Skip to content

2 Corinthians 1: 3-4

September 23, 2009

2 Corinthians 1: 3-4:  Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves have received from God.

Certainly being a Christian doesn’t stop me from facing difficulties in my life. I struggle for sure. But what is different from those who don’t know Christ, is that God is actively involved in helping me with those difficulties.

The key is the word ‘comfort’, it was amazing to dig deep and discover that ‘comfort’ in the original greek is both ‘paraklesis’ and ‘parakaleo’, which are also words used to describe the Holy Spirit! So we receive our comfort, our encouragement through the Holy Spirit. Wow.

God loves me through the act of Jesus’ death and the action of the Holy Spirit. I am set free through Jesus, and given comfort and direction through the Holy Spirit!

And as the Holy Spirit works on me, I in turn will offer encouragement and support to others. The Holy Spirit not only works directly on people but also through people! Wow.

And then I think of those who don’t have God in there life, and that saddens me to think they don’t have the same amazing support. Something new to share as I witness about our amazing God!

God bless ya!

Mark Brown

From → Uncategorized

8 Comments
  1. Deeka permalink

    Another awesome reflection. It’s so true. Now that I’ve got God in my life and on my side I can’t imagine going back, I can’t imagine living without God and I can’t imagine how hard must be for those who don’t know God.
    Love your Greek research, really interesting, thank you for sharing that too.

  2. I enjoy reading all of your posts. I heard from you on Facebook and I followed you all the way here. I REALLY appreciate the Greek research, it’s amazing and don’t stop! 5 thumbs up!

  3. Sam Assefa permalink

    Truly God has been my shoulder to cry on and my cofort through all the stormy seas, that I have sailed through. Although I know the highest tides are on their way, I know he is going to shelter me. I feel like I have nothing from time to time but it’s not long before I realize that I have every thing in Christ.

  4. Rachel Allen permalink

    Wonderful…I had been thinking about that, people who don’t have God in their life and people who don’t even believe in Him!! How incredible sad…Thank you for all you do, Mark…May the Lord continue to bless and keep you, Rachel, Florida/USA

  5. Peggy Benge permalink

    wonderful scripure of promise — reminds me of Proverbs 27:17 “Iron sharpens iron, so one man sharpens another” I love to be sharpened by God’s servants.

  6. Donald M. Greathouse permalink

    Showing compassion to others in need and bearing one another’s burdens are true reflections of Jesus Christ.

    Don

  7. Pat Parks permalink

    Enjoyed seeing your Journey into Gods Word!!!!

    God Bless You, Pat

  8. Just what I needed to read to today.

    Thank you so much,
    Steph

Leave a Reply

