Skip to content

Romans 8: 1-2; 5-8

September 21, 2009

1Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus, 2because through Christ Jesus the law of the Spirit of life set me free from the law of sin and death. 5Those who live according to the sinful nature have their minds set on what that nature desires; but those who live in accordance with the Spirit have their minds set on what the Spirit desires. 6The mind of sinful man is death, but the mind controlled by the Spirit is life and peace; 7the sinful mind is hostile to God. It does not submit to God’s law, nor can it do so. 8Those controlled by the sinful nature cannot please God.

As I draw closer to God, He is revealing more and more what being a Christian involves. The opening part of this amazing reading speaks of ‘condemnation’ which literally means a death sentence, and with ‘the law of sin and death’ the word law also has a long term definition, in that laws are established long held approaches to life. So in becoming a Christian all those practices and behaviours that have been part of my life for many years suddenly have no power in the face of the ‘Spirit of life’. I am set free from those destructive patterns!

But there are times when I forget this freedom, when I find my mind ‘set on what that nature desires’, on that which is earthly, separate from God. It is so easy to chase after things that will benefit me and in doing so I can find myself living according to my sinful nature.

Now when Romans states, ‘The mind of sinful man is death’ it is not so much saying that if I sin I will suddenly die, but death is utter misery arising from sin, the Greek behind the word ‘death’ is also used to describe the darkest thick, bush where no light penetrates, so focusing on sin, living to my own desire is like being trapped in thick bush, thorns cutting into me, I am lost and disorientated, confused and full of fear.

But the opposite is, ‘..but the mind controlled by the Spirit is life and peace;’ and these two words life and peace, the Greek behind them is amazing! ‘Life’ refers to a vigorous life, a life lived to the full, a real and genuine life. And ‘peace’ refers to security, safety, prosperity, being content with what I have, and knowing that God loves me. So when I turn my back on sin, on following my earthly desires and turn to God, my life will be full of amazing surprises, full of excitement and joy, I will also feel confident and not worry as I know that God is in charge!

And as I draw close to God and make that decision to not seek after the things of the world, I am experiencing a life that is amazingly full of wonderful experiences! And although there is much uncertainty in my life, although I struggle with challenging situations, I feel this amazing confidence that God is in charge and all will be well.

Praise God!

God bless ya,

Mark Brown

……………………….

You wanna hear my aussie accent? Prefer podcasts to reading? My reflection is available as a podcast: In iTunes: CLICK HERE (Click Subscribe)

On the net: CLICK HERE (Connect with your RSS Feed Reader)

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. Sandra permalink

    Mark, your devotionals are truly a blessing to me. Being a senior citizen, I would ask you to consider posting in a larger font. That seems a bit petty to me but I am thinking others out there may be straining as I am to read the messages. Please keep up your good work.

  2. Hey Sandra!

    Try this, while holding the control button down (Ctrl) press + this enlarges the screen on most websites, repeat and the writing gets bigger each press! To reduce the size hold the control button down (Ctrl)and press – hope this helps! God bless, Mark

  3. Pam Rice permalink

    Hi Mark 🙂
    Enjoyed, as always, your talk about Luke 9:1-6. There is one thing I might add, though. ‘Healing’ also refers to bodily sickness and disease. I encourage you to watch the film on Allen Rice’s site where the lame are made to walk, etc.

    God is so good, so powerful and is the same, yesterday, today, and forever. Should you ever feel Him nudging you to lay hands on the physical si cknesses, diseases or disabilites you encounter, I encourage you to do so; praying the prayer of faith, asking if there is sin, it be forgiven.

    James 5:15 “And the prayer of faith will heal the sick, and the Lord shall raise him up; and if he have committed sins, they will be forgiven him.”

    It is an overpowering and awesome experience to be used by God in this way. One I will never forget. And one I pray you will one day experience first hand.

    Keep up the good work.
    God continue to bless and keep you,
    Pam

  4. Tennie permalink

    In response to your request of a book to read that will REALLY bless you, is Tortured for Christ by Richard Wurmbrand. It will definately change you. Also a book I am reading now and will reread is by Joyce Meyer The Battle belongs to the Lord! God bless you and thank you for spreading the gospel on facebook. Praise God!

Leave a Reply

