Skip to content

An amazing demonstration of God’s Power

October 6, 2009

Yesterday I shared my thoughts on 1 Corinthians 2: 1-5: When I came to you, brothers, I did not come with eloquence or superior wisdom as I proclaimed to you the testimony about God. For I resolved to know nothing while I was with you except Jesus Christ and him crucified. I came to you in weakness and fear, and with much trembling. My message and my preaching were not with wise and persuasive words, but with a demonstration of the Spirit’s power, so that your faith might not rest on men’s wisdom, but on God’s power.

I mentioned a presentation I was making at a conference in Malaysia, well it has happened, and truly the Spirit’s power was present!

My presentation included showing the audience The Bible and Praying People pages on Facebook, as I was intending to clearly display how God is working on the internet. But 30 minutes before I was to speak, the internet went down. My thought was, ‘well this is an opportunity to really see the Spirit’s power in action!’ So the prayers began in earnest. 30 minutes later, still no internet..

I am setting up my laptop ready to present, trusting God will act.. the audience are starting to settle down, ready for me to speak.. and then the internet came on!!! I quickly set the pages up, and began my talk with the above reading, sharing how my whole talk is about displaying God’s power, not about anything I might think. I show them The Bible and Praying People pages , managing to enter a scripture and a special prayer.. I talk a little about the pages and then continue with the rest of my presentation. Then moments later, the internet goes down again.. and stayed down for the rest of my talk. So at the exact moment I needed the internet it worked! God’s power was demonstrated – praise Him!!

God is working in my life, the key is to trust in Him.. to rely on Him, and the Spirit’s power will be displayed!

God bless,

Rev Mark

To subscribe to my blog to receive my reflection as an email click here: Subscribe to Journey Deeper Into God’s Word by Email

You prefer podcasts to reading? My reflection is available as a podcast: In iTunes: CLICK HERE (Click Subscribe)

On the net: CLICK HERE (Connect with your RSS Feed Reader)

From → Uncategorized

26 Comments
  1. Kristine permalink

    God shows up when you least expect. I have been praying all year for a job. I have applied at different places on the web, but to no avail no job. Then, God shows up and places me with the best possible job. It may not be the most amount of money, but it is where people need the most influence with him.
    God is good and he provides. We just have to have faith, believe in him and ask for his help. That maybe the hardest thing in life-asking for help.
    Thank you God for your son. Thank you for your help.

  2. Laura Antulov permalink

    I LOVE this story! It can sometimes be difficult to “just have faith” when the circumstances seem so dire, but this is PRECISELY what we NEED to do. He WILL provide! However, He always knows what we need and we sometimes confuse our needs with our wants.
    Thank you, Rev Mark, for sharing this story and for continuing to write this blog. It proves helpful to me on a daily basis, and I suspect I am not alone in this.

  3. AMEN!!! HE is still the same yesterday, today & forever!!! Laus Deo!

    • Barbara Kocher permalink

      The Story never Changes it is always the same. Yet we always learn something new every time we read GOD’S WORDS.

  4. Alicia permalink

    Awesome! God is so good!!!

  5. Amber permalink

    Thank God for all that he does for all of us. He is trully AMASING and i count myself lucky to witness his love for all of us in siduations like these. Talk about a true test of faith, faith that it would all fall into place as planed by the Lord.

  6. Lauren permalink

    Thanks SO much for sharing, what a wonderful testament of having true faith in God and His AWESOME power!!

  7. Amen! I am glad to get your insight on facebook. Even though I am going thru a tough time right now, God is always there and that is what starts my day everyday!

    I would like to invite you and any other viewers to view my blog titled Faith and common sense on blogger.com. Hope we can share insight together.

  8. Khristina permalink

    Awesome! I love this story! It is hard sometimes to “just have faith” when you feel like everything is going wrong and you just feel lost in the world, but that’s really the BEST thing we can do! God is ALWAYS with us and will provide for us!
    Thank you God!!!

    • Yakie Favour permalink

      The story is touching, and has actually made me see reasons why God has not Answered my prayers yet, because i have been wavering in my faith. I pray this will change my life and the way i see things. Thank u Lord 4 this message.

  9. DEBBIE permalink

    I AM IN A SMALL CHURCH. IN THE LAST SEVERAL MONTHS WE HAVE HAD 4 PASTORS. WE ARE NOW WITH ONE. .WE ARE PRAYING THAT GOD SEND US SOME ONE THAT IS THERE TO DO THE WILL OF GOD. THERE ARE ABOUT 30 MEMBERS BUT WE HAVE STUCK TOGETHER LIKE GLUE.WE ARE FAMILY IN MORE WAYS THAN ONE. WE ARE DEPENDING ON GOD WORD. I WILL NEVER LEAVE YOU OR FORSAKE YOU I WILL GO ALL THE WAY EVEN UNTO THE END OF THE WORLD.PLEASE PRAY THAT GOD’S WILL BE DONE. WE REALLY LOVE JESUS AAND WANT TO SEVER HIM FOREVER.

  10. Sara Sue permalink

    I LOVE hearing the stories of times when God shows up the way we hope and pray He will. It is important, however, to be able to trust Him in the times when things don’t happen in the way we hope and pray they will–that His purposes then are just as valid as when it all goes the way we want, and that His love for us is just as great!

  11. Randy Darrigan permalink

    A couple of weeks before college started back for my daughter in August, she came home from her summer job at lunch. She had been sick over the wekend so I wanted to fix her what she wanted, although our pantry was slack. After naming a few items I asked if BLT sandwichs would be ok..She said great! I got out the bacon, lettuce, and bread, but found no tomatoes. I callled my wife and asked about the tomatoes and she said she threw them out that morning cause they were soggy. I was disappointed because i wanted my daughter to have her choice, but I told her when I went to pick up her mother from work, we would figure out something….so as I get to her work, she comes out, gets in the car and said that a friend from Dothan called and wanted to share a bucket of tomatoes with her while he was in town…within 10 minutes we were all eating BLTs……..that was Monday…On thursday we decide to eat BLTs again since we have so many tomatoes….I pull out the bacon, lettuce and tomatoes, but when my wife opened the bread, it smelled like “pickles” ..it was bad. so then we settled on making BLT WRAPS with the lettuce as the wrap since we had no bread….I thought “I wish we had bread”. About 15 seconds later there was a knock on our door…a man from church was standing there ….saying another man from church baked this bread and said he wanted to give it to us and handed it over, still warm , wrapped in tin foil. tears came to my eyes again because I knew of God’s promise to, once again,satisfy the desires of our heart. God does provide when he knows He will get the credit. God bless you for reading my story.

  12. God said in his word that He would never leave us or forsake us and He would go with us even to the end. What greater promise can one give to us. He will provide all of our needs if we only trust and obey him. His will is best in our lives and He never lets us down. I love Him with all of my being. And I thank our dear saviour for dyeing on the cross that we might live with him for eternity.

    Thank You, Hazel

  13. yves permalink

    worderful words may the Lord strength and give u more power keep up

  14. robert brown permalink

    In your journey through Gods Word, did you come accross Psalms 119:9? He sent redemption unto his people; he has commanded his covenant forever; holy and reverend is his name

  15. Mario permalink

    “Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you.” Mathew 7:7

    The Lord is faithful!

  16. phoomie permalink

    He is awesome.

  17. Sam Assefa permalink

    This reminds me of the quote that says, if you believe that you have already been granted what you’ve asked for then it shall be. I know all that happened because you believed and more is given to those who do. Praised be the lord!

  18. Chuck permalink

    Isn’t it great when God shows up and shows out (no disrespect).
    I love it and in HIS TIMING…..He’s never late….always right on time.
    Let the Name of The Lord be Praised………..GLORY!!!

  19. Ivette permalink

    If it’s GODs will, he will represent!!!! All we havfe to do is have faith the size of a mustard seed…How amazing is that,,a mustard seed and you to can move mountains…

  20. Yakie Favour permalink

    God is truly awesome. In Ps 23 verse 6, He says, surely ur goodness and unfailing liove will pursue me all the days of my life and i will live in the house of the the Lord forever. This means He has sworn with is name that, He must bless me, and in Hebs 6 v 14. “I will certainly bless you, and i will multiply your descendants beyond number.” What a Mighty God do WE have HERE, A God that is always with us even when we messing up. I thank God For His Grace in my LIfeand family. I love u all, FOr outstanding Faith in the Lord.
    REMAIN BLESSED.
    YAKIE FAVOUR

  21. Desere' Botha permalink

    I am going through a rather difficult time in my life at the moment, but I know it is Gods way of testing my faith. He knew what will make me start listening to His word again and strenghten my faith. He knew what kind of knock on my door would make me open. My heart is broken and sore, but I keep klinging onto every promiss he made me through prayer and His word. i was really down this morning, and thats why God showed me this site:)

    “1 Corinthians 2: 1-5: When I came to you, brothers, I did not come with eloquence or superior wisdom as I proclaimed to you the testimony about God. For I resolved to know nothing while I was with you except Jesus Christ and him crucified. I CAME TO YOU IN WEAKNESS AND FEAR, AND WITH MUCH TREMBLING. My message and my preaching were not with wise and persuasive words, but with a demonstration of the Spirit’s power, so that your faith might not rest on men’s wisdom, but on God’s power.

    God is working in my life, THE KEY IS TO THUST HIM.. toRELY ON HIM, and the SPIRIT”S POWER WILL BE DISPLAYED.- Rev Mark Brown

    God said in his word that He would never leave us or forsake us and He would go with us even to the end. What greater promise can one give to us. He will provide all of our needs if we only trust and obey him. His will is best in our lives and He never lets us down. I love Him with all of my being. And I thank our dear saviour for dyeing on the cross that we might live with him for eternity.- Hazel

    Isn’t it great when God shows up and shows out (no disrespect).
    I love it and in HIS TIMING…..He’s never late….always right on time.-Chuck

    If it’s GODs will, he will represent!!!! All we havfe to do is have faith the size of a mustard seed…How amazing is that,,a mustard seed and you to can move mountains…”-Ivette “”

    Thank you guys for these inspirational messages. It gives me new hope again and i know the Lord send me to this site for a reason and to tell me that things will happen in good time.
    John 13:7 Jesus replied: You do not realise now what I am doing,but later you will understand.

    Desere’

  22. Brad permalink

    Well, “Reverend” Mark, if that’s the best “demonstration of the power of God” that you have to share, I feel for you. God’s people are starving for truth, and hungering for God’s testimony, yet all you can provide is this? Hmmm.

    Yes, certainly, God’s hand was at work in your Internet experience, but it is minor compared with the power of God being displayed daily in the lives of His Spirit-filled people in all parts of the globe, where bodies shake and dance, and unknown tongues declare His glory, where hearts are truly cleansed from sin and souls set free from bondage, where sicknesses are instantly healed and people are delivered from demons, and where indescribable JOY is ever present, bubbling up from the belly in convulsive waves of the Holy Ghost’s power, just as Jesus prophesied in John 7:38, 39. The demonstration of the Spirit that Paul spoke of is in the visible manifestation of power from the Holy Ghost , in the lives and in the behavior of God’s children. To the world they might seem drunken, for it is indeed the intoxicating power from heaven that causes such wonderful behavior.

    Yes, there are times when we can see God at work in little moments in our lives, in His remarkable timing, but I pray that believers will seek the Spirit, and the gifts of the Spirit, for in Him there is liberty and “joy unspeakable” and the witness of the true POWER of God. !

    By the way, why have you adopted the title of “reverend,” sir? The Bible says that “holy and reverend is His name” [and His name alone]. Psalm 111:9. For a man to call himself a reverend is human conceit indeed. It is one of the elements of the Christian religion that is displeasing to God.

    Oh Lord , open our eyes!
    Have mercy on us all.

  23. Hephzibah, Zion permalink

    I am the TRUE Bride to be with GOD to take place when revelation executes! I am HER, who the Lord of the Hosts delights himself! I have the seven spirits from Jehovah. I manifest various awesome spirits…. John, peter, Isaiah, Elijah, Martha, Lord of the Hosts, Jesus, Jesus Christ, Christ Jesus, Christ, Hosea, Joel, Joshua, Jeremiah, Moses, Ezra, Zechariah, Daniel, Ezekiel, Jerusalem, Zion, Zerubabal, ……. “I AM” for I hold the keys of Hades and Death (David). For The Holy One, Jehovah, Yah… has given me the seventh seal! I truly fight for God’s Glory with all those who I am commanded to do so, of course with help of the righteous angels of Creator of heaven and earth. I NOW live to serve him only. Blessed was the day I was born 04/0/70! As also prophesied and proclaimed by LOFTH in Zechariah 8:19-23 and declared his bride in Isaiah 61:1-11. I am the light to the all Gentiles (homeless people). I will NO MATTER WHAT defend my love, husband, bridegroom celebration to take place with a GREAT Feast of mighty flesh of all those who dare to challenge him/me/our true Christian family! NO matter if I would to die in the flesh… For I my love will just with very little effort and easy rise me AGAIN!! For I will walk thru the valley of shadow of death, and I WILL FEAR NO EVIL!! He too is the apple of my eye. All Nations, Laungues, people…etc WILL BOW down to him, repent, praise, glorify, respect, KNOWLEGDE HIM!!! I truly am looking forward Armageddon. Let me be the first to be judged among ALL… I will run fast and cling to him, for “I” long to love him and with interest EVEN for those who don’t love him….”Fools they &^%#!#@$ are because they have NO idea what they are missing….I SO MUCH LOVE THE WORD (JC). This is my first public email/letter regarding wonderful and honored life at serve him at his back-in call… and his son and TRUE Christian Bible followers of the Word. I love you as well if you are born again recipients. And for the opposite recipients.. “I will deal with YOU and your links soon” per THUS SAYS HEPHZIBAH AND THE AUTHORITY GIVEN AND EXECUTED BY THE LORD OF THE HOSTS … IS HIS NAME! “MENE, MENE, KETEL, UPHARSIN” ALSO WRITTEN WITH THE FINGER OF GOD!

Leave a Reply

