This is what the apostles did with ease and what he expects us to do too. What a difference it will make!

  12. Fred permalink

    Asking a non-christian why he doesn’t go to church is liking asking a thief why he doen’t go to jail. Church is the body of believers. It is not for non-christians. They don’t want to go. You must preach the gospel to them and if the Holy Spirit convicts them of their sin, they will repent and put their trust in Jesus. Then they will want to go to church. AND asking Jesus into your heart is not in the Bible anywhere. Rev 3 is not about Jesus knocking on your hearts door. It’s about Jesus knocking on the door of a church and he commands them to repent. This is not meant to start an argument, but clarification is necessary. Do not change what God’s Word says by intenionally or accidentally using words that don’t really mean what the Bible teaches.

    • Attention: Fred

      PRIMARILY speaking, the Church is not the body of believers but the divine identity of Jesus Christ –“Son of the living God”, i.e., immortal as universally revealed in his perfect and diacritical death on the cross (Matt. 16: 13-28; John 4: 21-26; 8: 21-28; 19: 30-37 just like in the days of the “bush on fire but not burning up”, and the primise thereof Ex. 3: 1-15).

      If so, the question arises whether or not the Church, as Jesus Christ is, i.e., in Spirit and truth, is for Christians only? In the affirmative, the “body of believers” are reduced to making up the institutional churches with no part whatsoever in the real thing!

  13. Thank you Rev. Mark, It is true. We can do is too pray for that person by not being too pushy to them into religion. Just let God do the work in the person’s heart. That’s what I did when I was dating my ex-boyfriend Ryan Kruse who wasn’t a Christian. I have tried everything by being a witness to Ryan to come to know Christ. I gave him a Bible, and invited him to go to church with me, he doesn’t understand it. So that why I have tried to share the love of Jesus with him. But he didn’t want too. So that is why I don’t want to push on someone on religion. But you can always pray for them that God will soften their hearts.

  14. HI this is Tailer wilson and I just wanted to say how much I appreciate reading your Bible messages on facebook they always brighten up my day. I feel like I never have to sit down and read the bible and when I do I dont know when to start so your verses give me some excellent starting points of what to concentrate on thanks again and may God bless your ministry and keep you and yours safe

    Your sister in Christ Tailer Wilson

  15. Patsy Bond permalink

    The power that a saved person posses, is unimaginable. We can do so much. May I suggest jail ministry. After a couple hours inside, ya always come out singing. Makes a soul happy to know, that you know, where to look for the answer to any earthly problem you have. It is a great place to start if you want to see how the the other side lives. When you see there hearts open, and sparkle in there eyes, you know that you have just witnessed the Lord taken up a new residence. What day did that happen on? The Lords day of course. I do belive that when we come to know Christ as our personal Lord and Savior, it can be any day of the week, any hour of the night. As Jesus said, “It is better to save a life, than destroy it”. I love God with all my heart and soul, I would give everything away to be with him. I would do anything to please him. And yet, I still fall short. I am a sinner saved by grace. Thankyou Lord. I love and praise you God.

  16. Beth permalink

    Thaks Rev. Mark for posting these reflections. It is truely by the power of GOD that we are able to see and hear GOD’S word through you. MAY GOD bless you all.

  17. Carly Cauthen permalink

    God Bless You! Keep on spreading the gospel to as many as possible! 🙂

  18. Cambry permalink

    Your stories are so good for me! I love knowing that their are people in this world that actually take time to teach others about Christ!!!! Thank you.. im just a teenager and I need christianity support like everyone else!! Thanks 🙂

  19. dorthy porter permalink

    First we ask the Holy Spirit to lead us.What ever comes out of our mouth we must be able to back it up with the Bible.Sometimes the truth is painful for people.The truth must be told.Our conduct must always reflect Jesus.Our walk must be Christ like.We must be as bold as a lion still as gentle as a dove.In church services we must always let the Holy Spirit lead.People do not need religion they need relationship with Jesus.We are soldiers of the cross,there is no cost to great to reach the world for Jesus.He died for us we must be willing to die for him , lay down our lifes for each other.We do not judge others ,we just offer Gods salvation plan.

  20. I realized awhile back that some of the weeds (tares) that Jesus was talking about are in the church. (It helps me to know that.) People who grew up in church or were invited and stayed but never really gave their lives to God. So while it’s imperative that we share Jesus with others, they aren’t really ready to be a part of the true church until they are regenerated.

    Thanks for sticking with the Facebook page!

  21. Juanita permalink

    It was interesting to me to read that we should go into the world to meet the sinner. I believe that we must go and seek them, because they won”t come to church without a personal experience with the Lord. I have often became under condemnation for being in places where people that were Christians were not at. Now I feel I can go anywhere as long as I am putting God first in my life.

  22. Juanita permalink

    Comment to Fred. In reading Rev.3 you might notice that God is not speaking to the Ladiocian Church . He say to the church of the Ladiocians, the peoples church. These are people of today who worship there self’s. They think they have know-needs, but they are naked,blind poor and etc.

  23. Lydia Reyes permalink

    Heavenly Father, I ask you to anoint us with the gifts of your Holy Spirit. That we may all have the boldness to speak your word to those who are in need to know you as Lord and Savior of the world. I thank you for all these people that are seeking for knowlegde and wisdom in this site. I can imagine how please you are with us. Please continue to guide us ,that we may be a light in this world,to those who are still lost in the darkness. May you shine your light upon us,that we may be a relection of your son , JESUS. I love you Lord. Amen There are so many different denomination of christian churches to go, but if you just visit the church without having a true relationship with Jesus you will be missing the point. God is calling us to be the church of christ. WE THE PEOPLE not the building.

  24. I love this site.and I pray that you well always be there to spread the good news
    of our Savior Jesus Christ.Jesus is in my heart and soul.I am a sinner.But Jesus died on the cross for my sins.My lord is in heaven on the right side of his Father
    God.I try so hard to do good and sometimes it back fires,but I’m still beleive that my Savior Jesus Christ is in charged and things well work out.Praises to my Lord Jesus Christ.Amen

  25. Sam Assefa permalink

    Thanks Rev, Mark for this. I haven’t been reading your insights for weeks now and I feel really bad and lost in touch with Jesus and this is just an awakening and I don’t want to turn to God only when I feel like I need his help because I know all the course of my day was planned by him and I am safe till now because he has guided me through the safe way, My light and Messiah is always with me. God bless.

  26. joshua permalink

    wow! this is really good…thanks for letting God use you! And i pray He helps us all open up to Him so that His plan and kingdom and will can be manifest in us, his arms and legs, hands and feet, eyes and ears…we’re part of the body of Christ!

  27. Thank you for you words of encouragement and your honesty, like yesterdays Word. It really helps to see that other Christians out there have bad days too! Keep up your hard work for Him!
    Blessings,
    Kim

  28. Roseann Schiavone-Tauriello permalink

    Thank you Rev. Mark for sharing all your reflections and faith with us. When I turn on the computer, the first thing I check for is your writing to start my day after my prayers. It is a wonderful way to begin the day! Thank you Rev. Mark!!! Keep the Faith and Share the Faith!!! Remember, you are the salt of the earth! Also, “You don’t keep the light under a bushel . . . but you keep it out so that all might see.” Thanks again. May God Bless You and Keep you in the palm of His Hand.

  29. Sandy permalink

    thank you so much Rev. Brown.. I really needed to read that since I’m in a foreign country now, where no one knows nothing about Jesus.. I always wonder how can I talk about Jesus to people who never heard about Him!!! who live in a corrupted world!!! how can I show them Jesus heart?? and everytime things seem hard for me, Jesus interfers and shows me that He is still moving and working in ways I sometimes can’t understand but He is there, He still cares and He always will!!! I’m really BLESSED that I know Jesus 🙂

  30. Susanna Liew permalink

    Thank you Rev. for pointing out the issue of making time for God.
    We have prayer meeting every Wednesday night and Home fellowship meeting on Friday night. I will not have other things on these nights unless unavoidable so I can spend time with God’s people to pray and have fellowship to encourage one another which I think is very important besides our quiet time with God.
    I believe as Rev mark put it that we need to have a personal relationship with God. Once we experience that close relationship with Him, we want to spend time with Him and to learn more about Him so we can be more like Him. Let the love of God be with us all.

  31. JECH permalink

    It is true that not everybody wants to have a personal relationship to God… and God only reveals Himself to those who are child-like in nature…I’m a baby christian and knowing God is one of the most delightful experiences I truly cherish.

  32. Thank you pastor, every follower of jesus should understand that giving there heart is more important and primary thing then following traditionally.

  33. Amen! That is the TRUE meaning when Paul says I become all things to all men that by all means I save some! Many people try to take it as an opportunity to sin with the sheep that are still lost. But in reality, it really means to do as Jesus did and bring yourself down to the level of ANY and ALL that you can bring them back up with you to Christ our Lord and Savior who loves us with His all.

    19 For though I am free from all men, I have made myself a servant to all, that I might win the more; 20 and to the Jews I became as a Jew, that I might win Jews; to those who are under the law, as under the law,[c] that I might win those who are under the law; 21 to those who are without law, as without law (not being without law toward God,[d] but under law toward Christ[e]), that I might win those who are without law; 22 to the weak I became as[f] weak, that I might win the weak. I have become all things to all men, that I might by all means save some. 23 Now this I do for the gospel’s sake, that I may be partaker of it with you.

    Thank you Rev Brown!

  34. MARILYNN permalink

    Thank You Jesus for the boldness of your spirit for allowing REV.. BROWN to push the word on the web. Now I would love for you to encourage the sinners in a relationship with the Christ but don’t push them into going into a building, first off remember people, who the church is and that is Us! WE! are the church and when WE, who are called by his name repent and ask for his forgiveness then we become his and he ours we are the church which is why we are called to live a HOLY life and he is not coming back for a building but for a people who is spotless, not even a wrinkle you know we must be clean, just focus on getting them to the Christ and then when they are forgiventhey will go to the temple willingly because when he hits u in the right place (HEART) you will go automatic and respond to the building. AMEN & AMEN
    The church is a mess in these days as well LET US PRAY FOR THE PULPITS ACROSS OUR LAND OF AMERICA AND THIER CONGREGATIONS. PRAY THAT A CHANGE TAKES PLACE AND THAT JESUS IS TRULY THE LORD OF THE HOUSE AND REPENTENCE IS CRUCIAL AND A MUCH NEEDED ITEM IN ALL OF THE TEMPLES SO THAT A SINNER WANTS TO GO IN AND ASSEMBLE HIM/HER SELF WITH THEM WE HAVE TOO MUCH BACKBITING, JEALOUSY, ENVIOUSNESS, AND FOOLISHNESS GOING IN HIS HOUSE TOO MUCH COVETNESS. TOO MANY CHIEFS AND NOT ENOUGH INDIANS. I PERSONALLY DON’T PUSH FOLKS INTO A CHURCH BUILDING INSTEAD I JUST POINT THEM TO JESUS. REMEMBER SAINTS MANY R CALLED BUT FEW R CHOSEN, I KEEP ASKING MYSELF R U A CHOSEN ONE AND THAT IS ALL I WANT TO BE KNOWN AS NOT AS A GREAT CHURCH OFFICE HOLDING MEMBER BUT AS A CHOSEN WOMAN OF GOD.AMEN AND BE BLESSED.
    EVANGELIST MARILYNN SMITH MARTIN

  35. Kevin J McPherson permalink

    I’m new to your blog, and am enjoying your insights into God’s Holy Word. You challenge me to share Christ and His truths, rather than just learn them, and keep them to myself. I decided some years ago to be a doer of the Word, and can always use practical advice on exactly how to do that. Thank you for your ministry! May God richly bless you, and your service!
    Kevin J McPherson

  36. Stephanie Boyles permalink

    Thanks for all your bold work in Christ and sharing God’s Word, Mark!:)
    I keep praying for my loved ones and friends to have a softened heart and a personal encounter with Jesus Christ, then they will make changes and adjustments to make sure they are fed, to meet with other Christians and worship as part of a church community.
    The only problem is that I am sometimes impatient and “would like to see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living” AS SOON AS POSSIBLE (Psalm 27:13) 🙂

    • jennifer permalink

      I feel the same way about God’s word. I am impatient too when it comes to witnessing, but the Lord says, not by might, not by power, but by my Spirit and I slow down….

  37. The way Jesus Christ wants his followers talk about him to others is so simple and so different that it leaves one questioning whether Christians today are really following his gospel or another! As anyone can see below, Jesus addressed this question in his very first lesson (John 1: 35-51) which turns to be both the Introduction to and Summary of the whole gospel. To its loss, Christianity has introduced radical changes!

    After hearing John’s testimony (“There is the Lamb of God”), Andrew had to see for himself “where Jesus lived” (special meaning) and to spend time with Jesus before he could reclassify Jesus’ title from “Rabbi”, i.e., Teacher to “Messiah”, i.e., Christ before he was sure enough to witness to his brother (Simon Peter) destined to be renowned.

    Secondly, Philip had first to follow Jesus and satisfy himself how anyone from Nazareth could be the long promised Messiah before he could become a solid witness to another friend.

    Thirdly, Nathanael found to his surprise (and much more to ours) two things, viz.: that nothing about him was private and secret to the all-seeing eyes of Jesus Christ; and, more importantly, not hearsay evidence (even Jesus’), but only evidence of firsthand vision of Jesus’ divine identity and authority serves as valid and reliable basis for faith and witness (verse 51).
    Developed step-by-step in the gospel of John (2: 19; 3: 1-21; 7: 37-39; 8: 21-28; 10: 17-18, 37-38; 12: 20-36; 14; 16; 17) and fulfilled at the perfect and diacritical death of Jesus on the cross, according to the Scriptures (19:30-37; 20: 8-9), this is what breaking the Good News from the glorious and blessed God, i.e., Jesus Christ, is all about! This is also how the apostles talked to people about Jesus (Acts 2).

    The question is, therefore, “Are we bearers or enemies of the cross of Christ?” in how we talk to people about Jesus!

  38. If find it only takes a person willing to be one beggar telling another beggar where to find bread, understanding the gospel to simply be repentance of sins and trust placed in Jesus Christ alone for salvation.

    Thank you, Jesus!

  39. Neil permalink

    Thank you Rev. Mark…you have truly inspired me everyday with God’s Word, and i am always looking forward to the next one…I am all the way from the Caribbean, and it’s amazing how God can touch us all wherever we are in teh world…Please pray with me that I continue to live for Him only, and that He will use me to minister His Word to my unsaved family and friends (and not be scared or shy to do it :-)…Be blessed!!!

  40. Kelly Z. permalink

    Thanks for sharing Mark, Larry’s comment brought anothers comment to my memory. .
    They’er Brothers and Sisters all around us who just don’t know it yet, because they haven’t yet heard.

  41. I need oportunity too. I`m a bit scared `cause I tried to talk about Lord to one man, but it wasn`t good. I`m telling my friends things about God, but I must say that it`s been a while…

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. How do we talk to people about Jesus? Luke 6:1-11 « Journey Deeper … |

Leave a Reply

