Skip to content

Colossians 3:1-5 & 8,9

September 29, 2009

Colossians 3:1-5 & 8,9: If then you have been raised with Christ, seek the things that are above, where Christ is, seated at the right hand of God. Set your minds on things that are above, not on things that are on earth. For you have died, and your life is hidden with Christ in God. When Christ who is your life appears, then you also will appear with him in glory. Put to death therefore what is earthly in you: sexual immorality, impurity, passion, evil desire, and covetousness, which is idolatry. But now you must put them all away: anger, wrath, malice, slander, and obscene talk from your mouth. Do not lie to one another, seeing that you have put off the old self with its practices.

I am finding my daily journey deep into God’s Word utterly confronting. Each day I am challenged and am learning so much about right and proper living as a child of God.

Recently I have started to fully realise how much I need to ‘put to death’ within my own life, practices and approaches that through reading the Bible, God is really challenging me to deal with. And when it says ‘Put to death therefore what is earthly in you’, in Colossians, it is saying the world, its practices and approaches no longer has any power over me. I was chatting to a close non Christian friend recently who knows how to get me angry, for some reason he was in a foul mood and wanted to drag me into the mud, so he was pressing all the usual buttons, trying to get an angry discussion going. And what happened was amazing: I just looked at him, smiled and said, ‘You ok?’ Whereas in the past I would have taken great offence at his rude provoking comments, they had absolutely no power at all with me, and I was free to love him in is obvious pain. And that came directly from drawing close to God. How glorious is that!

And there is more in my life where practices and attitudes need to be put to death, the power taken right out of them, so I need to remain committed to journeying closer to God through His Word.

And I do this in part by seeking ‘the things that are above, where Christ is, seated at the right hand of God.’ This ‘seeking’ is to desire, to inquire and ask questions. So I remove the power out of those personal practices and attitudes that are plain wrong in the eyes of God by really wanting to find out as much about God and what it means to be a follower of Christ. Ask questions!! Read, listen, write and desire.

Rather than my heart being filled with desiring after earthly things, it should be filled with a desire to learn about Jesus. Wow.

So I guess my question for today: is my heart full of a desire to learn about Jesus? Or are there things in my heart that I need to get rid of? In seeking after Christ, those earthly practices become completely powerless.. yes!!

God bless ya,

Rev Mark Brown

To subscribe to my blog to receive my reflection as an email click here: Subscribe to Journey Deeper Into God’s Word by Email

You prefer podcasts to reading? My reflection is available as a podcast: In iTunes: CLICK HERE (Click Subscribe)

On the net: CLICK HERE (Connect with your RSS Feed Reader)

From → Uncategorized

15 Comments
  1. Thanks so much for allowing me to be a part of this web site I am hopeing to learn a lot of God’s word through this…thank you and God Bless

  2. Sam Assefa permalink

    Mr. Brown, this article affects me like every one else. For I spend all of my day thinking and day dreaming about earthly desires and forgeting to consider the purpose of God, seeking redemption and thinking about what others are thinking of me rather than what God must think of me. This has been a big challenge; to not be swayed with the current of this world and in praying I have found that God is with me and I hope to find that place where I am in peace that this world can not knock me down. I thank you.

  3. sONNYrIVERA permalink

    THIS WAS A TREMENDOUS BLESSING FOR ME TO READ AND CHALLENGING ME VERY MUCH; MAY GOD FOREVER BLESS YOU; IPLAN ON FOLLOWING MORE OF YOUR WRITING AND INSIGHTS!!!

  4. jesse jullien permalink

    okay i know i shouldnt get angry. but i just get furiuse when someone starts talking about god in a less then enthusastic way. there not my friends but i they know how to get me angry. how can i deal with that?

  5. Elisha permalink

    This website has helped me through my walk with God. I have been struggling with trusting God if I have a problem. By using this and many other resources it has helped me learn to trust God and pray more to him than i did. Thank you very much and thank you for being a good testimony to others.

  6. steve abel permalink

    ……….this particular scripture has really challeged me, i have been going through this thing for about a month now, i have tried many times to get over it but the more i try the more serious it becomes. just pray with me that the almighty God may have mercy on me…i have disobeyed Him am so much guilty of sin i need help pliz…may God till ever bless you for the beautful work you are doing….may He provide for you all the days of your life.

    • Betsy King permalink

      Steve, God has already had mercy on you and all of your sin is forgiven. Satan is the accuser and he wants to keep you dwelling on your sin but once you’ve asked for forgiveness it is done. Now RECEIVE it and be free!

    • Kelly permalink

      Whatever you are going through be thankful that you see yourself from that particular situation, i believe God is faithful that he will provide you a way through it.. just believe and do the things that are godly and endure that what it means to follow God and putting to death our selfish and evil desires it hurts and costs a lot. God bless.

  7. i what to leand and be like you and i hope the good can 4 hive me 4 my life and hart

  8. dennis permalink

    your word is very helpful…. thank you!!!

  9. Victoria permalink

    Wow amazing how God speaks in parallels. God just spoke that same verse to me and I am going through the EXACT same thing in allowing other peoples negative attitudes and emotions to seep into my spirit and make me snap!!
    Thank you for showing me that there is HOPE!!
    God bless you!!

  10. abigail asomaning permalink

    Rev, please what l want you to help me is that l want to be committed to the word of God, learn more about Jesus and the municipalities that get hold of children of Gods destiny?

  11. God is so good. He always gives us what we need right now. There are several on-going things in my life, including an unsaved husband who is disabled and deep in depression, that challenge me daily. It is easy to become wrapped up in desires of earthly things, and the flesh. This is the challenge I face daily, but am being attacked with hard right now. My husband can, and does, push every button, every day. I am a person who runs on emotion, partly because I’m a woman (no bashing here), and partly because of my chemical make-up. (I know that many Christians do not believe or look down on any behavioral health issues.) It is very difficult to put that aside each day. It is thru scripture, and the meditation on such, that it is possible. That there is hope. Only in Him. I thank God for my writing. It makes a difference and an outlet for me, too.

  12. Jamie permalink

    To: Rev.Mark Brown

    Don’t let the devil interupt your walk of purpose of your destiny. Remember keep the faith.Don’t give up when things get tough, just pray, pray, pray God will see you through

    I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.
    Philippians 4:13

    Thanks!!

  13. Jeanne Johnsen permalink

    Well done!!! Jeanne

Leave a Reply

