Skip to content

My time in the Psalms

October 30, 2009

I spent this morning reading the first 30 or so Psalms and this is what God showed me:

Seek after God, do all I can to be in God’s presence, push aside that which distracts, that which takes me away from God, and strive to be in God’s presence as much as I can. And whatever happens in my life, pain, suffering, joy or great excitement, the constant should be this: seek to be in God’s presence.

Wow!

God bless,

Rev Mark

From → Uncategorized

26 Comments
  1. Lori S. permalink

    WOW Mark, how exciting!! To strive to be in God’s presence as much as we can will take some getting used to. But I think the more we are aware of it, the more it will become second nature.

    Thanks for the insight. It will be something for all of us to strive to achieve.

    God bless you, Mark!

  2. Rachelle permalink

    That is soo true, when you are constantly in God’s presence there is a certain peace that exist inside your heart. A peace that is beyond human understanding. It helps to put life into persperctive and God is in the center, nothing else matters. Thank you Mark, you have encouraged me to seek or strive to constantly be in God’s presence.

    • Paulo Eduardo permalink

      I do get what you say. “And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4:7.

      Blessings!

  3. You give me encouragement when I read your “Journey Deeper into God’s Word” emails. It makes me journey with you into God’s word. Thank you for your ministry.

  4. Paulo Eduardo permalink

    Awesome! What does the bible say about it again? oh yeah: But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. Matthew 6:33. That’s what it’s all about; we were created to be like this!

    God bless everyone! And do not forget: before EVERY little thing, seek God!

  5. I recently finished reading a book titled Gianna… Aborted and Lived to Tell About It. This young lady so knows how to “seek after God and to do all” she “can do to be in his presence.” It is a very inspiring book. Your e-mail on reading Psalms just reinforced her thinking and action. So, I have been reminded twice in one week that I need to “seek after God and do all I can to be in his presence.” Thank you Mark for you ministry. It can be done through Jesus.

  6. charread09 permalink

    He has been telling me lately that I have too many time consumers even tho they are not bad things but they are taking away from our time together. Trying to work on that–have to let some things go.

  7. Susanna Liew permalink

    Indeed is a great encouragement for me. Thank you for sharing.

  8. Just what God has been saying to me in my prayer time. I spend too much time talking and too little time just ‘being’ in His Presence. Thank you.

  9. Mark, I got the same message 3 weeks ago and since then, I do not let little things bother me. I find that when I strive to be in the presence of God, the other things like work, etc. are so much easier to do.

    God bless and keep on helping us realise that God is the greatest.

    Casper

  10. George R. Bridges permalink

    Thanks for that timely word of encouragement. We definitely need to spend more time with the Father.

  11. Migueline permalink

    Thanks rev. Mark,
    I was seaching something this morning, but don’t realy know what….; by reading the word of God you’re sharing with us ; i’ve found what i was looking for !
    The greatest is to be in God ‘s presence !
    simply WOW !!!

  12. Mayls permalink

    As much as possible, I make it a point to wake up at 4 or 5am to spend time in the presence of our Lord. Although at times I’m tempted to go back to sleep so what I do to fight it is I start by singing praises to Him. Really singing it out loud and dance. It is during this time that God usually impress in my heart to pray for my family,my church and other churches, my pastors and other church leaders, our government and those in authority, my nation the Philippines and other nations of the world. I realized that life is not that hard at all because I know that God is on my side and that He is in control. To God be the glory.

    • jennifer permalink

      yes yes yes yes yes all praise and glory to are king of kings he is the one and only yes he is the great almighty king I LOVE HIM I LOVE HIM I LOVE HIM!!!!!!

  13. All my life I have strived to seek the Lord in His fullness. To be in His presence is the ultimate of Joy and power. I know no other thing that can give me the peace that Christ does. Praise the Lord

  14. Caroline permalink

    Thank you for all words God gives you for us.I try to concentrate on what God is saying but my mind wanders.But I continue anyway. I am almost 78 soo the mind is full of nothings at times. But He is my Lord and I keep on trying and you are a great help. Thank you Pastor.

  15. Rita Jimenez permalink

    I remember back at the time I was not interrested in salvation. My mother [God has her now] would never tire of my ranting and raving of who cares why bother, and when I’m done I’m done. But she loved me onward with her compassion for a Lord I knew nothing about. One day we were talking and I told her what differance does it make, I don’t know how to pray and talk to God any way! She told me that when ever I was ready he would be there for me and to pick up the Bible and just start reading out loud in the book of Psalms. She said it was a book written by a man who struggled like me in life but was full of passion. She passed away way to early, but a day came when I did just what she said. I love the prayers and songs written by David, and now find myself telling others who don’t know how to talk to God the loving words of my mother. There is no greater time spent then time spent in the presence of God.

  16. Sara Sue permalink

    I believe this is what is meant by “resting in the Lord”, that a formal time of being “in His presence” is appropriate, but it is imperative that since we have not been taken out of the world that we learn to “rest” in His power and His presence with us as we must function in the mundane things of this world–brushing our teeth, smiling encouragement to our children, taking out the trash…. I love John 17, Jesus’ prayer for us. His love is my motivation for time with Him.

    • Stacy permalink

      Thank you so much for posting this. I’d never read that chapter before and it is awesome!

  17. pray for me and wife we both had cancer her was breast my lung cancer

  18. Joyce Brown permalink

    Amen The distractions really try I need more of that alone time without distractions! God is so good – Thank you for your site it is a breath of fresh air. I pray over the ones that obviously need salvation that write in, i know some get really mad about it but we need to know names to pray for they are the ones God sent us to.

  19. Lydia Reyes permalink

    I Can’t stop saying it. GOD IS SO GOOD.

  20. Stephanie permalink

    New way to look at pumpkins (if you haven’t seen this before, enjoy!)

    A lady had recently been baptized. One of her coworkers asked her what it was like to be a Christian. She was caught off guard and didn’t know how to answer, but when she looked up, saw a jack-o’-lantern on the desk and answered: “It’s like being a pumpkin”. The coworker asked her to explain that one. “Well, God picks you from the patch and brings you in and washes off all the dirt on the outside that you got from being around all the other pumpkins. Then He cuts off the top and takes all the yucky stuff out from inside. He removes all those seeds of doubt, hate, impurity, and greed. Then He carves you a new smiling face and puts His light inside of you to shine for all to see. It is our choice to either stay outside and rot on the vine or come inside and be something new and bright and shine with the Light of Jesus”. Jesus said, ‘I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.’ Add a light to the inside of the pumpkin. “When Jesus lives inside of you, you can glow! You will want to be kind and honest. You will want to please God, to help others, and to tell other people about your Friend and Lord. God carves you a new smiling face and puts His light inside of you to shine for all the world to see.”

    P.S. YOU’LL PROBABLY NEVER LOOK AT A PUMPKIN THE SAME WAY AGAIN!!!

    This prayer is powerful and there is nothing attached,
    prayer is one of the best gifts we receive. There is no cost but a lot of rewards, let’s continue to pray for one another. God bless and have a nice day!

    Father, I ask you to bless my friends reading this
    right now. Show them a new revelation of Your love and power.
    Holy spirit, I ask you to minister to their spirit at this very
    moment. Where there is pain, give them Your peace and mercy.
    Where there is self doubt, release a renewed confidence through Your grace. In Jesus’ precious name. Amen

  21. Ariel permalink

    Im 19 and I just gave my life completely to God a couple of weeks ago, and already He is showing me His Mercy and Grace, and daily I speak to my friends about Gods Love and what He is doing in my life, for I have truely been changed. I cant stop thinking about the Lord in all I do. And His precense is so strong around me, I often feel as if Hes standing right next to me, even Holding me. And I praise his name up high. Your words really speak to me. I use what you say to get closer to God. And Thank You, for the things you say were also a Big part in my life change. God is Love. AMEN!!

  22. jennifer permalink

    yes yes yes yes yes yes all i can say is look to the king and he will take care of you he loves us in ways you can only imagine.

  23. To Rev. Brown:
    Thank you for uplifting me when I need much uplifiting in my life. My husband, Gilberto Smith, Jr., Avid Musician/Rph. passed away a year ago on Thanksgiving Night at 9:22 pm, November 28, 2009. I just got back from his 1st year Memorial Service with Amedysis Home Hospice, who sponsered the service. It was beautiful and I met beautiful families that also encountered loss along side of me. The Service brought us closer together in the knowledge that our loved ones are in a better place serving our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and our Beautiful Jehovah God in heaven for all eternity. I have found Joy, Peace and Love!

Leave a Reply

