Skip to content

Psalm 145: 1-7

September 21, 2009

Checking out:

‘I will exalt you, my God the King; I will praise your name for ever and ever. Every day I will praise you and extol your name for ever and ever. Great is the LORD and most worthy of praise; his greatness no one can fathom. One generation will commend your works to another; they will tell of your mighty acts. They will speak of the glorious splendor of your majesty, and I will meditate on your wonderful works. They will tell of the power of your awesome works, and I will proclaim your great deeds. They will celebrate your abundant goodness and joyfully sing of your righteousness.’ Psalm 145 : 1-7

Praising God is something I don’t do enough of and this amazing passage gives me four tips to help my in praising God more.

NZ bushThe first is that I praise God by exalting Him, by stating how awesome and wonderful God is! Yesterday I went hiking in the New Zealand bush and marvelled at His amazing creation. Today I went to the pool with my kids and watched them laughing and having fun and praise Him for the blessing of new life. God is amazing!! Seriously, seriously amazing! And this amazing creator of the universe loves me, wow!

The second tip is to praise God for ever and ever. My praise should be constant, throughout my busy day I should bring to mind how wonderful and glorious God is! This includes thanking God for the good things that happen to me, but is actually much more about stating the greatness of God. I am prone to presenting a shopping list of personal needs for prayer and of praising God for the ‘ticks on my list’, for those prayers answered. But Psalm 145 : 1-7 shows me the importance of recognising the magnificence, the greatness of God, quite separate to what happens to me. And yet this will have an affect on me. The more I praise God for who He is, the more I am drawn closer to Him as I realise my need for Him.

The third tip is that I praise God through telling others about God’s mighty acts. Freely sharing with those I interact with how God is working in my life and the lives of others.

And the forth tip is that I can praise God by reading the Bible (‘..and I will meditate on your wonderful works.’); and the more time I spend journeying deeper into God’s Word, the more I realise how awesome God is and the more I should praise Him!

God is awesome and mighty and worthy of praise!

God bless ya!  Mark Brown

.

me at pool with kids

From → Uncategorized

6 Comments
  1. Sam Assefa permalink

    Oh thank you for this, I am in a place right now where I am feeling God taking the biggest burden I have carried in all my life and I am always thankful to God, but you have showed me that it’s not only about the things he did for me but for being what he is, for loving me and giving me a place to lay on in peace and above all for creating us the way he did and keeping us in his miraclous ways. Praise be the lord that has breathed in side of me the life that makes my heart beat and my spirit shine!

  2. Kim White permalink

    Thank you for this word today. You already said it, PRAISE is how we honor God. We cannot ever praise him enough, yet your word today gave us a practical way to bear in mind all the ways that we can continuosly have a praise in our harts, thoughts and minds. If we were ever able to truly get out of ourselves and look at how blessed we are, we would have enough to praise God for and he would not have to do anything for us. God is amazing Mark, and he continues to show us how much he loves us by allowing teachers such as your self to use every available resource to share his word and allows others to Journey Deeper Into God’s Word. Thank you for your obedience

  3. Once again, your meditations are spot on! “A fit word in due season!” Thank you so much for sharing your journey with the world. As you do, you allow others to join you in this journey we call “walking with God.” Even though we live a world apart, one day we’ll continue this journey in heaven, with each other and with our Lord and Savior face to face. How exciting to begin the journey here and now, by faith. God is AWESOME!

  4. Melissa permalink

    I thank God for this scripture reminding to us to turn our eye’s upon Him.
    I find myself turning praise inward a lot of times, praising what I feel He’s done for me personally, when His blessings don’t even have to do with me.
    His Greatness has to be the focus of my praise no matter what earthly things I feel blessed by personally.
    Not saying I’m not to count my blessings and praise Him in detail.
    But it’s so dangerous to get into the habit of mainly counting my personal blessings (things that make me smile) because I don’t always “feel” blessed. So then what do I praise Him for? He is worthy of our praise, not because He gives us what keeps us “happy”, but because He is God.
    Sometimes He decides to remove those happy things so all I will see is Him. The fall after the pride. When He does, I don’t want to be so blinded by my joy in all of those personal blessings that I miss seeing Him. If God say’s to me personally,”Look at me!” I don’t want to miss it!
    I am to worship him anyway and always, for His Great Majesty alone.
    No matter where I am in this life, Jesus blood was still shed for my salvation. Not because He thinks I deserve a second chance (He knows I don’t), but because God deserves the people that He made and sent His Son to live and die for.
    We can’t let Christ’s sacrifice be in vain.
    Praising Him for my own sake, for my own peace…to me is not truely praise.
    Praising Him because He is my King is what draws me closer to Him (like you said Mark). That’s where He wants me, no matter where I am on this earth, no matter how wonderful life is, or how horrific it may seem, or anywhere in between, He is to be praised!!!! He wants us to see Him at all times.

  5. One of the best teachings I have ever heard on praising God was based on Psalm 103-

    Praise the Lord O my soul, and all that is within me bless His Holy name… etc…

    So often we forget to encourage ourselves to praise God and drown in our own circumstances, or simply forget to because we are so busy. The encouragement to encourage myself to remember praise has been amazing. In difficult times the choice to bless and praise God has been a key to lifting my eyes and my heart into his presence, quite often the shopping list goes and the praises begin, even through tears and groanings.

  6. Melissa permalink

    Here is a great devotional about Praising God through adversity.

    http://www.crosswalk.com/devotionals/desert/1416764/

Leave a Reply

