Skip to content

Psalm 51:10-12

October 18, 2009

‘Create in me a clean heart, O God; and renew a right spirit within me. Cast me not away from thy presence; and take not thy holy spirit from me. Restore unto me the joy of thy salvation; and uphold me with thy free spirit.’ Psalm 51:10-12

I just love how God is revealing His will for me through His scripture! I yearn for a clean heart, a pure heart, free from the blemish and ugly stain of sin. Why? So I can more fully be in God’s presence.

This started as a calling to draw close to God and now several months later I realize how completely essential it is to be as close to God as possible. As I draw close I find myself more and more being guided by the Holy Spirit, and an assurance that I am more and more doing God’s will. I seek to be used by Him, for His glory!

And I am not alone in that calling. God is calling you to draw closer to Him. How? Through making that commitment to seek God, facing your sin and immersing yourself in the Bible. Yes God is calling you as well!

I yearn for a clean heart, for the Holy Spirit to be fully active in my life, for me to completely walk in His will.

This amazing scripture is my prayer today:

Lord create in me a clean heart, O God; and renew a right spirit within me. Cast me not away from your presence; and take not your holy spirit from me. Restore within me the joy of your amazing salvation; and give me a wonderful life through your free spirit. Amen!

God bless,

Rev Mark

……………………….

To subscribe to my blog to receive my reflection for free as an email click here: Subscribe to Journey Deeper Into God’s Word by Email

You prefer podcasts to reading? My reflection is available as a podcast: In iTunes: CLICK HERE (Click Subscribe)

On the net: CLICK HERE (Connect with your RSS Feed Reader)

From → Uncategorized

49 Comments
  1. Mark, I have been so inspired and blessed by your Bible excerpts in facebook. It gives me a REAL reason to go onto the site. I am trying to daily read scripture and meditate on it as the Word says.

    Thank you.

    • Eileen permalink

      What grace! What gentle encouragement! This is good to because the enemy wishes to ware down the saints of God.
      Sweet hour of prayer! sweet hour of prayer!
      Thy wings shall my petition bear
      To Him whose truth and faithfulness
      Engage the waiting soul to bless.
      And since He bids me seek His face,
      Believe His Word and trust His grace,
      I’ll cast on Him my every care,
      And wait for thee, sweet hour of prayer!

  2. Scarlett permalink

    I totally agree with you on that. I need that prayer in my life too. I also want to be closer to God, like the time I first got saved. It just seems hard sometimes when so much is going on.

  3. Lori Giles permalink

    WOW! This hit right on the target! We have recently moved and are looking for another church but we are slow in doing it. God is truly calling us back to him!

  4. Thanks for posting up this verse . It is also a favorite of a well known person I know personally . This verse helps him in dark times . God bless you much for bringing up this inspirational piece of scripture . As we all need to be washed clean and have a better heart of the spirit and mind . Which comes out from the inside showing more of Jesus . Which produces something of God’s likeness . Which centers on love and life .

  5. Brandy Vincent permalink

    Would love to be part of the one week bible immersion!

  6. i would like to know god better becos am confused and i don’t know who to belive any more friend’s keep telling me to do internet fraud just to raise money for my animation studio

    • Herb Roberson permalink

      Uche…the words fraud and success are not two words that will EVER go together…besides it being wrong in the eyes of God, fraud will eventually land you in jail. Not worth it…

  7. i try so hard to get closer to god by praying asking him to foregive me of my sins but sometimes i feel he doesnt hear me i trully want to get closer to god i will do whatever it takes. maybe someone could help me.

    • kathy permalink

      Joel,
      I once felt like you. I don’t have an answer but for me, I just started reading the BiBle. I read every morning before work or at the end of my day. It has led me to a closer relationship with God. Just let HIS word lead you.
      Kat

    • Get a concordance[often in the back of the bible.] Look up all the scriptures you can find on love. Read them. Meditate on them. Meditate is {like when you worry about something] going over and over it in your mind. Write out a few of these scriptures. Ask the Holy spirit to give you a revelation of Gods love. Jesus died for all sin past, present and future. I find it helps to speak out loud. Thankyou God for your forgiveness. I accept it now. I remember once God said. I have forgiven you. Now you need to forgive yourself. Otherwise you are saying the sacrifice of Jesus was not enough. God also showed me we can do nothing in our own strength. We need the power of the Holy Spirit. So pray,”Holy Spirit please help me to ………. Thank you.”
      I have found the only way to get to know someone is to hang out with them. Talking, doing stuff together. God is no different. We get to know Him by reading about Him in his word{the bible]. This for me is how He speaks to me. That still quiet voice, .
      “Ask and you shall recieve. Seek and you shall find . Knock and I will open the door. ”
      It is so simple. We complicate it. Just talk to God like you would talk to any special friend.
      He so longs to hold you in His arms and tell you how special you are to Him.
      Hope this helps. Love in Christ. Diana.

    • Teresa Hicks permalink

      It takes letting go. Tell GOD that you are sorry for the sins that you have committed in the pass and really mean it. While you are praying He will bring them to mind and you will remember each one. Ask GOD to forgive you and release them to Him. It is the letting go that cleans you. Lay it all down at the altar.

    • MaryMarthaKay permalink

      Joel, guilt and shame are of the devil to make you think that God has not forgiven you. If you have truly repented before God then you should not feel guilt or shame; if you do you are under condemnation. The devil condemns, but the Holy Spirit convicts. When we are convicted by the Holy Spirit we repent before God asking for forgiveness. You must remind the devil that the sin he is trying to make you guilty or shameful of is under the BLOOD of JESUS CHRIST! We are to “cast down every imagination in our mind that is not of God.” The thoughts we think are where the battle begins. We should be thinking on things of God in his Word. The WORD of God and the HOLY Spirit will teach you. Stay in the WORD of God and read it as often as you can. Find a scripture that speaks to your heart and memorize it and speak it often so that the WORD will stay deep in your heart. God knows the motives of the heart, and He knows if we truly repent. Pray and ask God to increase your desire for His WORD and to give you understanding of what you read. You can pray the model prayer Jesus gave us in Matthew 6:9-13 and reading verses 14 and 15. Ask the Lord to search your heart for unforgiveness and reveal any to you so it can be laid on the altar.
      ….. Heavenly Father I ask you now to deepen the desires of Joel’s heart to seek you first and your WORD as you give him wisdom, knowledge, and understanding. Lord show him great and mighty things he knows not of, according to your word in Jeremiah 33:3. Lord give him peace that surpasses all understanding and joy in his heart. In Jesus’ name, AMEN. Thank you Lord for miracles in yet another life.

    • Antoinette Summers permalink

      We as christians walk by faith and not feelings which is hard at times because this world is geared twords what you feel, see, ect. The word is there to guide the soul beyond feelings. The bible says in 1 John 1:9 If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to for give us our sinsand to cleanse us from all unrighttousness. So Hold on to the truth in this scripture and do not walk by feelings. Have faith that what he says he will do. I hope this helps you as it has me. It is a great scripture to bring peace to the soul that God in deed does hear and answer the hearts cry for forgiveness and cleansing. There is a scripture that says that we must believe that God is a rewarder of those that diligently seek him. I am gonna tey to find it. It is Hebrews 11:6

  8. Grace Forme permalink

    I get your word on Facebook.. I am having a very trying time in my life now.
    I needed that word. Pray for me. I use a alias on here but Got knows me very well. But the enemy is after me. Your Friend in Jesus.. Grace

  9. Nicole permalink

    Wow. Wow. Wow. This.. Blog or whatever.. Helps so much. I am putting popularity first in life and the Holy Spirit keeps nudging at me and convicting me when i do wrong but i just think “oh its only one bad song..” “oh its only the word crap? Whats so bad about that?” This helps SO much! So.. Mark, i thank you very much and i thank God for blessing me to see this post. It wasnt just by chance. God bless.

  10. Denise permalink

    God is truly calling us to draw closer because the enemy desires to steal our testimony away from us. We know the truth and we know that our savior is Jesus and He has redeemed us and set us free.

  11. Christina♥ permalink

    This was very good:) thank you so much for this. It really inspired me to get into the word of God and draw near to him.

  12. LYNDA HUNT permalink

    rev mark i got the word right on facebook i really needed to here that word. keep on prayin for me so that i may always do right in gods eye sight,some times we fall but we have to get back up and start al over,n i realize that god is not going to put more on us that we can’t bear.Matthew 6;33 but seek you first the kingdom of god, and his righteousness and all others shall be added.god bless.

  13. Terry permalink

    I am so blessed to have found this site and this scripture is exactly what I need…my heart and spirit to be driven and lifted in the right direction. There are so many things in life that drive us the wrong way and corrupt our spirits and break our hearts! Thank God that people are using the Internet for GOOD! I want to answer this calling and I pray that God is closer to me and to my family! Amen

  14. Kurt Kahle permalink

    PS 51:10-12 is a great vs. plus also need to remember that only GOD can give us a pure heart, and no one else would ever, that’s why it’s all about God’s love, and is not a spirit of fear, take it to the next level, and God will see u through it

  15. Marvin permalink

    One can have perfect faith, and still not be perfected in the flesh.

  16. Marvin permalink

    * not that we will ever be perfect. not that I am teaching sinless perfection.

    Me? I would personally like to hear the word, and what is up and positive, and not go on about what I lack.

    what I lack is faith.

    for if I have faith, then I am perfect and entire wanting nothing.

    if I have faith then the devil is on the run

    if I have faith, i rest in Jesus’ work on the cross, and I also believe the book of romans, when it says, there is therefor now no condemnation to them which are in Christ.

    It’s not sin that takes one to hell, it’s unbelief.

    if we reverse engineer that statement, it works out neatly.
    It is unbelief that prevents me from good works

    for, if I believed then I would act
    show me your faith, we show you our works

    indwelling sin is already dealt with on calvary. I don’t know what to do with sin. Not sure there is anything I can do with it. It’s bigger than I am.

    The, idea to sin will be with me till the end.
    best I can do, is, run the race of faith

    and. if i am busy faithing. I wont have time to get tempted.

    whew. this is a huge subject. about sin.

    but that’s my personal belief. see. the difference is.

    today im going to heaven, tomarrow i lose my soul, but then the next day I repent and get to goto heaven again

    it don’t work this way. born again is born again

    and the sin in me was defeated on calvary

    God found no way to remove the old nature. we merely subdue it can I get an amen.

    God did provide a way to keep sins penatly off of me, if by faith I will walk in it.

    that’s all

    luv ya man!

    • I think the born again part is correct.If we are truly born again,we will be obediant,and we will when we do sin grieve over that sin and repent.I do however see people that are taking grace as a license to sin.

      They say that Jesus died for past,present,and future sins and I doesn’t matter what we do we can’t loose salvation. You then see the people that teach and believe that way going out and living a lifestyle that GODS word says he hates.

      So,my question is to those that believe and teach this,or they truly born again? My Bible teaches me( not being judgemental) You will know them by their fruits.. What kind of fruit is being produced?

  17. Toya permalink

    You have such an anointing Brother. You are right on time!!! It is evident that you are learning you, and in the midst of that change God gets ALL the glory. Your faithfulness encourages many who are weary or just want to serve God more. May you be fruitful in all of your endeavors. God bless.

  18. Don Mumma permalink

    My Christian life depends on the quality of my love relationship with God. A lofve relationship with God is more important than any single factor in my life. To be loved by God is the Highest relationship, the highest achievement, and the highest position in life. You come to know God by experience as you obey Him and He accomplishes His work through you.The following scriptures describe a love relationship with God. Det 30: 19-20, John 3: 16, John 14: 21, Rom 8:35,37,39

  19. Bobby O'Neal permalink

    Thank you so much…I would love to receive emails containing his word and godly thoughts to guide my days.

  20. Hi, I couldn’t wait to get done with my morning prayers to get on Facebook to play with Happy Acquarium. When I saw this site, subscribed to it then now I can hardly wait to see what you have posted Mark. I want to thank you with all my heart that you take the time to do this. I know this is a great way for His word to get out to those who may not know they need it or were even looking for it. Bless you and keep up the great work.

  21. Lorena permalink

    This is exactly what I needed to hear right now.
    Thank you so much for sharing this.
    🙂

  22. jeff howe permalink

    Awesome Site

  23. Jill O. permalink

    It’s a good thing to be reminded of how much God loves us, and wants fellowship with us in spite of our brokenness and human frailty. I had this picture of us as His children being sunflowers with God being the Sunlight. As we move to follow His light, we grow taller and stronger as we bask in Him also.
    Thanks for your daily inspiring Bible teachings. It really means a lot to me, and the verses you choose somehow seem to fit into some aspect of my day.
    God Bless You,
    Jill

  24. Thank you for a beautiful website, It’s what this old world needs. If I didn’t have JESUS in my life, I would be eternally lost. Keep up the good work and GOD bless you. Living by FAITH in JESUS CHRIST.

  25. Samuel permalink

    Just a moment (however brief) of reflection on God’s word is what I need. Ur messages r a blessing, and the medium couldn’t b any better

  26. Teresa Hicks permalink

    These are the verses that I chose for my Proflie because they are my life-line in my early beginnings as a true believer. They are the verses that I could not wait to sing in my old Lutheran church. The ones that my heart really responded to and got my mind really thinking about. Thank you for posted these exact verses and believe me I sang them as I read them!

  27. I truly enjoyed what was say here, and it did lift me up.

  28. Psalm 51: 10-12 Awesome! Right in line with our church message this evening–God’s timing is amazing!

  29. Lydia Reyes permalink

    It brings me great Joy seeing so many coming to the bible website seeking to grow more in the word of God. The work that God is doing in your Life is Awesome. We shall all give him Glory , Honor and Praise. May his presence be always with us, anointing us with his holy spirit, filling us, molding us and using us for his Glory. Amen

  30. nick permalink

    That’s cool Mark, Praise God

  31. Dorthy Porter permalink

    The Amazing grace of God is so wonderful and free for us today by just excepting Gods salvation plan of Jesus and excepting Jesus into our hearts.We can ask the Holy Spirit to live with in us ,guide.We are a blessed generation to be born in the grace era.If we except Jesus into our hearts we can then go into the inner courts of God the father ,he hears our prayers.If people only knew who they are when they except Jesus ,they are then grafted into the family of God.We are sons and daughters of the living God.God shows favor to his sons and daughters we can be made whole.People do not realize that Jesus can make them whole.This means Jesus can heal ,restore evey area of there life.Some people after they except Jesus still want to live in bondage,Jesus paid the price for our sins at the cross,they are wiped away ,we are white as snow.The spirit of God is free for us today,Praise God.

  32. MaryMarthaKay permalink

    A now word with an on-time prayer …. to pray often. Thank you Lord!

  33. HELP!!! I did not get to write down the first week of bible study i no they were i the book of matthew thats all please send them to me so i can start on time

    thanks love janice

  34. I just found your blog on wordpress and look forward to reading more. Thank you.

  35. thanks every one for youre prayers and i will continue to strive for our god thank everybody for your answers. please please continue to pray for me i am young in christ i want him to be my copilot.

  36. Florin Steve Rivish permalink

    What a timing regarding this scripture it is what I need today and for some time know for GOD to >‘Create in me a clean heart, O God; and renew a right spirit within me. Cast me not away from thy presence; and take not thy holy spirit from me. Restore unto me the joy of thy salvation; and uphold me with thy free spirit.< I have walked away from the Joy and assurance by being disobedient so by those acts I feel that am so far from God and this verse is not only my prayer, but it is my destiny, that I might be renewed in the HOLY SPIRIT for I desire to be that sun flower to rotate my attention to the Sun Light which is CHRIST JESUS. amen and amen

  37. Winnie Pierson permalink

    Amen Brother Mark! Just this morning while we were in His Presence, this very scripture came up in my spirit. I hadn’t read your Journey Deeper Into God’s Word until after Sunday service…confirmation to me~! Thanks for being sensitive to the Holy Spirit and for sharing with us all!

  38. Stephanie permalink

    I always try to start my morning while walking my dog with reciting and praying these verses. I yearn for a clean heart, a pure heart too. This helps me to remember that God forgives me and helps me start fresh and restored with the Joy of God’s salvation each morning! Amen to your work through Facebook and jouney deeper! What an awesome ministry! I asked God to show me how to use my computer to do His will and you are actively ding just that! god Bless you!

  39. i really love this word.

  40. Thank you for your journeys, they make a great encouragement. I seek also God`s answer to my questions, and guide of Holy Spirit in my life.
    Thank you Rev Mark
    God bless you!

Leave a Reply

