Skip to content

Galatians 5:25-26

October 13, 2009

Galatians 5:25-26: Since we live by the Spirit, let us keep in step with the Spirit. Let us not become conceited, provoking and envying each other.

Wow what a way to live!  A life full of energy and vitality, a life lived with purpose, a life of interest and excitement!  Being open to the unpredictable where it is less about me being in control and more about God guiding my life.   So how do I live by the Spirit?

We this is the result of me drawing close to God.  Through immersing myself in the Bible, I am learning, being challenged and growing as a Christian.  I also need to have the right attitude, to pray that the Holy Spirit will lead me throughout my day.  I need to be open to God’s leading, even if it takes me in an unusual direction!

The greek behind, ‘let us keep in step with the Spirit’ is talking about being ordered and disciplined in how we seek after the Spirit.  It is not so much suggesting that it just happens, but that I have to set aside time and be disciplined about it.

At first I made the commitment to immerse myself in the Word, and as I did this I experienced the Spirit becoming active in my life!  And the evidence of the Spirit being active is detailed in verse 22 of Galatians 5: But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control.

As I draw closer to God I see more and more of this exhibited in my life, and I want much more of it in my life.  How amazing it would be to fully live a life in step with the Spirit!

God bless,

Rev Mark

……………………….

To subscribe to my blog to receive my reflection for free as an email click here: Subscribe to Journey Deeper Into God’s Word by Email

You prefer podcasts to reading? My reflection is available as a podcast: In iTunes: CLICK HERE (Click Subscribe)

On the net: CLICK HERE (Connect with your RSS Feed Reader)

From → Uncategorized

5 Comments
  1. Deb Lottes permalink

    Thankyou, my brother in Christ for your faithfulnes to His call.Each of
    us are blessed everyday because you choose to obey His voice and follow his
    Spirit-I thank you,have a blessed week!

  2. Reba Barlow permalink

    Again, Mark, you have hit right on what God was speaking to me about that same day. I want so much to in step with God. That I like Jesus, and Paul would not do anything that the Father did not tell me to do or say or think. I want to breath the Holy Spirit. And you are right….getting in His word is the only way.

  3. Thanks for the input…this was exactly what I studied this morning. The confirmations of His Word continues. God Bless

  4. SHAWN CARANO permalink

    Thanks Mark, Galatians is one of my favorite books in the new testament because we can all relate to the battle within. I love the facts, when you see the fruits of the spirit and feel them you can be sure you are on the right track. Life happens to all of us and it is truly 99% how we deal with it. keep up the good work from Born Again ministry.

  5. MaryMarthaKay permalink

    Discipline is not something that just happens. Wishful thinking doesn’t cut it. Our daily life “being ordered and disciplined in how we seek after the Spirit” is something we must make the decision to do, and then have the strength to do it each day. If I don’t take control of my day first thing each morning, my day will take control of me and by the end of the day nothing will be accomplished. Lack of sleep which makes us all tired is the time we use excuses to say “Oh well, I’m too tired to read today, so I can do this tomorrow. ” Tomorrow never comes, because the Manna God had for you today may not be there tomorrow. We must “Seek the Lord while He may be found.” We can’t just read the WORD on Sunday and hope that sustains us all week. The fruits of the spirit: self-control and faithfulness are two fruits that will keep us in the WORD. Faithfulness to the decision we made to seek the WORD daily, and self-control to get up each day and read the WORD to receive the fresh daily MANNA from GOD for today. …. Thank you Rev. Mark for your wisdom. I know that I must seize the day! AMEN!

Leave a Reply

