Skip to content

Galatians 5:24-25

September 20, 2009

Reading today Galatians 5:24-25: ‘Those who belong to Christ Jesus have crucified the sinful nature with its passions and desires. Since we live by the Spirit, let us keep in step with the Spirit.’

I was drawn to this verse as part of the challenge of really growing my relationship with Christ is to deal with my sin. And as I draw closer to God, the more frequent it seems is the temptation. And God is telling me I need to manage this sin, and this Galatians reading provides some amazing direction.

When it talks of sinful nature the Greek behind it is referring to my earthly nature that is separate from God. So to draw near to God and being sinful are complete opposites, I cannot truly draw near to God and give in to sin. And when it says, ‘the sinful nature with its passions’ the Greek for passions is ‘pathemasin’ which isn’t so much about strong interests, but suffering, affliction and misfortune. So our sinful nature actually causes us to suffer greatly, will lead to serious misfortune and pain.

But I belong to Christ, I am one of His, and the Greek behind ‘crucified the sinful nature’, is that the sinful nature is utterly destroyed, it has no more power!

And how amazing is the statement, ‘Since we live by the Spirit, let us keep in step with the Spirit.’ I live by the Spirit!! And when it says, ‘let us keep in step with the Spirit’ the Greek words behind it are similar to marching like a soldier: careful organized direction. So for me to draw near to God and live by the Spirit I need to organize my life so that I spend more time in those activities that draw me close to God. Setting aside a certain time each day to read God’s amazing Word, making a conscious commitment to have a prayerful attitude all day, to seek out Godly people to learn from, to look for opportunities where I can share Christ’s love with others. To live by the Spirit takes careful planning, and within that planned time the Holy Spirit will move freely in my life!

Wow!!!

God bless ya!

Mark Brown

From → Uncategorized

9 Comments
  1. Amen Lord Jesus I make this my prayer also.

  2. Melissa permalink

    Thank you so much for sharing what God is blessing you with.
    Each sharing is right on with what God has been showing my mom and I as we’ve been studying together.
    I love when God shows Himself like that.
    When I read what He’s been showing you too, I see even more of what He wants from us.
    Thank you for letting God use you so.
    I want to draw closer and closer to Him.
    He is so worthy of our surrender.
    Holy, Holy, Holy is the Lord God Almighty!

  3. Mark: You remind me of the American version of Joel Osteen, you are a powerful preacher and I am drawn to your word as I am drawn each Sunday evening to Joel. I started facebook to BS with friends and coworkers, but now I seek out Christians like myself who are looking for the word of God and I see myself changing in only a few weeks, it’s a miracle because I was a sinner in my previous life and in only a few weeks, weeks, not years, or months, but weeks, I have been SAVED, 40 years it took me to be SAVED by GOD and I wonder what took me so long to be saved.

    Well Mark, it’s late, kids are still up running around, I will end this now with Good night, GOD Bless you and keep up what you are doing, you are touching souls all over the world~

    Your Sister in Christ Jesus

    Dee Marchisillo

    Please Pray for me on Tuesday 29 September for I go before a Judge against an adulterer living in my home who has breached my lease on 3 separate counts.

  4. Pastor Mark, wow….you summed it up amazingly! I am in a 12-step Christian recovery program through our church. It’s called Celebrate Recovery. I have learned so much from God’s Word, prayerful reflections, Godly women that the Lord has sent into my life to help unwrap me. They do this gently as they hold me accountable. My addiction is/has been/now I am in recovery from compulsive overeating and have lost 16 pounds so far. This scripture spoke deep to my heart as I am learning to live by the Spirit daily and my addiction is losing its power over me. Thanks be to God for His help. Staying in the Word, worshipping in Spirit & in Truth, staying honest with God, others and myself is keeping me free. Also, obedience through surrender is finding myself being crucified…dying daily to the old Char and rising up with Christ to newness each morning…grace upon grace falling fresh upon me. I am thankful for your encoragement in the Word. Because of His love we are bound together! JOY as you walk your journey on the road less traveled with Jesus and the companions He sends you. Char + + + I love being a beloved child of God. It took me years to discover how much God loves me! + + +

  5. This speaks to me Mark at my level and helps me to understand that God’s calling for me is to get deeper into the Spirit through focusing most of my writing on Him.

    It’s hard for me sometimes to keep to that place in me that craves the counsel of the Holy Spirit for even on the Internet, much of my work brings criticism and even hate. I am outspoken on so many things that are against the nature of God such as sexual sin and hate. I feel much better when I am able to bring the Joy of God to people.

    I am a writer, and much of my poetry and prose is directed toward testimony of God’s love for us. I need prayer to keep away from arguments over politics and worldly matters that draw the focus off of God’s message of love.
    Glenda

  6. Kathleen Prince permalink

    Thank you Mark,
    Now I know where to start!
    I am going to service today to celebrate 150 years for Uniontown Baptist Church. (that I am a member of)
    God Bless you and thank you for the replies to my e-mails!
    Kathleen

  7. Robert Mahan permalink

    Robert Mahan September 19 at 8:11pm
    I want to thank you sincerely for posting daily versus. Praise the Lord. I recently was inspired to write the following concerning ‘testing of our faith’ and I have posted it on every game site,etc I am on. I hope you will like it.

    “I believe that the testing we go through demonstrates the genuineness of our faith. In the phrase ‘the testing of your faith’ (1Peter 1:7 That the trial of your faith, being much more precious than of gold that perisheth, though it be tried with fire, might be found unto praise and honour and glory at the appearing of Jesus Christ.) the word ‘testing’ is an almost untranslatable word. It can be explained as showing what is ‘genuine in your faith.’ The idea refers to iron ore that has gone through the refining fire and comes out the other side clean and pure and genuine. This is the word Job used when he said, ‘When he has tried me in the fire, I will come out like gold’ (Job 23:10 But he knoweth the way that I take: when he hath tried me, I shall come forth as gold.) “Actually, there may be something suspect about a faith that has never been tested. An army going through basic training is not ready for battle. Not until soldiers have faced the battle, and been under fire, do they consider themselves proven, hardened, worthy. A ship cannot prove that it has been sturdily built as long as it stays in dry dock. Its hull must get wet; it must face a storm to demonstrate genuine seaworthiness. The same is true of our faith. When we hold fast to the belief in the Lord God and Christ in spite of life’s storms and crushing criticism, that is when we demonstrate the genuineness of our faith and it shall not go unrewarded.” “Keep the Faith and It Shall Keep You!” Amen!

  8. enjoyed reading these passages

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. 2010 Constantly Seeking God Challenge « Journey Deeper Into God's Word

Leave a Reply

