Skip to content

Being a Tired Christian – Luke 5:33-39

November 12, 2009

Luke 5:33-39 :They said to him, “John’s disciples often fast and pray, and so do the disciples of the Pharisees, but yours go on eating and drinking.” Jesus answered, “Can you make the guests of the bridegroom fast while he is with them? But the time will come when the bridegroom will be taken from them; in those days they will fast.” He told them this parable: “No one tears a patch from a new garment and sews it on an old one. If he does, he will have torn the new garment, and the patch from the new will not match the old. And no one pours new wine into old wineskins. If he does, the new wine will burst the skins, the wine will run out and the wineskins will be ruined. No, new wine must be poured into new wineskins. And no one after drinking old wine wants the new, for he says, ‘The old is better.’ “

The Pharisees and teachers of the law who are questioning Jesus here, were full on and committed.  They saw the world in terms of rules and regulations, things that must be done and done well.  And they worked hard at maintaining those rules.  Whereas Jesus brought a new reality, a new authority, He introduced a new approach.

But key to this is that Jesus doesn’t say the old rules are wrong but that they have a time and a place alongside the new reality.  In reference to fasting Jesus says, ‘But the time will come when the bridegroom will be taken from them; in those days they will fast.’  So Jesus is saying that the disciples are observing the new reality of a personal relationship with Jesus, but one day they will fast.  This new reality that Jesus brings is a deep and personal relationship with God, that through Christ’s death on the cross we are able to come into the presence of God, to experience the Holy Spirit’s power.

Most days I feel this wonderful reality!  The Holy Spirit is with me, gently guiding and challenging, the ability to be forgiven gratefully received, the peace and assurance of being in God’s presence a reality!  And then I have a day like today.

I suspect I have some sort of virus as I feel drained and quite tired, unmotivated, low energy.  And this is when routine and rules are really important for me.  I make the decision to spend time immersed in the Word and to pray even though I don’t feel up to it.    There are times when the old way of rules is good, and today is one of them!

God I praise you for this amazing passage and for your awesome comfort and direction in the midst of a low day.

God bless,

Rev Mark Brown

To subscribe to my blog to receive my reflection for free as an email click here: Subscribe to Journey Deeper Into God’s Word by Email

 

From → Uncategorized

47 Comments
  1. Amber permalink

    There are too many people who do not trust in the Lord. You are not one of them. You are the best thing that could have happened to me and my new start with God and Jesus.

    • Karissa permalink

      Im a new Christian. i really dont know much i was not raised in church and wwould love to know alot more about God! i wanna be a better person in life and make it to heaven!
      Karissa

      • Zandra permalink

        If you keep that desire to know Him, you will be just fine. For he says, “Seek ye first, the Kingdom of God….”. Continue to seek God and all of His glory. Be encouraged, In Jesus’ name.

      • Welcome to the family of Christ!

      • Kathy permalink

        Karissa,PRAISE God You ARE SAVED. Jesus is suffient and will give you understanding as you seek Him.Read the Word.AND STUDY IT AS YOU PRAY .I willl be praying for you too..

      • Pat permalink

        The most important thing you can do as a new Christian is read the Bible, God’s Word. Before you begin to read each day, pray to God and ask Him to give you wisdom and discernment and to reveal the meaning of the Scriptures. The Word of God (the Bible) is living and active and each time you read the Scriptures again, God will reveal something new to you from the same passage.

        I try to read through the Bible once a year. It is amazing what I learn new each time. It is like you are going down a passage way and each time you enter, God unlocks another door and you go deeper and deeper into the meaning of His Word. As you go deeper and deeper, you begin to know God more and more intimately and His love grows in you until you are able to see all people the way that God sees them. It changes you from within and others will begin to see Christ through you.

      • Evangelist Terra permalink

        God bless you my sister. Since you are a born again Christian, you are guaranteed a spot in heaven. Jesus does not want anyone to strive to become better in their own efforts. He wants us to rest in Him and He will help us to become better. He wants for His life to be lived through us as we die to self.

  2. 5Is it such a fast that I have chosen? a day for a man to afflict his soul? is it to bow down his head as a bulrush, and to spread sackcloth and ashes under him? wilt thou call this a fast, and an acceptable day to the LORD?

    6Is not this the fast that I have chosen? to loose the bands of wickedness, to undo the heavy burdens, and to let the oppressed go free, and that ye break every yoke?

    7Is it not to deal thy bread to the hungry, and that thou bring the poor that are cast out to thy house? when thou seest the naked, that thou cover him; and that thou hide not thyself from thine own flesh?

    8Then shall thy light break forth as the morning, and thine health shall spring forth speedily: and thy righteousness shall go before thee; the glory of the LORD shall be thy reward.

    9Then shalt thou call, and the LORD shall answer; thou shalt cry, and he shall say, Here I am. If thou take away from the midst of thee the yoke, the putting forth of the finger, and speaking vanity;

    10And if thou draw out thy soul to the hungry, and satisfy the afflicted soul; then shall thy light rise in obscurity, and thy darkness be as the noon day:

    11And the LORD shall guide thee continually, and satisfy thy soul in drought, and make fat thy bones: and thou shalt be like a watered garden, and like a spring of water, whose waters fail not.

    12And they that shall be of thee shall build the old waste places: thou shalt raise up the foundations of many generations; and thou shalt be called, The repairer of the breach, The restorer of paths to dwell in.

    • You hit the nail right square on the head with thiese verses from Isaiah 58, for when we give of ourselves and/or our resources to help our fellow man, we ARE fasting (giving up something) and the Lord himself says this type of fast comes with His blessings. How can we go wrong?

  3. Hi mark, so nice to have you back.Hope you enjoyed your time while away.we need you. God bless you.

  4. Patti Gillespie permalink

    Just a note to say that I’m glad to have happened into this site.
    Feel Better, in Jesus’ name
    Sister in God<3

  5. paul cassagnol permalink

    Amazingly their are times when u know without a shadow of doubt..that the unction of the holy spirit has been quicken within ouselves.Than their are those moments when it feels as though our Lord is no where to be found.Although we know feelings are one of the best ways to be manipulated by Satan but we are assured by our father that he is ever -presant no matter what we feel or what it looks like.We all have are highs and lows throughout life.Fasting comes in the way of what am i willing to give up [tv.cell phone ,good times or things we love]and not necssarily given for-ever.We have herd of the case where our father said in order for u to heal in this case u must fast and pray.Anytime u are willing to surrender self in order for the presence of the holy spirit to increase upon u ….it is a good thing….. when we do fast keep it between u and YESHUA…..u dont have to announce it to the world,what is done in secert he will reward u in open.thank u …..please walk and stay in your blessing amen!!! bondservant10@yahoo.com

  6. paul cassagnol permalink

    Today was a wirlwind of the holy spirit presence but that doesn’t mean when things die down he it is not their.I would like to share when ever you fast[surrender what you would like to do —for what GOD wants you to do] that will help his presence increase termendously.Thank you and stay in your blessings amen!!!
    bondservant10@yahoo.com

  7. Ana Arreol permalink

    Words cannot describe how much I needed this. Thank you.

  8. Today, I was kind of having one of my doubts thinking about my friend Mr. Merkle for couple of weeks and I was hoping and thinking after what I had did to him after the letter incident. I wish he could forgive me for all the things that I did wrong. I wish he could apologize to me about the way he treated me. And I need to forgive him too. But I am trying to be a good Christian by keeping a good smile on my face and not thinking about my friend that much. And but I am always tired all the time but GOD gives me the strength to carry on.

    • Susanna Liew permalink

      Thank you Justine for sharing and taking steps to forgive others that may have hurt you. The wound may not go away instantly but it will over time as we continue to trust in Him to work it out. God wants us to be kind and forgiving so He can work in us and through us.
      “Bear with each other and forgive whatever grievances you may have against on another. Forgive as the Lord forgave us.” Colossians 4:15
      Pray that God continues to shower you with His love. God bless you!

  9. Desie Poston permalink

    i have so many problems with the down thinking I am not doing enough for the Lord. I push, and so many times cannot understand what he wants me to do.
    A month ago I was doing so well with my fasting, now just not too moved.Does that mean it is not the time?
    I read my bible, everyday, and when I miss my day is really yucky! I learned this before I got saved, and was amazed at how good I felt when I read something for that day.
    MMmm by garage sale bible, bought after Katrina, while rewinding my life into God’s plan for me.
    Amen, pastor
    We really need to hear this, those of us, who feel lost and unloved, and cannot find him in a day.
    thanks
    desie

    • Hi, Desie,

      I hope I can encourage you to realize to that God does not love you based on what you do or don’t do. He loves you because you have accepted His Son as your Lord and Savior. The definition I like best for love (agape in the Greek) is this: love that is divine, self-sacrificial, holds me in high regard, considers me precious and has value for me. This is the way God and Jesus look at you ALL the time – it NEVER changes. John 3:16 tells us “that God so loved the world that He gave His only Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have EVERLASTING (eternal) life”. And John 17:3 says that THIS is everlasting (eternal) life ‘”that they may KNOW you, the only true God, and Jesus Christ whom you have sent”. The word “know” here means to know someone in the way Abraham “knew” Sarah and conceived a child – the most intimate relationship two people can have. This is the whole reason God saved us – to have a close, personal, intimate relationship with Him. Of course He wants us to do things for His Kingdom, but the “doing” comes out of the love relationship, not the other way around. Be encourage in His love for you, feast on it, dwell in it, and let the Holy Spirit tell you how precious you are. Then the “doing” will come out of a heart of love for Him! God bless you!!!

  10. dorthy porter permalink

    According to the old covenent the rules on fasting were very strict.Pharisees were about rules and Judaism beliefs.Here is why they despised Jesus.Jesus is concerned about what God thinks.Jesus has come to replace there Judaism with the Gospel truth.If the truth does not line up with what people believe today ,people still hate the truth.Satan had blinders on the Pharisees of that time as he has blinders on false religions of today.We do not live by mans tradition and rules.When this world thinks that there is any way to heaven or forgiveness of sin except Jesus they are wrong.It is nothing we do except ask Jesus into our hearts.Jesus is the narrow door into heaven.God has seated Jesus on the Mercy seat .One must go to Jesus to get to the Heavenly Father.The Pharisees new what the old testement or scrolls said about a Messiah coming they did not belive it had happened.Alot of people have heard that Jesus is coming again but they do not believe it could happen today that he Jesus is Coming back .We each need to take the knowledge we have of the Gospel of Jesus to the world.

  11. Crystal permalink

    Jesus IS God!!!

  12. Carlene permalink

    So glad I checked into this site. Thanks for all the good Bible reading.

  13. Beth permalink

    Thank you LORD for allowing this good man to post theses scripture readings so that we may be able to understand your word. In JESUS Christ’s Name, Amen.

  14. I am so glad that a friend send this to me. I have being feeling the need to get close to GOD again. My life is so crazy and so face moving. I need to slow down and try to hear what GOD is trying to tell me. I feel like he is trying to tell me something. I feel you can help me with this. Thank God for you and my new friend.

  15. Shantell permalink

    thank you sooooooo much for this. Jus today i wuz reading this passage and wondered what the whole old and new wine skins part meant. n so after i prayed to God to reveal this to me for i kept seeing it in the different gospels and jus didnt noe if it was connected to the fasting thing or a whole new point. so thank you so much, for through you God spoke to me so i thank you for allowing him to use you. Also im jus hoping if you could please email me and clarify the last sentence “and no one…”. Thank you. And remember by Jesus’ stripes, you’re healed delivered and made whole. God Bless.

  16. Shantell permalink

    btw the email addy is syp_shanz@yahoo.com. thnx 🙂

  17. Leon permalink

    Thank you for this great message!

  18. Jane Mbendo permalink

    I am blessed by this teaching.

  19. Lydia Reyes permalink

    Mark,I hope your are feeling better. Like you, there are times in my life that I go thru, when I don’t have so much desire to get into the word or pray but I have learned that when those times come at me, That’s when I push myself to do it. I realize then, that God is only waiting for me to surrender to him and he gets me thru. Without him I am nothing. My life, strength and hope are in Him. By continuing to Pray, read the scriptures and fellowship with other who are believers I stay in tune with God. Thank you for being part of my growth with God

  20. Every morning is like a renewal to me to receive enough energy from the Lord to get me through that day. Many times I go through low energy or down times in most days, but through His power and Spirit, I have the ability to see it through to the end – and into the night.

    We are not promised a “rose garden” in this life, but through His Spirit and the Covenant of Grace, we are given a way out that is beyond all measure as we face the same old problems in our sinful life with a renewed spirit in Christ.

    Lay it all at the foot of the Cross and Christ will deliver you and solutions will find a way from a biblical perspective.

  21. Charmine permalink

    Thank you for sharing that awesome revelation from GOD, to GOD be glory for what he is doing through your ministry. Keep pressing and praising! In Jesus Name.

  22. I will pray for you and how tired you are tomarrow is soon to come and i am sure you will openly recieve the holy peace soon you will do/be great every time you feel kind of really tired think of how the disciples felt and how they kept strong, Jesus sometimes things like this happen for a reason me I get tired too

  23. Remember Jesus was born into being a man he was really tired at one time or another awell he is so awesome

  24. Thanks for this comment. I have also experienced that this tiring moment is the most dangerous because the Devil seems to fill it up with evil thoughts, idle thinking and drifting into enmity with God. The cure as you rightly observed is to push harder, read the word more and, I must add, PRAISE more. Thanks for this article.

  25. God bless you for this post

  26. Janie permalink

    Interesting how God sees when you need something, He supplies it. I was just having this converstion about being tired and dried up with some friends. God is so good that even when we don’t (fast, read strickly from a paper Bible), He does answer. He used you, Mark, to reaffirm and wake me up to the fact that I have been trying to do just that, put new wine into an old wineskin, patch an old garment with a new garment. I need to go back and see the ways that worked in my life to make me whole and alive to Him, and not worry about someone else’s rules. Thanks for letting Him use you even when you don’t FEEL like it. Be Blessed!

  27. Caroline permalink

    I pray you will not be sick and just need rest.God shine on Pastor Brown!

  28. amanda permalink

    HELLO BROTHERS AND SISTERS IN CHRIST!
    HAVE A BLESSED DAY!

    LOVE IN CHRIST JESUS
    AMANDA

  29. Shirley permalink

    This is a great site, I appreciate all you are doing, todays reading was wonderful

  30. Pat Leuschen permalink

    I nedd God bak into my life how do I do that my faith is not good my life is a mess and I feel like God has left me . I need help please help me get God back into my life

  31. timothy permalink

    Thank you, thank you all who took the time 2 write something. I’m having troubles and sometimes it’s just overwhelming. By u taking the time and writing u are helping alot. I more than appreciate it, all of u. I endure everything that comes my way, but I’m only flesh and blood. God is disciplining me, teaching me and building me stronger everyday. Today I woke up 2 a phone call, went out and tried 2 handle things. When I returned I brokedown into tears, life is so hard at times. At this point in my life I’m down but like the poem “footprints” he’s carrying me. A better day is 2 come. Right now just blessed 2 have him, the only one 2 lean on. Right now it seems he’s the only one thats here unconditionally. I’m thankfull 4 that and thankful for reading all ya’ll encouraging, loving and spiritual thoughts. God works through his people. I love ya’ll.

  32. Pat,you just need to call upon the Lord while he is near,and seek him,repent,and ask him to forgive you for your sins,and ask him to come into your life,he is waiting for you to take the first step then he will do the rest,God is always waiting for us to surrender our whole heart to him,God bless.

  33. We need one another in the body of Christ. We need (notice I did not say want) to encourage and build one another up. Too many are tearing one another down with Words, jockeying for position, and self-seeking desires. My Bible says to “Encourage one another with these Words, and all the more as you see that day approaching.” I can see it, how about you? We need the Word of God, but we also need to remember that we are the only Jesus some will ever see.

  34. Patsy Bond permalink

    I am so grateful to be able to go online and read Gods word. Left to my own devices, I would of not have read any scripture tonight. I keep myself so busy. Thankyou Lord for Jouurneydeeperin2yourword………

  35. paul cassagnol permalink

    bondservant10@yahoo.com please pray that my family comes together and that the lord bless me with gainful employment..thank you!!!

  36. Shelby permalink

    This passage is very inspring and i am thankful that i get to read these everyday..It helps to remid me that God only wants what is best for us and that we should always trust in him no matter what happens. Even when i have to go through times of losing someone or even just the feeling of it, I keep telling myself everything is going to be okay.

Leave a Reply

