Skip to content

Luke 5:12-16

November 9, 2009

Luke 5:12-16: While Jesus was in one of the towns, a man came along who was covered with leprosy. When he saw Jesus, he fell with his face to the ground and begged him, “Lord, if you are willing, you can make me clean.”  Jesus reached out his hand and touched the man. “I am willing,” he said. “Be clean!” And immediately the leprosy left him.  Then Jesus ordered him, “Don’t tell anyone, but go, show yourself to the priest and offer the sacrifices that Moses commanded for your cleansing, as a testimony to them.”  Yet the news about him spread all the more, so that crowds of people came to hear him and to be healed of their sicknesses. But Jesus often withdrew to lonely places and prayed.

Yesterday I participated in a time of global unified prayer, where many thousands of people from around the world came together on the Bible page on Facebook and prayed for our nations and for the world that they might know Christ.  It was a deeply moving experience knowing that so many were praying at the same time!   I spent the time slowly walk around my house, initially praying, ‘Come Holy Spirit’.

My time of prayer was very powerful, God gave me several statements that became the focus of my prayer:

‘As a nation, 1 by 1 we need to confess our sins and seek a pure life.’

‘You are my God and I will worship you with all my heart!’

‘Lord I humble myself, I turn from my wicked ways, I yearn to be in your presence Lord!’

And these prayers connect with the reading today!  When Jesus healed the leper the greek word for ‘clean’ is Katharisai which literally means to be cleansed from sin, to be purified, to be free from the influence of sin.  And a key part of my prayer time yesterday was exactly this, that in seeking after Jesus I am washed clean.  Sin no longer has any influence on me!

Over my holiday these past two weeks I have become more and more convinced of the need to be in the presence of God.  And the Bible is clear, this is only possible when I am pure of heart.   So I immerse myself in the Word of God, I pray often, I seek Katharisai (being cleansed from sin) and I open myself to the leading of the Holy Spirit.  And these are very simple activities.

In the midst of my complex life, that which is most important is actually very simple: being in the presence of God.  But to make this happen, like Jesus, I need to ‘withdraw to a lonely place.’ Not necessarily somewhere out in the wilderness, but to find a quiet, private place to immerse myself in the Bible, to pray and to deal with my sin.

And the effect this has on me is well expressed in my final prayer yesterday:  ‘Lord I want to radiate with your Love!!!!’

Praise God!

God bless ya,

Rev Mark Brown

To subscribe to my blog to receive my reflection for free as an email click here: Subscribe to Journey Deeper Into God’s Word by Email

From → Uncategorized

44 Comments
  1. Linda permalink

    That is exactly what I needed today. I’m going through so much, but I realize I am not praying enough. I am so glad that someone thought to create this page. God Bless

  2. I totally agree with that whole statement . How can we all be completely full of the blessings of God in all our areas . If we are not totally rid of making wrong choices .

    • It is not a sin to be tempted, Jesus was tempted. The sin part comes in when we submit to that sin and do it.

      Right and wrong choices are going to be with us all of our lives whether we are Christian or not. With Christ in our hearts and his Word in our minds meditating on it day and night, we have the power of His Spirit to guide us through even the roughest of days.

      Psalm 1:1-3 – “1: Blessed is the man that walketh not in the counsel of the ungodly, nor standeth in the way of sinners, nor sitteth in the seat of the scornful.
      2: But his delight is in the law of the LORD; and in his law doth he meditate day and night.
      3: And he shall be like a tree planted by the rivers of water, that bringeth forth his fruit in his season; his leaf also shall not wither; and whatsoever he doeth shall prosper.”

  3. Beth permalink

    I totally agree with you. I think also when Jesus tells the man to go and tell no one it is also symbolic of how our lives are, when JESUS cleanses us. We don’t need to tell people, although testimony is important, but because we have allowed Him into those places in our heart, we are changed and no words need to be spoken because it is evident in the way we live our lives. We are changed, because of the power and strenth of His Word, His love. It is amazing to see in others, and so powerful to experience as a believer. To God be the glory, To God be the Glory!

  4. I Praise God ! for giving you this ministry. I have been a prayer warrior for years. And I know the power of prayer. It has brought me out of sin ! and into the presence of GOD! not only me but GOD has also brought my children and grandchildren out also. Because of HIS GRACE & MERCY ! I have been kept to see HIS WORD in action in all of our lives.I pray each day ,and I read the BIBLE to gain GODLY WISDOM! I also pray for our President amd all of those in authority over us. Pray for those in the Military who are sacrificeing their lives for our freedom ! THANK You again ! May you and all of my FACEBOOK FAMILY ! BE BLESSED !And stay in the HOLY SPIRIT ! not in the flesh !

  5. amanda permalink

    Thank you!!! I totally needed that, it was exactly what i have been praying about!!!

  6. i too try to immerse myself in his presence daily,he too is my healer of all sin and i have no sin in me because i belong to him but i truly find myself asking him to make me pure and allow his grace to subside in me so that i to may walk in mercy,compassion and most of all knowing that he truly is cleansing me daily.i bow my life to him so i may prosper in the spirit.he is my only true love.amen and shelom to all

  7. caroline permalink

    I am so thankful for your ministry…This is truly what I have been searching for.

    I give my life to the Lord and pray daily but still feel myself sliding and needing him more and more…please say a prayer for me.

  8. To go on further in what I mentioned to Maria, we can continue the rest of Psalm 1 and know that there is hope in our life with Christ.

    Psalm 1:4-6 – “4: The ungodly are not so: but are like the chaff which the wind driveth away.
    5: Therefore the ungodly shall not stand in the judgment, nor sinners in the congregation of the righteous.
    6: For the LORD knoweth the way of the righteous: but the way of the ungodly shall perish.”

  9. Amen! Just beautiful! Our God is such an awesome God!

  10. David U. permalink

    we give God all the praises for he is the creator of all things.we also thank him for the protections to our lives and to the whole nations.this is my first time coming across this site.thank u people for making this known to the public..God bless

  11. Beth permalink

    Thank you for posting these teachings! They really help me understand GOD’S word more. We have temptaion and sin everyday of our lives but we can not grow and become better without GOD’S power. For it is GOD who gives us the strength and inspirtation to live each day of our lives in his name. Amen.

  12. Susanna Liew permalink

    Create in me a clean heart Lord that I may worship Him in truth and in spirit. Thank you for His word that constantly reminds me of my walk with Him. I promise myself to immerse in His word everyday and to seek Him and to know His will for me.
    Things of the past kept flashing back this past one week and my heart was saddened when emotion takes over. Yet I rejoice in the Lord and I pray that the Spirit of the Lord will sustain me and guide me through . I just want to praise Him and to walk closer with Him.
    Yesterday’s church service reminded us of those Christians under persecution world wide and to pray for them. That prompted me to think and really seek Him and this verse below reminds me:
    ‘What does the Lord requires of you? To act justly and to love mercy and to work humbly with your God.” Micah 6:8
    I thank God for His grace and mercy and I will walk with Him for the rest of my life and rejoice in His presence and let His Glory shines!

  13. Lydia Reyes permalink

    I’m also in agreement with you. I’ve learned that the most effective times in my life is when I spend quiet time with Jesus. In prayer and in his word I feel his presence. Some of the time I don’t even say a word and still I know he is with me. With so many things that are going on in this world, we are foolish not to fall in the arms of Jesus. As Jesus withdrew to a deserted place to pray to the Father, we also should take the time to withdraw from all the things that keep us so busy. Come to ABBA and spend time with him, Asking for the help that only he can give and believe it , For there is nothing too difficult for him. God Bless you, Mark , for believing and trusting and teaching the way to God.

    • AMEN! When I am alone with God in my quiet time, I feel strong, even though I am weak. Trusting in Him with it all!

      Psalm 91:2 – “2: I will say of the LORD, He is my refuge and my fortress: my God; in him will I trust.”

  14. Estelle Warren permalink

    Just wanted to say, your comments were very meaningful, showing a deep desire to have an even closer relationship with our Lord. He knows your heart…..He tells us in…..

    John 15:1-4:
    15:1 I am the true vine, and my Father is the husbandman.
    15:2 Every branch in me that beareth not fruit he taketh away: and
    every branch that beareth fruit, he purgeth it, that it may bring
    forth more fruit.
    15:3 Now ye are clean through the word which I have spoken unto
    you.
    15:4 Abide in me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit of
    itself, except it abide in the vine; no more can ye, except ye abide
    in me.

    (With the Lord abiding in you, and the word has made you clean, with the living Spirit of God in you, as promised above, you WILL surely radiate with his love. May God bless your continued efforts, letting him use you as a vessel to seek out all that will accept him, bringing Glory to His name, with you doing the Will of the Father. We are to go and tell and he assures us that He will be with us always.)

  15. april permalink

    thank you for spreading the word of christ it means so much to me.

  16. hello, I am wondering ” I am saved and I believe nothing can take that away from me.” Yet in different church’s around here they preach if you sin you are going to hell. I feel that Jesus knew we were going to go through things and that is why he sits at the right hand of the Father praying for us. So I guess what I am asking is if a person is saved and they back slide so to speak and something happens to them are they going to hell? Can you explain this to me?

  17. hi my name is Suzanne. am saved and worship our lord every day.
    i lead a small bible group every week. i left my church of 8 years
    and i fell God lead me to do this group. and i know he has
    other journeys for me. and you, bless your journey and your
    work for our lord and Jesus Christ.
    thank you for what you are doing it is God sent and may God truly bless you.
    thanks and God bless you . i love reading all your post on face book..
    Suzanne in va

  18. Naomi Jones permalink

    I agree, alone time with God is essential to our Love Walk and personal relationship with Him. I have found that Praying in the Spirit, or in tongues, has worked the best. I have seen Wonderful things happen for me and those around me, over periods of time, after I have spent time praying in the Spirit. It is a Powerful and beautiful and Faithful thing to do. Praying in tongues is Ultimate Faith, that Only HE knows the cries of our hearts, and that HE will hear it, and that He infact, is the One IN Your heart, searching for these prayers. I do not even need to know what I am praying for, because I have opened up my heart at this time, like a book, for Him to read and then manifest my hearts deepest desires at His own will. Praise God for bapstism in the Holy Ghost!! ~JNJ~

  19. Regina Hawkins permalink

    I need help BAD, with fighting temptation for the last couple of months I have been stuggling with this and I need help and prayer. Someone please pray for me. Thanks.

    • MaryMarthaKay permalink

      Lu 11:4 And forgive us our sins; for we also forgive every one that is indebted to us. And lead us not into temptation; but deliver us from evil.
      Lu 22:40 And when he was at the place, he said to them, Pray that you enter not into temptation.
      1Co 10:13 There has no temptation taken you but such as is common to man: but God is faithful, who will not suffer you to be tempted above that you are able; but will with the temptation also make a way to escape, that you may be able to bear it.
      2 Cor. 4-5 (For the weapons of our warfare are not carnal, but mighty through God to the pulling down of strong holds;) {through God: or, to God}. 5 Casting down imaginations, and every high thing that exalteth itself against the knowledge of God, and bringing into captivity every thought to the obedience of Christ; {imaginations: or, reasonings}

      God Bless you Regina …. the Lord will give you strength.

      Heavenly Father, I pray for Regina asking you to give her strength to stand on your WORD; give her discernment to know the lies of the devil so she can cast down every evil imagination. Lord give her peace in her heart to follow you, trusting you to carry her through. Lord draw nigh to Regina as she is drawing nigh to you. In Jesus’ name, AMEN. Thank you Lord for blessing Regina and renewing her strength.

    • Susanna Liew permalink

      Lord, I want to commit Regina onto Your hands and pray that she will look up to You and to draw strength from you, Lord. Allow Your Holy Spirit to guard her heart and to give her peace. Pray that Your presence be with her and Your love surrounds her. Allow her to trust in You for You are a faithful God and You will see her through. Amen.

    • Sharon Hawthorne permalink

      I prayed for you Regina. God is my refuge and my strength. I pray that you will turn to him for all your needs. I pray that he will give you strength, courage, wisdom, comfort and encouragement in whatever situation you find your self in.

    • My God and Father!
      I thank you for the deposit measure of your Spirit in Regina that made her cry out for help. Your Word says, all who call upon the name of the Lord shall be saved. Please in the name of Jesus, honour this word and save her from all that she’s crying out for help for. You also said ‘When a (wo)man turns to the Lord, his veil will be removed. Help her to stay at your feet and recieve the power to build, tear down or flee all appearances of evil as you see fit, each time; To think the right thoughts; say the right words; and stay in your protective zone that you have already marked out for her. By the blood of Jesus, I and all your children who call your name, agree and bring down every stronghold of sin that the enemy uses to tempt her in the name of Jesus, and by the help of your Spirit and not our might, because you said where your Spirit is, there is liberty, and where the Word of a King is, there is authority. We thank you for the grace to access your awesome power through the name of Jesus. Amen!

  20. Lami permalink

    Thank you so much. That this word is coming at this point in time is not a coincidence but God sent. The fact that God is still in the business of touching and healing even in hopeless situations gives me confident…….PRAISE GOD! I Personally has been faced with some challeges but Thank God for his word that came forth……….

  21. MaryMarthaKay permalink

    Thank you Rev. Mark for this wonderful post. It is so important that we “hear” the Holy Spirit’s voice, and that we hear “all” that He has to tell us. We can only accomplish this by continually staying in His presence, asking Him to cleanse us.

    This weekend I attended a Christian Women’s Conference. Traveling there I turned onto the correct A-Street, then turned LEFT (per instructions) at the correct B-Street for our address, but we could not find the building number. The numbers kept getting larger, so we thought. We drove around for 30 minutes because of broken streets trying to locate it, before finally back tracking and discovered the correct location was only one block from our original turn, but in the OPPOSITE direction. You see I did what the directions said, I turned onto the correct A-Street and then turned LEFT onto the correct B-Street. HOWEVER, I was going South on the A-Street and should have came from the North, then turned LEFT. We were 30 minutes late but still had an awesome meeting.

    During the meeting the LORD spoke this to me: “You may be on the right road, but if you are going the WRONG direction you will miss what I have planned for you.”

    That is why it is so very important to LISTEN to the HOLY SPIRIT. I was frustrated because we could not find our destination and were late and just kept driving almost in circles, (my flesh trying to make it happen) when I should have pulled over and just sat still and “listened” to HIM. Always follow peace, not frustration. AMEN! God Bless you.

  22. Bryan McQueen permalink

    Yes,

    being renewed and refreshed through the blood of Christ is always sobering. I know the times I take to spend “privately” with Jesus is truly blessed. I feel His presence and it only makes my hunger grow. But, when I allow my thirst for fulfillment and hunger for to be appeased by what the world offers or what the flesh desires, I will be brought to a low place.

    I prefer the mountain top with God!

    Amen I have a choice, daily.

  23. Cheryl permalink

    Because we can count on our convenant with the Lord Jesus Christ we can be assured and be confident thatHe who began a good work in you will perfect it until the day of Jesus christ. Philippians 1:6

  24. George permalink

    This is a great passage. Here is a leper. Lepers are supposed to say unclean when people are around them so the leprosy does not spread. The leper went to Jesus and asked Him “Lord, if you are willing, you can make me clean.” Jesus reached out his hand and touched the man. “I am willing,” he said. “Be clean!” The Law of Moses said if someone touched a leper they would be unclean. But the marvelous power of Jesus turned it the other way. Instead of Jesus becoming unclean, the leper immediately became clean! When Rev Brown gave the meaning to the word clean being to be cleansed from sin, to be purified, to be free from the influence of sin. Wow. This is also what Jesus has done for us. We were in sin (leprosy), went to Jesus and He touched us. Cleaned us from sin! Praise God!

    • MaryMarthaKay permalink

      Thank you George for your comments, and God Bless you.

      As I was reading your words above, the Holy Spirit pointed out to me that when the Lepers said “UNCLEAN” to the people around them, they were “confessing their sins one to another” as we are instructed to do in this verse:

      Jas 5:16 “Confess your faults one to another, and pray one for another, that ye may be healed. The effectual fervent prayer of a righteous man availeth much.”

      God is awesome as He shines more and more light upon HIS WORD as HE WORKS HIS WORD in and through people! AMEN!

      Praise the LORD for you Rev. Mark with this wonderful discussion! <3<3<3

  25. Don Mumma permalink

    I think the leper had the faith to be healed- but wasn’t sure if Jesus would heal due his sinful condition. Jesus did heal him because of his faith. jesus will heal us all we need to do is trust- What a good God He is.

    • Hmmnn…. Thank Don M!
      I can hear God telling me through you, that even when my Faith seems not to be enough or still has a little something standing in its way, I should still go on ahead anyway!

    • Hmmnn…. Thanks Don M!
      I can hear God telling me through you, that even when my Faith seems not to be enough or still has a little something standing in its way, I should still go on ahead anyway!

  26. you always say the right words to make me fill closer to god. And to want to be closer . Thanks. I actully wrote the time down on my calendar to pray yesterday and still forgot till and hour later. I prayed than and every hour after to make up for it.

  27. DELLY permalink

    People i’m a beginer so what i’ve notice since i started reading the bible comentes i’m having this strong faith in Jesus’s name please help me to be more into FAith more than i am i need this thank you so much.

  28. Cheryl permalink

    That you for your website. I look forward to reading it everyday. It;s very uplifting . Im a prayer warrior and I luv to pray for people. I luv to see what god is up too with his testimonies. May God continue to annoint your mouth with the words he wants you to speak to us on your website. Your family is protected and to have increase. Have a awesome day.

  29. George permalink

    The principal thing that can separate us from God’s many promises is sin.And if we can through the help of the holy spirit be able to live above sin we are sure to have to have unlimited access to God’s abundant blessings.
    We should constantly be fully alike in the spirit,and fully aware of his presence in our lives.My request is that God should give me grace to live above temptation and the sin that easily besets me.i above all i need GRACE for manifestation.Thanks

  30. I thank God for your site that people can come and be encouraged by the words you speak. I pray that God will continue to use you for HIs goodness touching the lives of many people, that the situations they are in they shall be free of In Jesus Name.
    I just wanna encourage everyone that God loves you, when you are down, He will pick you up, when you are weak, He will make you strong and when you feel like you cant be forgiven, He is there to forgive.
    What a mighty God we serve. He heals all our sicknesses, forgivesall our sins and His love is the greatest love of all.
    Call upon Him and He will hear you, he sees your cries, even when you dont have the words to speak He knows your heart, stay blessed knowing you are His child and nothing shall take us away from that, we just have to be strong in the Lord. The Lord knows all things, He knows the temptations we are going through, we need to ‘Resist the devil, and he will flee from you’. I know I aint perfect and can sometimes be weak in my christianity, struggling to read and pray and worship and the Lord knows but I know He will get me through victorious and I shall prosper, I shall not be defeated, I am a child of God, I am the head and not the tail. I cant give up, He has done so much for me, where would we be if not for His grace.
    Praise Your name Jesus, our Savior that because of you we are free and are forgiven.Blessed be the name of the LORD.
    In Jesus Name.
    xxx I pray blessing for you all.

  31. How thankful I am for this web site, this opportunity!! Thank you for putting out the possibility and need for prayer. As it happened, I have just returned from the hospital and surgery a few days ago and was unable to be in church, yet this website gave me the link to believers and prayer warriers everywhere. I was able to join in with the many in praying for our nation and the world! I was so blessed to read the marvellous expressions of the many believers as they wrote out their prayers! Praise God from whom all blessings flow, praise Him all creatures here below, praise Him above ye heavenly hosts, PRAISE FATHER, SON AND HOLY GHOST. AMEN

  32. great words of wisdom and I needed them…thanks you were missed while you were away…

  33. sis. jeanie stone permalink

    i love reading the post and pondering upon them .. then reading the feed back from everyone.. it is a nice way to learn and grow.. thanks bro.m and everyone on here

  34. mila permalink

    Thank you for this post , every time i open my laptop the word of god my inspiration ,reading and meditate daily , good that we have worldwide prayer ministry the secret of my success” Prayer”if i missed this my whole day really in trouble many un expected happen to me. Thanks Bro.Mark.

  35. Patsy Bond permalink

    I need daily cleansing, probaly two a day…….I sure am glad God loves me….

Leave a Reply

