Skip to content

God has a plan! Jeremiah 29:11

October 8, 2009

Jeremiah 29:11: For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

As I draw closer to God I become more reliant on Him.  I recognise how God needs to be in control, how I need to trust that God will act in my life.  And as God acts I need to make sure that I keep my focus on Him, that I continue to give glory and praise to Him.

Yesterday I made my second presentation at the international conference in Malaysia.  Like my first presentation the internet was down as I was preparing to speak, an issue given the presentation included showing them how God is working on Facebook!  So I stepped up to speak aware that the internet connection had not been working for at least an hour before I spoke; myself and a number of people prayed in earnest.  As I was being introduced the internet came on allowing me to show them the Bible page and how God is working on the internet!  I recognise this is a small miracle, but still an important one as I know that God has a plan for me, and I was trusting that the Holy Spirit’s power would be revealed.

So I continued my talk and at one point I posted the above Jeremiah passage on the Bible page and within minutes there were more than 50 comments (there are now 1,056 comments).  I continued speaking about the amazing ministry happening around the Bible page when one of the people in the audience interrupted me.

He asked me whether he could read out one of the comments as he was on the Bible page on his own laptop. A little nervous I handed the microphone over to him wondering whether he was going to read something negative.

This is what he read, posted by a young girl:

What a beautiful gift this message has just brought me. I couldn’t stop crying and I felt totally lost, and then just now, right in this moment, this popped up on my screen, and although I am still crying, I’m crying because I know he’s listening.

I was overcome with emotion, amazed at how this simple act of posting a Scripture on a website had spoken to this girl on the other side of the world.  God loves that girl and has a plan for her to give her hope and a future.  Together we prayed for her, asking God to continue to work in her life.  Again we had witnessed God at work!

As I draw close to God I am seeing more and more God at work in people’s lives.  And in a small way I am part of this. God has a plan for me, a plan to minister to people through the internet.  Though this is a new kind of ministry, I have seen time and time again that God does work on the internet.

Praise God!!  May all that I do glorify Him.

God bless!  Rev Mark

…………………………………………….

To subscribe to my blog to receive my reflection for free as an email click here: Subscribe to Journey Deeper Into God’s Word by Email

You prefer podcasts to reading? My reflection is available as a podcast: In iTunes: CLICK HERE (Click Subscribe)

On the net: CLICK HERE (Connect with your RSS Feed Reader)

From → Uncategorized

30 Comments
  1. Jennifer permalink

    This verse definitely hit me.. was fired from the school system, which devastated me; on a break from my boyfriend (he chose this), 5 months later, after being fired, NO job.. Thought my life couldn’t get any worse…This verse makes me see things differently..Thanks!

  2. Dear Brother,
    Today I struggled my sin of being inadequate. When this verse popped on my facebook home page, I knew God was speaking to me. That I need to trust in Him that He truely does have a perfect plan for me. That no matter what my past was, that I can be confident that he has a perfect plan for my life.
    Thank you for your ministry.
    Yours in Christ,
    Lynn

  3. Starr permalink

    I also have had the same emotions to this as the girl above. I have been struggleing and am so glad that i have added this to my FB. I am in major need ot God and his everlasting love. I have fallen far away and have been feeling him in my life again. I am so much happier and better than two months ago.
    thank you

  4. When i first found Praying People I knew this was a special deal and even laughed a little at God stepping fully into the 21st century. I knew in my spirit this would take off as it has for His Glory. I appreciate your dedication and enthusiasm greatly.

    Yours in Christ,
    KC

  5. Dennis T Fitzpatrick permalink

    I use your passages for Baptist Campus Ministry sometimes and they are great for me to get things across to my college students…..God Bless

  6. My neice was in a serious motorcycle accident in Mar of this year. She ended up at Childrens in Little Rock, Ar On her facebook page she had Jer 29:11 posted as her favorite verse. While she recovered we all focused on this verse and discovered that God truly does have a plan for each of us and that he is faithful to those who seek his face. My neice is a living example of what God’s love can do. She has fully recovered and everyday is touching people with God’s love.

    • Mark permalink

      I was invloved in a motorcycle accident on Sept 18, 2009. While travelling at 65 mph while not wearing a helmet, my front tire blew out sending me into a curb. This caused me to be ejected from the bike onto pavement. By all rights, I should not be alive. But God wasn’t ready for me, and he isn’t finished with me yet. I am happy to testify to his greatness that I walked out of the Emergency room that night (with help). I do walk with a cane and will for a short while, had a lot of road rash and stitches, but God has his hand in me surviving that accident. Thank you God for your wonderful grace.
      I will be keeping your neice in my prayers.
      God Bless You

  7. Sam Assefa permalink

    I am really happy to read this just right now. You always remind me to keep God in my thoughts and that this silly chores of life should not completely consume me. I don’t want to remember God only when i am in silence and in prayer, I want him with me all the time and I am living on the purpose he has for me and in knowing that he is here only to bring me the best and to guide me to the eternal light!

    • I`m feeling like you…I want to think about GOD in all my ways,
      Thank for your message,

  8. I read the following verse…Jeremiah 29:11: For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” I really need to claim this promise from God, because I’m loosing faith that it will happen. My husband has been laid off for six months, and things are looking pretty bad. I don’t have any money for bills, food or gas, let alone hope! I just would like some one to pray for me and my family and all the families like mine who are without jobs and hope.

  9. Deborah permalink

    THANKS FOR ALWAYS HAVING THE WORDS
    IN PRINT WHEN I MOST NEED THEM…

  10. God bless you Rev. Mark Brown I thank God for the word you have given and I’m encouraged to know that God has great plans for us and we have to trust Him and to confirm it with He that begun a good work in us will to preform it unto the day of Jesus Christ Phillipians 1:6

  11. At this time in my life, this verse has become my life verse. It has ministered to me in so many ways. Thank you Mark for being my internet pastor.

  12. LYNDA HUNT permalink

    hi rev mark i just wanted to say how good god is the same scripture that u have posted on the screen of facebook jeremiah 29 and 11 and it says god has a plan, i just wanted to say that that word was for me because my pastor preach on that same scripture last week n i came home from church that same nite n went on my facebook on line n there it is the same scriptuer came up again, and their it is again ur saying the same thing wen i turn on my laptop that god has a plan for me some how i believe that god is speaking throuht me wit this scripture over and over.i no that god has a plan for me but i jus have to trust n believe in it n it shall come to pass.continue to lift me up in ur prays as i do the same god bless.

  13. Rev Mark

    I’m so thankful to hear what you said in the above article. God has inspired and challenged me to use facebook as a tool to help my friends with issues that seem to be off limits, with respect to young people, in church. I have so far written 2, 25 part series that go into the word of God but also incorporate my experiences as well as those of people I study.

    This is one of the most affective ways to minister to young people these day because it seems as if we spend allot of time on the internet.

    God bless you in the work you are doing and know it is making a difference for the advancement of the kingdom of God.

    Jasper

  14. I just wanted to say that I really apprecite this, i read it every chance that i get and it really makes get through the day. Keep up this great ministry cause You are helping me for sure.

  15. God Bless You! Your messages have been very inspirational and possitive and have been just what I needed to hear to remind me God loves us and is always with us no matter what! Keep up the good work and may God bless you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  16. In April of this year I lost my husband of almost 40 years. I had no money and lots of debt. I felt forsaken by everyone and all alone. Then you came on facebook with the first posting I ever saw and used this verse. It gave me so much! The faith I had thought I had lost came flooding back and I found hope again. Since then the military medical fund my husband had been receiving started sending me some funds and social security approved me for my own medical imbursement. It hasn’t begun as yet but I know I will be okay because of these words from GOD. Thank-you for your good work don’t ever stop. God bless you and be with you always. Christian love , Nieva

  17. PHILIP N M permalink

    hi mark, have nothing to say than thanking u 4 greater messages that u give to us ,u realy mean lot to us n u realy blessing us.

  18. it always amaze me, how God will have a word for us at any given time this was a on time word

  19. dorthy porter permalink

    You are posting what my heart needs to hear daily.I really needed to know that God does not want me to live in poverty and that I will prosper.You see since I gave God everything in Nov.2007 to help the orphans in Africa,hardship has fell in all areas of my life.Sometimes I feel like Job’s twin sister.As I shut my self in the prayer closet last night with a little book to write what God gave me in the dark.I will now share what was given as a bright light shown in total darkness around the closet.Sorta like the eye of a tornado it reminded me as I sat there for hours.The darkest of the night is just before Dawn.I am like on day fourteen of fast so this inspired me,when you are your weakest,then you are your strongest.It does not matter how the world see’s you only how God see’s you.Do not be ashamed of the gospel of Jesus.That is all I will share about the closet last night.I hold you up in prayer when I am alone with God.

  20. dorthy porter permalink

    Sally I will bring your situation to God in prayer in my prayer closet and in the woods behind my house.You are a head not a tail,you are a victor not a victim.God does have a plan for you and also a plan for me.Do not give up the race is not over.If you are a child of God you have rights one of them is the right to stand on the word of God.It has to work for us or that would make God a liar and God is not a liar.Hold on to the faith we are winners in life God does want to see us prosper,the devil is a liar not God.

  21. This verse showed up after my husband walked out on me and my kids for the third time. He left me with all the financial debt to take care of. I know I won’t be able to do this alone but I do know that God has a bigger plan for me then I had for myself. I have been clinging to this verse now that I am facing divorce. Thank you so much pastor Mark for all that you do to minister to others as we face these kinds of challenges in our life. I do know that God has a plan for me and my four kids and he will help us all get through this tough time in our life.

  22. MaryMarthaKay permalink

    Rev. Mark, God Bless you for listening to the Holy Spirit and being a yielded vessel for the LORD. Thank you for your honesty and sincerity in your posts. Yes God has a very big plan for you and the internet. It’s these small pieces of the big puzzle that God gives us “just when we need” them that keeps our faith built up and our hope expecting more! Some people do not even recognize the small pieces that God is giving them and that is very sad; but through your sharing they can truly learn and see how God does work in our lives every day! It’s like God has this huge bag of candy for us like a loving Father does, and He only gives us a piece at a time because too much of a good thing might spoil us. This way we learn to appreciate our Heavenly Father even more and the hope within us continues for the next time, for the next piece of candy, for the next piece of the puzzle!

    I think it is awesome that what God did for you in your conference meeting not only increased your faith but God worked on others that got to see what God can do when you pray. That was a double or triple blessing for you and the others involved, and now it is blessing so many more people through your post here! When God gives you a task to do, He will always provide everything you need to accomplish that task, and sometimes as in your case today it was “right when you needed it.” It is His Will.

    God is so awesome! He has shown me things in the WORD that leave me speechless and unable to express them, but at the same time my hope and faith leaped higher than ever before ! God is calling out to His children: “He that hath an ear, let him hear…” God Blesss you Rev. Mark ! I thank God for you and all that you are doing for God’s Kingdom.

  23. MaryMarthaKay permalink

    Rev. Mark … I meant to add this to the above comment ….. regarding: God has big plans for you on the internet! For a long time now I have seen how the devil has tried to turn the internet into a vulgar, ugly, place that we do not want to enter …. we have to protect ourselves and our children from the ungodly things on the internet … the devil is trying to distort and twist the Word now on the internet just as he did with Eve and the apple in the beginning. It is still his best tactic to use on us … to try to twist the WORD of GOD, but we have big news for him: GOD is using the INTERNET to GET HIS WORD OUT TO THE WORLD and HE IS USING YOU TO HELP ACCOMPLISH THIS TASK and GOD will provide ALL you need to complete the assignments he gives you ! God will work his WORD and It SHALL NOT return to Him VOID! AMEN !!! God bless you as you continue in this journey and season of your life for the GLORY OF GOD! AMEN!

    I take authority over the enemy now in the name of JESUS CHRIST and I bind the spirit of sabotage, hindering, delaying spirits, powers and principalities of darkness that would try to steal, kill, or destroy the works of the LORD in your life and ministries. I bind them all and cast them into the sea! Whatever we bind on earth is bound in Heaven! Thank you Lord Jesus for your Word, peace, comfort, and LOVE for this Godly man and for watching over Mark and his family and ministry. In Jesus’ Name, AMEN!

  24. Mark permalink

    When I read this Wednesday, I did not know that God was preparing me for a change in my life. However, this morning I found out that the company that I work for no longer needs my services. Instead of worrying and fretting, I remembered this post from Wednesday. Thank you very much for sharing the word. God is Great and will supply ALL my needs.
    God Bless

  25. Marvi Victoria permalink

    Thanks for posting.. I’m near giving up. This just reminded me that I should continue to seek God’s face, knowing He has the best plan for my life, that I just needed to continue trusting HIM.

  26. Deb Lottes permalink

    That is so beautiful! This verse also proves none of us are a “mistake” or unwanted! Praise God for His unendng goodness towards us!

  27. Tiffany Pribble permalink

    I have been through a lot for the past seven years and I am only 13. But nothing has seemed to stop but like one thing. I have thought, “God doesn’t have a plan for me.”, “There is no use for me.”, and many, many more things. But after seeing this verse I know He has a plan for me and there is a lot of use for me in this world. But I am still working on a lot of other things and praying everything will get better. I am just soo worried.

    Thanks so much for what you do!!! God is Good! All the Time!

  28. Kimberly Gignac permalink

    I too am going thru rough waters, I have three children and my husband has decided to leave, that he is in love with someone else. I have to trust that this to was in Gods plan….HE is all I have to lean on to make it thru one day at a time.

Leave a Reply

