Skip to content

Psalm 105:1-4

October 14, 2009

Psalm 105:1-4 Give thanks to the LORD, call on his name; make known among the nations what he has done. Sing to him, sing praise to him; tell of all his wonderful acts. Glory in his holy name; let the hearts of those who seek the LORD rejoice. Look to the LORD and his strength; seek his face always.

As I read this rejoicing is not exactly how I feel. Since returning from Singapore and Malaysia I have slept very badly getting only around 3 or so hours a night. So I feel quite tired. Plus I am back into work and dealing with today’s work as well as the accumulated work from the week I was away.. so life is busy and tiring – that is my reality!

I am in no mood to give thanks, and yet this is the very challenge I get from this reading, in my tiredness and busyness I should still seek after the Lord and turn to Him right now. I am so focused on my reality, my struggles that I have forgotten to look to God, to seek after God through prayer and thanksgiving. In being focused on me I am all I see, and can then start to rely on my own meagre resources.

It is so hard to praise God when I feel off! And yet as I sit here praising God, bringing to mind the many wonderful ways Jesus is working in my life I find myself smiling. As the Psalm states, ‘let the hearts of those who seek the LORD rejoice’. I have so much to be thankful for! God you are awesome and I glorify your Holy name!!!

I find myself praying, ‘Come Holy Spirit’, seeking to be even more reliant on God throughout my busy day.

So I feel tired and busy and yet I know I am not alone. In seeking after the Lord I rely not so much on my own strenth and resources, but on God – all praise to Yahweh!!

God bless,

Rev Mark

……………………….

To subscribe to my blog to receive my reflection for free as an email click here: Subscribe to Journey Deeper Into God’s Word by Email

You prefer podcasts to reading? My reflection is available as a podcast: In iTunes: CLICK HERE (Click Subscribe)

On the net: CLICK HERE (Connect with your RSS Feed Reader)

From → Uncategorized

17 Comments
  1. valma permalink

    I have been really struggling with past fears and lies. having you post on my wall evert morning has been a blessed encouragement. thankyou.

  2. You know brother i have been feeling like that for awhile now.
    but i know that the LORD is there for me.
    when my days get so that i dont think anything will go right anymore.
    i go to him,he is always there for me day or night 24-7
    if not for my FATHER , i would more then likely wonder back into the darkness
    he rescued me from. To GOD i owe everything he saved my soul from hell.
    but sometimes we do get so caught up in life. We forget who gave us that life in the first place. i think christians have problems with what we call reality because
    this is not our reality. Remember we are in this world but we are not off this world. God Bless

  3. SharronR permalink

    Thanks, Pastor Mark, you are truly a Saint of the living GOD. We all face trials and tribulations, Jesus said we would. But, we can rest assured when we place our confidence in GOD. I’m not feeling well, physically. I’m diabetic, have hypertension, high hernia, gall stones, and a leaking heart valve, I’m overweight and today, my stomach and head are hurting very badly. I was focused on all those things until I read your post. “Give thanks to the LORD, and call on HIS name. I truly thank the LORD for his many blessings and healings in my life. I thank the LORD for people like you, Pastor Mark, who work so very dilligently to remind us that GOD is with us and HE cares for us and in order to see that we must seek GOD and obey HIS commandments joyfully and always Give thanks to the LORD. HE, GOD, is the creator of heaven and earth and all that is within them is a GOD who loves all people. Again, thanks, Pastor Mark, I needed this today. GOD bless you.

  4. Cheryl Gallus permalink

    Dear Rev Mark,
    Thank you for the encouragement in your message today:‘let the hearts of those who seek the LORD rejoice’. In seeking after the Lord I rely not so much on my own strenth and resources, but on God – all praise to Yahweh!!

    I needed Psalm 105: 1-4 today as well as the scripture God put in front of me earlier today.

    Psalm 126:5-6 – “Those who sow in tears shall reap with joyful shouting. He who goes to and fro, carrying his bag of seed, shall return with a shout of joy, bringing his sheaves with him.”

    My 22 yr. old nephew, Jordan, drowned on September 12. Just one month ago. I think I understand weariness you speak of. I’m sure our entire family knows what you are talking about. It is a weariness that never goes to far a way from your thoughts and yet you have to keep going. And through it all God so openly reveals Himself when you think you can’t get through another moment
    of the nagging pain in your heart. And yet through it all … God gives you a peace within, a knowing that things are going to be OK. He let’s us know although we sow in tears at this time … one day we will reap with joyful shouting. Lord Jesus … we trust in you Lord!

    Blessings to you,
    Cheryl

  5. Cheryl Gallus permalink

    Psalm 105:1-4 (You talked about being tired and busy in life)
    Psalm 126: 5-6 (Earlier today I read about weariness)

    To me both scriptures are speaking the same message … In all things give God glory and praise and He will bring joy to our lives …. in ALL situations:)

  6. Don’t feed on being tired………..REST IN IT. By feeding it you will feel more and more tired. Crucify your flesh…1 peter 2:2-3
    Thank you for your messages from THE WORD! Keep calling for the HOLY SPIRIT……..HE IS WITH YOU!
    PEACE AND BLESSINGS BE UNTO YOU!

  7. Sara Sue permalink

    An additional thought…when we praise our Lord and focus on Him, we are immediately united to all the other believers who are doing the same thing…. in Jesus. Look around, we are all here in this reality together united in our praise of the only One Who will always be available to us–individually and as the Body of Christ.

  8. Dan permalink

    Rev Mark,

    It is when we are weary that we need Him most. I lost my mom last Nov, survived a stroke in April, received total healing and returned to work just to be let go from my position. I can definitely understand weariness. Yet, for me this has been a time of amazing blessings. The Lord showed me just how wonderful and supportive my wife is. He has allowed me extra time with my family. And He allowed me time to volunteer on the new church our congregation is building. There is even a second interview for a wonderful position in an organization that would use almost all of my talents. Isn’t it wonderful that God gives what we need and not always what we want.

    • brittney permalink

      The Lord is beyond good. We as his children often over look the things that he has done for us ex-specialy when we are at what we think are our lowest points. We are blessed children of the Lord and all our father ask us to do is follow his word and obey him, and that he will give us the desires of our heart. Our father is beyond good and loving and we take all that he is for granted, surrounding yourself around people that’s doing his will and keeping your family together is all in part of what should be done and will continue to bless you as long as you dwell in his house.

      God bless the people of this world and may your hearts mind bodies and souls over flow with the anointing word of our father, may you guys spread the word to others and help solve todays problems by not complaining but putting forth the effort to make a difference.

  9. Hiya Mark – I was encouraged yesterday by my reading from Isaiah 41:9-14 where the Lord speaks of upholding His people with His “victorious right hand” while holding the right hand of His people.

    With my right “strong/working” hand held by the Lord I can’t actually do much – and so it is the Lord’s right “strong/working” hand that I must trust/rely in!!

    Wow … stand, be still and watch what the Lord will do. 🙂

    Ex 14:14 The LORD will fight for you, and you have only to keep still.”
    Ps 46:10 “Be still, and know that I am God!
    2Ch 20:17 This battle is not for you to fight; take your position, stand still, and see the victory of the LORD on your behalf, O Judah and Jerusalem.’ Do not fear or be dismayed; tomorrow go out against them, and the LORD will be with you.”

    Blessings Mark 🙂

  10. Lydia Reyes permalink

    Rejoice in the Lord always. There are times that I feel out of it and not in tune with GOD, but no sooner I start to think of all that he has done for me and the Praises start coming. When we don’t feel like praying or praising GOD, That’s when we should do it faster. The changes that God brings in to our lives are so wonderful. I love him so much. I’m nothing without him. Glory to GOD forever. Keep posting the scriptures my brother. God Bless

  11. MaryMarthaKay permalink

    Rev. Mark … I want to be perfectly honest in this writing. I enjoy each and every post you have written, as they speak volumes to me. It may be the very thing I have been struggling with today, or maybe last week, or earlier in the year, but it still brings God’s light on the matter, even now, to make the matter clearer, or so that I can relate and understand from a different perspective. I think it is because you have no “veil” to cover the reality of your life, and that you are sharing from your heart to the world, and in so doing God is working his WORD in and through you to reach the hurting world on their level, right where they are right now. I commend you for what you are sharing and the work for the Lord that you are doing. You are being a blessing for so many people all across the world. I thank you so much for it. May God bless you abundantly.

    Recently I have not been sleeping well or sleep for only short periods of time ( I often wonder about the rest of the world because I hear so many many people say they are not sleeping well now — is this a shift in the spiritual realm taking place ? ) and I have not been in the WORD like I should be, but with each prayer for a friend on THE BIBLE site or the Prayer site or just for friends on facebook, or for family and neighbors, I feel the joy of the LORD in my heart. God lifts me up with each small effort I make to bring me to the place I need to be in His WORD. I can watch a short video shared by a friend and that very video may be the thing I needed most that day, or the words that you share may be “the now Word” I needed at that moment. God is using so many different tools now to reach the world …. we must pray for all God’s children … that the people will see, hear, and receive all God has for them in their hearts!
    Numbers 6:24-26 “The LORD Bless thee, and keep thee: The LORD make his face shine upon thee, and be gracious unto thee: The LORD lift up his countenance upon thee, and give thee peace.”

  12. Benita permalink

    Rev. Mark, I praise the Lord for you because you allow us to see the truth. You are real and that is what God wants from us, is to be real. He can than work in our lives and transform those things that are meant for bad, to glorfying him while giving him thanks, and the manifestation of his purpose is than recognized. I Love you in the name of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ

    Benita

  13. I am so glad this is on Facebook. I’ve been having a hell of a time and I need to be reminded that God is there no matter how I feel or what the circumstances. There are days where I don’t feel God at all, like He’s not with me, yet I know He is. There are also days where I don’t feel exceedingly abundant joy that I know I’m supposed to feel towards Him. I feel guilty; God has done so much for me…why do I feel so blah and dry towards Him? I have to thank Him because He loves me unconditionally. I can’t say that about myself. I get mad at people, write them off, carry an attitude and maybe even stop speaking or drop the person all together. Not a very good sign of Christian character, is it? God is our perfect example in everything. We would be wise to truly follow Him and praise and bless Him whether we feel like it or not.

  14. Julie permalink

    I so enjoy your post on my facebook every day, You are being used by God and I truly need to hear what He is saying to you. My life has been a struggle lately with different things Satan has thrown at me and my family, but God is in control and I thank Him.

  15. DELIA TAYLOR permalink

    thanks for the word ,every day the word speaks to me and tells me what I need to hear,I had felt guilty cause there are times where I have time to spend with God and i do other things or feel tierd,not that I dont make time for Him, going on my knees and praying every day is part of my life, but its the amount of time I spend on my knees and puting my full heart on in what i am praying,well I know that in GOD THERE IS NO TIME, its where your heart is with God

  16. Kimberly Gignac permalink

    Thank you for all you do…I need this more than anything- you have truely saved my soul. My vessel has been empty, and Satan is so powerful. We need to be reminded everyday of the word. There is so much disfunction in the world today, my husband has fallen down the path of destruction, he has left me for someone else. Please pray he will be saved.

Leave a Reply

