Skip to content

Matthew 7:1-5

October 6, 2009

Matthew 7:1-5 : “Do not judge, or you too will be judged. For in the same way you judge others, you will be judged, and with the measure you use, it will be measured to you. “Why do you look at the speck of sawdust in your brother’s eye and pay no attention to the plank in your own eye? How can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when all the time there is a plank in your own eye? You hypocrite, first take the plank out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to remove the speck from your brother’s eye.

This passage caused quite a bit of brutally honest reflection. The word ‘judge’ or ‘krinó’ in the original greek, refers to a legal judge, so in judging others I decide what is wrong with them and then impose a sentence. I was really challenged by this passage and decided to list those people I am judgmental towards. Unfortunately it was quite a list.

One particular friend stood out, and as I thought about what I considered wrong with them, I realised that my ‘sentence’ was that I basically avoided them, treated them badly and have been quite rude to them. So what should I do?

I read on in the passage looking for ideas on how to counter this and discovered: ‘first take the plank out of your own eye’. This means, I am to think about my own behaviour in relation to my friend.

As I thought about this I realised that my ‘plank’, my faults in relation to him are:

– I don’t invest enough time in the relationship

– I don’t show enough love and care

– I can come across as disapproving of his life choices

– I never open up and share my struggles with him, almost wanting to appear ‘perfect’ which means he is always looking to find faults in me.

So challenged by this amazing passage I have resolved to send him this list and talk through it with him. And others might need a similar phone call from me.

I really praise God for showing me through Matthew 7:1-5 my need to work on some of my relationships in my life. God is amazing!

God bless,

Rev Mark

…………………………………

To subscribe to my blog to receive my reflection for free as an email click here: Subscribe to Journey Deeper Into God’s Word by Email

You prefer podcasts to reading? My reflection is available as a podcast: In iTunes: CLICK HERE (Click Subscribe)

On the net: CLICK HERE (Connect with your RSS Feed Reader)

From → Uncategorized

14 Comments
  1. Lannette permalink

    I was amaze when reading this. I realized I too am too eager to judge and not really willing to accept and fine good in all. Which I know that we are taught to treat others as you would want to be treated. An to love one another as he loves us with out conditions and expectancies. Crazy what you know and yet how you actually threat others day to day. I will try to be more alert of actions and in doing so will gather more of the love he has for me threw being more like he wants for us. I am a work in progress even at my age and still I stumble and try to do his will, even when I know my eye are shut yet open, ears closed and yet can hear. Threw his grace I find great peace in learning and with this I learned and had to take a moment and account for me and my actions.

  2. dorthy porter permalink

    If Christains are doing everything they can to spread the gospel ,live by the word then they should not have time to judge others.People forget that we serve a jealous God,When the Bible speaks clearly about this we need to listen.Jesus did not judge the women at the well he offered her in love away to have forgiveness.We are to offer salvations plan of Jesus,feed the hungry,clothe the naked and pray for each other.Jesus did not come into the world to condem the world but that the world might be saved threw him.We have nerver walked in our brothers shoes.

  3. Sam Assefa permalink

    Oh I love your strength and I know you were given that through prayer and acceptance of God and his word. I wish I could do the same and I hope to do so some time in the future. I am trying to be less judgemental and to stap the voices in my head that lable everyone and try to see in wards. Thanks for sharing, this really hits home and has inspired me a great deal.

  4. athensguy permalink

    As a followup, John 7:24 should be read.

    Then, 1 Corinthians 2:15, 5:12-13, and 6:2-3.

    Leviticus 19:15 — In righteousness shalt thou judge thy neighbour.
    John 7:24 — Judge not according to the appearance, but judge righteous judgment.

  5. Ron Duncan permalink

    I agree that we should not judge out of self righteousness, but we should also remember the words of both Jesus and Paul and recognize how to judge

    John 7:21-24

    21 Jesus answered and said to them, “I did one work, and you all marvel. 22 Moses therefore gave you circumcision (not that it is from Moses, but from the fathers), and you circumcise a man on the Sabbath. 23 If a man receives circumcision on the Sabbath, so that the law of Moses should not be broken, are you angry with Me because I made a man completely well on the Sabbath? 24 Do not judge according to appearance, but judge with righteous judgment.” … Read More
    NKJV

    and

    1 Cor 2:13-16

    13 These things we also speak, not in words which man’s wisdom teaches but which the Holy Spirit teaches, comparing spiritual things with spiritual. 14 But the natural man does not receive the things of the Spirit of God, for they are foolishness to him; nor can he know them, because they are spiritually discerned. 15 But he who is spiritual judges all things, yet he himself is rightly judged by no one. 16 For “who has known the mind of the Lord that he may instruct Him?” But we have the mind of Christ.
    NKJV

    So, although we can’t just simply judge somebody based on our own righteousness as being man, we can look at the Word of God, and what has come from Jesus and the Holy Spirit and recognize sin, so that we may know how to pray for one another.

    Thus, we must remove the plank from our eyes first – per the words of Jesus, then we can remove the speck from another’s eyes. That is, we can look at our motivations after we have first examined ourselves.

    My point is that we can recognize sin, without sentencing condemnation with it. 🙂

  6. nicole l permalink

    well……. i just would like to thank god for using you because this message was well needed by myself. I fall short a lot in the choices I make in life and even though i know for a fact (because i know better) has fallen short in walking a straight path i have a problem with judging others just as a previous reply states if I took time on focusing on myself, I wouldnt have time to see others faults. But instead im too busy running because it is easier to do wrong than right. And i just thank god for this message at this point I needed it.

  7. MaryMarthaKay permalink

    Thank you Mark for God’s WORD today. This should be a weekly reminder for everyone, maybe even daily for some of us.

    When I see the speck in another’s eye, making it appear larger than it really is “in my mind,” (in my own imaginations) the “what-could-have-been speck” in my eye actually has now grown into a huge plank, because not only did I judge them wrongly, I may have become envious of them, or jealous, or offended at what they did to “me,” which will grow the root of bitterness, and now I’m walking out PRIDE. The perfect demonic camouflage to “cover” my own sins. Now my thinking is that their sin is bigger or worse than mine so mine doesn’t look so bad now after all, or maybe mine is just okay! No it is NOT OK. This “cover” is my blinded eyes: now I cannot see at all because my speck is this huge plank.

    Where did it start? In “my MIND” where I ENTERTAINED the evil thoughts or imaginations. Why did I do that? Wasn’t PRIDE in my heart in the beginning? PRIDE caused me to JUDGE. I have now made the other person look worse than myself, “in my own mind,” which makes me feel really good about myself; prideful as in “I’m better than you.” Adam blamed Eve, who blamed the serpent, who beguiled Eve. From the beginning the focus was to expose the darkness of another. We beguiled ourself by the imaginations in our own mind.

    Did I cast down every evil imagination? No! I was disobedient to God’s word. Had I cast down every imagination at the onset I would clearly see that my brother or sister needs prayer for the very thing I first began to judge. Most “things” God reveals to us about our brothers or sisters is something God is wanting us to pray about specifically for that person, not so we can go talk about it, (gossip does not “cover” naked Noah’s) and certainly not to make our sin look smaller.

    It all begins in our mind. WHAT are we thinking about? Are we feeding the seeds of those imaginations in our mind? Are we growing weeds? Bitter weeds? The speck in our own eye is certainly something we should be “thinking” about all the time. We should be giving the speck to the Lord before it becomes the plank. Heavenly Father, show me the specks in my own eyes, and help me pray for the specks in my brothers and sisters eyes. In Jesus’ name, AMEN.

    2 Corinthians 10:4-6
    4 (For the weapons of our warfare are not carnal, but mighty through God to the pulling down of strong holds;) 5 Casting down imaginations, and every high thing that exalteth itself against the knowledge of God, and bringing into captivity every thought to the obedience of Christ; 6 and having in a readiness to revenge all disobedience, when your obedience is fulfilled.

    Nine years ago I had a torn rotator-cuff (torn so bad it was like ground beef with a huge calcium deposit in the center of the cuff on the shoulder joint) and during the X-ray process the doctor found a tumor in the upper left arm bone which he suspected was cancer. MRI completed and orthopedic doctor referred me to a cancer surgeon in another city 2 1/2 hours away. During this first doctors visit and the day I was told it could be cancer and I could wake from surgery with no left arm ( I am left handed) the doctor left me alone in the room to get my composure and to call my husband, and I got a little tiny “speck” in one eye which brought tears in my eye and that went from bad to worse. I had to sit there for quite a while before I could even see. The nurse helped me with eye wash a few times. I was going to drive myself back to work; BUT the speck remained for a few hours that morning. After the nurse insisting I called my husband to come pick me up to drive me home. During this waiting time in the quietness of the patient room the Lord spoke to me to get the speck out of my own eye first, and when I got home later on that day He showed me Matthew 7:1-5. This began a 5 month journey that drew me closer to the Lord than I had ever been. This was the most painful 5 months of my life physically, but spiritually this was the most rewarding awesome times I had spent with the Lord. Long story short. I went to a prayer meeting soon after finding out the prognosis with several Godly prayer warriors and they prayed for me, and I felt a release and a peace to believe God for healing and no cancer. I was not in any fear when the double surgery was performed and there was no cancer. The rotator-cuff was shortened and reattached in 4 places. Five months of painful physical exercise and therapy followed (I had to take pain pills before physical therapy). God restored my arm to 100% usage. This was the most awesome five months spent with the Lord, and the beginning of a deeper relationship with the LORD.

    Don’t wait for an emergency or something drastic to happen to you before you look at the speck or specks in your own eye. When little specks start showing in your brother or sister’s eyes just start praying for them. If the speck in their eye offends you, FORGIVE THEM. God will help you and show you great and mighty things!

    Matthew 18:21-22
    21 Then came Peter to him, and said, Lord, how oft shall my brother sin against me, and I forgive him? till seven times?
    22 Jesus saith unto him, I say not unto thee, Until seven times: but, Until seventy times seven.

  8. im marry but not with him im with a guy named justin i know its not right my kids dont like him ay all but i cant get myself out of it i need help please god im so lost i know that

    • Melissa permalink

      Virginia, if you believe on the Lord Jesus Christ, you shall be saved. You’ve cried out to Him for help. This shows you trust He will. Keep trusting and crying out to Him.
      He will never leave you or forsake you.
      Keep confessing with your mouth and talking with Him. Don’t stop.
      He’s calling to you. Keep waiting and listening.
      Do what He says to do in His Word. You obviously know what is wrong. Let Him show you more.
      Read His word and just what it says. And worry for nothing. Continue to trust Him.
      Your faith in Him will grow each time you obey Him…each time you seek Him.
      He is so worthy of your trust!
      I’m praying too. 🙂

  9. francfes worley permalink

    I need your prayers Rev Brown… my heart is breaking more every day… i miss my kids and have not seen them in months… my ex won’t allow me to and I have no money to fight him… I am breaking seriously breaking and I am a recovering addict and I won’t go back that way so please please I beg of you pray for me and my kids Olivia and Jordan thanks
    God bless you

    • MaryMarthaKay permalink

      Francfes Worley, I said a prayer for you. I posted in the comment section and not the reply button. Please go back to the site to read the prayer.

      God bless you!

  10. Naomi Jones permalink

    Thankyou Rev Mark, I needed to know that I was not the only Christian out there that knew this to be true :.) I felt very afraid that it was just me and that maybe, struggling the way that I do, I was a lost cause. Your own Humility in revealing your weaknesses and sharing this scripture has given me the Strength to press on!! In Jesus’s Mighty name! I am so comforted right now. Please pray for the Church.. I go there to seek new knowledge, fellowship and strength, yet… I see the eyes of judgement there. There is allot of gossip that goes on there, and I find that it hurts me so much I can’t stay focused on the lessons. I almost want to give up on that church, but I feel that the Lord wants me there, at least for a little while longer. I will stay strong though. Praise God, and Thankyou so much. God Bless you abundantly in this life and in Eternity!!
    NJ~

  11. MaryMarthaKay permalink

    Francfes Worley: I am praying for you. Jesus loves you and He is your hope!
    Heavenly Father, you know every minute detail of this situation in this family, and I lay it all on the altar before you now, asking that your will be done in this family. I ask you for miracles Lord; restoration and peace in this family. I thank you Father for guardian angels watching over and protecting Olivia and Jordan, their mother and father; Father God protect their hearts, eyes, and ears. Send laborer’s, ministering Godly Angels, in their paths to minister your WORD to them and to share the Love of Jesus Christ so it may abound in and through their hearts. Lord I ask you for a renewed strength in Francfes to continue to be free from addiction, and I ask you Father for total restoration of everything the devil has destroyed in this life and family. I curse the root of this addiction now in the name of Jesus Christ and command it back to the pit of hell where it came from. I cancel every evil assignment that satan has assigned against this family now in Jesus’ name. I curse the spirit of sabotage, hindering and delaying spirits, and I cast them into the sea in the name of Jesus Christ. I bind every evil power and principality of darkness trying to destroy this life and family and I cast them into the sea in Jesus’ name. I loose healing, restoration, peace, and a renewed sense of freedom into this life and each family member. It’s not by power, not by might, but by your Spirit Father God show them the way, the life, the truth, the light of Jesus Christ as they take each day forward. Let your love flow freely toward them Father. Give them your peace like a river, as you comfort and restore. Thank you Father God for miracles in this family! We praise your Holy Name ! You are Lord of Lord’s and King of Kings! You are worthy to be praised; your mercy endures forever! In Jesus’ Name, AMEN!

    Francfes, please read and meditate on Psalm 23, it is so wonderful to meditate on day and night. The Lord will give you hope and strengthen you as you read and meditate. Let HIS WORD sink deep into your heart, and receive all the LOVE HE has for you. God Bless you !

    Psalm 23 …. 1 The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want. 2 He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters. 3 He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake. 4 Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me. 5 Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies: thou anointest my head with oil: my cup runneth over. 6 Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the LORD for ever. AMEN!!

  12. Quinntun Harris permalink

    Hello Rev Mark i know you have sent this email awhile back but i only now got around into reading it… i must say it just what i needed so thanks keep up the good work

Leave a Reply

