Skip to content

1 Corinthians 2: 1-5

October 4, 2009

When I came to you, brothers, I did not come with eloquence or superior wisdom as I proclaimed to you the testimony about God. For I resolved to know nothing while I was with you except Jesus Christ and him crucified. I came to you in weakness and fear, and with much trembling. My message and my preaching were not with wise and persuasive words, but with a demonstration of the Spirit’s power, so that your faith might not rest on men’s wisdom, but on God’s power.

I really resonate with Paul the writer of this passage. Tomorrow I am speaking at an international conference and then again on Wednesday and to be honest I felt quite anxious about it all. So there I was asking myself, ‘why you so worried about this speaking gig? You do heaps of public speaking, what is the issue?’ The issue is simply this: imparting something useful, being inspirational, thoughtful and entertaining with an international audience.

Then I opened my Bible and while flicking through came across the 1 Corinthians 2: 1-5 and had one of those amazing, ‘pause, re-read, wow!’ moments. Paul, this giant of the faith, states that it isn’t about his ability to convince or be persuasive, but his task is to demonstrate the Spirit’s power.

Wow. I immediately realised that my role was not to entertain but to showcase how God is working; and to be completely open to the Spirit’s leading. In this I am committing to doing God’s will not my own.

God’s power not my wisdom. So my aim now isn’t to be inspirational, thoughtful and entertaining but to display God’s power, to speak of His magnificent works.

And with this perspective my anxiety evaporated. Praise God!

God bless, Rev Mark

…………………………………

To subscribe to my blog to receive my reflection as an email click here: Subscribe to Journey Deeper Into God’s Word by Email

You prefer podcasts to reading? My reflection is available as a podcast: In iTunes: CLICK HERE (Click Subscribe)

On the net: CLICK HERE (Connect with your RSS Feed Reader)

From → Uncategorized

6 Comments
  1. Dorthy Porter permalink

    As I found out in the woods today it is not about us,The it is about us being the vessel that is worthy of use of God to pour his Spirit into.To pay the price of God’s Miracle Working Power we must not try to make our self above our master.The spirit of God is what does the work with signs and wonders.John 14:12 means we will be able to do the same works as our master but in bigger quantity,but not quality.I can only think that Paul came to realize this in 1 Corinthians2:1-5.The web makes this possible to reach millions where Jesus of that day could only reach hundreds.

  2. Comforting for those of us who lead with knocking knees!

  3. I was filled with joy when I read today’s post. God is so gracious to us. He will always be there and show us His will. I am glad you were open to hear Him. Jeanine

  4. Mesha Jarrell permalink

    Today’s post is awesome! My husband and I have been experiencing the out powering of His power and you’re right it’s when and only when we trust and believe in Him. Recently, we have been having some trouble with some teenagers vandalizing our vehicle. Everything from a nail in our tire to writing on our SUV. My husband and I prayed for the individuals involved without going to the authorities but trusting that God would protect us. We believed that God would provide for us to have the money to put our vehicle in a garage since we live in a apartment complex. We forgave them because we knew they didn’t know who was using them. We talked to the manager of the property to talk about the situation and the cost of the garage and he told us that we could have the garage for free until they catch them. HOW GREAT IS OUR GOD!! We blessed His name and thanked Him for His faithfulness. God’s power is real!

  5. Albert Jr. permalink

    I never thought of it that way………….

  6. Jeanne permalink

    God’s power is sooooo amazing! I have been struggling with something for almost 2 years; some things hidden must be revealed. I turned right to I Cor 2:5 today after I asked the Lord to give me a word of knowledge. Then, guess what? Here it is again…you see, my husband keeps denying something and says my intuition/discernment is wrong. Matter of fact, after I said God had told me, he was bold enough to say if God was telling me that, that He (God) was lying. Bad move on his part I would say. But, I will base my faith on what God has shown and told me-His power- not what men say or think-their so called wisdom. Please pray for us. Thanks so much. Be blessed.

Leave a Reply

