Skip to content

1 Week Bible Immersion Experience – Day three!

October 21, 2009

Luke 4:31-37 : 31Then he went down to Capernaum, a town in Galilee, and on the Sabbath began to teach the people. 32They were amazed at his teaching, because his message had authority. 33In the synagogue there was a man possessed by a demon, an evil spirit. He cried out at the top of his voice, 34″Ha! What do you want with us, Jesus of Nazareth? Have you come to destroy us? I know who you are—the Holy One of God!”

35″Be quiet!” Jesus said sternly. “Come out of him!” Then the demon threw the man down before them all and came out without injuring him. 36All the people were amazed and said to each other, “What is this teaching? With authority and power he gives orders to evil spirits and they come out!” 37And the news about him spread throughout the surrounding area.

Jesus full of the Holy Spirit begins His public ministry. And what marks the start of His ministry? First he teaches, then He heals. His teaching has ‘authority’ which in the greek is exousia which means that Jesus spoke with great energy and freedom, a message full of power! When He spoke people would have listened and responded.

I do a lot of speaking, and I am realising the absolute need to rely on God’s power when I speak rather than attempting to entertain.

When I spoke at a conference in Malaysia recently I started with the passage from 1 Corinthians 2:1-5:

1When I came to you, brothers, I did not come with eloquence or superior wisdom as I proclaimed to you the testimony about God. 2For I resolved to know nothing while I was with you except Jesus Christ and him crucified. 3I came to you in weakness and fear, and with much trembling. 4My message and my preaching were not with wise and persuasive words, but with a demonstration of the Spirit’s power, 5so that your faith might not rest on men’s wisdom, but on God’s power.

And this really is my new approach to public speaking.. not my power, but God’s power!

And then once Jesus has finished teaching He then heals the man, releasing him from the clutches of a demon. Jesus not only communicates to the crowds through His teaching, but He cares for the individual. And this is something I know personally.

I became a Christian at the age of 14 through a dramatic conversion where I went from having no idea about God, where I lived a life full of stealing, parties and doing what I pleased, to serving God with all my heart. And it shares a connection with the Luke reading today!

I was caught stealing, and ashamed I ran away from home, and while on the run I had a word come into my head: ‘demonic’. As time passed this word became more and more persistent till eventually it consumed my thoughts. I eventually headed home and grabbed the family dictionary to try and find out what this word meant. The definition completely shocked me, they read: ‘possessed by a demon.’ Up until that point I had no idea about the spiritual realm, no church upbringing.. nothing.. and I had a demon in me?

I called a mate of mine who I knew was a Christian, and he taught me the sinners prayer, so in the confines of my bedroom, having never prayed before, I fell to my knees and spoke my sin, told God that if He could sort me out I would serve Him the rest of my life; and then invited Jesus into my heart. A rush of love like a wind swept through my body and I felt completely new, full and overflowing with God’s love!

So I have been freed from demon possession, released from the cage of sin and despair and I have found new life, and seek to remain in the presence of God all the days of my life!

For many of us we need to turn to Jesus to be freed from the bondage of sin, for it is only God who can heal us. Do you need Jesus?

What are your thoughts and feelings on this amazing passage?

God bless,

Rev Mark

………………………

To subscribe to my blog to receive my reflection for free as an email click here: Subscribe to Journey Deeper Into God’s Word by Email

From → Uncategorized

73 Comments
  1. Blessed be the Name of the LORD; Jesus Christ!
    His arm is not shortened..He is Mighty to Save!
    Glory to the King of kings!

    • Kathy Grayczyk permalink

      I partied and did all that “fun” stuff” too as a teenager. Until I cheated on my husband. I was 23 I knew that I needed help when I did that. So I called my step sister in law and went to church with her and gave my life to Christ that day. I stopped doing drugs and drinking immediately. My husband forgave me and our marriage began to heal although he continued to party. I chose to stay in the marriage although there were many times I wanted out but the church said that wasn’t Gods will for my life. My husband got saved 6 years later.

      When I became 32 I was diagnosed with Bipolar. The church believed I was possessed. They tried deliverance on me, it didn’t work. It took five long years to find the right meds and the Grace of God to begin my healing. During those years, I still continued to go to church and have found the Love of God, and how much he cherishes me and am now healed and am considered “Highly functional”
      I believe that mental illness is a disease of the brain and that people can recover if they are willing to work at it and allow God in their life.

    • I’m behind a day due to the difference in time zones and I was a bit too tired by the time this posted last night. First of all I wanted to thank you Mark for sharing your story–I pray that many are moved and changed as you once were. I recently went on vacation to visit family and my approach was much the same, not my power but God’s. God made it clear before I left that my job was to share the Good News and He will do the rest. While I don’t know the outcomes at this time it was an Awesome experience. Praise God for His work in and through us, in His time and His way. A-men!

  2. Matthew Linson permalink

    This passage really speaks to me. I have heard it before but it seems different than it did, as if there is something there I need to know. I think I need to trust in the Lord a little more… a LOT more. I never thought of it in the way you said it Rev. Brown, I need to be taught before being healed. I guess there is still quite a lot I need to learn before God does what needs to be done. It may not be on my time but I must be patient and trust Him, and listen more. I really liked this passage, it has given me quite a lot to think about.

  3. Diane Walker permalink

    Mark,

    I too have spoken on many occations.. The one that stands out in my mind was one Sunday morning when my Pastor called me at 8:30 am sick and unable to preach. Could I please fill in was the question. Uh…um…Yes. I just threw up my hands and said “Okay God, you have to do this because I have not got time to prepare anything.” You see, service started at 10 but in between 8:30 and 10 I had to drive 25 min to the church and once there I had to teach a Sunday school class from 9 until 9:45.
    I have to say, it was by far the best message I ever brought. Why and how? Because it didn’t come from me, it came directly from the Holy Spirit.
    God Bless

  4. sade blackwell permalink

    I was really touched by this passage I learned from it and I am happy that I opened the link to read it and I thank God for drawing my attention to it I can use what I read to go about my everyday life especially when I am prying to God.

  5. He spoke with all authority. Even the demons knew who he was and what he could do. And to have been a witness to those miracles how could anyone not believe. It’s amazing at how many times God has directed us to speak and that he would guide us and help us. That it is not us who saves, but Christ through us.

  6. robinlmccoy permalink

    “A rush of love like a wind swept through my body and I felt completely new, full and overflowing with God’s love!”

    I can perfectly relate to this because it is exactly how it happened to me. The stress and problems just kept piling up and piling up until I finally prayed to God, whom I had not believed in until that very moment, to take all the worry from me. That I trusted in him to do what he saw fit to do, and I wouldn’t care how things turned out because I knew whatever it was, it would be the best for me in the long run. It’s like I turned around and all the fear and stress left my body and it felt light as air and warm in a very cold house that had next to no heating in the winter that year. I haven’t strayed from His side since that day, December 1st, 2007. Now I am Music Leader and Youth Leader at my church and am praying on whether or not becoming a Children’s Minister is His will.
    Thank you!

  7. Jeffrey George permalink

    God is awesome in might and in power…I pray that the Spirit will continue to release His power in my life as he did in your life

  8. Ufi permalink

    If we want to be use by God the way he wants to use us we need to let go and let God Use us we must be bold in spreading his message with authority .He wants us to go out and make disciples he gives us the power threw his word Letting the holy spirit Lead us.
    And in letting God do his will threw us we can have the victory to do so much for his Glory. We can not sit in the side lines there is work to be done for the Glory of God. We have to live , breath and read his word and in doing so we gain Power ,wisdom and Knowledge to do his will.

  9. I do need jesus…I feel like I’m in a situation or several situations that brings out the worst in me…I want to commit my self to jesus 100% but I don’t wan to mess up..because of these stressful situations..I like this scripture it shows that when jesus when to speak the word of god he was just like us..a little nervous..I guess he didn’t know what to expect and I love your portion of how you changed and gave ur whole life to jesus by doing your sinner prayer..I will try my best to follow in jesus footsteps…its never too late

    • Naomi Jones permalink

      Sharol, I come to tell you that if you ask Him, to take away everything that makes you ‘you’… You will WALK IN the Authority of the Holy Spirit within you. You will be able to call upon that power at any moment your heart tells you to call upon His authority. Please, as you read this message, pray this unto The Father:

      Lord, I ask you to take all that is inside of me that makes me who i am in this world, so that i may be 100% committed to you forever. I will then know that i am living in your Will for me. Thankyou Father Amen.

      After you have prayed this… try it. Call on the Authority of the Holy Ghost in your mind, when something comes into your heart to pray over. If it is something your heart Truly desires, he will grant it. You can say in your mind… I pray for …….. in AUTHORITY and I thank you Father for this. Amen! Then simply expect it to manifest. (you may even feel tingling sensations in your flesh… not to worry, it is the Holy ghost manifesting through you. It is a wonderous feeling. Give thanks and praise for it. Amen Sister.
      All your worries and cares after this will be needless, and peace of mind will enter.
      With all my Love
      NJ~

    • Lisa permalink

      Sharol, no it’s never too late! God loves you. And even as believers we still fail. But what makes us different from non-believers is that when we do fail, we turn back to the One and only One, Jesus Christ to forgive us our sin, our failures. And in through HIs mercy and Grace he forgives us. He loves us and picks us up, dusts us off so to speak, and sets us on the Rock. We are human. Humans fail. . “we all have fallen short of the glory of God.” But God is quick to forgive and He loves us tremendously. He will never leave you nor forsake you. He is faithful even when we are not. I love God’s grace. And if thank him for His mercy.

      Have you accepted Jesus as your Lord and Savior? Would you like to?

      • both you and naomi brought tears to my eyes today..i really approeciate u even reading and thinking of me..thank u guys..

        love sharol

  10. Charish permalink

    love you Jesus! please guide us and be with us always

  11. dorthy porter permalink

    Praise God Mark,This is digging deeper into what it is about.When the Holy Spirit has control the message of God is powerful.Lifes are changed,sickness leaves,mountains are moved,even demons have to leave or be bound.Mark i had a very incredible thing happen one night at a old run down farm house on a Sunday night.God told me to minister to a group of German people who where at a wedding I had attended with the Sat. before.I only speak and understand English.God translated my English so they could understand and their German so I could answer their questions.They followed me back to my house to get some Christain old time gospel of Carmens.The power of God fell in that farm house as two of them gave their life to Jesus.The man jumped in the air and said I am Free.Tears rolled down thier faces as I taught them Amazing Grace.I sent a bunch of christain music ,bibles ,lititure,and christain VCR movies back to Berlin.I believe I spoke German for one night in my life.The Holy Spirit Broke down a lauguage barrier as I preached,sang,and praised God with my hands lifted high.Berlin will never be the same and neither will I.That is only a taste of what the Holy Spirit can do.I walk with Shekinah Glory because of the grace of God.

    • Kim permalink

      Wow I love hearing stories like that!! It gave me Holy Spirit goose bumps.

    • Stacy permalink

      That’s so awesome! Praise God!

  12. Beautiful Mark, my experience was exactly the same. I see that robinlmccoy had the same experience too! for me I didn’t have that demoniac theme runnin’ hey… maybe I did. lol. it matters not.

    It was 4:30 am August 22, 1982 Charlottesville VA. room 34

    ROOOOOM 34 oh my goodness. the blind eyes were opened.

    I fell back on the bed laughing crying for hours on end
    I felt his warm love sweeping through me. I had just prayed the sinners prayer

    Im getting teary telling it.

    I couldn’t wait to tell everyone I knew! and everyone I knew fought me after I told them, but it was still on! God had not backed off, I felt drunk somehow on the Lord.

    Praise God 😀

    • Honestly, what jumped out to me was the last verse, Luk 4:37 And the fame of him went out into every place of the country round about.

      What came to my mind was how Christ usually asked the recipients of his healing not to tell anyone. I am sure he had a good reason.

      Luvs

      • Liz permalink

        This verse came to mind when I read your post….

        Prov 25:2 It is the glory of God to conceal a thing: but the honour of kings is to search out a matter.

  13. Times are no different now than before. God’s teaching are still going on and He is blessing us in spite of ourselves, but people still don’t get it. They know of Him but some choose not to except Him. They are looking for signs and wonders, they have more faith in believing a chair will support them as they sit down without any hesitation.Then they do in our Lord and Savior. Then there are others that know Him but there is no relationship with Him. God blesses them and a couple of days later its like they have arrived and they dont need Him anymore. We take him for granted. Even though we are in the last and evil days. We are getting fat on the word but yet we live in a dying world. I applaud your ministry and pray that His word will continue to go forth and lead lost souls to Christ.
    Approach is everything we need to be suttle in our approach because if we are to loud then it will turn people off before we get there and we may never get the oppourtinuty to witness. We should not have to broadcast our Christiananity. It should be reflected in how we live our lives. I praise God for calling me to grow deeper in him and for this journey digging deeper in His word. He is showing me so much. He is truly teaching me how to live, move and be in His very being.

  14. carly permalink

    im so glad i saw this i feel that i have been struggling God obviously wanted me to see this thank you

  15. Lydia Reyes permalink

    It’s not by might , nor power, but by my spirit , says the LORD. Everyday I pray for his guidance in my life. It’s not always easy, but I realize that is only thru full surrender to God that we can go out into the world and have the boldness to speak his word. In my parrish , my husband and I help out during The Life in the Spirit seminars. One day the Leader of the group came to me and ask me to do a talk on recieving the gifts of the holy spirit and the abundant life he gives us as followers. At first, I kinda panic, I was nervous about talking to a large group of people. I went into prayer and ask Jesus to help me. Well , the holy spirit gave the words and so many people were touch by God that night. I am not an eloquent speaker but when I said my Yes to God, he equipped me with all that I needed. Thank You Lord Jesus.

  16. Derek permalink

    YES! There is only one true teacher! Our words have no power, it is only the holy spirit that can give revelation to people!

  17. wonderful passage,,,Praise The Lord,,,
    miracles of God,,happen in way we dont knw,,,
    believe in Jesus christ,,,wow!!! wonderful we have our opportunity,,

  18. shelley thomas permalink

    thanks for the post, challenge and opportunity to get into God’s word on facebook! I enjoyed all the comments and testimonies! I was encouraged once again with 2 corinthians 2:1!

  19. Kelly Vereide permalink

    I loved your testimony Mark! I have always wanted that tingle moment when I felt God all around me. I grew up going to church off and on. My faith has been a gradual process through which I continue to learn about God and his mighty wonders. I continue to strive and desire to learn more about Him and what it is to be a faithful servant of the Lord. I work everyday at being a better mother, wife, and loving friend. In this passage, I believe that Jesus stood by God’s word and was given the power to heal all who are in need. He wanted everyone to understand that loving God and believing in God was all about. He drew crowds in through his many miracles and saw that everyone was equal and deserved healing through God’s works.

  20. Carolyn permalink

    Mark, you are truly blessed to be able to speak the way you do. Thank you for sharing. I feel blessed just reading your testimony. Continue the good work for the Lord and I will continue to pray for you.

  21. Bianca permalink

    For as long as I remember I have been floating in between Christian and, well, I don’t know. I know God is there but, I don’t feel love or anything that every other Christian talks about. I honestly don’t get how to take the step up to being a Christian. I have recently started to read my bible on a nightly basis, and pray afterward. But still nothing. Is there something I’m not getting here?

    • Bianca, have you ever prayed the sinners prayer?

    • Derek permalink

      Bianca, you seem to have the means and determination to seek out the key to what being a Christain is so I will let you know something. Becoming a Christian is not a step up, but a step down. We are not talking social class or anything here either, strictly biblical terms.
      One final note, not everyone feels the rush of the wind coursing through their body when they finally accept Jesus into the depths of their heart. Yet, there is a joy that only God can give you; a joy that comes from grace and mercy. God gives us this joy and no pain, no suffering, no worldly pleasure, no worldly peace, no depression, no happiness can take away the joy that God gives us.

    • MaryMarthaKay permalink

      Bianca …. If you have said the sinners prayer as Marvin inquired below, then I would suggest that you pray BEFORE you read God’s Word, asking Him to open your eyes, ears, and heart to receive all that He has for you. To give you insight and understanding of what you read. Ask Him what you should read. The Holy Spirit will guide you in all Truth. Ask God for the things that are on your heart that you are not getting. If you don’t feel his love ask him to reveal his love to you. Read the WORD often, daily. If you don’t know where to start ask the LORD and until you get His direction, read the Psalms starting with Psalm 23 and read it over and over again, for weeks if that is what it takes, until God’s Word is settled deep inside your heart. God works his word inside of us, and you will begin to feel His presence and his love, and then his love will begin to flow from you to others.
      We are instructed in the Bible to worship in Truth (the WORD of GOD) and in Spirit … an unsaved person does not have the working of the Holy Spirit in them, therefore they have no understanding of God’s WORD. God Bless you Bianca …. Jesus loves you so much and I know He will help you every step of the way. Don’t ever give up!

      • Susanna Liew permalink

        Yes Blanca, Jesus loves you. If you seek Him earnestly, He will open the way for you. I agree with Mary. Indeed there’s none like Him. No one can fathom how deep is His love.

        Fret not Blanca, for you are not alone. Even King David went through similar situation (Psalm 5:1-3). But do not worry too for the Lord God is our help in these times.. (Psalm 121:1-2) 🙂

        Here’s a little verse I would like to share with you:-

        “Jeremiah 29:13 You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.”

        God Bless.

    • Jackie Quillen permalink

      Bianca, I pray for you to find that peace that passes all understanding and you will if you continue on your quest. Did you know that you can get a study Bible which will explain the passages and help you understand the history and the happenings. Also, I hope that you will find a Bible preaching church that will teach you the Word. So many churches today barely mention the Bible, hell, sin, salvation. They are to into social commentary. You are hungry and you need to be fed the Word . You are starting in a good place!

    • Stacy permalink

      Bianca, I cannot tell you have important it is to have fellowship with other believers. Fueling up on God and His Word during your personal time is very important, but God uses other Christians to help us grow, as well. Also, engage in some kind of service for God. If you attend church (which is also helpful), ask your pastor where you could serve. We don’t all have “tingly” experiences all the time. Sometimes we just have to press into God and worship Him with our lives anyway. He will be faithful.
      “11Here is a trustworthy saying:
      If we died with him,
      we will also live with him;
      12if we endure,
      we will also reign with him.
      If we disown him,
      he will also disown us;
      13if we are faithless,
      he will remain faithful,
      for he cannot disown himself.”
      -2 Timothy 2:11–13

  22. Connie permalink

    The only problem I see here is the majority of people even those who profess to be Christians, don’t realize the depths of thir sin. I have found it is the ones who are forgiven much who know God the best and really spend their lives walking with Him.
    Unfortunately most believe that because they don’t steal, or cheat, or kill they are not all that bad…and that, that kind of confessing of sin is not for them. Not realizing to God a sin is a sin..period. One no worse than the other. Whether you killed someone or just hold anger towards someone. But we don’t usually see the later as something between us and God that needs to be confessed, forgiven and healed.
    What draws us to God is His unfailing love and His forgiveness and grace that we do not deserve. We first have to realize the great wrongs we commit every day or we will never be able to experience the fullness of His love and forgiveness. Simply because we haven’t realized how much we don’t deserve it. The thankfulness is not as it should be because we have not truly realized what we were given that we didn’t deserve. Something we could never earn no matter how good we were or how many good deeds we did. First we have to realize the poverty of our own souls and hearts without HIM.

  23. Brandon permalink

    I love the lord with all my heart. I’m praying and doing my best to reach the point where i can speak to others. I’ve a had a very sinful past but through jesus i’m firgiven. Thanks for striving to get to the point where you can preach and so you may help us let our light shine brighter.

  24. We too, are to teach The Word of God, with authority!! That only The Holy Spirit can give., We are to heal ( whatever is broken with the person, we are to address it, & roll up our sleeve’s & get busy/ do what God say’s we are to do ), we are to cast out demon’s/in The name of Jesus!!

  25. Rae permalink

    Connie I became a christian at the age of 6years I grew up in a christian home but that doesnt stop me needing Jesus in my life or stop me getting into trouble- at getting saved at such a young age I still had to grow both as a christian and a girl, but with the Lord in my heart I was able to grow in Him as well as with Him – it doesnt make you a good person you have to rely on Him and that can be a hard lesson when your friends will turn and say -you cant do that your one of those christians-

  26. If yall won’t so messed up I wouldn’t have to write so much!
    AP hit the nail on the head. get in the word and everything will leap into place.

    You know you want me to write another epistle

    something about a train wreck ya just can’t look away can ya

    give it up. the Lord told me to tell all of you, to get in the bed.

    and you get no signature tonight for half stepping on me

    • Stacy permalink

      What? I’m very confused by this. What are you saying?

  27. Bro: Mark I was so Move By This Passage that I To must Give My testimoniy.I was Born under The Muslim Faith I study Islam for Over 20 Yrs. But Alway Felt Like Something Was Missing .So i started Hanging Out Using drugs And Women To Make Me fill Better .I sold Drugs made Alot Of money had Alot Of Street Respect But I still Felt Empty .I join A gang We Ran the Town i was in The Cops There knew Who I was But could Never bust Me with anything But That’s another story I meet This young Lady that told me about Her GOD and I Listen To Her I accepted Her Invite To Go to Church And that first day I felt complete but i wasn’t ready to serrender To GOD I ran For A couple Of Years Making Fox Hole Prayers when i was in trouble and GOD got Me Out Of them And I forgot My promise Until I got Shoot I was In the Hospital About To Die when A Man Of GOD came into My Room And prayed with Me And For Me GOD Answered His Prayer And I have Been in GODS word From That Day On Now I Spend Everyday Thank GOD and Tell Everyone I meet How Much GOD Loves Them And Me .Who would Have thought I would Be A Husband ,Father Of 2 Lovly Girls That are my world .It’s Only By GOD S Grace May GOD Bless You All

  28. I like this passage. On the surface all looks great, His ministry is successful, people are awed by His speaking…in fact Jesus has every reason to be pleased with the public ministy…and then when the demoniac is drawn, and starts declaring that Jesus is the Holy One onf God, Jesus stops him in his tracks with a firm rebuke….it shows me that Jesus wasn’t interested in human acclaim or flattery ( Surely the Holy One of God is the highest compliment). Jesus hasn’t let the success go to his head. However it makes me think of another possibility, perhaps Jesus’ response is also due to His concerns that He does not want the word to spread about his true identity yet, He has a work to do and only when this is fulfilled will He go to the cross, having anyone ranting about His divinity will only inflame things and could hinder the ministry…Jesus places the ministry, and the people it serves, above all things. It highlights my own vanity, my own needs for ‘feedback’ on whenever I have spoken publicly , which is in contrast to Jesus’, who recognised that in this instance, the ‘ feedback’ was at best flattery and at worst a demonic strategy to stop the living word of God!
    I really like Reverands thoughts on this and his referring to Pauls words concerning having a ministry which demonstrates the power of God rather than eloquent words. Amen

    • Jackie Quillen permalink

      Your second possibility is right on! Jesus told many not to tell as it was NOT his time and His work was not complete.

  29. It’s all about the power.

  30. Susanna Liew permalink

    The passage reminds me of God’s strength. The evil one fled when Jesus commanded it to come out of the man. Temptation may arise which you can’t solve it with your own strength but God’s.
    I want to thank God for His grace and mercy. Through Him I’ve overcome many weaknesses in life. Let us continue to trust Him and be our source of strength.

    Isaiah 40:29 He gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak.
    Isaiah 40:31 but those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. they will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.

  31. Robin permalink

    I grew up in church and realized at the age of 28 that I didn’t know Christ. I didn’t know that there was a difference. But I am so thankful that He found me.I love to read and study the Word. One of my very first studies was on Prov.8:17. If you seek Him you will find Him, seek Him, pursue Him, you will find Him. Diligently seek Him, pray, read like you are looking for a great treasure. If we understood how much He desires a relationship with us we would pursue Him as the love of our life. I always loved Luke 4:1-15, Jesus went into the wilderness full of the Holy Spirit, and came out in the power of the Holy Spirit. How awesome!

  32. megan bumgardner permalink

    I really need someone to pray for me,Ifeel like a lost soul,i am a lost soul.

    • wendy permalink

      I will pray for you. Jesus loves you and so do I.

    • MaryMarthaKay permalink

      Heavenly Father, I lift up Megan Bumgardner to you now, asking you Lord to touch her heart with your presence and your love like she has never experienced. I pray for eternal life for Megan according to 1 John 5:16. In Jesus’ name AMEN!

      God Bless you Megan ! Jesus loves you so much! Open your heart to receive HIM and open the free gift of life He died on the Cross to give to you.

  33. I want to thank each of your for taking the time to comment on what Mark wrote. It is encouraging and beautiful to read and feel the faith, power and love that we share for our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I look forward to reading future postings. God bless each of you!

  34. Dan Clark permalink

    I prayed the sinner’s prayer and accepted Jesus Christ as my savior at age 14. Then for some reason, at around 30 I walked away from the church. For almost 20 years I didn’t attend church, read the bible, nor pray. In that time I ran into many troubles and became an alcoholic. Then a few short years ago a local church hung a flyer on our door advertising a church lock-in for all the kids before the school year started. Our youngest wanted to go. One thing led to another an soon we were attending that church. Later my wife and I would go through marital counselling with the associate pastors, attend a Christ-based 12-step program, and become very active Christians. I am truly thankful each and every day for the presence of the Holy Spirit in our hearts, guiding us. I’m grateful to have Jesus Christ as my personal High Priest and intercessor at the Father’s ear. In the last year we have truly learned the meaning of the phrase “in God all things are possible.” I had a stroke an was completely healed. I’ve had family relationships that were broken restored. Even my son, who disappeared without a trace, was later found, accepted Jesus as his savior, and went through a year and a half Christian Life Development Program to deal with issues that had caused him to run away. God is great and truly wants to bless each and every one of us. I thank the Lord every day for the many blessings in my life and pray that I am living a life that is wholly pleasing to Him.

  35. MaryMarthaKay permalink

    In this passage Luke 4:31-37 much emphasis is given regarding the “power of God’s WORD.”

    “They were amazed at his teaching, because his message had authority”….. Jesus spoke “come out of him!” “All the people were amazed… with authority and power he gives orders to evil spirits and they come out!”

    God’s word shall not return unto him void; therefore we are to rest in God’s
    promise, trusting HIM to work HIS WORD that we speak; and He will give us the WORDS to speak in that same hour.

    Isa 55:11 “So shall my word be that goeth forth out of my mouth: it shall not
    return unto me void, but it shall accomplish that which I please, and it shall
    prosper in the thing whereto I sent it.”

    Mt 10:19 But when they deliver you up, take no thought how or what ye shall speak: for it shall be given you in that same hour what ye shall speak.

    Lu 24:49 “And, behold, I send the promise of my Father upon you: but tarry ye in the city of Jerusalem, until ye be endued with power from on high.”

    Note the name Jerusalem means foundation of peace, or founded in peace,
    teaching peace, duel peace shall be taught, lay/set ye double peace.

    Jesus is our foundation. He is the PRINCE of PEACE. He is the WORD. We are to tarry in the WORD until we are endued with power. Worshiping Him in TRUTH (the WORD) and in SPIRIT. God works his WORD two ways: inside us as we read and hear the WORD, and when it flows spoken to others. God WORKS his WORD in and through us. It’s a domino effect: once spoken to someone and they hear the Word, God works His Word on the inside of them, and so on. The primary point is that we tarry in the WORD until we are endued with power.

    Heb 4:12 For the word of God is quick, and powerful, and sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing even to the dividing asunder of soul and spirit, and of the joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart.

    SWORD OF THE SPIRIT. This is the word (rhma) of God, what His mouth has spoken, and is the only offensive weapon given to Christians with which to fight the Lord’s battles. #Eph 6:17. The word (logov) of God is likened to a two-edged sword, #Heb 4:12.

    The above describes Rev. Mark’s conference speech: He spoke the simple WORD of GOD trusting the LORD to work HIS WORD. He was yielded to the Holy Spirit so that God’s Word flowed out of his mouth, as he rested his faith in God, trusting HIM to work HIS WORD, and God’s power flowed through him. God will work his WORD in those who heard the WORD long after Rev. Mark has left the conference. God will do the same for you.

    Lord draw your children to you like a magnet with a deep desire to seek you and your WORD. In Jesus’ name. AMEN! God Bless you.

  36. Gwen permalink

    Every day of my life, I need Jesus. I am nothing with out Him in my life. I also have family members that I know need Jesus, but instead of trying to hit them over the head with Him, I am trying to live my life so that He shines thru me. It is not easy to live holy, but with Jesus all things are possible.

  37. MaryMarthaKay permalink

    Adding an additional scripture reference (left off above post).

    This scripture tells us that the power of God unto salvation is in the gospel of Christ. We speak the simple Truth and God Works that TRUTH.

    Ro 1:16 For I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ: for it is the power of God unto salvation to every one that believeth; to the Jew first, and also to the Greek.

  38. promiss m permalink

    Luke 4:31~36 tells me God can control everything if u let him…..thanx u for this

  39. Jeff Waara permalink

    This really speaks to me. I relate with Rev Mark. I did not become a Christian until I was 35 yrs old. Before that was a life of parties, drugs, alchohol, greed,selfishness, and on and on. I praise the Lord for opening my eyes and my salvation. I pray everyday that he will continue to use me and my past to help others. I work with the youth at our church and I can really relate to them. THANK YOU JESUS!!!!

  40. Jagwood permalink

    I enjoyed this passage. It got me to thinking about all the truly lost teenagers that are out there in the world- lost.

    When I was in college- I was heavily into drinking, going out with different guys, partying and not being a good example to my peers. Yet at the same time, church was very important to me- it was almost like two lives into one, but it was a good thing especially for me. I kept on partying when I transferred to another college and then I crashed- kicked out of school, .84 GPA~ , totally lost—AND I hadn’t attended another church at that time. I had lost it all, it seemed. I then realized that God has always been there for me no matter what, because why was I still “alive”?? He was taking care of me even in my sin. And he was my True Father–Thank you God. Everyday is Father’s Day for my Father in Heaven!!

  41. Jagwood permalink

    I have copied the verses of Isaiah 61:1, 2 and I see the word “mourn” and I know what this verse means to me. I was unsure of attending a funeral yesterday for some people that I know, but only a little bit. I went and i am glad that I did. I wanted to show that I cared about their loss. They had prayed for their aunt that very morning in Sunday School – when their Aunt had already gone to be with the Lord. I felt a connection to their aunt and I wanted them to know that.

    Now I seem to be struggling with whether or not to send a sympathy card to a father whose 26 year old son committed suicide- due to depression. This father is of the scientology religion and I don’t want to make matters for him worse by putting my beliefs on him. I want to tell him that his son didn’t take his own life, that the disease of depression did. God Bless this father and CLC.

    • MaryMarthaKay permalink

      Jagwood, ………. if the Lord has put it on your heart to send a card, then send it. Trust God to “work His word.” Let God lead you in what you write in the card. God Bless you.

  42. I did’nt grow up in a christian home as a matter of fact I did’t even know who God was. I was physically, sexually (at a later age)and mentally abused by my parents. MY parents were embarresed of me ,because I was in special ed. my whole life. I grew up in germany the first nine years of my life . When I went to first grade it was too hard for me so I had to go to a whole differnt school,a school for special needs children, In germany when your child goes to one of them schools, the parent is embarresd of their child. I remember when I was in the third grade our school had a play and I was in it. My mom never came she said that it was an embarresment for her. I was always either made to stay home by myself or I had to go to my grandma’s,while my family went without me. When I was 12 i was grounded for something I did. I was always grounded. Anyways I thought of sucide. I started chocking myself. Once I wrote a Note to God , and sinceI didn’t know who he was I taped it on my window. I wrote God do u love me yes or no? As uknow he didnt answer me back by circling the answer on my paper, so I felt even more unloved. Then when I was 14 my stepdad started to sexually abuse me. It lasted 10 years. I was always told to tell my mom that I was staying home. I never could tell my mom ,she would of told me that I was a liar. He finally stopped when they divorced in 98. I commited my life to Jesus in 06 and I love being a child of God.

  43. Stacy permalink

    I love the focus on Jesus’ authority in this passage. He spoke with authority. He is called The Holy One of God. The demons obeys Him. Others speak of his authority and power. Jesus is incredible. I have peace because my God is powerful and victorious.

  44. It feels good to be in the company of believers. Dan Clark’s post is inspirational to me as I have been away for sometime and had fear and worry that maybe I had been away too long. I feel comforted.
    Thanks,
    Jon

  45. This passage really says to me that nothing evil can be hidden from Jesus. Nothing is impossible for Him and He can drive out all evil — no matter how severe it is in your life. Once you accept Christ, the demon in you is driven away. Praise the Lord!

  46. This passage is just one reality of how much of an awesome wonder our God is and that there is power in the name of Jesus and when he left to be with our father he left a comforter with us that instills the same power, deliverance and healing that was done way back then, we have to just walk in our power and our blessings and allow the will of God to take place. I remember when I was lead to church by my 22 year old daughter who was then 5 yrs old at the time, so truly out of the mouth of babes is true, because once I started going to church there was no more partying and having all kinds of worldly fun there was only a hunger and thirst after righteousness. By the grace and mercies of God I was saved by grace not of works (not of myself) there was nothing I could do to change except accept the change through Christ Jesus, and each day has been greater and sweeter than the day before in all of the 15 years I have been saved God’s works and powers always seem to amaze me even through my trials, tribulations, weakness and fainting at times I just lift up mine eyes unto the hills from whence cometh my help (Psalms 121:1) again he is truly an awesome wonder.

  47. Shelby permalink

    I loved this passage and thought it was very inspiring. It is so cool how God works through us in mysterious ways and no matter how much stuff we go through in our life, God still finds a way to turn us around from evil and go down his path. He helps us keep the faith, He is truly our awesome God and i thank him all the time for everything he has put in my life. He is the one who helps me get through the day when i feel like everything is going wrong, he finds something good to help put a smile on my face again and i am very thankful for that. I have always believed in God but i would usually follow with what a lot of people say and not have my own say for what i know, but now that is completely different. God brought a big light into my life a couple years ago a person who is like a best friend/sister to me and she has been like a guardian angel and no matter what happens through our good and bad times were always there for each other and God has worked through her to get me where i am today. i am very very very thankful 🙂

  48. Rose permalink

    Megan Bumgardner:

    I understand that you feel lost. Do you believe in Jesus Christ and that He is the Son of God. Have you asked Him to forgive your sins and ask Him to come into your life and take the reigns of your life. Jesus is right there beside you. All you have to do is reach out and take His hand. He is already reaching out for yours.

    Father I pray in the name of your Son, Jesus Christ that you will reach into Megan’s heart and give her peace that passes all understanding, if she has already given her heart and life to you. If she has not yet turned her life over to you then I pray that you will help her to open up her heart and ask you to come in. You died so that she might have abundant life. Father give her your joy. Help her to seek your word and talk to you all the time. I pray also Father that she will open up and allow your blessed Holy Spirit to come in and give her the power to stand up for what is right, and to stand against Satan’s temptations and his devouring spirit. Be with her Lord as she seeks to do what is right. If she is already a christian, I pray that you will bring her out of the dry desert place she is in and set her feet on higher ground. I thank youu Lord for what you are now doing in Megans heart and for what you are going to do in her life as she yields to the power of the Holy Spirit. In the blessed name of Jesus I pray. AMEN!!!

    Jesus loves you Megan and so do I.
    In His Loving Hands

    Rose

  49. Give glory to the Lord! He is our Joy! Blessed be Your name!

  50. Richard permalink

    This passage is really inspiring, not only is He our teacher but He is also our redeemer. With just a few words He commanded the demon to come out. We too can have that same gift of deliverance, but we have to believe. Stop doubting and just believe.

  51. gretchen permalink

    It truly is amazing that demons know who Jesus is without an introduction! It is also truly amazing how many humans don’t have a clue who He is, even after they’ve been introduced to Him.

  52. holly permalink

    what is your belief about baptism??

Leave a Reply

