Skip to content

1 Week Bible Immersion Experience – Final Day!!

October 23, 2009

Luke 4:42-44 and 5:1-11: At daybreak Jesus went out to a solitary place. The people were looking for him and when they came to where he was, they tried to keep him from leaving them. But he said, “I must preach the good news of the kingdom of God to the other towns also, because that is why I was sent.” And he kept on preaching in the synagogues of Judea.

One day as Jesus was standing by the Lake of Gennesaret, with the people crowding around him and listening to the word of God, he saw at the water’s edge two boats, left there by the fishermen, who were washing their nets. He got into one of the boats, the one belonging to Simon, and asked him to put out a little from shore. Then he sat down and taught the people from the boat. When he had finished speaking, he said to Simon, “Put out into deep water, and let down the nets for a catch.” Simon answered, “Master, we’ve worked hard all night and haven’t caught anything. But because you say so, I will let down the nets.”

When they had done so, they caught such a large number of fish that their nets began to break. So they signaled their partners in the other boat to come and help them, and they came and filled both boats so full that they began to sink. When Simon Peter saw this, he fell at Jesus’ knees and said, “Go away from me, Lord; I am a sinful man!” For he and all his companions were astonished at the catch of fish they had taken, and so were James and John, the sons of Zebedee, Simon’s partners.

Then Jesus said to Simon, “Don’t be afraid; from now on you will catch men.” So they pulled their boats up on shore, left everything and followed him.

Jesus His amazing ministry now in full swing takes a break.  ‘Solitary place’ in the greek literally means a place where no one goes.. so this is no accident, Jesus found a place where He knew He could be alone.  This became a bit of a pattern in His ministry where Jesus would take time out to pray and rest, just spending time in His Father’s presence.    I am one driven, busy guy.  I start early, finish late and basically every moment of my day is planned.  This has to be the case as I have so many responsibilities.  And I love this!  I love being busy!  But taking breaks isn’t a natural decision for me so I find Jesus’ example really challenging. Today is the last day of work before I head off for a two week holiday.  And already I can see that my holiday could well be full and busy, and so I am challenged.  It has been a really busy time and I need to rest, to find that solitary place and spend time resting in the presence of God. Sounds good!

Then Jesus begins the process of recruiting the disciples, starting with Simon.  He gets on their boat and performs a miracle: catching plenty of fish where Simon and his team had caught none.  And this miracle is hugely significant to me.  Here they were doing what they do every day and Jesus displays that if they rely on Him, there return will be amazing!!  They can work through their own strength and get some return, but in relying on Jesus there effectiveness increases massively.  So as I set about doing what I do each day, Lord Jesus I turn to you, I rely on you – send your Holy Spirit to guide me!

And then finally, Jesus calls them, and on the spot they drop their jobs and follow him.  In seeking after Jesus I must be prepared to drop what I am doing, and perhaps take a completely different direction in life.  So though I might carefully plan my life, I have to be open to God’s plan, where I too might just have to pull my boat up on shore leave everything and follow him!  How exciting is that! Wow!

How is this scripture speaking to you?

Well that ends the 1 Week Bible Immersion Experience!  How did you find it?  Should we continue it?  I would love to read your thoughts!!

Also over the next two weeks I will be taking a break from the computer so this blog will be quite for a couple of weeks but I will be back!! You are in my prayers.

God bless

Rev Mark

……………………..

To subscribe to my blog to receive my reflection for free as an email click here: Subscribe to Journey Deeper Into God’s Word by Email

From → Uncategorized

91 Comments
  1. samson usman permalink

    this 1 week bible experience was great even though i didn’t start from the first day, but it was really great and i will love it to continue…it has really touched me,especially dis final scripture about being fishers of men…. i pray that your break be blessed .
    thank you every much rev

  2. Tana Moody permalink

    I am so glad that you are getting to rest for a couple of weeks but you will definitely be missed. God Bless and I pray that he helps you to relax.

  3. Lauretha permalink

    This is a confirmation of the Lord calling me to a solitary place for an extended period of time( 3 times in the past 3 months)…as I release my gifts of intercession, singing, teaching, writing, and pastoral…to study and spend time at the feet of Jesus…to rest in His presence. When I get the gifts returned back to me they will be in a “greater state of glory”. I’m willing to release what I have to the Lord even though it is a sacrifice of months. I took note that the information date is the same as my birthday, October 23, 2009!!

  4. Rev. Mark,

    I have really enjoyed your first week, and do hope you will continue! I, too, find myself having a hard time pulling away to just spend time with the Lord. I love studying the Word, and when I have time, that’s what I want to do – study!! But I know the Lord is calling me to come away and just spend time with Him. It’s like if you asked your child to come spend time with you taking a walk in the woods or sitting by a quiet lake, and the child brings his homework, ipod and cell phone, using all three while you are supposed to be having one-on-one time with them. I have to realize that I need to clear my mind sometimes, even of good things, so that the Holy Spirit can speak to me His “word for the moment.” Have a great vacation! I’ll look forward to your postings when you return!

  5. CONSTANCE permalink

    I needed that word today. I to am very busy but things go smoother when I put the Lord first.

  6. Sonyia permalink

    please continue….

  7. Luke 4:42-44;

    I really like this passage. What it says is that you can’t just preach the gospel in one area and give the good news only there — you need to proclaim it throughout the world! The Gospel is something everyone needs to here (whether they’ll accept it readily the first time is not something I can answer). It’s a life saving, life changing, life impacting message that plays into what I’m about to say for:

    Luke 5:1-11;

    That once you accept Christ, then your old life is left behind. There is simply no room to carry it along with you. Because once you accept Jesus and His love for you, then that’s the end of your old self and you are born again! We may not be literally leaving our lives like Simon, James and John, but figuratively we most certainly are.

    Thanks for a great week, Mark! This was a very nice detour from my “Paul Binge”. Keep up the great work, brother!

    ~B.

    • (forgot to add this in the original message)

      Not only do we leave our old lives behind, but we start to depend on Jesus. We fall on Him and He picks us up and carries us. We lean on Him and He supports us. N-O-T-H-I-N-G is impossible for Jesus! Nothing at all!

      • violet schmitz permalink

        I ghank God for giving new life and new friends..thank you for dying for me to the cross just to save me from the lake of fires..I was renewed my lives for followed God words..I love starting to be change my prospectives in lives and Iam so greatefull that Rev.Mark Brown.Posted this 1week Bible immerssion…Iam so happy that God touching me and Giving me hope and have more faith in Him…Thank you Jesus for being there for me when Iam downed you always lifted me up?thank you for loving me and protecting me and my children…You are the father of the father less like us..And there is no impossible to you and whatever the enemies got from me you will bring it back more than 100X and we claimed it in Your Lord Jesus Christ…Amen! ((:<3

  8. AMo permalink

    God Bless you Rev. Mark on your time away, I really enjoy reading what God is saying through you via this blog. I am a college student an when times are trying an tough it’s truly a blessing to be able to get away from it all with your Bible studies.

    Thanks
    AMo

  9. I find that in life, there is our plan and there is God’s plan, and the reason why things are so hard and stressful these days is because we are so busy trying to make our plan work and not paying attention to God’s plan. This passage basically explains that. Thank you so much for the word.

  10. I find this Immersion Experience to be very helpful. If you feel led please keep it coming.
    I wanted to say Thanks for mentioning the unbelievers that keep finding themselves on The Bible Page. The Page maybe the only way the folks will here about salvation. They are not on the page by chance and as we know all things work……
    Thanks Again and Have a Great Holiday Break,
    Teresa

  11. Irene Ramos permalink

    Thank you for sharing yourself and your knowledge and wisdom. Your Love for God and what He has called you to. Please continue to impart that knowledge and wisdom here on FaceBook. I am being refreshed thru it and can continue on a Bible Study through my sometimes busy schedule.

    I am learning to spend quiet time with God as my prayers are for a deeper relationship with Him. As a single mom with 2kids at home and one away- my quiet time with God has become a necessity but what I am looking for is a continual delight to be with Him. I do not want to get complaicent or in a routine, rather to delight in being with Him, talking with Him. I just recently lost my job and I find myself in a new place with God. A place of trust and peace. Now my days are filled with seeking Him, at His feet, in a quiet place. The kids are at school and I can get with Him each day even more. I know All things are working for the good for those who Love Him and have been called according to His purpose. Thank you for this piece of scripture as it speaks volumes to me in this season. I will continue with my quiet time, at Jesus’ feet – It truly is a very Sweet time- and I have been missing that.

    God Bless You and Thank You.

  12. Dear Mark,
    Thank you for your hard work in getting the word of God our savior
    out to the world thru the internet. I love to read your words of Christ my savior.You need the rest.God Bless you my dear friend in Christ. Amen

  13. Rosemarie permalink

    thats beautiful espically the last paragraph we r all called 2 be diciples of Christ what I mean is we r 2 lead people to Christ We should shine as a candelstick so others may see our light and follow we must remember that others r influenced by our actions as well as our words. so precious people be of good example

  14. Naomi Jones permalink

    We are to be ‘Fishersof Men’ and Rev Mark.. You are one of the best I’ve seen. You have such a soft spoken Spirit, just like Jesus :.) Praise God for sending us your insights in His Word! Luv Eternally ~JNJ~

  15. Lori permalink

    We actually studied this scripture a short time ago. When Jesus was first asked Simon to put out the nets, he was skeptical. He really didn’t trust Jesus, but he let the nets down anyway. Also, I was told that cleaning nets is a very tedious job, and I am sure that none of the would-be disciples thought is was a very good idea to mess them up again. But when they caught 2 boatloads of fish, Simon was not only astonished, but also ashamed for not believing. Sometimes it may be hard to trust what Jesus says, but we need to be willing. Jesus can work with the willing part, the trusting part will come later. But if you are not willing, Jesus cannot help you. You have to open the door to your heart and let Him in.

    I have really enjoyed being a part of this experience. Please continue!!

  16. Reading the word of God each day is always so refreshing and a good break from the daily routine.

  17. Meagan permalink

    I loved this experience, it really lead me in to see more about the scriptures I’ve read so many times. Keep it up Mark and Enjoy your holiday! GOD Bless

  18. Erik Hansen permalink

    This is a great thing you’re doing!
    Erik

  19. Michelle permalink

    I have been looking forward each morning this week to reading Journey deeper into Gods word. Love it. I would really like to see this blog continue.

    Enjoy your holiday. God Bless.

  20. Andrea permalink

    I found out about this because a friend was a fan. I enjoyed it alot. I hope it continues.

  21. Rev. Fleming permalink

    May God bless you to continue this great work of God.
    As for myself I enjoy

  22. Dear rev, please continue this, i look forward to this reading when i get home, its my quiet time with the word of God. I pray that your time off will be relaxing and blessed. Look forward to your return.

  23. This week was wonderfull, although in the begining I was one day late. I think it should be continued.
    You are going to be missed but enjoy your holyday!
    God bless you!

  24. Crystal permalink

    Continue!! 😉 God Bless!

  25. Roseann Schiavone-Tauriello permalink

    Dear Rev. Mark:

    It would be wonderful if you would continue these Scripture Readings, when you get back from your vacation.

    I found them very helpful and inspiring; and they got me to spend time reading the Bible; something which I’ve been wanting to do – but never seemed to make the time for. And it is much better when it is done in a group, you feel that we are in community together.

    Thank you for your time and effort and sharing with us. May God continue to Bless You.

  26. Rae permalink

    I have so enjoyed this week and have told many of my freinds about this – I love this pasage in the fact that it reminds me that so much more is acchieved when we let Jesus lead us and we obey Him

  27. Toi Smith permalink

    I have really enjoyed the week and have found lots to ponder.
    I also have tried to share your site with friends.
    please enjoy ur vacation,and take care

  28. Keep them coming. I enjoy reading your insights after the bible message. It makes me think and reflect. Thank you for your ministry. Have a great holiday. Rest and relax and immerse yourself in the word. God bless you.

  29. gretchen permalink

    Peter reluctantly obeyed Jesus…..I think we all do that don’t we? There are times we flat out ignore what He is saying. But there are times we say, “Ohhhhh, ok, if You say so” and everytime that happens we are never, never disappointed! It is my hearts desire that I could obey Him cheerfully because I know what the outcome of that obedience is! Oh Lord, thank You for Your faithfulness even through my hard-headedness.
    I pray you have a restfull vacation. I also pray you would continue these little studies.
    Blessings to you

  30. violet schmitz permalink

    Dear,Rev Mark, thank you for all efforts this to happened for gracious of our King and Lord Jesus Christ..let us not stop this crusade until the Lord comes…we believe that the Lord using us to spread a good news and to fishing more souls who haven’t known Him yet…Thanks for posting your crusade to facebook so that peoples who want to joined will see how is the Lord doing into our lives and so them too?…God bless you and all the people who joined to us..in this crusade…thanks again…brother and sister…Love you all! ((:<3

  31. steven dawson permalink

    Please come back

  32. I don’t know if you read the PTPP wherein I stated my belief that Jesus took these nightly asides alone because His human part would become so overwhelmed with all that was expected of Him. Jesus literally grew “weary”, the Bible says; when telling the story of the woman at the well. In looking up “weary” I found it meant, total exhaustion of physical, emotional, and spiritual resources. In other words, even though He was God in the flesh, His flesh also rebelled just as ours does. Another reason, I also believe, Jesus stated that man was not made for the Sabbath; but the sabbath for man. We grow weary. If Jesus could not maintain a daily, full-on, all-out, 24/7 ministry; what makes us think that we can? And, why do we feel badly, or as if we are letting others down, if we are not there at their beck and call all the time? Go, take your Sabbath, Mark! Come back to us refreshed in the Lord, refilled with the Holy Spirit, with new annointing on your head so that you may continue to bless us with the next installments of Digging Deeper and Bible Immersion, and all the other things God has given you to share with us. Now, go on! Make your wife and kids happy by being there with and for them; and don’t be worrying about leaving us alone. lol. We will miss you, Mark 🙂 Be safe; God bless you! Hurry back! ❤ 🙂

    • MaryMarthaKay permalink

      Right on Pam …… one very important note is that Jesus was appointed to help “certain” people during his walk on earth in the flesh, not to everyone. (Yes Jesus died on the Cross that we “all” might be saved, but in this instance I am referring only to His walk in the flesh for his earthly ministry). Jesus knew who His Father had assigned to Him. The same holds true for us as we walk in the ministry the Lord assigns to us. We must know the voice of God in order to hear Him clearly to know which “certain” ones He has assigned to us. Yes we want to help everyone, that is why we grow weary in well doing many times, but God did not assign us to everyone, only to those “certain ones” He sends to us. When we try to help “everyone” we may actually interfere with God’s plan that He has assigned to someone else. If we think we must help everyone, then we may need to seek the Lord and pray for Spiritual Discernment so we will know the “certain ones” He has assigned to us. We help others out of our overflow. If we continually try to help everyone we are draining our own annointing (fuel) from the Lord, because there is no more overflow. In short we must be full and stay full, and serve others from the overflow. God Bless you!

  33. phyllis permalink

    Pastor Mark,Thanks again for opening the word of God and sharing it with us. i know that my Jesus is calling me to stop being so busy about things and to sit at his feet like “Mary” did. I have
    to stop being a “Martha” and just sit and soak up everything my Lord is telling me. I pray that you have a wonderful restful vacation. God bless you. Phyllis

  34. Madison permalink

    It is good that you are getting to take a rest. I find your studies very interesting and helpful. They have been helping me and my friends a lot.

  35. i am gonna miss the scriptures u leave on here..i love reading them…if u get a chance to get around the puter while on vacation..drop a line…ty for doing God’s work..

  36. Deb permalink

    Thank you Rev Mark, I have felt very blessed these past few days reading the scripture, because like so many I let everything else come before my devotion time. Now when I come to read emails I get to experience God. I love your commitment to this, I pray you will find quiet time in these next couple of weeks, so that your spirit can be renewed by God.

  37. Lydia Reyes permalink

    God has bless so many people this week because you have given so much of your time to help us grow in the WORD. I thank my Lord Jesus for using you. I can’t begin to tell you how happy I feel about having something worth while to go into facebook. In this scripture when it said that they left everything to follow him, I know that it’s not alot , but this week I chose to follow him thru this Bible immersion experience. I could’ve read a book or watch TV but the spirit led me here and I am so thankful. I pray that God will continue to abundantly bless you and yours. Have a good rest and PLEASE COME BACK to post The 2nd, 3rd, 4th , 5th Bible immersion experience. You got me hooked. GOD BLESS

  38. Diane Walker permalink

    This scripture speaks to me in a couple of different ways. First of all it reminds me that even Jesus needed time alone. I am a mon to 2 teenagers, I’m in college, and I work,not to mention bible study, house cleaning, cooking etc. I had to discipline myself to get up at 5 in the morning so I could make that quiet time to spend with God.
    The second thing is, whe Jesus says to do something, it doesn’t matter how many times we’ve tried or how hard we’ve tried on our own. If Jesus says to do it, it will be blessed and work in amazing ways. It comes down to giving up control which I believe is a challenge for most if not all of us.

  39. dorthy porter permalink

    It was a good week Mark you did a good job.I studied these verses in the woods today.Even with Peter not having enough faith,Jesus did not give up on him.How many times is our faith a bit weak.Jesus does not give up on us.Simon loved him as a friend,even not believing the nets would catch fish out of respect and love he did what Jesus ask of him.Sometimes our problems or our life is such a mess we just have to give it to the Lord Jesus.In this last year I ask Jesus to make every area of my life whole,I really did not have alot of faith with some of my grown childrens futures improving alot.I watched as Jesus took each of there circumstances and raised them above it.My youngest son Jamie has a learning disability in reading,he is married to a young girl who was tortured and raped as a child repeatedly.Jenny is beautiful, sweet and smart but is scared to death of people.She has never been able to work in thier five years of marriage.Jenny was also very mad at God.Alot of people do not like the book the shack but God used it to heal something broken in Jennifer that know one could reach.Jamie works oil field at min. wages God moved them out of a old run down farm house into a nice home.Openned a door so Jamie was able to become a third partner with no money invested in lawn furniture business.With all materials and tools and molds free,Jennifer can now run the business making furniture to help them out in the new homes out building.God made a way for a daycare to be run by my daughter,my son inlaw to get his engineer degree plus unemployment.My dad was healed of Cancer,my brother inlaw was healed of super bug staff after being in a comma for six weeks,God healed my niece of toung cancer,a lady ask me to pray for her God healed her of hepititus C.Still yesterday when I hit a bump in the road needing God to heal my personal finances my faith was weak.As I read this my faith was restored.God has found away to open two aids orphan schools with my art.I work a regular job to help my husband pay our personal debt.God even openned up a door for me to be a Evangelist.As Simon Peter had to drop to his knees unworthy so have I because of not enough faith.My faith is growing as I see Jesus make me whole.Yes as Jesus was willing to use Peter with his imperfections and Lack of faith.Jesus is willing to use me as my faith grows,my walk grows stronger with my Lord daily.I get alone with the living God daily,I follow Jesus footsteps,if I fall I know he will carry me.I rest in his arms,Amazed at Gods Glory in my life as I step back and let his will be done.

    • Stacy permalink

      Thank you for sharing all this. What incredible testimony. Praise God! He is faithful.

  40. How comforting it is to be in the presence of Jesus, God and believers.

  41. Paula permalink

    PLEASE continue Rev.Mark!! I dont get out much so this is my way to study the word.God bless and enjoy your holiday!!!

  42. Carla Williams permalink

    I loved the 1 week Bible Immersion!!!! I would love for you to keep this going. In my walk with Christ, I find it hard to make time to study his word and this week I done it and I already feel the difference that it has made on my daily life, I am striving to be a better Christian and I know this would be a step in the right direction!!!! Thanks!!!!!

  43. Sandy permalink

    Mark, What struck me as I looked at 4:42-44 was that Jesus was on a mission directed by God, not people. The people wanted Jesus to stay with them and do more for them, but Jesus had to say ‘no, that’s not God’s plan for Me.’ I think it’s so easy for us to get caught up in what other people want us to do or ways they feel we should serve or real needs that we see around us, without stopping to check on what God wants us to do or how He wants us to serve. Just as Jesus wasn’t called to take care of every need in that town, neither are we called to take care of every need in our sphere of influence.
    I liked what you pulled out of 5:4-7 about working in our own power vs the increase in effectiveness when working in Jesus’ power. What a great reminder! I hadn’t thought of that because I was focused more on obeying Jesus’ commands or requests even when they don’t make sense. The outcome of both thoughts was the same, though–abundant return!
    I was also impressed with 5:8 when Simon fell on his knees confessing his inadequacy and sin as he realized he was in the presence of the Christ. I think we, too, can experience this sense of awe, cleansing, and closeness to our Lord when we slow down and choose to take the time to practice sitting in the presence of our God. What a difference it has made when I have done this in the past–Lord, may I ever be mindful of my need to sit in Your presence!
    I’d also like to add my thank you for this wonderful site. Many times the Lord has used it to speak directly to my need at just the right time. Enjoy your holiday, Mark. Blessings!

    • Sherrie permalink

      I agree Sandy,
      I too would say, “Lord, I’m not worthy to be here in your presence.” Like Peter did. Thankfully, there is forgiveness, because everyday I need it. Every day there are times when I’m not worthy to be God’s presence, but because Jesus forgives, I AM made worthy! AMEN!!

  44. Beth permalink

    I have enjoyed this week’s bible immersion. It really got me to stop and really read the Word in a way to allow the Holy Spirit to speak to me. It was good. Enjoy your vacation. 🙂

  45. we always have time to pray or even have a convo with the lord….never forget that it may take a minute or an hour..but u always have time nothing is more important..thats what i get from it..they could have been happy to cash in on the fish the caught but the left that and followed him

  46. meia permalink

    Thanks Pastor Mark for the WORD. Please if it be GOD’s will, continue the Immersion Experience. GOD bless You and your work.

  47. In this last day of study, one thing that really stands out for me is the realization that God cares not only about me but He cares about my day to day routines and needs, and he wants to help me in the daily grind of life-And that includes time away to rest in His arms–Wow!

    Mark,

    Thank you so much for this intensive study, it has been such a blessing. You will be missed while you are away but you must take that time and truly rest so that you will be renewed and refreshed when you return.

    Stay well, stay safe and thanks again. Blessings to you.

  48. I really enjoyed this weeks study… Please rest at Jesus feet and soak in all his love….

  49. Susanna Liew permalink

    Hi Rev. Mark, I thank God for the opportunity to be able take part in this 1 Week Bible Immersion Experience. I thank God for you for making it possible. I pray and hope that you will consider to continue this progamme.
    I have been blessed by all the comments and sharing and continue to venture into deeper relationship with our Lord Jesus Christ. Praise the Lord!

  50. Tyra permalink

    Thanks. I really need this and it could not have come at a better time. I am o confused these days. I’ve been struggling to regain a grip on my life, which feels way too out of my control these days and not in a good way either. I’m trying to relocat my center. There lies part of my confusion. I now wonder if I ever had a center to start with…was I ever obedient enough…did I try hard enough…wa I ever truely following God. Or is it just that I finally found a battle that makes obediance, effort, ad following God difficult. I thought I had been throuh a lot before, but now I don’t know. I feel like I have so little to offer God as a servant that and so unworthy…I know I am, but I’ve never felt like this. I’m actually almost ashamed to call myself a Christian. I pray, but I don’t know what to do anymore.

  51. Matthew Linson permalink

    Wow. I agree, this passage is really good. It speaks to me on many levels. One of which is what I should do with my life and the other is how to turn my life in the right direction. I am really working to get closer to the Lord and I know that what he has planned for me is much better than I have for myself. I really loved the 1 Week Bible Immersion Experience and I would really love for it to continue. You will all be in my prayers also. Matthew.

  52. Lisa permalink

    Sabbath….. resting before our Father… one day a week we have an appointment with Him….. Blessings on your Holiday….

  53. Cclemons permalink

    You should definitly continue I’m 14 and this was awsome and shined light in my life. Please continue

  54. Kevin permalink

    I really enjoyed this week. Each day I would try to think of what God could possibly be telling me. For a while I thought that I was having a bad day every day of this week. But probably around Wednesday, I realized that each day that I was feeling bad, God sent someone, or something to pick me up. And I thank him for that. The rest of my life will surely be challenging, but relying on God can make things as easy as pie. I would love it if you continue the Bible Immersion Experience. Have a good day, God Bless.

  55. Kim permalink

    This site has been uplifting this week. I hope that you will continue. Where ever God leads you, I know its going to be awesome. God Bless, you are a great inspiration. You are in my prayers.

  56. Bridget permalink

    You will never know the extent at which the Lord is using you. May he continue to uphold you in Jesus name.
    Bridget

  57. Carolyn permalink

    I must confess this is the first bible study I had done online. I am not disappointed. It has been very enlightening. I have told my entire family and all my friends about this and asked them to consider participating. Thank you for your teaching. Please pray about continuing and have a blessed and restful vacation.

  58. Karen permalink

    I appreciate all the time you put into this On-line Bible study. It is how I end my night…in God’s Holy Word. We were just studying the commandments in my other BIble Studay. Everyone said they had trouble keeping the Sabbath Day. They are all too busy. We must tke teh time to STOP and enjoy what God has given to us. Living in Northern Michigan, I see His glory all around me through His creation. It cries out his name! I love Romans 1:20 we have no excuse for not knowing God’s existance through His creation.
    Has anyone listened to Todd Agnew’s new song,Joy Unspeakable? Listen to it! I love the Lyrics: I’ve found His grace is all complete while I sit adn learn at Jesus’ feet. I am free indeed! What kind of joy is this? It’s UNSPEAKABLE
    I am so grateful for God’s Mercy and Grace. I am thankful that he commands me to take a day off and I use it to worship Him and grow in my knowledge of his Word. Praise be to God!
    You enjoy the time off that God has given to you and your family.

  59. Sabrena permalink

    Mark,
    This passage fits perfectly into what is happening in my life right now. I have gone through a tough divorce, serious financial distress, and plenty of doubt. But through all that I have experienced, even in the last year, Jesus has been there with me and has given me the strength I needed each and every day, so that I could stand strong and be a testimony to His greatness. Shortly after my divorce was final this summer, during one of my morning quiet times, God spoke into my life. I wrote these words down and have shared them with several people. The words were all about the changes He’s bringing into my life. Since that time, I’ve had an excitement like never before. I am actually beginning to see those changes come into fuition. And now, I am closing my business that I’ve had for 11 yrs, selling my house and, once my daughter is moved to college late next summer, am moving to a totally new city and starting fresh after 35 yrs in the same small town! I am so excited! I know that God doesn’t give us promises one day and then take them back the next. He’s not a God that changes his mind! I praise Him for urging me to be involved in you 1 week Immersion – and YES, please do it again!
    Blessings to you during your holiday!

  60. cathydys permalink

    One thing that struck me is that Simon had already saw Jesus do miracles, but this time he fell at Jesus’s feet and said “go away from me for I’m a sinful man”.?
    That’s just about how I’ve felt about myself, that I still sometimes hold on to guilt and hide from Him when He’s calling me. I, too, know that He has a had call on my life. I thought that I had been running from it for quite some time. But, now, I realize that everywhere I’ve went He has been right there. The road I’ve been down has taught me one thing if nothing else… …Christ was and is compassionate; to the sinner, the sick, the hungry, the poor, those possessed of demons. What I finally understand is, I don’t think I could have the compassion that I have today if I had not went down the road I did. I’m now doing all I can to draw closer to Him. Bless you for this study, I could never express how much it helped.

  61. George R. Bridges permalink

    Thank you pastor for these wonderful insights into God’s heart. May the Father richly bless you on your time off.

  62. Brian Martin permalink

    Hi : Pastor Mark first let Me say that Yes You Need To Continue this study Look At How Many pepole You Have That Join . That Right there should have told you That this is something that’s needed . And As for the Journey I Learned Alot And it Was Very enliting I’m Going to keep on this Journey A little while longer GOD spoke To Me durning this journey And i need to get more deeper in HIS word to Let Him Guide me Where He wants Me to Be So Thank You .Enjoy The Time Off But Get Back to Us Safe I’ll Be Praying For You And Your Love Ones . You Know That I’ll Be Here And I’ll Be By Your side In any Journey You want To Take So Go and Enjoy the rest get more charged up And Come Back And let that light Shine from the anoiting that GOD is going to give You while your on this Vacation.Cause You And I know That while Your in that Solitary Place He’s going to Give You A Blessing And i want To Know Your Reflection of It.Bro Mark remember God Put Us together for a reason I don’t know why Yet But He Will reveal it To Me when the time Comes as I’ve said in all my post i’m lead by GOD .so there’s something He wants Me to Learn From You And I’ll Be around Until I find out what that is .

    Your Brother In Faith.
    Bro :Brian Martin

    May God Bless You And Your Love One And All that read This.

  63. Regi permalink

    I haven’t been reading for the full week but the Bible immersion has helped me reenter my christian walk. I have alot of things that I have to change and maybe this is God’s way of telling me this is the beginning of a new chapter in my life living without fear and starting it with an abundant faith in the Lord. God giveth and he taketh away.

  64. Joyce permalink

    Quote: “So though I might carefully plan my life, I have to be open to God’s plan,”
    It was strange to read that this evening, as I was thinking about Proverbs 16:9 all day which says, ” In his heart a man plans his course, but the LORD determines his steps.”
    I have really enjoyed your writings as well as this journey. I hope you will take this up again after you have had ‘rest’ on your vacation.
    The Lord Bless you and give you journeying mercies.
    Joyce

  65. Robson permalink

    Dear Rev

    I am from Malaysia and want your scriptures to continue, Only great man sends out great manna.

    Bye

  66. Moring,I thank God for the word,I do need to rest im always on the go but first thing in the morning I get in his face,at work when iam on my break I read the word,and praying,I did try 2 rest on saturday to rest in God,it worked for a little bit,then everybody was coming to ring the door bell or my phone was ringing off the hook everything to try to take my mind off of Jesus,when I do study and meditate on him I don’t like to be bothered at all,me and God.Pastor Mark, I know when God is calling we must heed to him,and obey the spirit, God bless you and your family.

  67. Kathy Grayczyk permalink

    Mark have a wonderful break. We don’t have alot of money so it is difficult to get away but the church has blessed me with a full scholarship to go on the Womans Retreat this weekend and I am hoping to have some solitary time. I too like being busy and I know on the Retreat I can be a social butterfly but I will be seeking the Lord for guidance in writing my autobiography. I just want to Praise him because he has used this book already to begin a healing process between my daughter and I.

  68. Shirley permalink

    this first week of study has been great, please do continue after you rest with the Lord. thank you so much. God bless you during your vacation.

  69. Suzette Barker permalink

    I would love for you to continue the Bible study!

  70. Maricel Logmao permalink

    Today’s scripture teaches us, how important prayer is. It’s the source of our power and strength, just like Jesus he finds time to be in God’s presence. And it shows that we must not depend on ourselves but to God daily in order for us to do the things entrusted us to do. If we want to see miracles and victories in our lives the secret lies in spending time in the Solitary Place….

    This week of immersion in the Word has blessed me so much, truly there’s a lot of treasure in digging the word of God….God bless you Pastor Mark. May God’s strength be with you…

  71. Tami Sloan permalink

    Please return to doing this. It has blessed me completely.

  72. Sherrie permalink

    Yes!
    Lets keep this going!
    It is so awesome how you can read the same Scriptue over and over and it produces something new every time! A message for you at that time different from any other time.

    I am challenged to find that alone place that Jesus found to be with our Father. I call it “We” time, God & me! The world has “me” time, but all of us have can have “we” time with God. Isn’t this great?!!

    One other thing I liked best about this week’s reading is how it must have been for those scollars to sit and listen to Jesus, this Carpenters son, speak as if he, too was an educated and learned young man. Imagine the look of awe on their faces! Unfortuantely, it was soon replaced by anger when Jesus did some stepping on of toes-so to speak, but I can’t help but wonder if there may have been at least one scollar that day, who held on to the wonder of the knowledge of this young man. One who may have pondered it all in his heart and who knows, maybe came to believe in Jesus himself. <

  73. Tim Rousey permalink

    Mark, please keep the 1 Week Bible Immersion Experience!!!! It Rocks!!!!!

  74. Stacy permalink

    All week I have been taking time to actually be with God- to read His Word, to pray and talk with Him, to praise Him through music and adoration- and the difference it’s been making in my life is obvious. But today, for some reason I did not feel like taking as much time as I have been. God works in mysterious ways. Of course it would be the day I don’t want to take time alone with God that this is what the message is about. : ) I love it when God responds to me in such specific ways.

    Rev. Mark, I’d love for the Bible Immersion to continue. It’s been a blessing to me this week. : ) God bless you on your vacation!

  75. “When Simon Peter saw this, he fell at Jesus’ knees and said, “Go away from me, Lord; I am a sinful man!” For he and all his companions were astonished at the catch of fish they had taken, and so were James and John, the sons of Zebedee, Simon’s partners.

    Then Jesus said to Simon, “Don’t be afraid; from now on you will catch men.” So they pulled their boats up on shore, left everything and followed him.” I love how God’s word speaks to each of us individually. I know I need to rest in Him, and I know I don’t take the time I should to be in His presence. This passage brought that to my attention. From this passage, I also identified very strongly with Peter’s comment, and I realized that I too am full of sin, but Jesus is still there for me, asking me to trust in Him. We can’t come to Jesus on our own righteousness, and He knows that. He welcomes us to come to Him as we are, and not let sinful habits and pride prevent us. Thank you for faithfully sharing the Scriptures! What a blessing and encouragement. Enjoy your vacation! I am looking forward to hear how God spoke to you during the next two weeks, God bless you!
    ~Britta

  76. Sally Messoline permalink

    I feel he wants us to go and tell all we see about him but also the part about finding a solitary place can add to how we take in his word. I try when I first get up because my girls are late sleepers and I get more from what I read. Let’s keep this going. God Bless!

  77. I think we all need a break from time to time. And by Jesus doing so he was setting the example for us to follow. We need our daily time with Him more so than anything else. That’s what keeps us going and striving to do His will each and every day…Have a great vacation you will be missed but I hope we will continue when you get back…God Bless you and your family

  78. gydonnal permalink

    enjoyed it,please go on.

  79. Neil permalink

    i enjoyed all of them…be blessed and rest up…God with u always!! waiting for more inspiration from our God thru the Word…

  80. MaryMarthaKay permalink

    I must know the voice of God so that I discern when it is time to go to the “solitary place” to sit at His feet like Mary did, to listen to HIM and just sit in His presence. I must know His voice so that I hear and do the “certain” work that He has for me to do; or I will end up doing “my own thing” like Martha working myself into a tizzy, then crying out to Jesus to send someone to help me because I can’t do it all by my self. Jesus will remind me that there are “needful things” I should be doing, and not all the unnecessary things that I think are important. Jesus knew what His Father assigned Him to do and spent His energy focusing on that purpose, reserving Himself in the “solitary” place mindful of that purpose. God will not give us more to do than we can handle. If your schedule is too busy like Martha’s, then it’s time to talk to the Master Planner and omit and reschedule your priorities to become HIS priorities for your life.

    Thank you Rev. Mark. This has been the most awesome 1 week of refreshing and learning experience. Refreshing to read your sincere comments and a learning experience to have access to other’s comments and inspiration. It’s always good to look at the same subject from a different perspective. Thank you so much for being true to your calling and for inspiring me and so many others, all for the glory of GOD. May God bless every work of your hands as you Focus on the “certain” things He has for you to do for the Kingdom of God.

  81. Marilynn permalink

    Hi Pastor,
    Well now the week certainly went by fast and here I was feeling alone as my brother passed away on wed. and for the first time in my life I am alone my daughters are gone one in college and one to a husband. I was falling into the sadness of being alone and then you and your journey came into my life so I jumped aboard and wow I’m immersed into the waters like I’ve been baptised again and I love it and will look forward to a new week to start again and yes I realize that God has put me right into the place he needs me to be and that by being alone is where I’m needed to be at this time in my life, so I’m using it to draw closer to him and relearn things anew. I love the Lord with my all so I’ll listen to him more and draw into him and let him draw into me so that we are completely one with each other.Thank you Lord for this time together andPastor Mark enjoy your quiet time as well.For how long it last use me Lord and bless what it is that will follow and who follows it with me in the name that is above all names. Jesus he is the Christ. Amen and Amen,
    Da Evangelist Martin
    Just Marilynn

  82. Lori S. permalink

    Dear Rev. Mark,

    For many years I’ve wanted to get into the routine of reading my bible. I’ve got a three year-old son now, so I thought I’d never get the time. It so happens that God has prepared a time for me to read the Scriptures. I’ve listened to His calling, another time popped up and now THIS!! WOW!! I’ve prayed for years that God would find me the time to read. I’m really loving this time with Him!!
    Please continue this,”Journey Deeper Into God’s Word”!! From previous posts I’m taking it a lot of other people are benefiting from it as much as me!!

    God bless you and God bless your “quiet” time while on vacation.

    Thank you,
    Lori S.

  83. Matthew T. permalink

    What stuck out to me was the fact that they left the fish behind.
    The whole point of catching the fish was to glorify Jesus, but sometimes we get caught up with the “fish” and take our eyes off of Jesus.

    So we always have to be willing to let go of our “fish” and chase Jesus.
    Even if it is a blessing.

    • Sandy permalink

      Good thought, Matthew. I appreciate you pulling that out of this passage and sharing it. Thanks.

  84. Ramona permalink

    Rev Mark, I have truly enjoyed this week. Please continue.

  85. Joshua permalink

    I really like it, I feel God in my heart and this little email i get brings me closer to him. This keep me moving forward and I am growing in Christ!Thanks Rev Mark

Leave a Reply

