Skip to content

Luke 9: 1-6

September 22, 2009

I am leading a service later today and my reading is Luke 9: 1-6 :

‘And he called the twelve together, and gave them power and authority over all demons, and to cure diseases. And he sent them forth to preach the kingdom of God, and to heal the sick. And he said unto them, Take nothing for your journey, neither staff, nor wallet, nor bread, nor money; neither have two coats. And into whatsoever house ye enter, there abide, and thence depart. And as many as receive you not, when ye depart from that city, shake off the dust from your feet for a testimony against them. And they departed, and went throughout the villages, preaching the gospel, and healing everywhere.’

I have the most extraordinary energy at the moment, not a short burst hypo kind of energy, but more the sustained all day full of vigour and life kind. And I know where it is from: starting the day with 1-2 hours of journeying deeper into the Word of God. As I draw closer to God He is blessing me with this incredible energy and an attitude that is loving and gentle. I can literally feel the Holy Spirit as I go about my day! This energy is giving me the opportunity to serve God, to spend good time with my family and to exercise, which then also helps with my energy!

I am accomplishing so much more when I rely on Jesus for my power and authority. Power and authority over demons and disease! And when it talks about ‘healing the sick’, the Greek behind it is talking about, ‘restoring from a state of sin and condemnation.’ So it is only through Christ, with His power and authority that I can overcome my state of sin. I need to be dependent on God for my authority in dealing with my sin. And as I deal with my sin I can feel myself, by my increased energy and peace, drawing closer to the Kingdom of God.

With the ‘kingdom of God’, this word ‘kingdom’ in the Greek means to have power and authority. So as I draw closer to Him my energy improves as I gain access to His amazing power and authority which pushes away demons, sin and lethargy!

And God calls us to also proclaim, to announce publically and tell others about His power and authority. When I preach at my service later today I will share the news of God’s power and authority! When I host some of my staff for a special lunch today, I will share the news of God’s power and authority! But also I should share this news one on one as I have the opportunity.

Wow this passage is amazing. I so needed to be reminded that it isn’t my strength and authority, but about accessing God’s power and authority. I simply cannot do it on my own. And when I think of those who don’t have Jesus in their lives, I realise how much they are missing out on. Which is why we are encouraged to preach the gospel, and heal!! Telling and displaying to people the power and authority of God!

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Deeka permalink

    It’s amazing to see you evolving and shining the light while you go through this journey. A friend of mine is going trough the same Journey at the moment and you two are really inspirational for me. You make me want to do the same. And I’m about to start my journey.
    Let go and let God.
    Thank you.

  2. I needed this to start my day. Great stuff, keep it up!

Leave a Reply

